Auto Europe Reviews

1.15 Rating 98 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend Auto Europe
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Read Auto Europe Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 358 1229

Location:

39 Commercial St., Portland United States

Write Your review

Tell us how Auto Europe made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I’m posting here so other potential clients can see this. I’m currently dealing with auto Europe car rental for my rental whilst in Croatia. I made my reservation and paid in full weeks prior to my trip, I got to Zagreb at 745 August 30th, Gave my voucher to the car rental place noted on my voucher ( avant car). They told me they have no affiliation with auto Europe and that I have to pay for insurance through avant car ( which comes included with auto Europe) PLUS I had to pay for the car rental through avant car which means I’ve paid in full to auto Europe and now another full payment to avant car, plus deposits and insurance. They told me I would not receive my rental unless I did everything through avant car. I called auto Europe’s wonderful 24/7 hotline to rectify this, alas no answer, and was left with only 1 option, renting from avant car. I’m now seeking for a refund and will post back here with an update as soon as they email me. Terrible experience so far. Absolute scam, no trust no security for their clients.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Let 's simply call it 'small print fraud'. When you book at X amount, the moment you fetch the car, be prepared to pay 2x or 3x as much : additionial SERVICE COST, AIRPORT TAX, NON-REFUNDABLE FUEL COST. Trust me on this one, I'm a hard-core traveller, visited over 50 countries, rented cars everywhere, in pretty extreme conditions, and -with some minor variations - car rental conditions are everywhere somewhat the same and are reasonably clear & predictable. This however is a pure fraud, full of hidden costs based on dubious small print conditions. It's totally dishonest. I'm genuinely disgusted.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I booked a full insurance for my car rental in Croatia and returned it with some minor scratches that happened on a crowded parking lot. No third parties involved. Upon returning the tha car I had to pay 400€ upfront and asked what I needed to provide to receive my reimbursement. I was given paperwork to send to autoeurope and was assured I would promptly get reimbursed. 1 month later I get an email stating I would not get reimbursed because I didn't provide a police report. A police report for minor scratches caused only by myself? Never heard of this. Besides that none of their customer service agents told me this neither in country when I asked not on the phone. This is total scam. Don't use them...first it's cheap and after it ends up being the most expensive rental. Besides the fact that they rented us a low quality car with low tire pressure and that the pick up point was very hard to find at the airport.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hired a car for our trip to Orlando Hired a car for our trip to Orlando. The car ordered was a Ford focus or similar. When we got to the Thrifty desk the car Auto Europe had arranged was a Toyota Yaris , I did look at the Yaris &it was too small for 3 adults with suitcases . So I ended up paying $120.00 for an upgrade . I contacted Auto Europe customers care 2 weeks ago and they have not even had the decency to acknowledge my query .
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Due to no fault of mine my flight from Gatwick to Verona had been cancelled at short notice, trying to explain this auto Europe was pointless as they said contact Alamo who actually had the car , I contacted Alamo who said it was auto Europe who could only change the booking, called auto Europe again all the said was I would have to hire another car at full cost , which to me was completely unacceptable, obviously won’t be using them again
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Game my car away. https://www.theguardian.com/money/2017/sep/27/autoeurope-car-hire-customers-turned-away
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Terrible customer service. After years using Auto-Europe, I was very disappointed with my last booking. I was not able to travel on the day I was meant to. I understand it was too late to cancel the booking. What I find unacceptable is the fact that nobody cared that there was no way to contact the car provider (KEDDY). All numbers given to me were not valid and nobody I spoke to (check the recordings) tried to help in any way. As far as I am concerned KEDDY might not even exist, I lost £480 and you have lost a customer.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The car hire wasn’t cheap so I expected reasonable service. Firstly I booked the car for 9pm and after I’d paid I was told that the car hire office closed at 9pm and I would have to pay another 25 Euro to collect the car after 9. Apparently I should have noticed the time limit in the “small print “ of the terms and conditions. Having paid the extra for arriving after 9pm. I was given a car that was over 10 years old, in very poor condition with engine problems. I complained but was told it was the only car available. At that time in the evening I had no option but to take it. The next day I phoned to complain and was told if I returned the car (45 minute drive away) at the end of the day, they might have something better. I couldn’t risk the car breaking down so returned it at my expense and wasting the first day of my holiday and they provided a better car. I don’t think any other company would have offered me a car in such poor condition. I complained to AutoEurope about the standard of the car. They offered me no assistance whatsoever and said that my contract was with the car hire company....beware when dealing through a broker...they accept no responsibility if problems arise. I certainly wouldn’t use AutoEurope again
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The car hire wasn’t cheap so I expected reasonable service. Firstly I booked the car for 9pm and after I’d paid I was told that the car hire office closed at 9pm and I would have to pay another 25 Euro to collect the car after 9. Apparently I should have noticed the time limit in the “small print “ of the terms and conditions. Having paid the extra for arriving after 9pm. I was given a car that was over 10 years old, in very poor condition with engine problems. I complained but was told it was the only car available. At that time in the evening I had no option but to take it. The next day I phoned to complain and was told if I returned the car (45 minute drive away) at the end of the day, they might have something better. I couldn’t risk the car breaking down so returned it at my expense and wasting the first day of my holiday and they provided a better car. I don’t think any other company would have offered me a car in such poor condition. I complained to AutoEurope about the standard of the car. They offered me no assistance whatsoever and said that my contract was with the car hire company....beware when dealing through a broker...they accept no responsibility if problems arise. I certainly wouldn’t use AutoEurope again
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The worst company to book a car, ruined my holidays, be careful with them. They never refund money and customer service is awful.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
If I could leave no stars I would. I booked my car months in advance. The office would of been closed we we arrived but I paid a surcharge for someone to be there. Arrived with my daughter in Ibiza just before midnight and no one came to collect us. It wasn’t high season and there were 3 parties all abandoned and the office closed. Went to get a cab and I missed the last one (one of the other deserted parties grabbed it) called a cab and waited an hour in the pouring rain, nothing! Had to hitch hike with my daughter who is not even one at 1am by this time. Managed to get a lift in a very dangerous car. Was approach by someone who had very bad mental health issues and potentially very dangerous I called the car hire and they said it was my problem. I have called maybe 7 occasions. I was left with no car, in the rain and actually abandoned with my baby girl. Managers and customer service do not exists! I hope their business seizes trading due to financial ruin then cheat people of their money or leave someone else in the dangerous situation I was! Disgusting
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Absolute disgrace this company no help whatsoever when we was robbed of £200 for insurance we didn't want or need when picking the car up .a man who couldn't speak a word of English shoved an agreement for me to sign then received a bill when I got home will never use these thieves again
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Our flight to Paphos was delayed by 2 hours, I had prepaid and given them my flight number but was told by Sixt car hire thst Auto Europe classed me as a no show and then told me I had to pay another €235 euros for the only car they had left. On top of that after asking if the car would fit a wheelchair as I was travelling with my elderly mother they showed no interest or assistance. Because it was 1.30amand my elderly parents were getting agitated and anxious I had no choice but to pay the extra. On calling Auto Europe customer services, all I got was a string of standard replies. DO NOT USE THEM!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I had a horrible experience with Auto Europe. When I picked up a car in Amsterdam I was charged an extra fee of 47 euros. Puzzled I called the local customer service number on my voucher. After speaking with the representative at the enterprise desk, the woman on the phone from Auto Europe told me that she's gone over my reservation information and doesn't understand why I'm getting charged and her manager told her I have two options: cancel the reservation free of charge, or pay the fee and get reimbursed after the rental. I asked her if I would get reimbursed for sure, and she said that she checked and I would. After the rental I contacted customer service again, and was told I had picked up the car from the wrong location. They flat out told me that there is no evidence of anything that happened on my first call, and refused to take responsibility for the misleading information I was given by the representative at the time of the rental. Some of the worst customer service I have ever gotten from any company period!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
 made a booking for a Opel Insignia or simillar. When I arrived at Copenhagen at the Sixt booth I was told thry only had a mini cooper available! I had to make an upgrade which was more expensive than the whole rental
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
 made a booking for a Opel Insignia or simillar. When I arrived at Copenhagen at the Sixt booth I was told thry only had a mini cooper available! I had to make an upgrade which was more expensive than the whole rental
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thieves and bandits. The amount quoted and paid for was a fraction of what they passed to the rental company (Sixt). They fleeced me over £100. Don't ever use them.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Picked up my car at Orlando Airport, after a month I was returning it and went to pay at the Toll booth only to be informed the "Sunpass" was switched on and it had "paid" the 50 cents fee. when I got the credit card fee I was charged the full amount for the month about £50.00!. Then I was charged for an extra days insurance as the car was to be returned at 08.00 am! but I picked it up at 6.00 pm!! annother
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Very scammy! They had no problem processing my card, even though they hadn't accepted my reservation. Requested that I fax all sorts of documents to a number in the US if I wanted to continue the process. Which I obviously could not do on vacation. But wouldn't take the holds off my card. To top it off the customer service representative was nastiest piece of works I have had the displeasure of speaking with.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I submitted a valid complaint to Autoeurope recently; my first following many years of been a loyal customer. They effected a refund promptly as I would have expected given the validity of the complaint. This afternoon, I received an e-mail from a Diogo Caldeira who sent me a picture of a Downtown character, and the caption read, 'You're a woman with a brain and reasonable ability, STOP WHINING and find something to do'. I am still speechless some hours later. My message to Diogo is 'I don't whine, but I roar'. How do I rate my customer service experience with Autoeurope? I'm penning that 'experience' right now
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Auto Europe is rated 1.15 based on 98 reviews