BOATsmart! Reviews

4.4 Rating 8,058 Reviews
88 %
of reviewers recommend BOATsmart!
4.4
Based on 8,058 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Telephone, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.6 out of 5
Read BOATsmart! Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

1-877-792-3926

Email:

info@boatsmartexam.com

Write Your review

Tell us how BOATsmart! made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Your tool doesn't allow a person to write the exam without taking 4 hr of courses. That's crazy. My wife and I did the courses together. I wrote the test and got my card. But we had to go thru the courses again just for her to write. You have a crazy setup. I won't use it again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Remove the time limits. They are completely off and had to sit and wait after being done reading on pretty much every module. Would not reccomend you to anyone from this.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Mind numbingly long waits to progress through each module. No way to learn from the one or two mistakes that are allowed in each module's quiz. Otherwise, I am happy to have the information thoroughly refreshed in my mind, ready to go boating.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Takes way too long done reading and have to wait on each page
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I finished all the modules and went to write the exam and it wont take me to the transport Canada website to start the exam. it says I have tried the exam 7 times and I haven't tried it once. No answer on the 1-877 phone line and no answer on the chat. Very frustrating!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The material tried to be done well. I will give an A for effort. The final product was lacking though. Lots of questions had spelling / grammatical errors. Some were even nearly detrimental to right/ wrong answers. Lots of the quiz questions were on subject matter not previously covered in said module. Which left me feeling ill prepared for the final exam.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Can easily read the module text before the time allows you to move to the next slide. If you are not reading and choose to watch the videos, some of the videos play through to the end and you continue to have to wait until you can click on the next page button.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Videos and timer weren’t synced. Course too long.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Contained all information required to pass the test however, the minimum wait times on each lesson are very long. I could easily read all of the content in 1/4 of the time and then just say around waiting for the timer to elapse
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Waste of my time to be forced to spend a preset amount of time on each page when I can finish reading it in 1/3 the time. Some questions on the exam were not properly explained in the study material.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback Matthew. We understand the test can take a while for some students, but the time requirements and quizzes are required by Transport Canada and NASBLA to ensure students of all reading levels are able to fully understand all content. The timed requirements are the same across all course providers, and we find many students prefer the convenience of completing the course from the comfort of home, rather than in a classroom setting. Thanks for sticking with it and safe boating!
Posted 2 years ago
Less than impressed. Part of my job is to train people so I have extensive experience in that field. I have been around boats my whole life so I also have a large amount of practical knowledge. I noted 3 questions that did not have the right multiple choice answers - not acceptable. The point of quiz questions should be to hit on the major topics to ensure basic understanding yet questions here were all over the place from being vaguely worded and interpretive to obscure factoids - poorly done. For example; Buoy questions were few and focused on meaningless detail instead of primary concepts. There were only a couple of right-of-way questions yet I see this as one of the biggest issues on the water. The program gave a lot of good information but the affiliated questions were sloppy and unfocused - not acceptable considering this is the main product they sell. There is a constant complaint about not being able to see the questions that were missed. This is the main point of training; to identify and fill in areas of knowledge that didn't stick, not keep it as a secret gotcha. The testing section is poorly done all around.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
My temporary card expired 8/11 and I still haven't received my permanent card by mail on 8/30.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Very nice web layout and easy to use. However, missing information that was asked on test. Timer on each page was too slow, waste of time. My biggest complaint is that I paid for a test (when I didn't have to) because it was suggested that Boatsmart would send in the boating form and fee for me. Very disappointing.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
BOATsmart had a nice interface, but had a plethora of typos, duplicate lessons, and duplicate questions. I also didn't agree with the decision to make a user repeat a module, especially re-integrating time limits, if they fail a quiz. Overall, 4/10
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The waiting portion is what makes me hesitant to recommend you course.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Modules had nothing to do with test thank goodness I’m smart.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The length of time required for each lesson was far too long if you were reading the content (as opposed to listening to it). This led to a lot of time sitting around and waiting for the next lesson to be accessible. Very frustrating.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I wish this was more about safe operation of a boat and that seemed to be a small section of part 5 so not worth the money.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The time in which you must take at each of the lessons was way too long, I read the information on each lesson and typically had one minute to spare upon completion. Doesn't sound like a lot but after about 60 lessons this adds on an additional two hours of sitting around twiddling your fingers waiting for the timer to expire. Just Glad that its done and don't have to take the course again. The content was well put together though.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
As someone that has captained and Coastal Cruised in BC waters on 40+ foot sailing and power vessels this course is mostly appropriate. However this course is total overkill for me or my 12 year old grandson to safely operate my 15 foot Zodiac (30 hp outboard) on our lake. We will try our best to avoid shipping lanes unless we are crossing them in a large group!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
BOATsmart! is rated 4.4 based on 8,058 reviews