Auto Europe Reviews

1.15 Rating 98 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend Auto Europe
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Read Auto Europe Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 358 1229

Location:

39 Commercial St., Portland United States

Write Your review

Tell us how Auto Europe made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Terrible customer service. After years using Auto-Europe, I was very disappointed with my last booking. I was not able to travel on the day I was meant to. I understand it was too late to cancel the booking. What I find unacceptable is the fact that nobody cared that there was no way to contact the car provider (KEDDY). All numbers given to me were not valid and nobody I spoke to (check the recordings) tried to help in any way. As far as I am concerned KEDDY might not even exist, I lost £480 and you have lost a customer.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The car hire wasn’t cheap so I expected reasonable service. Firstly I booked the car for 9pm and after I’d paid I was told that the car hire office closed at 9pm and I would have to pay another 25 Euro to collect the car after 9. Apparently I should have noticed the time limit in the “small print “ of the terms and conditions. Having paid the extra for arriving after 9pm. I was given a car that was over 10 years old, in very poor condition with engine problems. I complained but was told it was the only car available. At that time in the evening I had no option but to take it. The next day I phoned to complain and was told if I returned the car (45 minute drive away) at the end of the day, they might have something better. I couldn’t risk the car breaking down so returned it at my expense and wasting the first day of my holiday and they provided a better car. I don’t think any other company would have offered me a car in such poor condition. I complained to AutoEurope about the standard of the car. They offered me no assistance whatsoever and said that my contract was with the car hire company....beware when dealing through a broker...they accept no responsibility if problems arise. I certainly wouldn’t use AutoEurope again
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The car hire wasn’t cheap so I expected reasonable service. Firstly I booked the car for 9pm and after I’d paid I was told that the car hire office closed at 9pm and I would have to pay another 25 Euro to collect the car after 9. Apparently I should have noticed the time limit in the “small print “ of the terms and conditions. Having paid the extra for arriving after 9pm. I was given a car that was over 10 years old, in very poor condition with engine problems. I complained but was told it was the only car available. At that time in the evening I had no option but to take it. The next day I phoned to complain and was told if I returned the car (45 minute drive away) at the end of the day, they might have something better. I couldn’t risk the car breaking down so returned it at my expense and wasting the first day of my holiday and they provided a better car. I don’t think any other company would have offered me a car in such poor condition. I complained to AutoEurope about the standard of the car. They offered me no assistance whatsoever and said that my contract was with the car hire company....beware when dealing through a broker...they accept no responsibility if problems arise. I certainly wouldn’t use AutoEurope again
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The worst company to book a car, ruined my holidays, be careful with them. They never refund money and customer service is awful.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
If I could leave no stars I would. I booked my car months in advance. The office would of been closed we we arrived but I paid a surcharge for someone to be there. Arrived with my daughter in Ibiza just before midnight and no one came to collect us. It wasn’t high season and there were 3 parties all abandoned and the office closed. Went to get a cab and I missed the last one (one of the other deserted parties grabbed it) called a cab and waited an hour in the pouring rain, nothing! Had to hitch hike with my daughter who is not even one at 1am by this time. Managed to get a lift in a very dangerous car. Was approach by someone who had very bad mental health issues and potentially very dangerous I called the car hire and they said it was my problem. I have called maybe 7 occasions. I was left with no car, in the rain and actually abandoned with my baby girl. Managers and customer service do not exists! I hope their business seizes trading due to financial ruin then cheat people of their money or leave someone else in the dangerous situation I was! Disgusting
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Absolute disgrace this company no help whatsoever when we was robbed of £200 for insurance we didn't want or need when picking the car up .a man who couldn't speak a word of English shoved an agreement for me to sign then received a bill when I got home will never use these thieves again
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Our flight to Paphos was delayed by 2 hours, I had prepaid and given them my flight number but was told by Sixt car hire thst Auto Europe classed me as a no show and then told me I had to pay another €235 euros for the only car they had left. On top of that after asking if the car would fit a wheelchair as I was travelling with my elderly mother they showed no interest or assistance. Because it was 1.30amand my elderly parents were getting agitated and anxious I had no choice but to pay the extra. On calling Auto Europe customer services, all I got was a string of standard replies. DO NOT USE THEM!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I had a horrible experience with Auto Europe. When I picked up a car in Amsterdam I was charged an extra fee of 47 euros. Puzzled I called the local customer service number on my voucher. After speaking with the representative at the enterprise desk, the woman on the phone from Auto Europe told me that she's gone over my reservation information and doesn't understand why I'm getting charged and her manager told her I have two options: cancel the reservation free of charge, or pay the fee and get reimbursed after the rental. I asked her if I would get reimbursed for sure, and she said that she checked and I would. After the rental I contacted customer service again, and was told I had picked up the car from the wrong location. They flat out told me that there is no evidence of anything that happened on my first call, and refused to take responsibility for the misleading information I was given by the representative at the time of the rental. Some of the worst customer service I have ever gotten from any company period!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
 made a booking for a Opel Insignia or simillar. When I arrived at Copenhagen at the Sixt booth I was told thry only had a mini cooper available! I had to make an upgrade which was more expensive than the whole rental
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
 made a booking for a Opel Insignia or simillar. When I arrived at Copenhagen at the Sixt booth I was told thry only had a mini cooper available! I had to make an upgrade which was more expensive than the whole rental
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thieves and bandits. The amount quoted and paid for was a fraction of what they passed to the rental company (Sixt). They fleeced me over £100. Don't ever use them.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Picked up my car at Orlando Airport, after a month I was returning it and went to pay at the Toll booth only to be informed the "Sunpass" was switched on and it had "paid" the 50 cents fee. when I got the credit card fee I was charged the full amount for the month about £50.00!. Then I was charged for an extra days insurance as the car was to be returned at 08.00 am! but I picked it up at 6.00 pm!! annother
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Very scammy! They had no problem processing my card, even though they hadn't accepted my reservation. Requested that I fax all sorts of documents to a number in the US if I wanted to continue the process. Which I obviously could not do on vacation. But wouldn't take the holds off my card. To top it off the customer service representative was nastiest piece of works I have had the displeasure of speaking with.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I submitted a valid complaint to Autoeurope recently; my first following many years of been a loyal customer. They effected a refund promptly as I would have expected given the validity of the complaint. This afternoon, I received an e-mail from a Diogo Caldeira who sent me a picture of a Downtown character, and the caption read, 'You're a woman with a brain and reasonable ability, STOP WHINING and find something to do'. I am still speechless some hours later. My message to Diogo is 'I don't whine, but I roar'. How do I rate my customer service experience with Autoeurope? I'm penning that 'experience' right now
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Auto Europe told me I had prepaid the full amount for the car hire at Fuerteventura Airport with InterRent. However there where loads of extra charges/taxes applied by InterRent and I ended up paying an extra £50 in charges. Auto Europe ignored my calls/emails and just said they were unable to help or refund me in any way for the excess charges they did not tell me about. Their Customer Service department was very bad and is only open from 9am-1pm on weekdays and closed on Saturday & Sunday. InterRent told me they had many problems with Auto Europe.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
It was perfectly ok to book (read to spend money), but once I've paid they came up with an info that is requirement to have a CREDIT card. They never needed it before. Obviously no refund, no amendment only laconik "you should have read the T&Cs"... avoid.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
THIEVES, AVOID, AVOID, AVOID, THIEVES, AVOID, AVOID, AVOID, Can NOT Shout any lauder AVOOOOOOOOOOID Thieves in EVERY sense of the word! They do NOT deserve Any Star ⭐️ They are NOT operating within the UK! The CO.UK code is rubbish, you are calling PORTUGAL! and Registered in GERMANY. NO CAR & NO REFUND 😡 BUT THEY KEPT THE MONEY FOR THEMSELVES They claimed Sixt Charged them, but When I got to the rental car company Sixt, they said that wasn't the case, and they don't get paid until AFTER the car gets picked up by the customer (which could be verified from articles on the Guardian about these practices). I called Auto-Europe to ask for a refund, but they wouldn't accept. they refused to provide any proof that a payment was made to the rental car company. they kept going by the monolog of T and C which are not abiding by UK or EU laws and violating consumers protection legal framework. Luckily I am covered by my credit card company. I have reported them to EU relevant body but I doubt they will do anything. Best way to warren customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Booked car through this company with Sixt. Found the same car available through Ryanair, with Sixt, with exactly the same rental conditions, yet Auto europe refused to price match despite their promises to. They instead found me a cheaper rental, not the same capacity car that I wanted, nor was it available at the airport - would have had to get a shuttle service. Eventually booked with Ryanair. They seem to make fraudulent claims on their website and the many many poor reviews online
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Scammers! We filled in we wanted to hire the car from 4 to 5 October. The voucher we received said we rented the car from 5 to 8 October (this was literally impossible considering the price). We were put on hold when calling for 15 minutes and then the local car rent company told us we could just cancel it and order with them. Later, we called Auto Europe again and they told us we had to pay the full amount twice. Don't book at Auto Europe, they're scammers!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I booked hire car with Easirent via Auto Europe for a weekend in the UK landing into Gatwick. There was a 40 minute wait for the bus transfer to the car hire office which took 20 minutes. On arrival the office was just a dirty room at the back of the Crown Plaza hotel. There was a long queue because they only had three people working there and had run out of cars. I queued for 30 minutes to be told that they had no car for me. This was despite me booking in advance for a car at 10:30 and it was 11:30. I was in a hurry so I had to take an Uber to my appointment then a taxi to my final destination, amounting to £90 and similar in reverse the next day coming back to Gatwick airport for my flight. Auto Europe did not care either and have refused to refund my additional costs. This is the formal reply from Easirent via Auto Europe after 2 months: 'Dear partner, i have looked into the booking as requested unfortunately we do not cover any out of pocket expenses. Regards Chris'm My recommendation to everyone is not to be duped by the cheap prices of Easirent and pay a little more for a bigger name. Don't use Auto Europe either.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Auto Europe is rated 1.15 based on 98 reviews