Virgin Media Reviews

1.16 Rating 1,446 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend Virgin Media
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 15%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 81%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.16 out of 5
Avg Email Response Time
-1 hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Virgin Media made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
You should put a zero as start because virgin media doesn’t deserve 1 I had the worst experience in my life with this company I am normally calm in nature but why I call them my blood pressure goes up to the roof I must admit they are able to make me upset and angry no matter how I try to stay calm if they will be the only internet provide I will prefer to stay with out a d save my heart
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
They don't make money providing internet service. They make money on circumstantial uncertainty of customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
We have been having major issues with virgin media and we called them and the first advisor said that after she checked our account and said that we have had lots of major problems with our service from them and said that we have been paying to much for our services over for years and said that we could have a new deal we would be paying less and have a booster and then my husband went on the phone and talked to her and then she put it on hold and then it went very quiet so my husband put the phone down and called again and it started again and he changed what the previous advisor said and kept pushing us to get rid of certain things on our virgin media contract and and then mentioned about the booster and after explaining about the how the booster works and when my husband said that we don't have virgin media mobile phones and we do not use mobile phones that way and my husband mentioned that we have contract mobile phones the advisor said that was our choice and eventually they said that they would get someone from the sales team is going to call us the account is under Mr Ian Harrison
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Appalling. Called to say I was leaving on a specific date and was cut off early. Every time I contacted customer services, I was misdirected and / or cut off. The complaints procedure is a joke and a thoroughly unpleasant experience all round. I will certainly not be returning, nor would I encourage anyone else to sign up with VM.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
i tried to get to my mobile acount, and the virgin media website would not accept my proper name, pasword, postcode or not robot tick picture malarky, cant even get into my acount! try to get forgot your pass and email? not happening. Just wait till my contract ends, i'm off.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I have just left Virgin media after being with there company since telewest days , They knew I was leaving on the 14 th of this month and have taken the full price for a moth and now think I should wait 45 days for them to refund what they have stolen from my acount , Do your self a big favour and find another broadband suppier , There service is without a doubt the worst in the uk
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Terrible customer service. OK until something goes wrong and you're left waiting on a call or online chat for hours with no resolution. In my experience their advice is contradictory as i was told one thing and then after being on a call for over 2 hours was told something completely different. Completely unhelpful and a huge waste of time. Submitting a complaint about begin kept waiting for hours at a time also gets you nowhere as their only resolution they offer is that internal feedback will be provided. Infuriating is an understatement. Avoid at all costs!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Absolutely disgraceful company most definitely doesn't do what it says on the tin, do your self a favour and go elsewhere there customer service is beyond words appalling, how do they survive
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
If I could give a 0 star I would. Can’t connect at all in certain rooms of the house despite several wifi boosters. Speeds of under 1mbps despite being quoted close to 100. ‘Experts’ told us we were wrong and the wifi is not slow enough to warrant leaving the contract. So stuck with under 1mbps for the next 18 months. Avoid at all cost.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I haven't had Internet or my house phone for 3 days.. they keep delaying the time they say it will be fixed.. I pay a shocking £70 a month JUST FOR INTERNET AND MY HOUSE PHONE!! They are snakes.. I have no idea how they even raised the price that high!! I haven't been able to work for 3 days now and my special needs child is missing out on his exercise programs he needs to function... I am cancelling and not giving them a penny for breaking the contract.. Best part is there is no one to help me on this issue.. Virgin stick it where the sun don't shine!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Never Again Today I cancelled my contract and opted to pay the cancellation fee due to the absolutely awful WiFi connection. This, only after about 3 months with Virgin Media. Speeds have been as low as 1.00 mbps download with 0.03 mbps upload anywhere in the house except in the room in which the media box is located (just retested and 5.51 mbps download and 0.07 mbps upload). This, the advisors at Virgin Media (Virgin) say, is what Virgin are contracted to provide and are therefore fulfilling their part of the contract. The only guarantee Virgin provide for full speed, in my case 108 mbps download and 10 mbps upload, is if a device is connected using a ethernet cable. How archaic is this? No apologies provided by the advisors to whom I spoke, just a reiteration of the fact the contract is being met and a suggestion to purchase a booster for each room. Yes, boosters would have been cheaper than cancellation, but on principle the situation is unacceptable and not fair treatment for the customer. I did not have guaranteed WiFi in each room with my previous provider BT, in fact I only had download speeds of 14 mpbs, but yet I was able to comfortably attend virtual meetings, stream Netflix, YouTube and other services with limited interruption. If Virgin's speeds were comparable to what I was getting from BT, I would have been frustrated but sucked it up. How anywhere near 1.00 mbps could be acceptable however and brushed off with a suggestion to pay an additional monthly charge for boosters is just unfathomable. How is this company regulated? How do they get away with treating customers in this way? It's easy to explain contractual terms but surely this must be measured against providing the best service possible to customers. Unfortunately, nothing about this service has been good. I never write a review but this is one I will shout from the mountain top to anyone who will listen. Stay FAR AWAY from Virgin Media unless you are willing to accept the full implications of their terms. Hopefully this review will help you to understand those in simple terms. This should be a ZERO stars review
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
need to use 4g because they're so bad
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Shittest customer service you can get. There are acting more like thieves than customer help. Stay away from their offers and discounts !!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Wifi keep dropping out and this has been happening for 2-3 months. I have accessed all automated help services (online guide, internet chat bot). Phoned their helpline but couldn't get through to a real person just a another bot. I submitted a complaint via the Virgin compliant webpage. I recieved a response which told me to access the online guide and to reset the router (which I had been doing most days for the last couple of months). In the complaint, I asked for an engineer to visit and fix the service but was told in the repsonse that the UK government does not allow home visits by engineers, which I know is incorrect. I replied to this email response stating that the service does not work as advertised and Virgin seem to be refusing to fix it. I did not get a reply. Very frustrated as Virgin seem to be refused to fix my service. The service has been very reliable for the last 6 years but now that it is broken trying to get Virgin to fix this seem impossible. Very poor customer service as I couldn't seem to be able to talk to a "real" person. I have spent several hours of my time trying to contact Virgin and I asked for compensation in the complaint letter but the reponse said that Virgin only provide compensation for "Total loss of service or Missed appointments or Delayed activations". I will be changing my provider.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Virgin media customer services in the overseas call centres are beyond awful. I was made promises of engineers to come and fix our internet fault 5 days later, with no alternative. I was called a liar because one of the calls I made in the evening (picked up by UK staff) wasn't on their records, so, when I was promised an emergency engineer due to emergency needs for our Internet services, I was then told that was never said to me and there were no records of a call. I was then told my engineers may come the day after they were booked for (thankfully they did arrive and do a good job, albeit an hour later than the cut off period), but they keep promising a service, then saying they didn't, taking days with zero services, and then being told that there was nothing they can do & if I want to leave then its my choice. I know I'm only one customer and not going to make a huge difference in the overall scheme of things, but, it appears as though VM customer services are beyond shocking, and are losing customers by the droves to services that don't offer even half of what VM does - that surely speaks for itself.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Honestly unbelievably bad. Literally left a hole in my wall during the installation, which created a mould problem. Phoned them and spoke to dozens of customer service reps over a one year period trying to get this sorted. I was constantly promised that they would send someone round to fix it and also compensate me, neither of which ever happened despite my follow ups. When the mould got so bad that I literally had to move out (of a home I'd lived in for nearly 4 years), and I explained this to the customer service rep, she suggested that I recommend virgin to a friend and get £50 credit?!?!?!? Also the wifi constantly cut out and they did nothing to fix this! Shout out to Lauren in the 'I'm moving house' team who was super lovely and competent!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Reconsider before going with virgin. Their broadband has loads of issues. You will get disconnections very frequently, router is really bad with loads of bags. And every time you call support they will start playing the tape of "please factory reset your router". Pathetic ISP
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Terrible service. Had major issues with broadband, so i raised a complaint. After promising wifi pods would be sent out to sort out the issue , the person on the phone said, does that mean you will not continue with complaint, i said no i wouldn't. Needless to say weeks laer no pods and still very bad wifi. Been on hold nowfor 3 and a half hours..
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Around 6 weeks ago I had Virgin Media installed - the engineer kindly dragged his equipment across my wooden bedroom floor, causing 33 inches of scratching. The whole floor needs to be sanded/varnished to get it back to it's original condition. He also took a chunk of wood out of the hallway floor and caused scratch marks in the living room because he was too lazy to lift the TV stand, with the TV on top - instead of lifting it, he dragged/scraped it across the living room floor. For 6 weeks I have been trying to get Virgin Media to even acknlowedge me. A complaint was instantly raised and I must have called 10+ times to chase it up. I am told 'another department is looking into it'. I was also told the complaint wasn't sent on to the right department, then it was, then it wasn't. I was **PROMISED** a call back 4-5 weeks ago and was advised someone would be in touch, maybe to come round to view the damage. No call. I was then **PROMISED** a call back 'by the end of thw week, 2 weeks ago. No call. I was then **PROMISED** a call back 'by the end of the week, this week. No call. I just called again and all that can be said is the case is open, you can't speak to the people dealing with it directly. Because I need a whole new floor - this means having a bed delivered has been on hold for 6 weeks, which has caused a domino effect of other issues. I raised the complaint initially by the online form and replied to the automated email with pictures, as well as many follow up emails - I had no idea if anyone had read them. But someone in Customer Service confirmed they were visible on the system - not one human response to any of the emails. Genuinely shocked and appalled how they can do this and have zero care to even acknowledge the customer.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
When I signed up with Virgin Media last December, I was very hopeful of an improved service – both in terms of customer service and improved physical broadband and at a reasonable cost. I have to say my experience has been the opposite – overall it has been very poor. Virgin Media were very keen to sign me up but did not tell me that if I moved house I would be liable for exit fees due to my contract being ended early. So I was hit with a £200 exit fee which after I vigorously complained they reduced by £50. Still in my view a very underhanded and not a transparent customer service. The people who were buying our house went for Virgin so there was no monetary loss to the company. I would have stayed with Virgin at my new address but they do not provide a supply there. So beware of exit fees – especially if you are planning to move! In terms of physical service, whilst we did get some improved speed the Hub supplied was absolutely useless for WiFi coverage around the house. We had to invest in Router to boost the signal. And we regularly suffered outages (loss of service) for some hours at any one time. No notice, no apologies no compensation.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Virgin Media is rated 1.16 based on 1,446 reviews