Virgin Media Reviews

1.2 Rating 1,638 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend Virgin Media
1.2
Based on 1,638 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 15%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 81%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.2 out of 5
Avg Email Response Time
-1 hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Virgin Media made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
3 months ago I entered into an internet contract with Virgin Media. Within days it was clear that the signal was weak and didn't reach parts of our flat. It's not the biggest flat in the world so it was a disappointment we had to use 4G upstairs. I called Virgin and was told there was a problem and it would be sorted in a couple of days. 2 days passed, nothing changed. I called again, I was given another excuse. I called a 3rd time and this time they sent out an engineer. I was called by the engineer on the day of the appointment and he told me he had been to my property and everything was now working well. I got home and asked my partner what the engineer did and she replied "No one has been here today". I was disgusted at being lied to so I called Virgin and said enough was enough! I wanted to cancel my contract because of the service and the lies. I was told I would have to pay over £200 to leave Virgin! I was furious and made a complaint to the compliant team. They were very understanding and apologetic. They said they would send out their most qualified engineer to help. By this time I am paying extra to my mobile provider so we can have unlimited data, so devices work upstairs. The engineer turned up and said, "These houses are built to last, you'll need to pay for a booster" and then he just left. He refused to move the box upstairs and said it was pointless. I spoke to Virgin again, to express my dismay that I'm expected to pay even more money for a service they can't provide. Had Virgin claimed anywhere on their website that if their service doesn't work you have to pay more. It's a complete scam! Virgin have said it's not their responsibility that my property has thick walls and therefore I have to carry on paying for a service that doesn't work. Why am I having to pay for a service that doesn't work?? They are just bullying me to pay this and offering no support other than paying them more money. Is this allowed? Can you offer a service even if it doesn't work then make the consumer carry on paying? Virgin shou;d not be adverting amazing speeds in my area when they can't deliver? They are fraudulently advertising and I'm the mug that got caught up the their lies!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
The worst company I’ve ever had to deal with. Utterly terrible customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
virgin media is the worst company you could ever use. They are over priced their customer service is atrocious.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Once again, appalling service from Virgin Media. For eight days, I have been without my email account. 20th October they blocked my email account due to suspicious activity. Made numerous calls the following day requesting them to unblock the account with immediate effect. Was assured it would be passed to their IT technicians to reset the password and the account will be enabled within 48 hours. Called again 25/10 to be told the same. Called 26/10 to be told the same. Called again 28/10 to be told the same. Eight days without an email account, no failed notifications sent to the sender to let them know that their message has failed to be sent. They put a block on my account it is their responsibility to immediately remove the block once I have contacted them, yet they think that it is reasonable to allow an account sit disabled for so long. Their customer service is awful. Stay away if you want a reliable provider as they are not willing to help under such important circumstances. Not worth the one star I have given them!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Billed me for 2 months after Id moved and they had cut off all services. They now have a collection agency hassling me and threatening court action despite me not owing a penny! Stay away!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Worst service I have ever received. Countless promises made and none of them upheld. Take notes on every call because they do not uphold anything they say. I have been waiting for manager to call me back for 4 months and every time I call asking for a resolution I am told they need to arrange a manager call back. This loop has been going on for 4 months and it’s disgusting.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
STAY AWAY!! Wow, I wish I had seen these reviews before I signed up to Virgin Media. It's true that they offer you a great deal to start with then they almost double it once your contract ends without informing you. I just spoke to the rudest representative ever. All I wanted to do was to disconnect my line and she literally refused to take "I'm no longer interested in your service" for an answer. I tried to be reasonable with her, but when I realised that she was either set up to intentionally frustrate me, or she was a hopelessly rude person, I just hung up and called back to speak with another rep. And she even blatantly said to me she doesn't care if I leave a negative review.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
I wish I could rate lower. Only bothered when they can upsell. Always passed from pillar to post with a problem no one there wants to take responsibility to help. God knows how they track their employees to train them properly. And to top it off because Im moving house and they cant provide to my area they want to charge me the rest of the contract they falsley upsold me on. That never even gave me faster broadband. Not getting a penny out of me Id rather be taken to court
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Virgin has taken incompetence to the next level. The rate of outage in my house SE2 9J is totally appalling. Whenever there is a genuine fault the company comes back with the well rehearsed lie that everything is OK in your area. It is the most useless service provider I have ever seen. No effective feedback mechanism. It is very frustrating. Nowadays we experience outage everyday between 12 midnight and 6 am!!!! This incidentally is when I am all geared up to work. I will not recommend virgin to my worst enemy.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Poor Customer Service and complaints process. I was simple trying to update my Direct Debit details. I can’t log into my online account as it just sends me around in a loop, online help unable to assist suggested I call and change details, which I did. Month later details not updated, worse is they seem to have a complete different set of details in ? I can change them so payment going to miss, raise a complaint via what’s app which took 1hr 30 mins to do. They wanted my email address and account password can you believe or I could call the call Center I was complaining about. Stuck now might be easier to cancel contract and go to another provider, all I wanted to do is change my bank details.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
For a whole week now Virgin Internet has been intermittent and drops for hours each day, Virgin deny any issues in the area N15 London and say its my hardware (router/modem/box) and book an engineer, within the hour they send a text saying engineer booked on hold and we are trying to fix the issue then cancell the engineer booked. The next day same problem and the next and the next a whole week now with extremely poor and no Internet. I been informed now by my mobile phone provider that I have spent £15 on calling Virgin media, extremely bad customer services, extremely bad broadband provider I have been a loyal customer with Virgin but when my contract ends I will seek a new provider. And please Virgin dont send me a bot generated response as that makes you look even worse. And there we go a bot reply from Virgin And yes Virgin your so called useful app and expensive recorded message all state NO ISSUES KNOWN yet your wattsapp agent confirms existing issues in the area?
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
I am frustrated, disappointed, angry and appalled at the terrible customer service at Virgin Media. I nearly fell into the trap of purchasing fibre broadband…the pre installation was set up, I’d given my bank details, and received a communication with an account number. Then the company contacted me to say that I’d forgotten something, which wasn’t true. Thus began a series of frustrating phone calls, most of which were to agents in the Philippines, who were quite difficult to understand, and who kept me waiting for an intolerable length of time. I read the dreadful reviews of their customer service, decided to cancel within the 14 days and was passed from pillar to post over half an hour before the contract was eventually cancelled. It’s 2021, and I couldn’t email anyone to communicate with, and the website finds ways of obstructing customers from making a complaint, or even communicating with them over simple matters. I was warned that I would be lining Richard Branson'spockets if I joined, but the problem is that Virgin is the only company in this area which provides fibre broadband. I guess I’ll have to stick with BT's poor speeds. Virgin Média is not worth bothering with. I’m glad I cancelled!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
For years Virgin have rested on the laurels of being one of the only fibre optic broadband providers. The result? Second rate broadband you accept because surely the alternatives will be worse and a truly atrocious "customer service team" that scare deserve the name. I cannot begin to describe the levels of frustrated the team at Virgin will cause you. No one seems to log any notes, you get the same generic scripts when there is an issue and ZERO accountability when they don't deliver what the promise. Be especially wary of their terms which state they only gaurantee speeds for Hard-wird application - because afterall, this is 2021 and everyone has their mobiles plugged in via ethernet cables! Bottom line, I've left gone to CommunityFibre and will never look back again. Total joke Virgin and looking forward to seeing you guys get wiped out in our area now that there is a stronger alternative in the market
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Called to cancel in good time as we were moving house. Virgin don't supply our new house but other providers do. (BT etc) However as we have 1 year left on our contract they have just hit us with a large end of contract charge over £110 I just want to stress we didn't want to leave virgin as their service has been great for the last 5 years, however we had no choice. When complaining they just threw the terms and conditions in our faces. I will never use virgin Media again and defiantly NOT recommend them on the basis of what's happened above. Circumstances change and I understand why they put these charges in place but they have you backed into a corner for their failure to supply more rural locations against a large city!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
The standard of customer service that I have recently received from Virgin Media ranks among the worst experiences I have ever endured when dealing with any business. I made contact to arrange a home move, aware of the fact that there were likely to be complications as I would be staying with friends temporarily whilst between addresses. I was informed within this conversation that there was no mechanism within Virgin Media's contracts to pause in such an event, despite this being a very commonplace occurrence. As the contract could not be transferred to my temporary accommodation, I was informed that it would be terminated as soon as new residents commenced a contract at my previous address. As I had no desire to end this contract and had every intention of transferring it to my new permanent address or recommencing at the new address, I requested that the termination fee be waived. I was told bluntly that this was not an option and that no level of management would have the authority to waive the fee. I have spoken to multiple members of the home move and customer service team but have been unable to speak to a manager at any point. I was promised a call back from a manager at 9am the following day. This never materialised. When I called back to request the promised conversation with a manager, I was informed that a manager had tried to call at 9.40am. This was absolutely untrue. After multiple conversations with further members of customer service staff, I was informed that the aforementioned manager would try to call again and that another manager would ring me back within 72 hours. These calls have again not occurred one week later. My account has been terminated with no written notice, I found this out only because I logged into my online Virgin Media portal to find that my account had been closed. My Virgin Mobile account, which was directly associated with my Virgin Media account, stills works, but I have been given no information about the terms and conditions of this ongoing service. All in all, this has been an appalling experience as a customer, leaving me to pay a significant fee despite having actively sought to remain with Virgin Media. Almost all staff involved have been wilfully obstructive and management appears to be either deliberately evasive or extremely incompetent. Given the inept standards of service that I have received, I would never recommend that anyone ever uses Virgin Media's services for any purpose.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
DO NOT EVER GO WITH THIS COMPANY, THEY ARE THE WORST their customer service is the worst, their complaints team close off complaints without notice or acknowledgement, their web chat team are so incapable of doing anything and their resolution to all problems, is why don't you give us a call? they can't seem to understand that calling their call centre, or dealing with the web chat has made my issues WORSE! I will be avoiding ALL virgin services because my utter disgust at they way they have treated me and i will be actively suggesting to as many others as i can to DO THE SAME AVOID AT ALL COSTS IT IS SIMPLY NOT WORTH THE HASSLE!!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
**READY TO READ WHAT HAPPENED?** Back in 20 August we stopped getting WiFi service in my flat. We called a number of times to get it checked, they did nothing. They sent a few engineers to check, and nothing. They sent their third-party construction company Kier to check cabling, only to find out there cables were torn and weirdly installed. Fast forward, almost two months later WITHOUT internet service. Dates kept getting pushed and pushed and calling customer service was pathetic; they did not know what to say or how to stall this problem. I wanted to escalate this terrible customer service and they said they were not allowed. Even third world countries (I should know because I am from one) offer better services and show MUCH better attention. **THINGS GOT WORSE!!!!!!!!!!*** A month and a half after not getting services, we check the bill to see we need to pay more (GOD KNOWS WHY!??!) -- We called only to find out Virgin forced us into an 18-month contract without contacting us. We decided to terminate services, after they had given us false hopes. Of course, they did so in a blink of an eye so they don't have to deal with us. DO NOT EVER PAY FOR VIRGIN'S SERVICES. THEY ARE INCOMPETENT, INDIFFERENT, AND LAZY. Virgin if you are reading this, you can contact me all you want, I would LOVE to hear from you and see what is your excuse you left us close to two months without services. ZERO STARS
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Shockingly poor service!!! Our 8 SIM cards have been blocked since the mid of September and I'm following up 24/7 with them on Messenger but it's of no use!!! Every time a new customer representative joins the chat and I have to explain my problem from the beginning!! And till now they didn't come up with any solution!!! Worst experience with a customer service provider I have ever had. DON'T EVER GO FOR ANY SERVICE FROM VIRGIN !!!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Worst customer service. Poor internet connection. Do not consider as a broadband provider! I just called to disconnect my service due to home moving and I was told to pay the disconnection fees, however my 18th month contract should be ending same day with my requesting disconnection day, so no fees supposed to be apply. Apparently at all the time I called the customer service because of rubbish speed and I was agreeing to pay more just to have normal connection, they was doing a new contract for me. Not upgrading my contact but making a new contract- is that even legal to do so?! Worst customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Well well,well. I have never been so shocked dealing with virgin media. On the 16th our whole area lost, phone, broadband and tv services. I called them up and they said that they would send someone out to see what was going on. About an hour later I received a text saying that they had put my visit on hold as there was a whole area problem. So, all in all we had no internet and TV for four days. Over this period of 4 days, I spoke to 3 different people moaning at them say the is not right, I would like a refund for the days that I have been able to work because of the lack of internet. Each time I was told as soon as it gets repaired an automatic refund will be given. I also raise a complaint on the 17th received the reference number, but of course have not heard anything back. So, the service is back up and running and I am looking at my bill and its still the same price. So, I called virgin again and I spoke to a lady that said as the telephones still had a problem, they couldn't issue refunds until the service was up and running. So today I call virgin again and ask what is happening with automatic refund, as this is not the first time that virgin has gone down, and I have not received anything. The man that I spoke to said to me that you only get compensation if the broadband goes out and we have had no outage previously this month. I was so shocked I had to clarify. So your telling me that my whole area that is on virgin broadband has been working fine. He said yes looking at the system that is what it is telling me. So, I said that there must be something wrong with your system. He started getting defensive saying no there is nothing wrong with the system and that I am wrong. I was on the phone with him for 28mins. Even typing this now I still cannot deliver the conversation, at no point did I say that he is reading his system wrong, what I'm saying is that the is a problem with the system and that it needs to be investigated. His response was oh so because I am not telling you want you want to hear your saying something is wrong with the system. WOW! He then said that you if want a refund of £8.06 he is happy to sort that out, but I said being refunded does not sort the problem out of the system saying that there was no outage when there was So my solution was that he raise a complaint and forward it on to a higher member of staff to look into it and also look into the area, he then got a little bit angry saying we will not discuss any one else bills with you. (Had to shake my head to myself) as at no point did I suggest this. (I am so hopping that our whole conversation is on record) He then typed some stuff out and said that he would pass it on to his manager who will contact me. I really don't normally do reviews, my only reviews are when I have a really positive experience and someone of some company has gone above and beyond my expectations. I am finding that the country going through Covid and coming out the other side has changed so much in the way that big companies treat little people, they just don’t care anymore, but what they need to realise is that by being more understanding and rectifying their errors, goes a long way with customers and results in loyalty.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Virgin Media is rated 1.17 based on 1,638 reviews