Dunster House Ltd Reviews

1.64 Rating 88 Reviews
15 %
of reviewers recommend Dunster House Ltd
Read Dunster House Ltd Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01234272445

Email:

marketing@dunsterhouse.co.uk

Location:

Dunster House, Elms Farm Industrial Estate, Bedford

Write Your review

Tell us how Dunster House Ltd made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
My daughter loves the swing and slide set. It's very well made and it took only 2 people a few hours to put together. Highly recommended.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Excellent from placing the order to receiving the goods to constructing the climbing frame. Everybody was very helpful and iyr grandchildren love the fort !
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Whole experience from enquiry to delivery exceptional. Comprehensive instructions enabled speedy and accurate build, could not be more pleased.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Great quality everything I expected
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Very pleased with our gazebo . Instructions were easy to follow . Would highly recommend.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Good afternoon J Brown, Thank you for leaving a 5 star review. It's great to hear that you are pleased with your Dunster House gazebo and with the service you received. We hope it will be enjoyed for many years to come. We would really love to see some pictures of your Dunster House product that we can use on our website and on our social media pages. If you have any photos that you would like to share with us please send them to us via email to marketing@dunsterhouse.co.uk. Kind regards Dunster House Team
Posted 5 months ago
Such good service from this company. Excellent delivery and the Summer House I purchased is beautiful and very good quality, would certainly recommend Dunster House.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Good morning E Edwards, Thank you for leaving a 5 star review. It's great to hear that you are pleased with your Dunster House product and with the service you received. We hope it will be enjoyed for many years to come. We would really love to see some pictures of your Dunster House product that we can use on our website and on our social media pages. If you have any photos that you would like to share with us please send them to us via email to marketing@dunsterhouse.co.uk. Kind regards Dunster House Team
Posted 5 months ago
Excellent product delivered on time !!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Good afternoon B Phillips, Thank you for leaving a 5 star review. It's great to hear that you are pleased with your Dunster House product and with the service you received. We hope it will be enjoyed for many years to come. We would really love to see some pictures of your Dunster House product that we can use on our website and on our social media pages. If you have any photos that you would like to share with us please send them to us via email to marketing@dunsterhouse.co.uk. Kind regards Dunster House Team
Posted 6 months ago
Ordered a Dutch barn 8x8 easy to put together only needed two of us, quick delivery excellent product. Thoroughly recommend
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Our experience with Dunster House is unlike a few others on here. We are not do-it-yourselfers by any means, and we were 68 & 70 when we put our log cabin up. It took us 12 hours all told, the longest part of which was bringing the pieces from the front garden (driver would have put pallet in back garden, unfortunately we share a drive and next door had taken some slabs up, so driver was worried about getting fork-lift stuck down a hole) and sorting out which piece went where. Once that was done, we thought it was like putting Lego together. The hardest part for us, being older, was climbing on the roof to put the felting etc... on. It's been 2 years and we're still proud of what we've built, it hasn't leaked or anything like that.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I bought summer house from dunster house approx 12 years ago. I have had a completely different experience from mist of your other reviewers..I found the customer service very helpful both before and after sales..including furnishing me with the name of company that supplied the paint they had recommended originally as they no longer supplied it themselves. After 12 years it is showing its age..but then so am i.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Got 2 doors from this place. Quick delivery and polite salesman. Very Happy would recommend.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
good five star service purchased upvc window very good service good comms e mails phone ect would buy from them again thanks peter
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Very helpful from sales staff to delivery. I did read through the terms and conditions which stated that all quires after delivery are to be done through the customer services department via email. Customer services are very helpful as well and very knowledgeable of the products. After ready all these previous reviews I really don't understand why no one hasn't left a good review... Maybe because people expectations are too high and they need to be a little bit more realistic. I would recommend Dunster House to my friends and family as I've turned dead space in my garden into a lovely area where I can go and relax and have family and friends over to enjoy the garden. Before looking at these reviews, talk to someone at Dunster House and ask lots of questions. If you do the research you will see they've been in business for 24 years! Now if they are con artist they would of been gone a while ago. Take previous reviews with a pinch of salt.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The service I received was exemplary. Right up to when I asked for a collated total receipt, I was asked to write an email asking for what I had just requested over the phone,, I did this and 4-5 weeks later am still waiting for a reply
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Good afternoon N Clareboets, Thank you for leaving a 5 star review. It's great to hear that you are pleased with the service provided by Dunster House. We are sorry to hear that you are waiting to be contacted and we have passed on your message to the relevant department. We hope you can soon be able to enjoy your product for many years to come. Kind regards Dunster House Team
Posted 6 months ago
Vantage 220 summer house o/n SO224534 I have read the good review for this compant but find it strange considering the issues I have had with the summer house. delivery wise it was first class, but quality wise not so good with cut lengths not conforming to the items on the build instructions. Simple things such as short glazing bats varying length by over 6mm. this was the them through out the build, Hexagonal rood supports with 5 on size and 1 which was 10mm longer. Window frame being out of square making the whole project look bad, door latched not working with striker plate out of line with the latch by almost 10mm. this product was generally of poor quality with the wood pallet that this was supplied on being certainly better quality timber. Generally not a good experience and would not recommend this product to anyone
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Just some feedback for you guys out there in regards to the nameplate that has arrived here ahead of the log cabin I have ordered. I am bitterly disappointed that this is nothing more than a bit of cheap looking plastic and I am sorry to say, it will not be used on a £2,500+ log cabin. I know there was no indication of what this product looked like, but I simply ask you, Dunster House, do you feel this is exactly what you should be supplying? Personally I would have liked to see a few options...with this one not being one of them. A quick browse through any website, Amazon included, will throw up many beautiful options ranging from under £10.00 to around £30.00 This is simply cheap, cheap looking and far removed from the quality your log cabins supposedly embody. I now await, with some degree of trepidation, to the log cabin arrival. I can only hope, and pray, that this "sign" is not a "sign" of a substandard product being delivered later today....and after reading some of the reviews on here....I am seriously a bit more than worried.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I strongly advise all reading this to AVOID this company AT ALL COSTS especially if you live on Merseyside/Wirral/Cheshire area. They are truly awful with the most unprofessional and obstructive delivery service I have ever encountered, with literally no insight at a senior level/management level of how bad their service really is. Tony, delivery manager in Liverpool, actually believes he is ‘excellent at his job’ – he is not being ironic! We only wished we had known this before paying approximately £2500 for a gazedo. Don’t worry, we got it back and cancelled the order as soon as we realised what a farcical outfit DH are. If you read this though, please warn all your friends and family about this company (especially if on Merseyside/Wirral/Cheshire) because if you review the hundreds of bad reviews and complaints on multiple websites there is a clear pattern in behaviour. DO NOT believe the so called positive reviews – it is well known that those satisfied will not go to the effort of finding a review website to post onto but this company supposedly has thousands of good reviews. I suspect DH are paying employees to post very brief positive reviews to reduce the relative percentage of negative reviews – they supposedly have nearly 13000 reviews which is vastly more than some massive companies such as B and Q which has circa 3000 reviews… it is very suspect. Our issue was the same as many others. We live on the Wirral. Ordered online, paid in full and then told of a delivery date – all good so far. We started to get concerned when my wife was told the delivery was ‘kerbside’ over the phone – we had never heard something like this for big items (wood beams etc) and based on our property this would have been a nightmare especially as I was/am recovering post major abdominal surgery. We had hoped the company would place the items into our garage (which is less than 10 metres from the kerb) but we were told this was not in their ‘terms and conditions’. We explained our situation but it was clear they did not care – we even offered to pay more to place in the garage but the company did not listen. However, we visited the DH website and found this: “Please note that goods will be delivered to the first point of contact at the front of your property e.g. on your driveway. This must be within 20m from the delivery vehicle (Safely Parked at Kerbside). Our team will be responsible for assessing the risk of carrying out an assisted delivery upon arrival at the property. If they feel that there is no clear access as stated above, they will have to leave the items at the kerbside” (https://dunsterhouse.co.uk/delivery-1) We read this out to the company and they then said they would place on the driveway as per above. We were still concerned however. The day of delivery arrived and my mother in law (nearly 80) was with myself (recovering from surgery) and my 3-year-old daughter. We knew already that DH would refuse to place in the garage (meaning we would later have to struggle to place the gazebo into the garage) but on arrival we double checked as when people see our property the garage door is literally 7-8 metres from the kerbside. My mother in law answered the door and asked them. The two delivery men were extremely dismissive and told her that they would not place in the garage as it was in the terms and conditions that they did not do this which we accepted. However, they said would only place the delivery next to our bins (a 8-9 metre walk from the lorry) but would not even place outside the garage door, which still would have met their terms and conditions and given the inconvenience of them just placing on the floor on the driveway rather than the garage, and we could have struggled a bit easier to place into the garage later in the day. This is despite the distance to the bins being the same/less distance from the delivery lorry as the distance from the lorry to outside the garage (yes we measured it after this debacle) – in short we were not asking them to walk or move any extra distance. They, in short, were choosing to make life more difficult for the customer despite being informed of my circumstances. Hearing my mother in law calling me from the front door, and her saying they were not listening to her and simply dumping the delivery where it was convenient to them, I looked out of the window to see the delivery men literally throwing the gazebo on the concrete driveway (rather than placing) next to the bins. At this point I went outside to speak to the drivers and explained I was post surgery and we had hoped they would place the delivery in the garage (which they said was not in their terms and conditions), which I said that was not particularly helpful to consumers such as me recovering from surgery but they could place it next to the garage door and it would be no further to walk to move things. I also asked them to please not to throw things on the floor. The response from the 2 delivery drivers was rude, intimating and very unhelpful stating that they either put the delivery ‘where they wanted to’ or they took it way again. I explained that I was not asking them to do anything extra but merely place the delivery in a spot whereby we would not struggle to put the delivery in the garage ourselves later in the day. The tone returned was very unhelpful and rude again from the drivers, essentially saying they would not change what they had started doing (with only a handful of items at that point) and that it ‘wasn’t their problem’ and they were going to instead pack up the delivery and take it away. This all happened very quickly (their decision to not deliver the gazebo) – it was very clear they had been empowered to do what they want. These individuals, we the only DH we had met so essentially were the face of the company to us. I explained, increasingly exasperated (but not rude and not intimidating) that this was simply appalling customer service – they were not being asked to do anything outside of their terms and conditions, but simply listen to the customer and place the delivery next to the garage (not in it) for the reasons I have described. They simply would not listen and instead, loaded up the lorry whilst one of the delivery men called a man called Tony, who was his manager, to give a false narrative of the events (false narrative = made up version of events claiming they were, as 2 well built men intimidated by a single post surgery man, an 80 year old pensioner and a 3 year old child). I can assure you that being on the football terrace of any of the local Merseyside clubs at any given weekend is vastly more intimidating that anything that occurred on our driveway! In short it was nonsense. They seemed disinterested in their job and it was clear they had done this before – this was the most slick thing they did i.e. pretend they were victims and leave. Note – this meant they did not need to do a fraction of lifting off the lorry van – which they are paid for. If you look on this page and other review websites you can see the same scenario repeated and I have strong suspicions these same men are mentioned in a complaint where Tony, is clearly mentioned. It is an almost carbon copy event as this. As one of the men said ‘these are heavy and it is hot, I’ll put it down where I want otherwise you won’t get it’. Remember we had already paid in full. This was simply appalling, Our neighbour witnessed all this across the road and so did my mother in law and young daughter. My family and I were very intimidated and upset by the delivery drivers attitude and could not see any sense in their decisions other than they wanted to do what they felt was convenient to them but not to the customer. The delivery man (wearing a grey T shirt) attitude especially was that he was not bothered about poor customer service and did not care at all about how he represented (badly) the company or treatment of customers who were not asking for special treatment but just for common sense to prevail. Two men were abusing me verbally on my own property! I rang the head office immediately and spoke to Marcus (at DH) and asked to speak to a manager but was not put through. He did tell me to ring the dispatch manager at Liverpool HQ that I did after a delay – this was Tony, who had already been given a false narrative story by these delivery men. I spoke to Tony and explained how upset I was by the customer service, that I heard the false narrative given by the driver to him and how I was concerned, that all we wanted was for our paid for goods to be delivered (which they have not been) and placed in a common sense position which would not have involved any extra work to the drivers unloading. I explained to Tony how appalled I was by Dunster House employees and how this represented their company and customer care and if required I would easily and happily inform local press and media about how the company operates. Tony did not apologise for our experience or concerns and actively defended the delivery men saying he would launch a ‘thorough investigation’ which he stated would feedback back to me ASAP when I explained I was so appalled that I was strongly considering cancelling the order – I had paid £2500 and only received grief and appalling customer service. I was very concerned by his manner and could see his non-independent investigation would be shambolic as it turned out to be. I wrote a detailed complaint to DH customer service (you can’t speak to anyone about complaints from customer service which, I think this is deliberate to frustrate processes and people) and took photos (which I had taken at the time of delivery) and a video showing the layout proving how ridiculous the delivery men team had behaved in not placing outside the garage and demonstrating that essentially they had been deliberately obstructive. I rang DH again and they confirmed they had my email, the photos and video. I also rang Tony in Liverpool and he confirmed he had everything to do a ‘thorough investigation’ but he again did not fill me with confidence – when pressed he said he did not have the video which I strongly advised him to watch as placed everything into context. He said he would and that he would ring my wife and me back on the following afternoon to give the outcome of his ‘investigation’. I explained the outcome of the investigation would determine whether we cancelled the order or not given how poor the service had been so far which he noted. The following afternoon my wife was at home and Tony sent a voice message via text to my wife asking her to call back. We both rang him back so I had a witness to the conversation and recorded the conversation. He did not apologise initially but said he had done and investigation and immediately said he wanted to arrange another delivery date. I repeated that I wanted to know the outcome of his investigation (as he knew that this would determine whether we cancelled our order) and he said he would not reveal this and essentially it was dealt with but he was not prepared to discuss this with us. When pressed he admitted he had not bothered to watch the video so still did not the context of delivery and had simply googled our postcode and looked at the layout from that! It turned out that from his ‘investigation’ and googling (which does not show the up to date layout of the driveway) that he was still not prepared to put the items outside the garage door (for some inexplicable reason which the video would have demonstrated) but wanted to drop the items to the left of our driveway which I explained was a area of mud and soil currently! Tony then tried to tell me he knew my driveway better than me and that it wasn’t a soil/mud patch! The arrogance is shocking. He then explained then ‘his’ drivers (clearly not the CEOs Alex Murphy’s drivers, but Tony from Liverpool’s drivers) would drop off the items to next to the bins – the place that was the original bone of contention. At this point my wife and I decided unanimously we were dealing with untrustworthy and arrogant individuals and rang up DH and immediately cancelled the order. By chance Marcus (see earlier) answered the phone stating that he believed the customer care in this situation was shocking but that all the senior people at DH had my complaint and now could not say they were not aware of how their company was being represented. We received a full refund after a few days but not a single word of sorry from DH. This says everything you need to know about how they treat customers and are even prepared to lose £2500 worth of business as they cannot get delivery men or their managers to use their common sense or treat customers respectfully. If I was a director or CEO of DH and had lost £2500 of money because of the above not only would I have sacked the drivers, but Tony ‘I am excellent at my job’ would have been sacked too. I am detailing all of the above but have sent this to BBC Watchdog too. I hope they cover the story as fear many other people will continue to be treated this way by this company. It is so unnecessary too as people like us would have even paid a little extra to have the items placed in the garage for no real extra work off the delivery men – why don’t they offer this (at extra cost) to customers as it clearly is a recurrent issue (see complaints)? Why do they have such poor customer service and how have they empowered people like Tony and the drivers to think they are ‘excellent at their job’ when they directly lose the company thousands? Why empower people like Tony to supposedly do a ‘thorough investigation’ when clearly that is not the case – it was a sham and pointless? The mind boggles but I hope people read this and then avoid Dunster House (especially if you live in Merseyside/Wirral/Cheshire) as they simply do not deserve your custom – they will never receive ours again! We have bought a lovely gazebo elsewhere which the company delivered and assembled without any issue – and we happily paid the extra cost in order to ensure this.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Trading Standards Case: If you have had or are having a bad experience with Dunster House please read this message. I am putting together a case to take to Trading Standards and already have over a dozen customers details to accompany my issues. My experience: I've had an absolutely appalling experience with Dunster House. One of the worst aspects is that they will not engage in any customer service telephone calls; insisting instead that everything be done by email, however when it takes them 2 days to respond to an emailed issue then it causes significant problems for us, the customers. Some of the windows they delivered were not fixed in to the frames so when installing them, the window opener would simply fall out hitting whatever is beneath it, this caused a 3-week delay. Bathroom windows with delivered with clear glass instead of the ordered opaque, causing more delays. The bay window I ordered was 250mm (1/4 meter too small). Although I have sent videos and photographic proof of this they have now decided to completely ignore my communications. Front door was delivered without the ordered letterboxes, causing my elderly disabled customer even more delays. The inconvenience to my customers on loss of earnings to myself are huge. This is a fact that is just swept under the carpet by the autonomous response of the customer service. The sales teams are professional and are very efficient, then it just turns into an absolute disaster, a genuinely horrible experience. I will be spending the next 4-6 weeks; longer if needed, vigorously and proactively contacting every disgruntled customer who has registered a negative review to Dunster House in addition to opening a forum on the subject of 'Dunster House Issues', with a view to presenting a compelling case to Trading Standards. Please contact me if you have, or are having a bad experience. In many respects it's a distinct advantage that Dunster House have insisted that everything be put in black and white through an email, as we all have a collectively huge amount of damming information regarding the issues we have faced. Please contact me or look for the forum. Please also see the ' reviewcenter ' and also ' reviews io ' and please check out ' moneysavingexpert ' I wish I had been so warned. Would have saved me so much time, money and undue stress
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Dunsterhouse dont like bad reviews and get trustapilot to remove them. To get the extend of the problems you need to look at the 'Review' website, this will show you the bad quality and the nastiness of their customer services. Dunsterhouse is a UK based company who are not registered with any safe for customers type insurance. The above shows what they are which is a group of sales people who only target is to accumulate money for their directors nowhere to be seen and to do so they will target you with sales calls until you make payment and this is when all changes. Dunsterhouse is led by a sales manager calling himself a national manager as it sounds better the director will not be interested so the only way, regardless of the severity, is to notify Citizen Advice Bureau and your bank straight away. Dunsterhouse qualifies as one of the worst on line store I had to deal with. You won't find any sign of integrity or morality there.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Only gave one star because no stars is not available. Poor quality timber, lots of very bent pieces of timber and the braces are way too short. Poor quality fixings, many sheared when tightening for the first time, some more during use, dunster advice was to check them yearly. They did offer to replace the broken ones with the same sub standard fixings. Customer service well below today’s already low standards, all I can put this down to is being sooo busy sorting out all the other problems.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Dunster House Ltd is rated 1.64 based on 88 reviews