BOATsmart! Reviews

4.4 Rating 8,058 Reviews
88 %
of reviewers recommend BOATsmart!
4.4
Based on 8,058 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Telephone, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.6 out of 5
Read BOATsmart! Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

1-877-792-3926

Email:

info@boatsmartexam.com

Write Your review

Tell us how BOATsmart! made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Good material but the amount of time required to finish each page should be shortened. Numerous times I was left waiting 45-90 seconds before I could advance to the next page. Took far longer than it should have to complete.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hey Kyle - thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. We understand the test can take a while for some students, but the time requirements and quizzes are required by Transport Canada and NASBLA to ensure students of all reading levels are able to fully understand all content. The timed requirements are the same across all course providers, and we find many students prefer the convenience of completing the course from the comfort of home, rather than in a classroom setting. Thanks for sticking with it and safe boating!
Posted 2 years ago
The course takes way to long. You should be able to go straight to the quiz’s and take them.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Ridiculously long. Took me 4 1/2 hours to do the bloody thing because of the forced time restriction. I could have done it in a hour and a half. Took me 20 minutes to write the exam. Stupid waste of time.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback Paul. We understand the test can take a while for some students, but the time requirements and quizzes are required by Transport Canada and NASBLA to ensure students of all reading levels are able to fully understand all content. The timed requirements are the same across all course providers, and we find many students prefer the convenience of completing the course from the comfort of home, rather than in a classroom setting. Thanks for sticking with it and safe boating!
Posted 3 years ago
the course is full of information, my kids and i like it but the most frustrating part is if you get 1 or 2 questions wrong you have to sit through the whole module again, waste of time. also the timer on the page is very annoying as we both read fast. Event the audio player finishes sooner then the timer. very disappointed in this, if you have to go through a second round then eliminate the timers. Also would be nice to know what questions where answered wrong. Some of the questions are also misleading. Would not recommend this site to anyone.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Took way to long - should be able to bypass timer , some people do read fast
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Thanks for taking time to leave feedback Breana. We understand the test can take a while for some students, but the time requirements and quizzes are required by Transport Canada and NASBLA to ensure students of all reading levels are able to fully understand all content. The timed requirements are the same across all course providers, and we find many students prefer the convenience of completing the course from the comfort of home, rather than in a classroom setting. Thanks for sticking with it and safe boating!
Posted 3 years ago
I’m renting a 14” aluminum boat with 20hp motor for 4 days to take my son fishing. This is insanely long and time consuming. The program should be based on the size of boat you intend to operate. I have no intention of operating a sail boat or a frick’n barge.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Too longgggggggg...
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
It was really confusing to log in and get started it took a half hour for us to figure out how to get into my account
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
While the information was all pertinent, the online course was difficult to get through. The amount of time following reading a page before it would let me go on and read the next page ranged anywhere from a few seconds to almost 2 minutes on some pages. 3.5 hours of course time is only good if students are actually learning. By last few modules, I found myself checking out other websites, leaving the computer, generally not focusing on the information while I waited for the next page. Also, it would be very helpful to know which questions I got incorrect in the module quizzes. Not able to learn what information I should be reviewing when there’s no way to tell where I went wrong.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Thanks for taking time to leave feedback Steve. We understand the test can take a while for some students, but the time requirements and quizzes are required by Transport Canada and NASBLA to ensure students of all reading levels are able to fully understand all content. The timed requirements are the same across all course providers, and we find many students prefer the convenience of completing the course from the comfort of home, rather than in a classroom setting. Thanks for sticking with it and safe boating!
Posted 3 years ago
Repetitive modules, min time thresholds that force you to wait even longer than the duration of the videos, content that is irrelevant to anyone other than someone trying to circumnavigate the globe in international shipping lanes, incomplete coverage of material compared to final exam were all annoying aspects, but the worst part is they don't tell you what you got wrong, so there is no actual mechanism for learning and improvement.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Grayden - thanks for the feedback. Since there are a finite number of test questions and the test is open book and unsupervised - Transport Canada and NASBLA regulate that the answers not be shown. This is one of the check and balances put into place to maintain the integrity of online testing. As boaters too, we understand the feedback and are working with regulators to try and improve the process within the confines of online testing. Thanks for sticking with it and safe boating!
Posted 3 years ago
Way too long, Too much information that I will never use. Only operate on California lakes that have few buoys. Time needs to needs to end when video ends not 5 seconds later.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
The timed lessons are too long for the amount of content
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Good course content, but terrible design. If I knew it was going to take that long to review things I already know, I would not buy the coupons and go with other sites.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Hing - Thanks for taking time to leave feedback. We understand the test can take a while for some students, but the time requirements and quizzes are required by Transport Canada and NASBLA to ensure students of all reading levels are able to fully understand all content. The timed requirements are the same across all course providers, and we find many students prefer the convenience of completing the course from the comfort of home, rather than in a classroom setting. Thanks for sticking with it and safe boating!
Posted 4 years ago
This course uses YouTube to display much of it's content. When you want to stop and look at the pictures a big banner goes across the course content showing you other available videos, this was sooooo annoying. I bought the family package and there was no way to stop and talk about things. The timing of the course was off, we did 60% of the course in 4 hours and it took 4 hours to do the rest of the course. This extra 2 hour delay meant the travel to use the card got delayed. Yup, poor planning on my part. When I finally took the test, there were things on the test I could not remember seeing. (A light pattern and the meaning of a specific marking on a buoy) Occasionally the timer would go past 0 to 24... hours and keep timing down. I would have to refresh the page to get it to start over, of course this would happen at the end of the first timeout so it doubled the time on those pages. Finally, got off on the wrong foot. I remembered it as boatsmart not outdoor smart and could not find the url to log into searching my passwords for boat.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi, I am a marine pilot in the St. Lawrence river in Quebec and I own a Master Mariner licence. (Highest navigation licence allowing to be captain on any size of ship anywhere in the world). I did the course to get the boat licence card so I don't need to carry my Master Mariner licence with me on a small boat. I actually went thought the whole course because I was interested in seeing what was taught to boaters and if there was a good explanation how to interact with commercial vessels since I very often see dangerous behaviours in the St. Lawrence river while I'm piloting large vessels. I like your website interface and the content was good. However, I found a lot of mistakes through the course. Some mistake are probably information that have been copied or simply written wrong, but some of them are misunderstanding of some principles or even misinterpretation of some rules and regulations. Also, I found few places when the information was different in two different places in the course. Also, 3-4 times, I had questions in the quiz about information that was shown in a subsequent module. The french translation was not perfect sometime (mostly in the website interface rather than the course content) and it was impossible to switch between french or english after you started the course. That would be useful. I wish there was more information about interacting with large vessel. For example diagram and pictures of the visibility from a big vessel, reasons and how dangerous it is to pass in front of commercial vessel (I see that almost everyday in the summer), etc. Thank you. Jean-Francois Simard
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
The course was alright. My biggest issue with the course is it never told you wich questions you got wrong on the quizzes and on the test. A review of everything you did would be beneficial to anyone. Knowing wich questions you got wrong would give you the opportunity to get the right answer in your head.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Far too basic in some ways (Do I need a course to tell me to wave my arms in the air if I have a boat collision), and far too comprehensive in other ways (nautical navigation terms are not necessary for someone only needing the course for lake boating). The problem with having so much information is that the really important things for lake safety might get missed or forgotten. So important to leave the blower running for inboard engines for example and that needs to be almost automatic vs one of 5000 facts.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
The same information was covered over and over again. I felt certain areas were in numerous modules. If the information was condensed it would have made the course a lot more efficient and not as frustrating.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
A lot of the content was catered to larger boats which i would never use and the wait time between slides is to long because i’d finnish reading and still have to wait 30seconds. Also a lot of the meterial was common sense
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Quiz and course are way harder than they need to be. Took me 5 hours of course work for a 15 min easy federal test. Wastes so much time.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
BOATsmart! is rated 4.4 based on 8,058 reviews