Debenhams Car Insurance Reviews

4.09 Rating 1,858 Reviews
79 %
of reviewers recommend Debenhams Car Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver, Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
Documents Delivered On-time
97%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.13 out of 5
Cancellations & Refunds
Cancellation Process
Difficult
Read Debenhams Car Insurance Reviews

About Debenhams Car Insurance:

With a range of cover to suit your individual needs that come with more as standard - there has never been a better time to get covered with Debenhams Travel Insurance. Prices start from under £5 for a single trip and under £30 for annual cover. Features include: Unlimited medical expenses cover available Cover of up to £2,500 for personal belongings, plus up to £500 for your cash Over 40 adventure sports covered FREE cover for your kids* All annual policies include winter sports cover as standard *Up to three under 18s per insured adult.

Visit Website

Phone:

0871 522 5050

Email:

customerservices@debenhamstravelinsurance.com

Write Your review

Tell us how Debenhams Car Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The quote and insurance are ok, but it wasn't too seamless actually taking out the insurance. They wouldn't accept my bank so I had to use an old one which I don't use anymore. It also took a long time and the person was hard to understand on the phone.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Having sold my car, I asked for a refund of the remainder of the policy cost, but am still waiting for this over two weeks longer. Debenhams say it takes 28 days to refund - blatant retention of monies with no justifiable reason. They may be cheap when getting a quote, but I guess you get what you pay for.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
£98 broker fee you've charged and then a £75 cancellation fee?! Absolutely disgraceful, avoid.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I was absolutely shafted. Wasn’t asked the exact date of passing my test and they’ve changed it and added additional premiums to my account when it could of just been amended. No effort what so ever to change it by customer services
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Was cheap insurance but now I can't drive any other car. Thought this was standard for over 25s. Went though confused.com and was asked if I drive other cars so assumed this was the case. When I didn't see this on the paperwork I phoned and asked and the answer was no, I'm not covered. I asked how much to be covered for other cars and was told that it was something that they don't do. If you need to drive other cars be careful before buying. If you don't need to drive other cars then go for this.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Every time i try to call i get on the phonr cut off
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Beware of the £50 gift card for joining as you will need to chase them to get it (I had to tell their call centre what the issuing conditions were from the website, as they gave me a tall tale about another 90 days to wait). And after moving home halfway through the policy, I thought £50 was a bit excessive to amend the details on my policy.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
called in to amend the policy, the agent was fine and professional. However the charges to amend or cancel the policy are astronomical: http://www.debenhamscarinsurance.co.uk/documents/car/TOB_car.pdf refer page 5 They are'nt getting any more of my business.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Poor product, utterly terrible customer service, very long queues on a high rate phone number and horrendous fee's if you miss even 1 payment.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Poor communication! Happy and efficient in taking my premium but after several phonecalls and emails I still dont have any acknowledgement that I actually paid them and no certificate of motor insurance either. The people at the end of the phone are in some far off land and clearly have a poor grasp of English. After spending hundreds of pounds I would at least expect an email or a letter but certainly my insurance certificate! Very poor
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Poor communication! Happy and efficient in taking my premium but after several phonecalls and emails I still dont have any acknowledgement that I actually paid them and no certificate of motor insurance either. The people at the end of the phone are in some far off land and clearly have a poor grasp of English. After spending hundreds of pounds I would at least expect an email or a letter but certainly my insurance certificate! Very poor
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I want to give a fair review. The bad: I moved house and was just charge 50pounds for admin fee. Additional premium of 15.40 despite moving to a much better area, less crime rate. I feel conned. Customer service guy so-so, not really bother toned. Rip off service. The good. To add my daughter (she's 30+ plus working) the additional premium was zero and just the admin fee of 50, which we were happy with. I agree with the 50 for additional driver, but to move house! 50quid! ridiculous!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
They charge me £205 for address change! Is it a joke? Address change only!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Maybe I should make them a one. Their after sales is poor. First incident - I bought a new car and tried to swap insurance. The first person gave wrong info and I eventually sorted it by getting a supervisor involved. Second incident - I wanted to add another driver. A waste of time and the promise to call back wasn't fulfilled. Third incident - repeat of second. I think I should go elsewhere.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
What went wrong is to be charged £50.00 to change the registration number of the car. Won't matter to you until renewal time comes around. Too late then and a bit short sighted.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Debenhams Car Insurance is rated 4.09 based on 1,858 reviews