British Gas Reviews

1.34 Rating 709 Reviews
8 %
of reviewers recommend British Gas
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.30 out of 5
Read British Gas Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 980 6005

Email:

customerservice@britishgas.co.uk

Location:

PO Box 4805

Write Your review

Tell us how British Gas made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
British Gas 1 star review on 14th March 2020
Rayhan ahmed
More Photos & Videos
British Gas 1 star review on 27th February 2020
Amir Savage
More Photos & Videos
British Gas 1 star review on 1st February 2020
Steve
More Photos & Videos
British Gas 1 star review on 22nd January 2020
Michael Coulson
More Photos & Videos
British Gas 1 star review on 22nd January 2020
Michael Coulson
More Photos & Videos
British Gas 1 star review on 30th December 2019
Sabrina
More Photos & Videos
British Gas 1 star review on 6th December 2017
Surrey Vince
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
British gas have hijacked my account from Eon due a mix up of cross addressing 2 years ago and now say I have to close my account with Eon and then pay them for the last 2 years worth of gas when I have already paid Eon for the same period. Why did it take BG 2 years realize that there was a problem? I had no communication with this innificient company until March 2020 when they threatened me with debt collecting agency. I would recomend that anyone thinking of joining BG don't do it for your own sanity they drive you up the wall with endless emails. We are pensioners over70s with health problems we should not be treated in this way shame on you British Gas
Posted 2 months ago
I moved into a new flat, so switched from b g that was already there, bills were all wrong been trying to get it fixed for 3 months can’t talk to them in the phone, they said 3 weeks ago they would send me new bills from readings I gave them no bill, because of corona virus can’t talk on phone, do did web chat I’m a key worker, I keep my customers fed, and watered, there service is horrendous, they just kept quoting a corona virus speech were here for emergencies, I just want a bill so I can pay and get rid of them they are a nightmare company
Posted 2 months ago
I want to say, British Gas is a liar, cheater, and scammer company they will tell you a lot of lying stories like you are at the cheapest tariff.
You need:
1. Do not trust British Gas staff because what they tall you are lying.

2. You are at the most expensive tariff and you need to urgently look for an alternative energy supplier.

3. Once you switch to a supplier then you can reveal the fact that British gas is scammers and will charge you around £1400/year!!

I personally left British Gas and saved more than £400/year!

Go away from British Gas lair and don't trust them because of they are scammers!!
Posted 2 months ago
If I could give below one I would. Absolute disgrace of an organisation. Using the Coronavirus as an excuse to ignore customers (even those in the government listed vulnerable bracket) / more so than usual. Slamming final reminders without actual having any debt owed to them. Avoid. Avoid. Avoid. There’s far better services out there and cheaper
Posted 2 months ago
If I could give below one I would. Absolute disgrace of an organisation. Using the Coronavirus as an excuse to ignore customers (even those in the government listed vulnerable bracket) / more so than usual. Slamming final reminders without actual having any debt owed to them. Avoid. Avoid. Avoid. There’s far better services out there and cheaper
Posted 2 months ago
Avoid as spent over £4,000 on a boiler, given the assurances of Homecare, then had three leaks, one on the day it was installed and two six months later and they have said as it was over six months since it was fitted it was not their problem even though their engineers came out three times to fix the leaks and to pursue it with our home insurance and they can put in a counterclaim with them. Save your money and hassle and go with anyone else to save damage and repair costs to your property. Absolutely appalling and shocking.
Posted 2 months ago
My 97 year old mum noticed water on her bathroom floor. A neighbour identified source of leak but could only stem it. Mum had Homecare through BG and from time of call an engineer was there in less than two hours. Excellent service- well done BG
Posted 2 months ago
Good price
Posted 2 months ago
First home, new customer.

This was by far the worst customer experience I have every received.
Tried three times to Get them out to update our electricity meter with they failed on all three accounts to show up which left me waiting for four house in a cold empty house middle of winter for them to never phone to imform me they weren’t coming.
One the forth attempts after waiting four hours thinking they’ve failed me again, I walk out of the house and find their employee smoking on my drive way. Yes he gets the job done but he was not a friendly man.
When I got my smart meter installed, after a few months I noticed that hour payments had gone up drastically, this was only noticed became a payment of £206 came out of our account suddenly. This surprised us because we had only been paying £46 for two people.
When phoning we ask why we hadn’t been noticed by email or called to tell us above the rise in payments, we were meet by another bill of £264 which we weren’t informed of. Customer service left us feeling confused, they couldn’t answer our questions on how and why we weren’t informed because apparently they think informaing customers means leaving a invoice for them on the British Gas website but never even emailing the customer to tell them it’s there.
Customer service was in one word unwelcoming, the first person I spoke to wasn’t intrested and soon hung up on me, the second one was just repeating themselves over and over and over again when I tried to ask them why we weren’t informed I asked if I could speak to another colleague, not manager colleague just to see if this was routine or their actual service, again no help, the third one practically argued with us and when we ask the leave them they hung up again for the second time they hung up. After we paid the bill which was very upsetting at this point we tried to get online assistance from their online chat room. Never again. Instead of helping us leave the company it just cancelled our direct debits.
So after all of this we’ve signed up with a new provider. But as a fair well message from British Gas our last bill wasn’t for a total of 17days billing us for £100.59 and when I go to pay online they’ve added an extra £14.00 out of no where. There isn’t no point complaining to the company they never get back to you.

Please do not use British Gas.
Posted 2 months ago
Disgusted with customer service..I'm a key worker who has unfortunately fallen ill last week with symptoms so I'm self isolating.i had pre paid metres.my electric went off this morning as IV been so ill it was the last thing on my mind.i rang for help to top my meter up and was made to feel like I didn't deserve their help and why hadn't I thought about topping up my meter and how have I been getting my shopping then.🥺 How dare you I have been making sure my vulnerable adults I work with had everything they need..and forgot about myself... frontline people need support too..shame on you...
Posted 2 months ago
Transferred to BG after collapse of Breeze Energy. BG much more expensive tarrif and have had continual problems trying to communicate with them. Arranged transfer out of BG and have just received hefty final statement which doesn't include credit balance Breeze made available to my BG account. Have tired to enquire about this but No Live Chat available, sent an email but got automated reply saying BG now only dealing with emergencies. Called BG phone number but automated message just refers you to their website - so going round in circles and comms not possible. I had to deal with BG a few years ago when we moved house; it was a nightmare then and it's still the same - expensive, poor comms, incorrect info and very poor customer service!
Posted 2 months ago
Wanted to speak to adviser before paying bill, unable to contact British Gas by phone, or email, the only response I got was a threatening email mentioning a debt collection company & more threats of being blacklisted.
Posted 2 months ago
They came and changed my gas meter on 16 March 2020. Now I have no gas. When you need gas the most, I could not write down the words to explain how I feel. No one should read that amount of foul language. Why cant there be zero stars or minus stars. One star is far too much.
Posted 2 months ago
Poor services, unprepared employees and poor customer service!

At the moment we are using the prepay solution for gas and wanted to change to smart meter. We were told that is possible, an engineer changed the meter, all good at first, then it stopped working. The new representative that came to fix the issue, did not seem interested in finding out what the problem is, he just changed back the meter to the old version. We then needed a new card to be sent in order to top up. He told us there is nothing we need to do, we will receive the card shortly. No card received, called them as we are running out of credit, so no hot water and heating for us, after hearing their complaints about how busy they are!!! they finally realized no one actually sent the card because the guy that changed the meter forgot to include the meter in their database...still trying to sort this out...

Maybe they would be less busy if they did a good job from the start not rework 3 times...
Posted 2 months ago
I have moved out from a business premise, I filled a moved out online form, but what I heard from them is they could not validate the Chang and close my account.they need the new person contact them then they can do it. If you want register a new customer you can contact him. But why do you hold me back????
Posted 2 months ago
All I want is to speak with someone to solve a simple problem. It is not covered under FAQ, it can not be resolved online. You put your issue into webchat only to be told there is nobody there and to use the Contact Us page which doesn't exist. On bill payments it puts a telephone number which is unobtainable. One number says they are now closed without giving opening times. The telephone number on this site is also unavailable. Unless your house is about to go bang they make it very to solve a problem. You are better off going to another company
Posted 2 months ago
Agreed a DD for the length of my contract £81) and after a couple of months they put it up to £117, without telling me. I always pay my bills on time and energy contracts are always balanced at the end of each year, but at BG they want to take more and perhaps give a rebate at the end of the year, thus having used my money all year. Using the app and on their website, they don't even have my contract length correct. Contacting 'Customer Support' is virtually impossible. Any communication is always one-way. Live Chats are slow and useless. Get the email address and responses are little or none - Totally useless! Calling them is a forlorn hope
Posted 2 months ago
Would not even give a one star I cost a fortune finally switching goodbye u robbing arseholes!!!
Posted 2 months ago
Please, anyone thinking of using British Gas as your energy supplier think again.
They are con artists, and prey upon peoples lack to follow through, to increase their already absurd profits.
Their customer service can not speak English and are verbally abusive and hang up on you if you don't agree with them.
Posted 2 months ago
Horrendous customer service! I am a support worker for vulnerable residents & have been trying to sort out a gas meter since November to no avail. Conflicting information from customer service & over an hour on the phone each time I ring & still no resolution. Avoid like the plague!
Posted 2 months ago
British Gas is rated 1.34 based on 709 reviews