Virgin Media Reviews

1.2 Rating 1,637 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend Virgin Media
1.2
Based on 1,637 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 15%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 81%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.2 out of 5
Avg Email Response Time
-1 hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Virgin Media made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
The worst ever company I had to deal with they set up system to cheat who ever fall in their traps will suffer a lot . There are no words to describe my bad experience with this company I hope they have a guts to look at trusted pitot reviews and have a decency to stop what they are putting people through.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
If I could give virgin Media a minus rating believe me I would ~ there are no words to describe their total inconvenience and disregard for customer satisfaction AVOID AT ALL COSTS
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hello I been having problems before New Years regarding virgin Media tv and internet not working no channels are working till now for over two weeks and still not fixed I’m over 60 years old woman and my husband is very sick and cannot stand up from bed and we are living on £114 pounds per week and we have to pay all the bills and food from this benefit and if’s we cannot pay £52-50p for to virgin Media and mobile phone Rechard Branson will send us Bailiff but he doesn’t want to find out that people’s working for his company is doing their job or not he just wants to see that money going into his account but let me warned him that when GOD will punish him he would not no when and wear because young and retired people’s work hard to pay their bills because now days Governments and BIG Reach people’s make a low and they break them
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
This is a last time I’m going to with virgin Media this people’s sweet talk to you and get hold of B for 18 months first few months it’s ok then everting stops working I have no picture on box my internet gone slow when someone calls me I have to go out into garden to talk only few days ago I tried to call them every time I call them I waited for no less then half hours on 8th of this month I have called them and one by one they put me threw four different people’s to fixed the problem person call summit told me that Engneer is on his way but no body came till now I called them up today morning 10 January same thing put the music and wait for half hours I asked her if I can speak to manager She refuges then I asked her put me to account department she did a guy call David asked my name and told me to wait then few minutes later bang the phone on me they have stress me out I’m over 65 years old and not well on medicine and without and I’m paying £52-50p for my package which is not working because we have no power and Rechard Branson got government in his pocket and he is looking after them you scrub my back I scrub your back and poor people’s lives in pain ifs you Branson get my massage to you Hi is watching you anything will happen to you or?
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
This is a last time I’m going to with virgin Media this people’s sweet talk to you and get hold of B for 18 months first few months it’s ok then everting stops working I have no picture on box my internet gone slow when someone calls me I have to go out into garden to talk only few days ago I tried to call them every time I call them I waited for no less then half hours on 8th of this month I have called them and one by one they put me threw four different people’s to fixed the problem person call summit told me that Engneer is on his way but no body came till now I called them up today morning 10 January same thing put the music and wait for half hours I asked her if I can speak to manager She refuges then I asked her put me to account department she did a guy call David asked my name and told me to wait then few minutes later bang the phone on me they have stress me out I’m over 65 years old and not well on medicine and without and I’m paying £52-50p for my package which is not working because we have no power and Rechard Branson got government in his pocket and he is looking after them you scrub my back I scrub your back and poor people’s lives in pain ifs you Branson get my massage to you Hi is watching you anything will happen to you or?
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
This is a last time I’m going to with virgin Media this people’s sweet talk to you and get hold of B for 18 months first few months it’s ok then everting stops working I have no picture on box my internet gone slow when someone calls me I have to go out into garden to talk only few days ago I tried to call them every time I call them I waited for no less then half hours on 8th of this month I have called them and one by one they put me threw four different people’s to fixed the problem person call summit told me that Engneer is on his way but no body came till now I called them up today morning 10 January same thing put the music and wait for half hours I asked her if I can speak to manager She refuges then I asked her put me to account department she did a guy call David asked my name and told me to wait then few minutes later bang the phone on me they have stress me out I’m over 65 years old and not well on medicine and without and I’m paying £52-50p for my package which is not working because we have no power and Rechard Branson got government in his pocket and he is looking after them you scrub my back I scrub your back and poor people’s lives in pain ifs you Branson get my massage to you Hi is watching you anything will happen to you or?
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Judge for Yourself… Full Chat transcripts kept as evidence I was a VM Customer and joined O2 and was given an upgrade from 500MB to 1GB broadband. I was informed that I needed an upgraded router which was sent out via Yodel. Tracking said out for delivery on Friday. Delivery never attempted, tracking said “Please arrange to collect your parcel from our depot by using the Manage your parcel feature above”. I sat in ALL weekend as Yodel promised each day that it was going to be delivered. Didn’t happen. Monday 22nd Nov 2021VM Online Chat (took 2hrs) and informed them I was at work. Asked for router to be put to a shop for pickup. Not possible finally got them to cancel first router and send out another for pickup from a shop near my work. Tuesday 23rd Nov 2021 VM Online Chat (5 hours 11 minutes) contacted again as no sign of old router being cancelled or new one dispatched. 14:20, Nov 22 Alistair : Broadband TV or Phone 16:33, Nov 23 Ayat: Apologies for the experience, I will go ahead and raise a new order for you, Alistair. Is it a new Hub4 you are looking forward to upgrade to with 1 Gigabytes? 17:50, Nov 23 Ayat: Appolgies for the experience, Alistair. I just tried raised an Order for the new Hub4 but due to somereasons it is not happening, You please need to cotanct us after 24 hours, As the system will be refreahed and we will be able to send you a new Hub. 18:01, Nov 23 Alistair : can you not just do this i have already spent hours over the last 2 days on this chat trying to get this sorted? 18:13, Nov 23 Ayat: I can completely understand this, I am unable to place the order, Alistair. 18:15, Nov 23 Alistair : this is not acceptable. VM is taking up too much of my time and I'm going round in cirlces 18:16, Nov 23 Alistair : you give me a service that i cannot use and spendin hours on this thing. I want to cancel my broadband Alistair : this chat was intiated @14:20 hrs GMT it is not 18:54 hrs! 18:57, Nov 23 Reliza: Excellent! We’ll need to go through a few security questions. I’m going to send you a secure web form for you to answer. Please put the 7th, 10th and 13th characters of your password in the secure link. This is the password you use when you call in, and not your online account password. Please keep in mind that the form will expire in 30 minutes once we have sent it to you. 19:05, Nov 23 Reliza: Great. Thanks for that! May I know the reason for contacting us? 19:06, Nov 23 Alistair : How many times do i have to repeat myself, 1 min until i copy and paste 19:14, Nov 23 Reliza: I do apologize for that, Alistair. Just to confirm, do you want to have the Hub 4, right? 19:15, Nov 23 Alistair : i would but i cannot afford ANYMORE time dealing with this myself, too much time spent on this already 19:15, Nov 23 Alistair : i am risk my employment, I am supposed to be working not on this 19:18, Nov 23 Reliza: I'm very sorry about your frustrations today, Alistair. Let's work together and try to sort this thing out, okay? 19:18, Nov 23 Alistair : ok 19:19, Nov 23 Alistair : its not just today though this is the second day on this 19:22, Nov 23 Reliza: I'm so sorry about that, Alistair. However, if you really want to have the Hub 4 you can coordinate with our faults team regarding this because in this department we only handle the customers who are in need of new contract. 19:25, Nov 23 Alistair : I DON'T HAVE ANY MORE TIME JUST CLOSE MY ACCOUNT Wednesday 24th Nov 2021 VM Online Chat (33 minutes) 16:57, Nov 24 Dixit: Hi Alistair I am so sorry to hear that you have not receive a response on your complaint not to worry I will quickly check the details and help you with a resolution 17:06, Nov 24Dixit: Alistair I am so sorry to see that the hub was not delivered and you have applied to disconnect the account. May I know how can I help you today? 17:07, Nov 24 You: well i am getting no repsonse on the forums so am looking for a conclusion one way or another 17:08, Nov 24 You: have you read the forum posts? 17:08, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair I am so sorry I am unable to read the forum as we are restricted from accessing any link. 17:09, Nov 24 You: do you want acopy and paste of the transcripts for monday and tuesday then? 17:09, Nov 24 You: if you don't have them there? 17:10, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair No I have the details on the account notes. May I know what resolution you are looking for so I can get it Immediately. 17:12, Nov 24 You: well what I have wanted all along a hub that will let me use 1gig as promised but if this can't befinalised today, I am on a 10 minute break just now at work. Then you close my account 17:16, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair I am so sorry but to order the hub 4 we will need to cancel the disconnection request. So Would you like to go ahead and cancel it? 17:16, Nov 24 You: if it can be done now yes 17:20, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair Okay so I will now connect you to the Customer relations team and they will cancel the disconnection request and then get you connected to the care team who will order the Hub 4 for you. 17:20, Nov 24 You: please don't use YODEL 17:21, Nov 24 You: sorry ,my break is up I need to go back to work now 17:22, Nov 24 You: see this is what I mean I spent 5 hrs on this chat yesterday and it looks like I am getting the same thing again today. 17:22, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair Not to worry I will leave a clear note on the account and then give a direct calling number to use so we will be able to do it once our free. will this be okay? 17:23, Nov 24 You: someone needs to phone me not the other way round 17:23, Nov 24 You: I will be at home tomorrow until 12:00 hrs Thursday 25th Nov 2021 VM Online Chat (46 minutes) Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: Hi Arbiya 8:05, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: Can you please look at the notes from my chat yesterday please? 8:05, Nov 25 Arbiya: Hi Alistair! I am really sorry for the wait time you have experienced. I do see that you havecontacted in order to report that you are looking for cancellation. Not to worry, you have reached the rightteam. I can surely help you today. Absolutely, let me have a check on your account notes. 8:06, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: thanks 8:06, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: from the transcript 8:06, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: 17:20, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair Okay so I will now connect you to the Customer relations team and they will cancel the disconnection request and then get you connected to the care team who will order the Hub 4 for you. 8:07, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: this is what we need to do. If this isn't possible then I will leave cancellation in place and start my ordert with another provider 8:09, Nov 25 Arbiya: I am really sorry for the inconvenience Alistair. Please do not worry. I do see the retentions team online now. I can connect you right away if you agree, they can surely help you getting hub 4. May I connectyou? 8:09, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: yes please 8:09, Nov 25 Arbiya: We can transfer you through our Messaging service to our Customer Relations team to help you further. 8:24, Nov 25 Lisa: I can see that and I will feed that back to Yodel but I can not order a new one. Received a final bill with a demand for £240 for termination of my contract early: Thurs 6th Jan 2021 VM Online Chat (2 hours 15 minutes) 17:07, Jan 6 Meena: Thank you for your patience, I have looked into your account and I see you have cancelled services within the contract period and hence you have been charged early termination fee as per the terms and conditions Alistair. 17:10, Jan 6 You: you ugprded me to 1GIG and sent out a router which was never delivered by yodel. I even requested another router which was refused. So unable to use the service as you didn't supply hardware I spent HOURS and I have proof trying to sort this mess out with you 17:11, Jan 6 You: I couldn't use a service without the hardware so why would I stay with a provider that cannot provide? 17:29, Jan 6 You: here I am again over 90 mins repeating myself and getting nowhere 17:29, Jan 6 Meena: I am sorry to know about the hassle which you have come across Alistair, I feel really bad after going through all these and you have been so patient so far. Dont worry I will see what best can be done for you. But we could have definitely cancelled the order and placed a new one before cancelling Alistair. 17:30, Jan 6 You: but you didn't and as per the transcripts refused to send out another until you got the one that Yodel lost Back 17:31, Jan 6 You: yuou will see that the transcripts over the days contradict themselves 17:44, Jan 6 Meena: Alistair, I understand what you are telling but this is completely the issue with yodel and it was supposed to be dealt by them else we could have cancelled and replaced the order. I have tried my best Alistair, but unfortunately we cannot waive off the charges as you have been able to use the services and itcould have been resolved alternatively. But as you have cancelled it between contract, you was been charged with disconnection fee Alistair. 17:46, Jan 6 You: Did you not read the information i poasted?? 17:52, Jan 6 Meena: Okay where you not informed that you will be charged termination fee if you are cancelling the contract Alistair? 18:00, Jan 6 Meena: Alistair, we booked for the second time and you never waited for the delivery to be sent, you immediately put a request for disconnection Alistair. Please understand this charges cannot be removed as itsvalid from our end. 18:03, Jan 6 You: no, i made contact with VM as you had not even bothetred to disptach the second one. Eve though yousaid you had. Enough, I will now seek compensation for the time and stress your company has continued toput me through over these months I have now raised a complaint through offcom and seeking an apology for time, stress, lies and incompetence and now compensation too.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
for two days now I've tried to contact customer services both days I waited an hour and then got cut off. disgusting service, I am now researching other providers. I've been a customer for many years and unfortunately the service has deteriorated badly. I just can't hold for another hour.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
We had been out of contract for many years and were paying at least double the amount advertised in current contracts so contacted Virgin for help. We spoke to one agent who said we would need to cancel our current contract that was in my name and open a new one in my wife's name to get a deal advertised on the internet. We agreed to do this and were transferred to another agent to take our details. We told him what the first agent had said and although he did not sound very convincing, he said the new bundle would be sorted out with no loss of service or duplicate payments and an engineer would visit to install a new box. Minutes later we got a call from the first agent accusing us of not cancelling our contract so we now have no idea where we stand. Trying to contact via webchat proved a complete waste of time too. Absolutely terrible customer service and we will now do everything possible to ditch Virgin for good.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
It is a company based entirely on scamming people. They called me and said that if I did the installation over the phone, I would be exempt from the activation fee. Then I saw that they added it to the invoice at the time of payment. but they told me it would be free when buying. Also, I had an extra referee discount because I was going to sign up with my friend's recommendation, and they didn't do it either. When I called, no one from customer service was helpful, the employees were always dismissive, rude and unprofessional. Think twice before you buy. Is it virginmedia, never again!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I raised a complaint regarding the poor service from virgin media. On 3 occasions an engineer never turned up and I had no broadband for over a month. Was promised and reassured I will be compensated and they will ensure it’s set up. In the end I received email advising they cannot offer the service at this present time. This resulted in me raising a complaint and deciding to join sky again. The complaint was not properly addressed and nor was I compensated which I was assured I would be.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I have spent the last 11 month trying to find out why Virgin think they have the right to remove the funds from my PAYG phone without telling me or at all. This is theft. Have even written to named person at the registered Office but did not even get an acknowledgement. The amount of money was small but the principle and the inconvenience were not. Most of the letters I got were undated and said the problem had been solved by them apologising. Needless to say, I am not a virgin customer anymore for anything. It is a shame that they obviously have enough customers not to care how they are treated.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Lying MultiMedia that does not provide services paid for! Do not ever sign contract with them!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Disgusting customer service. Twice they have taken money from my account that they had no right to. I have lost track of the number of phone calls I have made. One call handler actually laughed at me over the phone. I will never have anything to do with this bunch of clowns again. Nothing but filth. Avoid at all costs
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Disappointing start! I have just agreed to an 18month contract. The engineer who came out for installation could not complete installation. He said someone will be in touch to rearrange but almost a week later I’ve heard nothing from Virgin. After spending 1hour 20minutes on the phone to the company today, in the middle of a work day, I was finally able to secure another installation date also tho a month from the initial date given. Should I really join Virgin based on this experience??
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
VIRGIN MEDIA STOLE FROM HUNDREDS OF RESIDENTS.. Virgin Media claims to have a “Automatic Compensation Scheme” but there’s nothing automatic about it.. my entire neighbourhood was stolen from when we went 6 days with no service. No Internet. No TV. in July 2021 in Peterborough UK. My family household decided it would be better to cancel even if we had to pay the outrageous £250 cancellation fee. We have been waiting for a lock letter since October 2021… But instead we received a collections letter from a third-party regarding the full amount .. THE INCORRECT AMOUNT since they never deducted the no service in July 2021. I called virgin media regarding this mistake. To my utter shock and disbelief they were only willing to CORRECT THEIR MISTAKE if I paid the full amount today… it’s 2 days before Christmas and I don’t have £320 pay … Nor do I think I should be held hostage over their mistake. The phone call ended with him saying “I’ll send the lock letter with the full amount, with no revisions” …..we’ll that’s funny.. is that the same lock letter I’ve been waiting for, for months now!! But instead I get a collections letter, for an incorrect amount!!! Seriously disgusting… AND HEY VIRGIN MEDIA!! HEADS UP!! I have 2 News Papers writing articles about this!! So expect a lot more calls from Peterborough customers asking for their £50 that you stole from them!! Alexandra Dreyer Christopher Letts ACCOUNT # 784957401 AREA 22 PS.. you messed with the wrong chick
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
If you’re sat there thinking, dya know what? I’d really enjoy wasting some time whilst becoming excruciatingly frustrated - give virgin media a call. Doesn’t matter what you want to discuss, they’re guaranteed to make it utterly soul destroying. It all seems pretty good, clear button pressing system to get to through to the right team. Unfortunately there doesn’t seem to be a team- just a heavily manned, noisy call centre- full of people who have absolutely no idea what it is they’re meant to be doing. 9 times out of 10 you will be placed on hold - then transferred to ‘the correct department’. Excellent. I called to cancel my outrageously overpriced virgin broadband - and after 17 minutes I was successfully transferred to o2 mobile. Admittedly- that’s a brand new level of are they serious - and at least made the experience funny. I hung up - depleted and somewhat tickled - I’ll try again tomorrow. I have not once, in my three years of being with virgin had a straight forward or helpful customer service experience - whether it’s being cut off mid call, transferred multiple times or spending up to 1.5 hours on hold - you can be sure that you query is not a simple one (even if it is) … virgin media customer service makes me wish I had amnesia.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Probably the worst company you can find doesn't even deserve 1 star. They said they would come 2 weeks later for the wifi transportation, they called us 3 days before and said they would come 1 month later, and they called us 4 days before and said they would come after 2 months and 4 days, and I called the customer service and said that I wanted to cancel the contract and they hung up on me. I called again and canceled after 3 hours and 15 minutes of conversation and they took £130 from me even though I was a victim. In short, a garbage company
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Had booked an engineer to relocate our broadband cables (approx 2 weeks notice). Day before received an email from VM suggesting I review my services as my contract had now ended. Decided to upgrade our broadband and downgrade the telephone. Later I received a call to say they cancelled my engineer to the 10th Jan, some 3 weeks later!!! I explained I needed the engineer to visit due to building work in the house not because I wanted to change the location. Was told they are pulling out the stops to resolve it but was left high and dry. Several calls later and being sent around in circles ended up being disconnected, put on hold and left because quite simply, they can't be bothered to help. Outrageous service and will without doubt reconsider my options in the future.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Bad company I tray many time to cancel my contract no success.the only thing i can do is cancel direct debit
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Virgin Media is rated 1.17 based on 1,637 reviews