Virgin Media Reviews

1.2 Rating 1,637 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend Virgin Media
1.2
Based on 1,637 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 15%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 81%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.2 out of 5
Avg Email Response Time
-1 hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Virgin Media made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
I am trying to cancel the service, broadband service, as it is going to increase the monthly payment from 31GBP to 44 GBP. Because I want to cancel the service, they are ignoring me, there is no phone number to contact them, I have tried different chats to try to get in contact with an agent and I have sent several complaints email, and I haven’t get in contact with them yet.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Dreadful service. After trying numerous times to get through..success! I just wanted to cancel one package to reduce my bill…but what I got was someone from overseas who spoke at 90mph & who bombarded me with figures, numbers.. he went away..came back..more pressure to take out another package..relentless. I am elderly, my hearing not so good, live alone and got upset..I just wanted to cancel a package to reduce my bill. How many times I had to tell him that but he kept relentlessly pushing me towards another package. How have I ended up with sky sports + cinema movies and a higher bill?? I told him I didn’t watch football..he said your family might..I said I live alone..he started on the figures again..I am exhausted. Now I have to cancel this new package and I’m anxious at the thought. Far worse than the cold callers I remember..at least they were easy to get rid of.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
So after hours waiting on the phone, being cut off, unavailability of "live chat", website links not working and being cut off, mis-directed and going round in circles I finally get through to some one on WhatsApp. After waiting some hours the agent states that she cannot access her system properly so says she will transfer me to the "account specialist team". I ask if that will mean me waiting another 2 hours, they assure me they will put me through "in a couple of minutes". Twenty hours later (yes, TWENTY), the next day, an agent comes back to me. Their "cut and paste" replies include asking me if "I'm enjoying my weekend" (it's Tuesday) and getting my name wrong twice. Of course we have to start the entire security process and dialogue again as they cannot access yesterdays conversation, even though it is the same "chat". Then - and here is the best bit - midway through the conversation - which is very nearly over - the agent suddenly announces that is is "time for their scheduled break" and can they come back to me in thirty minutes? This is beyond parody. Needless to say, thirty minutes has long since passed and there is no sign of the agent. If/when someone does come back (no doubt in another 20 hours) I'll again have to go through the security and start the entire conversation again. If Virgin Media reply to this review no doubt they'll say "sorry" and invite me to call them, or use "live chat", or go onto WhatsApp.....and so round and round we go again! This is day four of me trying to progress this with them. Be warned if you are considering joining Virgin Media - this company is complacent, disorganised, technically inept and has absolutely no desire whatsoever to address their dire level of customer "service". Avoid them - because if you ever need to contact them you'll wish you'd never joined.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Worst customer service i have ever experienced, terrible company. Hike the prices after contract to ridiculous price. Cant get through to anyone to cancel my package keep getting transferred from department to department to then get hung up on
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
After spending 4 hours on the phone and being cut off twice and spending 3 hours on online chat trying to change my package over to the new big volt bundle. Although I meet all the requirements according to the advertised deal- apparently I’m not entitled to it as I am already a virgin media customer although it clearly states it’s for existing customers. Non English speaking operators also don’t seem to understand what appears on the website and are unable to help. Phoning Virgin Media is a waste of a day !
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Doesn't deserve even one star!!!!!!! I have been with Virgin media for 17 years and have recently moved to my new house in December 2021. The move obviously is always stressful but what has made this worst for me is my decision to move my services with me. It’s been 6 weeks now and having spent countless hours over phone and having had several visits to property by technicians/surveyors and having spoken to countless people/agents and having paid more money and several cancelled/rescheduled appointments, I am still without Internet and media services till date with no solution in sight!!!!! Not only are there long waits to speak to an agent and frequent call drops but they are also not trained and lack knowledge and there is absolutely no coordination between various teams. Some agents have been insulting and rude. Their lack of knowledge has resulted in me getting false and misleading information and has caused me extreme anxiety and inconvenience. Each agent I have spoken to has given me different information which contradicted the information from previous agent and each one of them say that the previous agent has given wrong information. Majority of the times I was just being transferred from one team to other and would go through security checks 10 times and keep repeating myself every time when transferred to a new agent in a call. This is extremely frustrating and i firmly believe that no customer should go through such an experience! I thought I may have been an exception but reading other reviews posted clearly highlights that the company does not care about customers anymore and wouldn't pay any attention to issues/complaints. I strongly suggest not to consider Virgin media if you do not want to go through torture and harassment. Sharing few of my life experiences (or rather absolute harassment)!!!! There have been several days when I have made 10 calls or more, waited and spent more than 8/9 hours in a day, spoken to more than 15 agents in a day! Logged an official complaint for hassling customers, miscoordination (Internal installation & external installation team/ Movers & Preinstallation team), mis informing customers and appalling customer services 2 weeks ago but have not heard anything back from anyone, not even an acknowledgement! Installation was initially scheduled for 17th Dec but couldn't be carried out as the cable has been pulled up by Construction Unit to a wrong place. Since then, trying to rectify the simple issue as above has been more difficult than reaching Mars! One of the calls to report this issue- the Agent promptly cancelled the order and hung the phone without any proper discussions The installation was moved to 12th Jan (earliest) which meant no services in our new home for 3 weeks specially during holidays! One of the agents said that mobile dongle would be provided free to ensure we have internet during Xmas and asked me to speak to Mobile team which was an absolute nightmare as all agents subsequently refuted each other and told me to buy it! Another agent when followed up in December (20-24th Dec) said that the external team has gone again and fixed the issue that morning, but this was untrue as the issue was still unresolved. Not sure why these agents are forced to lie perhaps to placate or get rid of the call soon!? To summarise, there is an issue with how External installation team has left the cable and all the calls I have made and countless hours I have spent since then is to get this corrected because the internal installation team would not be able to do anything until this is fixed and I will keep experiencing this pain until then and would not have any services too!!! ABSOLUTE NIGHTMARE!!!! Hope someone, somewhere in the system takes a note of how far the customer services have deteriorated and how much pain it is causing the customers but, in the interim, would strongly suggest everyone to consider Virgin Media only if you are not left with any other option!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Worst appointments ever. They scheduled my appointment for installation 3 times until now. I am still waiting. 3 months until now and they didn't install my internet connection until now
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Terrible company, been with them for over 5 years, my bill started out at £40 pounds, it's now £98 a month. Services constantly down, hours (literally) on hold waiting to speak to advisors and they don't ever answer the phone. My services were off more than they were on. The Internet connection is nothing special either. Sky is better
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Never come across quite such bad service! Totally impossible to close an account. I wouldn’t touch them again - not even with a barge pole!🤬
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
The worst ever company I had to deal with they set up system to cheat who ever fall in their traps will suffer a lot . There are no words to describe my bad experience with this company I hope they have a guts to look at trusted pitot reviews and have a decency to stop what they are putting people through.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
If I could give virgin Media a minus rating believe me I would ~ there are no words to describe their total inconvenience and disregard for customer satisfaction AVOID AT ALL COSTS
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hello I been having problems before New Years regarding virgin Media tv and internet not working no channels are working till now for over two weeks and still not fixed I’m over 60 years old woman and my husband is very sick and cannot stand up from bed and we are living on £114 pounds per week and we have to pay all the bills and food from this benefit and if’s we cannot pay £52-50p for to virgin Media and mobile phone Rechard Branson will send us Bailiff but he doesn’t want to find out that people’s working for his company is doing their job or not he just wants to see that money going into his account but let me warned him that when GOD will punish him he would not no when and wear because young and retired people’s work hard to pay their bills because now days Governments and BIG Reach people’s make a low and they break them
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
This is a last time I’m going to with virgin Media this people’s sweet talk to you and get hold of B for 18 months first few months it’s ok then everting stops working I have no picture on box my internet gone slow when someone calls me I have to go out into garden to talk only few days ago I tried to call them every time I call them I waited for no less then half hours on 8th of this month I have called them and one by one they put me threw four different people’s to fixed the problem person call summit told me that Engneer is on his way but no body came till now I called them up today morning 10 January same thing put the music and wait for half hours I asked her if I can speak to manager She refuges then I asked her put me to account department she did a guy call David asked my name and told me to wait then few minutes later bang the phone on me they have stress me out I’m over 65 years old and not well on medicine and without and I’m paying £52-50p for my package which is not working because we have no power and Rechard Branson got government in his pocket and he is looking after them you scrub my back I scrub your back and poor people’s lives in pain ifs you Branson get my massage to you Hi is watching you anything will happen to you or?
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
This is a last time I’m going to with virgin Media this people’s sweet talk to you and get hold of B for 18 months first few months it’s ok then everting stops working I have no picture on box my internet gone slow when someone calls me I have to go out into garden to talk only few days ago I tried to call them every time I call them I waited for no less then half hours on 8th of this month I have called them and one by one they put me threw four different people’s to fixed the problem person call summit told me that Engneer is on his way but no body came till now I called them up today morning 10 January same thing put the music and wait for half hours I asked her if I can speak to manager She refuges then I asked her put me to account department she did a guy call David asked my name and told me to wait then few minutes later bang the phone on me they have stress me out I’m over 65 years old and not well on medicine and without and I’m paying £52-50p for my package which is not working because we have no power and Rechard Branson got government in his pocket and he is looking after them you scrub my back I scrub your back and poor people’s lives in pain ifs you Branson get my massage to you Hi is watching you anything will happen to you or?
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
This is a last time I’m going to with virgin Media this people’s sweet talk to you and get hold of B for 18 months first few months it’s ok then everting stops working I have no picture on box my internet gone slow when someone calls me I have to go out into garden to talk only few days ago I tried to call them every time I call them I waited for no less then half hours on 8th of this month I have called them and one by one they put me threw four different people’s to fixed the problem person call summit told me that Engneer is on his way but no body came till now I called them up today morning 10 January same thing put the music and wait for half hours I asked her if I can speak to manager She refuges then I asked her put me to account department she did a guy call David asked my name and told me to wait then few minutes later bang the phone on me they have stress me out I’m over 65 years old and not well on medicine and without and I’m paying £52-50p for my package which is not working because we have no power and Rechard Branson got government in his pocket and he is looking after them you scrub my back I scrub your back and poor people’s lives in pain ifs you Branson get my massage to you Hi is watching you anything will happen to you or?
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Judge for Yourself… Full Chat transcripts kept as evidence I was a VM Customer and joined O2 and was given an upgrade from 500MB to 1GB broadband. I was informed that I needed an upgraded router which was sent out via Yodel. Tracking said out for delivery on Friday. Delivery never attempted, tracking said “Please arrange to collect your parcel from our depot by using the Manage your parcel feature above”. I sat in ALL weekend as Yodel promised each day that it was going to be delivered. Didn’t happen. Monday 22nd Nov 2021VM Online Chat (took 2hrs) and informed them I was at work. Asked for router to be put to a shop for pickup. Not possible finally got them to cancel first router and send out another for pickup from a shop near my work. Tuesday 23rd Nov 2021 VM Online Chat (5 hours 11 minutes) contacted again as no sign of old router being cancelled or new one dispatched. 14:20, Nov 22 Alistair : Broadband TV or Phone 16:33, Nov 23 Ayat: Apologies for the experience, I will go ahead and raise a new order for you, Alistair. Is it a new Hub4 you are looking forward to upgrade to with 1 Gigabytes? 17:50, Nov 23 Ayat: Appolgies for the experience, Alistair. I just tried raised an Order for the new Hub4 but due to somereasons it is not happening, You please need to cotanct us after 24 hours, As the system will be refreahed and we will be able to send you a new Hub. 18:01, Nov 23 Alistair : can you not just do this i have already spent hours over the last 2 days on this chat trying to get this sorted? 18:13, Nov 23 Ayat: I can completely understand this, I am unable to place the order, Alistair. 18:15, Nov 23 Alistair : this is not acceptable. VM is taking up too much of my time and I'm going round in cirlces 18:16, Nov 23 Alistair : you give me a service that i cannot use and spendin hours on this thing. I want to cancel my broadband Alistair : this chat was intiated @14:20 hrs GMT it is not 18:54 hrs! 18:57, Nov 23 Reliza: Excellent! We’ll need to go through a few security questions. I’m going to send you a secure web form for you to answer. Please put the 7th, 10th and 13th characters of your password in the secure link. This is the password you use when you call in, and not your online account password. Please keep in mind that the form will expire in 30 minutes once we have sent it to you. 19:05, Nov 23 Reliza: Great. Thanks for that! May I know the reason for contacting us? 19:06, Nov 23 Alistair : How many times do i have to repeat myself, 1 min until i copy and paste 19:14, Nov 23 Reliza: I do apologize for that, Alistair. Just to confirm, do you want to have the Hub 4, right? 19:15, Nov 23 Alistair : i would but i cannot afford ANYMORE time dealing with this myself, too much time spent on this already 19:15, Nov 23 Alistair : i am risk my employment, I am supposed to be working not on this 19:18, Nov 23 Reliza: I'm very sorry about your frustrations today, Alistair. Let's work together and try to sort this thing out, okay? 19:18, Nov 23 Alistair : ok 19:19, Nov 23 Alistair : its not just today though this is the second day on this 19:22, Nov 23 Reliza: I'm so sorry about that, Alistair. However, if you really want to have the Hub 4 you can coordinate with our faults team regarding this because in this department we only handle the customers who are in need of new contract. 19:25, Nov 23 Alistair : I DON'T HAVE ANY MORE TIME JUST CLOSE MY ACCOUNT Wednesday 24th Nov 2021 VM Online Chat (33 minutes) 16:57, Nov 24 Dixit: Hi Alistair I am so sorry to hear that you have not receive a response on your complaint not to worry I will quickly check the details and help you with a resolution 17:06, Nov 24Dixit: Alistair I am so sorry to see that the hub was not delivered and you have applied to disconnect the account. May I know how can I help you today? 17:07, Nov 24 You: well i am getting no repsonse on the forums so am looking for a conclusion one way or another 17:08, Nov 24 You: have you read the forum posts? 17:08, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair I am so sorry I am unable to read the forum as we are restricted from accessing any link. 17:09, Nov 24 You: do you want acopy and paste of the transcripts for monday and tuesday then? 17:09, Nov 24 You: if you don't have them there? 17:10, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair No I have the details on the account notes. May I know what resolution you are looking for so I can get it Immediately. 17:12, Nov 24 You: well what I have wanted all along a hub that will let me use 1gig as promised but if this can't befinalised today, I am on a 10 minute break just now at work. Then you close my account 17:16, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair I am so sorry but to order the hub 4 we will need to cancel the disconnection request. So Would you like to go ahead and cancel it? 17:16, Nov 24 You: if it can be done now yes 17:20, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair Okay so I will now connect you to the Customer relations team and they will cancel the disconnection request and then get you connected to the care team who will order the Hub 4 for you. 17:20, Nov 24 You: please don't use YODEL 17:21, Nov 24 You: sorry ,my break is up I need to go back to work now 17:22, Nov 24 You: see this is what I mean I spent 5 hrs on this chat yesterday and it looks like I am getting the same thing again today. 17:22, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair Not to worry I will leave a clear note on the account and then give a direct calling number to use so we will be able to do it once our free. will this be okay? 17:23, Nov 24 You: someone needs to phone me not the other way round 17:23, Nov 24 You: I will be at home tomorrow until 12:00 hrs Thursday 25th Nov 2021 VM Online Chat (46 minutes) Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: Hi Arbiya 8:05, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: Can you please look at the notes from my chat yesterday please? 8:05, Nov 25 Arbiya: Hi Alistair! I am really sorry for the wait time you have experienced. I do see that you havecontacted in order to report that you are looking for cancellation. Not to worry, you have reached the rightteam. I can surely help you today. Absolutely, let me have a check on your account notes. 8:06, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: thanks 8:06, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: from the transcript 8:06, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: 17:20, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair Okay so I will now connect you to the Customer relations team and they will cancel the disconnection request and then get you connected to the care team who will order the Hub 4 for you. 8:07, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: this is what we need to do. If this isn't possible then I will leave cancellation in place and start my ordert with another provider 8:09, Nov 25 Arbiya: I am really sorry for the inconvenience Alistair. Please do not worry. I do see the retentions team online now. I can connect you right away if you agree, they can surely help you getting hub 4. May I connectyou? 8:09, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: yes please 8:09, Nov 25 Arbiya: We can transfer you through our Messaging service to our Customer Relations team to help you further. 8:24, Nov 25 Lisa: I can see that and I will feed that back to Yodel but I can not order a new one. Received a final bill with a demand for £240 for termination of my contract early: Thurs 6th Jan 2021 VM Online Chat (2 hours 15 minutes) 17:07, Jan 6 Meena: Thank you for your patience, I have looked into your account and I see you have cancelled services within the contract period and hence you have been charged early termination fee as per the terms and conditions Alistair. 17:10, Jan 6 You: you ugprded me to 1GIG and sent out a router which was never delivered by yodel. I even requested another router which was refused. So unable to use the service as you didn't supply hardware I spent HOURS and I have proof trying to sort this mess out with you 17:11, Jan 6 You: I couldn't use a service without the hardware so why would I stay with a provider that cannot provide? 17:29, Jan 6 You: here I am again over 90 mins repeating myself and getting nowhere 17:29, Jan 6 Meena: I am sorry to know about the hassle which you have come across Alistair, I feel really bad after going through all these and you have been so patient so far. Dont worry I will see what best can be done for you. But we could have definitely cancelled the order and placed a new one before cancelling Alistair. 17:30, Jan 6 You: but you didn't and as per the transcripts refused to send out another until you got the one that Yodel lost Back 17:31, Jan 6 You: yuou will see that the transcripts over the days contradict themselves 17:44, Jan 6 Meena: Alistair, I understand what you are telling but this is completely the issue with yodel and it was supposed to be dealt by them else we could have cancelled and replaced the order. I have tried my best Alistair, but unfortunately we cannot waive off the charges as you have been able to use the services and itcould have been resolved alternatively. But as you have cancelled it between contract, you was been charged with disconnection fee Alistair. 17:46, Jan 6 You: Did you not read the information i poasted?? 17:52, Jan 6 Meena: Okay where you not informed that you will be charged termination fee if you are cancelling the contract Alistair? 18:00, Jan 6 Meena: Alistair, we booked for the second time and you never waited for the delivery to be sent, you immediately put a request for disconnection Alistair. Please understand this charges cannot be removed as itsvalid from our end. 18:03, Jan 6 You: no, i made contact with VM as you had not even bothetred to disptach the second one. Eve though yousaid you had. Enough, I will now seek compensation for the time and stress your company has continued toput me through over these months I have now raised a complaint through offcom and seeking an apology for time, stress, lies and incompetence and now compensation too.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
for two days now I've tried to contact customer services both days I waited an hour and then got cut off. disgusting service, I am now researching other providers. I've been a customer for many years and unfortunately the service has deteriorated badly. I just can't hold for another hour.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
We had been out of contract for many years and were paying at least double the amount advertised in current contracts so contacted Virgin for help. We spoke to one agent who said we would need to cancel our current contract that was in my name and open a new one in my wife's name to get a deal advertised on the internet. We agreed to do this and were transferred to another agent to take our details. We told him what the first agent had said and although he did not sound very convincing, he said the new bundle would be sorted out with no loss of service or duplicate payments and an engineer would visit to install a new box. Minutes later we got a call from the first agent accusing us of not cancelling our contract so we now have no idea where we stand. Trying to contact via webchat proved a complete waste of time too. Absolutely terrible customer service and we will now do everything possible to ditch Virgin for good.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
It is a company based entirely on scamming people. They called me and said that if I did the installation over the phone, I would be exempt from the activation fee. Then I saw that they added it to the invoice at the time of payment. but they told me it would be free when buying. Also, I had an extra referee discount because I was going to sign up with my friend's recommendation, and they didn't do it either. When I called, no one from customer service was helpful, the employees were always dismissive, rude and unprofessional. Think twice before you buy. Is it virginmedia, never again!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I raised a complaint regarding the poor service from virgin media. On 3 occasions an engineer never turned up and I had no broadband for over a month. Was promised and reassured I will be compensated and they will ensure it’s set up. In the end I received email advising they cannot offer the service at this present time. This resulted in me raising a complaint and deciding to join sky again. The complaint was not properly addressed and nor was I compensated which I was assured I would be.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Virgin Media is rated 1.17 based on 1,637 reviews