Debenhams Car Insurance Reviews

4.09 Rating 1,858 Reviews
79 %
of reviewers recommend Debenhams Car Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver, Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
Documents Delivered On-time
97%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.13 out of 5
Cancellations & Refunds
Cancellation Process
Difficult
Read Debenhams Car Insurance Reviews

About Debenhams Car Insurance:

With a range of cover to suit your individual needs that come with more as standard - there has never been a better time to get covered with Debenhams Travel Insurance. Prices start from under £5 for a single trip and under £30 for annual cover. Features include: Unlimited medical expenses cover available Cover of up to £2,500 for personal belongings, plus up to £500 for your cash Over 40 adventure sports covered FREE cover for your kids* All annual policies include winter sports cover as standard *Up to three under 18s per insured adult.

Visit Website

Phone:

0871 522 5050

Email:

customerservices@debenhamstravelinsurance.com

Write Your review

Tell us how Debenhams Car Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
hello.. at the moments we're not using the car for covid-19. and also we're Isoleting at home from last 21 days. And also not going to move 20/05/2020. So please Stop my Insurance for One Month Due To Covid -19. thank you.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
After they cancelled my policy (within one week) due to the named driver I added licence was going to expire within the policy dates, they sent me a letter saying it will be cancelled, on the day of cancellation they still took a direct debt out of my account and are now refusing to refund it, by this point I had already got another policy from else where, so now I have ended up having to pay for to lots of insurance in one month and to top it off they also want £89 for a cancellation fee! How can they get away with this, the company are complete rubbish and should not be allowed to do this, EVERYONE STAY WELL CLEAR OF THEM AND DO NOT BUY THERE INSURANCE
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
#######DO NOT USE####### They are the worst company to deal with, they just keep you on hold for ages, also they draw you in with a cheap price, hence why I went with them and because I mad a mistake with when I got my driving license by a year they Tripled the quote, but I had to go with it as I was running out of time, I asked to speak to a manager but was told non were available and either I had to pay it or get off the phone!!! I then payed it and then a few week later I had to ring back to change my address as I was moving 0.5 miles up the road, they charged me a £55 charge and when I queried it and got a little bit irate they put me on hold they put it upto £70 as they claimed they forgot to put a handling charge on! I spoke to a manager who was also very rude who said he would get rid of the other £15 charge.So I am 3 months into my policy and I need to cancel my policy as I have been promoted In my job and have received a company car as a benefit, I ring up and I tell them my situation, they say it’s a £75 cancellation charge, which is very heavy but I accept as I can’t wait to get rid of this horrible company who have taken lots of unneeded money from myself.She put me on hold again and said she needs to check some details, after another 15 minutes of waiting HALLELUJAH she finally back and then informs me the grand total will be £321 to cancel my insurance, I nearly keeled over in shock, I payed it as I can’t wait to get rid of this horrid company out of my life! I am posting this so hopefully it stops decent hard people like myself getting ripped off! Avoid like the plague, I actually hope this company gets bankrupt! Good day!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
TOTAL SCAM GoSkippy/Eldon/Debenhams car insurance is a SCAM!!! I had my insurance with them for 21 days. Paid £157 upfront, £75 deposit and £75 first months premium. Cancelled the insurance on the 21st day and now they want to charge me another £120 to cancel the insurance. Thats £270 to cancel my insurance which I held for 21 days. Tried to speak to a manager but was told there are no managers, none of the staff is helpful, nor do they know what they are doing. Was told "goskippy is a business and we are here to make money and that I'd still have to pay all these charges even if the policy lasted the whole 12 months". Literally a ripoff. I don't understand how is it that these scam companies are allowed to continue to trade. SCAM SCAM SCAM. Beware do not be fooled by their low premiums on any comparison site!!! ABSOLUTE SCAM
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
At first I was sceptical to take out car insurance with Debenhams insurance as I had saw so many bad reviews online that it put me off. I asked for some advice on a local Facebook selling page to see if anyone had been insured with Debenhams before, and I received only positive feedback. But it seems these days people will only post feedback when they've had a negative experience to vent their frustration, hence why there are very few positive reviews for any company, especially smaller ones. I was still worried, so I spent time searching for a cheaper quote and couldn't find one anywhere. It turned out this company and Go Skippy were the cheapest, and they are both owned by the same company (Eldon Insurance Services). I did I lot of research before even considering using Debenhams, and after speaking to a very helpful man on the phone, I decided to go for it. The name of the man I spoke to was Paul Thompson, I highly recommend asking for him his customer service skills are very good. I was concerned about the bad reviews I had read online and told Paul of this, he put my worries to rest. The call centre is based in South Africa, so you will need to make sure you spell everything out to them correctly due to the slight accent barrier, and ask them to spell it back to you so you know it is correct. This company will charge you admin fees for any incorrect information you supply, so do make sure it is 100% accurate. I noticed that my title had been entered in wrong and asked them to amend that while I was still on the phone so there wouldn't be an admin fee as that wasn't my mistake. This was done without question and the new paperwork emailed out to me immediately. They will ask you to email them a copy of your driving licence, licence summary and no claims discount (if you have it), for the policyholder and named drivers. I emailed this a few days after I started the policy and asked them to email me back to confirm it had been received. I received this email the following day (I emailed late at night) and then received a text to say they had received all required documentation. So far overall I am very impressed with the customer service I have received from Debenhams car insurance and Paul Thompsn, I do hope it stays that way. I have only given 4 stars for now and I will come back to update my review further down the line. If this level of service continues I'm sure they will receive 5 stars from me. The only thing I think this company could improve on is how quickly they answer the phone, be prepared to be on hold for roughly 10 minutes when you want to speak to anyone.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
STAY AWAY This company was very good and affordable when coming to purchase my insurance well when I thought. I paid extra for legal cover and windoescreen. I had a car accident on the 11.12.2015. I was travelling doen the a1 when a lorry went into the back of my vehicle whilst travelling home with my partner and two children. They are not helping me what so ever and took curtsey car off me. Leaving me without transport. My dad has kidney failure and depends on me for transportation. To this day ive had no help what do ever to which has lead me to proceed my complaint to the financial ombudsman. DO NOT GO WITH THIS COMPANY
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
I totally agree with everything i am reading on here, and i too wish i had read reviews before purchasing my car insurance with daylight robbery DEBENHAMS, i don't know how they can get away with treating people so disgustingly, i have wrote to the FCA but as yet had no reply, maybe they are owned by Debenhams as they are just as useless, my case goes is that i went on a comparison website their price came up, looked good, so i went with them, paid all the fee upfront, sent them All the documents they asked for, we email back and forth a bit, then all went quiet, so i presumed all was ok, FAR from it out of the blue i had an email to say they are not happy with my 10 year plus No claim discount, they wanted an expiry date, when i emailed them there isn't an expiry date as it is still on a vehicle that we own, they came back with it cannot be used on two vehicles, i did not know this, they then emailed me to say i would have to go to a zero NCD, my reply was how much extra would that be, only to find out it would be an ADDITIONAL £598 on top of the £304 id not long paid, i had no choice but to cancel, well the outcome was after numerous emails phone calls, getting hung up on, sooooo rude people, they ROBBED me of £216 with no explanation to this day of how they got to that amount of money for 18 DAYS insurance, i repeatedly requested a breakdown of costing but nothing came through, they are a nasty horrible firm which should be looked into by ROGUE TRADERS,come on Matt check them out, this is not right, YES i am fuming, money is tight and i HATE getting ripped off, my blood is boiling with these people, especially that they keep doing the same thing and we just got to put up and shut up, where are the authorities....and where is my MONEY...DEBENHAMS YOU ARE NAMED AND SHAMED.....
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
DO NOT GO WITH THIS COMPANY!!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
I wish I had come upon this site before I purchased my insurance though this "company". This was my first car so I didn't really know what to expect. I purchased the insurance in January 2015 and paid for the whole year upfront. They emailed me a few days later to ask for my documents, during this time they advised me that I had accidentally selected provisional as my licence type and would have to pay £400+ to change this or they would cancel the insurance. I paid the extra as I needed to use the car daily and they advised that if I wanted to cancel I wouldn't get a refund straight away (therefore meaning I couldn't purchase any other insurance elsewhere). I had an accident in March (my fault) I made a claim, no problems they just advised my quote would be higher next year. It is now October 2015 and I have had to get rid of the car because the cost of the repairs is more than the cost of the car. So I called to cancel... They said they only accept cancellation via email. When I questioned them if an email is a safe way to accept cancellation they said yes. Very rude when I suggested that anyone could cancel someone else's policy this way. Anyway basically they told me that I am not entitled to a refund of the 3 months left on the policy because I made a claim in the past. I was not told this when I made the claim first time round, and the guy I spoke to today was not very helpful in explaining this. I would not recommend this insurance unless you enjoy stress and being handed extra charges at every chance possible
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear God, I wish I had read these reviews before getting my car insurance from debenhams. Normally I read reviews before any purchase but because Debenhams is a big name I thought they will never con me!!!! How wrong was I. I purchased a car insurance on a Saturday for £420 and on Sunday after paying, it's gone down to £354. I dont know why I rechecked it to be honest. Anyway I called them since I am still within my cooling off period to either refund the difference or cancel my policy so I could buy it elsewhere and to deduct their £20 cancellation fee. Well after being passed to the 5th person, she eventually gave me the email to contact in order to cancel my insurance: cancellation@debenhamscarinsuance.co.uk email. I sent an email and was expecring an automated email to confirm the receipt of my email. After I didn't receive any confirmation email, I came online and found all these negative reviews. I am no longer sure I want to go through the stress everyone on here went through with Debenhams car insurance because of £50, so I am guessing to just spend the next 12 months with them and practically pray that no accident happens cos this way, they are not likely to pay up......
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
THE REASON THEY ARE SO BAD IS BECAUSE THEY ARE THE SAME COMPANY AS GOSKIPPY ! TERRIBLE WASTE OF TIME !
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Do not use Debenhams car insurance, it’s by far the worst insurance company I’ve dealt with and I’ve dealt with some really bad ones! Firstly when speaking with the customer services department the operators are rude and dismissive. I asked for a call back from a team leader/manager and as you can guess I never received a call back. After providing my no claims they needed a copy of my driving licence, I had to send my driving licence off to have the correct address applied as I had just moved.. the DVLA where slow as you can imagine however as I was unable to provide. Debenhams cancelled my policy... and then had the cheeky to say I had an outstanding balance due to the cancelation of the policy even though my initial payment was £145.0 (27.02.2015) and £80.00 direct debit (27.03.2015) total payment of £225.0 for six weeks cover and a further £150.00 cancellation charge..... I strongly advise you avoid them! Mr Declan Baxter
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Got sent a renewal quote overcharged by %120 two years in the row without giving any reason of why this is happening. First time they gave me a discount after my phone call with questions. This time not even going through this as there are plenty of better deals even than my original price. Mind that I had no accidents in my life and ALL details remained the same, same car also. Absolute joke of the company, do yourself a favour and go with someone else!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
This was my first experience of car insurance and am absolutely disgusted with the service and would not recommend at all . I took out my policy and 6 weeks later received a letter asking for all kinds of documents and giving me 48 to provide them . They wanted photo of car , photo of vin of car , photo of log book , proof of address , proof of occupation for myself and named driver … all this was sent over and they were still not satisfied and wanted a photo of the back of the car then they said that the proof of occupation was not good enough and now my policy is cancelled. I will now have to source another insurer which will cost me more money ...
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
This is my first policy with Debenhams and I am so glad I chose them. The buying process was simple, clear and easy to follow. I received my email to access the portal immeadiately. The price of my policy was fantastic and as single, full time working mummy this was very important to me, as I need a car to fit in my busy life. Thank you Debenhams, looking forward to a year of stress free insurance!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The worst car insurance company. I had to cancel my policy and they ask me to contact go skippy. Cost me 230GBP to cancel, of course I received a bill for all of this with ridiculous fees to diferent companyes who are intermediars. Enjoy doing bussines like this based on "cancellation fees" !
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
has to be the worst company I have ever dealt with. They rob money from you with there delay tactics!! No customer phone line, no hotline number to call !! They cancelled my policy while I was abroad without enough notice to rectify my licence summary. I tried to contact them but there is no number to contact so you have to email with a 24 hour reply. Absolutely useless, they have left me stranded and my left my family at risk!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I was told that I would get £50.00 Gift voucher if I purchase Car insurance from Debenham, I purchase as they said but I did not get anything at all. Over the year I called them more than 10 times each time they said, they would call back but never got call back, so not trustworthy Now I cancelled my car insurence from them today.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Rubbish will never use them again. Charge extra for moving house and also if you amend any details by phoning £50 and online £35 plus up to £80 plus if you park on drive double price. Poor customer service all round. All these extra charges and nothing stating these costs to clients before hand... rip off.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
NEVER AGAIN WILL I USE THESE CHARLATANS Paid my deposit & a day later had a email asking for a code off the DVLA site so that they could check my driving licence summary (never had this happen with any other insurer ever) Got the code & less than 24 hours later was hit with another email telling me they were charging me £62 because I had made an error on my application, I had put the length of years I had my licence out by one year (a genuine mistake) I have never had this problem with anyone else, even after making a claim with another company a few years ago I'm 44 years old! I WOULD HAVE LEFT 0/5 RATING IF I COULD This company are scammers, just look at nearly every review on here
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Debenhams Car Insurance is rated 4.09 based on 1,858 reviews