Jdwilliams Reviews

1.90 Rating 143 Reviews
22 %
of reviewers recommend Jdwilliams

Write Your review

Tell us how Jdwilliams made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
stay away from this company. Terrible service signed up created a credit account which they accepted i signed the credit agreement usual stuff and was given credit limit. I placed an order on the credit account only to check it few days later to find out all the order had been cancelled and credit limit revoked. I rang them to find out what had gone on as there was no contact from them no email or phone call to say order had been cancelled ect. They then proceeded to tell me my credit check failed and credit account not set up but yet i had already been accepted agreed to the t+c of the credit agreement and been given a credit limit. I have never experienced this before with all my credit agreements how can they do a credit check pass it give you the paperwork and a credit limit to then take it away a few days later with out so much as an email explaining it? literally makes no sense i have a lot of other credit agreements that work in the same way as this company all of which i applied for got accepted and had no issues with. And yes i have a lot of credit accounts but that doesnt mean i use them all just nice to have if you want the odd thing. Avoid this company!
Posted 5 months ago
With them for many years, excellent service, custoner care and products. 100%
Posted 5 months ago
Shockingly bad company. Waited 2 months for my garden furniture and they just cancel it, saying there out off stock. It took them 2 months to realise they didn’t have the stock in
Posted 5 months ago
I tried to arrange a return of a washing machine a few days after purchase and experienced issue after issue. Everyone who has tried calling their helpline can feel my pain. The quickest response was after 38 minutes waiting in line. My record is hanging up frustrated after 2.5 hours without response. Several emails and Facebook messages asking for a call are being ignored. The chat is completely useless too. They send Hermes to my billing address. Hermes does not collect items of this size and my billing address is different to the delivery address. I thought this was bad but it has gotten more frustrating since. For 10 days now have I tried to arrange the collection. Twice my promised 48 hour call back did not happen. After more hours waiting in line and sending more emails the phone was answered and I was told the company they are using stopped collecting until further notice and they cannot tell me when it will be possible again. No solution was offered whatsoever. I do not have the space to store a washing machine for weeks. I emailed their Complaint Management Team as well but have not heard back from them. Apparently they have an 8 weeks response time. :-D :-D When I called CMT I was simply told that I am calling the wrong department, the help offered was: "I can try and transfer you but I am not sure if they will answer." They didn't. I am at the end of my patience and completely helpless and looking at my options. I will report this to the local trading standards department as JD Williams is breaching my statutory rights and I will hopefully get some legal advise.
Posted 5 months ago
I have been paying off my balance to this company for nearly 8yrs n it doesn't seem to be goin down. I will never use jd williams again.
Posted 6 months ago
Shockingly bad business. I ordered a fan on the 21st of May, which I promptly cancelled on the 22nd of May upon finding out that JD Williams only use Hermes for their deliveries. I've had no end of issues with Hermes and I was keen to avoid further issues.

Its now the 27th of May and I receive an email telling me the order has been dispatched despite the cancellation being confirmed twice via live chat and over the phone on the 22nd of May, and via email on the 23rd of May.

Upon learning of the item being dispatched in error, I contacted JD Williams via live chat who then escalated the issue. I received a reply stating that the delivery could not be stopped, despite the parcel being with JD Williams according to Hermes' tracking.

I tried to ring JD to stop the parcel being dispatched. Alas, my £4 credit ran out after ten minutes of waiting to talk to someone. I have unlimited minutes, but JD use a number that is not included in network minutes.

JD Williams think it is a simple case of me refusing delivery with Hermes. It is not. The last order that was delivered by Hermes was brought to me by a resident on my street three days after stating that they delivered the parcel to my address. I spent far too many hours trying to rectify this problem and, naturally, it caused me unnecessary stress and incovenience. Hermes have also been known to leave parcels on my doorstep without attempting to ring my doorbell or knock on my door. Where I live, there is a high chance that parcels left on the doorstep will be stolen.

I anticipate potential problems to arise as a result of Hermes and what do I have to show for all of this? I still haven't received my refund, I am stressed for no good reason and wasting my time trying to rectify a situation that should have never arisen. I have a serious and chronic health problem that puts me at risk of infections, so the last thing I want to be doing is having to knock on my neighbour's doors to retrieve a parcel. Needless to say, I also don't need the unnecessary stress (no on does right now). No one has really offfered me a proper apology and more and more I feel like this is a ploy for me to accept an order that I do not want regardless of whether it gets to me or not.

Don't use JD Williams unless you enjoy not being promptly refunded, stress and major inconveience. I can't imagine that a business run in this way will weather the coming economic storm well if at all.
Posted 6 months ago
What a totally disgusting company you are, I have had to apply for a debt management plan and included my account with yourselves, you originally agreed a repayment amount with them but have sent me a letter saying you've referred it to a debt collection instead, as if things aren't bad enough at the moment, I've recommended you to friends and family in the past but never again.
Posted 8 months ago
What a totally disgusting company you are, I have had to apply for a debt management plan and included my account with yourselves, you originally agreed a repayment amount with them but have sent me a letter saying you've referred it to a debt collection instead, as if things aren't bad enough at the moment, I've recommended you to friends and family in the past but never again.
Posted 8 months ago
I am writing to say how disappointed I am that JD Williams are forcing their employees to work during the Coronavirus outbreak on the construction & delivery of non essential household items. Especially as it is often unavoidable for them to work in close proximity to each other in their factory warehouse in Glossop
Posted 8 months ago
I have an account with these con artists never had any trouble with them until last week. I received a phone call from a debt collection agency telling me I had missed a payment, I told her as soon as the invoice arrives I always pay the full amount but I had not had the invoice. She then started asking me about any other debts I had because the invoice was definitely sent.I then asked her the total owed and paid with my debit card. Its a brilliant con just do not send the invoice slap a £12 late payment on and Roberts your fathers brother...NEVER AGAIN..
Posted 9 months ago
Company is a shambles . Customer service is rubbish . Rubbish quality at high prices stay away dont fall into the trap with credit account
Posted 9 months ago
This company only cares about taking your money. Customer service non-existent. They bombard me with 'free delivery' and various discounts, but when you order the reduction is never taking place. They do not answer complaints.
The question of 'how quick did the company relay to your queries?' is therefore not applicable.
Posted 9 months ago
I have been a customer with jdwilliams for a long time now.
But I feel I should warn people against taking a account with this company.
Here is a sample of what I pay interest per month.
Paid £109 into account the interest they charge £86.64. =22.36 is all that is coming of your account.
Here is another payment
Paid £120into account interest £95.94 =24.06 of account
They a just like the gangster we all warned about but getting away with it.
I have a really good credit rating so can not understand these interest rates.
Posted 10 months ago
Complete misleading description online and on order confirmation. Ordered a tankini - shown on line as a top and bottom, all pictures show both halves, item description says "tankini" and order confirmation said "tankini". But only got the top half! They then tried to claim that this was what the item was - absolute con.
Posted 10 months ago
absolutely disgusting service. I ordered 4 chairs but they cancelled 2 of them stating they were out of stock. when I phoned the said I could re order and pay again as they were now back in stock s I did so after paying now for 8 chairs nearly 2 weeks later they turned up 2 leather @ 2 fabric .ive just called and was told that id have to re order again another 4 chairs . I defiantly wont be and I wont be using them again for sure
Posted 10 months ago
Rude, misleading and hostile...

Rude - Hangs up on their customer when trying to address a returns issue... 3 times. They do not care, they just keep taking the customers money and fob their customer off to THEIR contracted courier. No company level redress.

Misleading - Their own website has a phone number to call for complaints...

...that is NO longer in use. Recorded answer supplies ANOTHER number that... ain't 'complaints', it's orders, or as we call 'em SALES.

Returns courier appointments have a 48hour window...

...and when they STILL fail to collect; who you gonna CALL.

TRADING STANDARDS!

Hostile - those that answer 'demand' a customer number, even if not a customer. No awareness of the legal consumer rights of the customer.
Obstructive when trying to address problems; happy to keep an 81 year old customer waiting in for days for THEIR contracted courier collection company. Said customer cancelled other appointments to be present to hand over an expensive return that was not fit for purpose; not EVERY 81 year old is conversant with cloud-based requirements.

If you are happy to be abused by a retailer, by all means use this company.
...it'll make Steve Johnson MD (reportedly) happy.
Posted 10 months ago
Got approved for credit with them but didn’t use it straight away, logged in a month later, still had £200 limit available. Placed order for £150, received email confirmation. Hadn’t arrived days later so I checked my order to find they had changed my limit back to 0 and cancelled all items without bothering to tell me.
Posted 10 months ago
Ordered soup maker 12 November tge day before tge first delivery received an email saying delivery delayed until 1 December. 30 November further delay until 13 December. Sent an email asking if order would be delivered before Christmas. Relay stated goods in stock and order would be delivered. 12 December get an email stating unable to fulfil order. Would never use them again or recommend them.
Posted 11 months ago
Absolutely terrible. After waiting 2 weeks, my order was still listed as 'processing' I then sent a message asking for an update. The only response I got asked for further information, which I immediately provided, and never received a response to. In the end I had no choice but to cancel the order, as the items were gifts, and the date required for them was quickly approaching. Highly recommend you avoid this site and company in order to avoid disappointment.
Posted 11 months ago
I bought 2 pairs of black jeggings in the petite size from JD WILLIAMS.
When I tried them on they were too long so I checked the invoice to to see if the item no and the delivered item nos were correct.
The nos did not tally so rang Customer Services stating those facts.
The agent at C Services said that did not matter, they were the correct size.
I questioned that and said that surely the item nos surely should match the order no ?
She then got quite shirty and would not agree on that point and was adamant they were the correct size even though the nos did not match with the original order.
With that dreadful attitude and manner towards a customer.
It has put me off using that company again.
I notice from reading feedback from other customers that I am not alone being disgusted with that sort of attitude.
Posted 11 months ago
Jdwilliams is rated 1.90 based on 143 reviews