Energia Reviews

2.0 Rating 24 Reviews
25 %
of reviewers recommend Energia

Write Your review

Tell us how Energia made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Over the year I’ve had their services there have been a number of issues that have gone unresolved. Their customer service department is at times unreachable and at others just unreliable. For example, after standing in line over the phone - once it was my turn, I was simply cut off. Lo and behold, I needed to call back and now the line was longer than when I first had to call them. An example of unreliability is how they over the phone promised to provide both gas and electricity, but never did it, only setting up electricity. After another couple of calls to their customer services they did finally set up gas as well, but only through a separate account. Combining the two accounts into one - despite it being for the same address and person turned out not to be doable by their customer services. Neither was it possible through the website - this despite there being information provided by both that it is doable and will be done (website process simply returned an error). There is only so much patience due to a company who requires you to stand in phone lines and does not fulfill its promises. Avoid them.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Beware with energia. Massive hike at end of contact and they make it dilfficult to switch. And keep getting calls from northern Orangemen with dubious rates and offers to stay with them. Keep clear.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I was with energia and couldn't be bothered reading a meter, ask them to explain they said it was the esb fault, and then give me a bill at the end estimate, outrageous and ask them to explain, still couldn't give me a straight answer, but definitely withdraw my money from my account no problem did ask was ok or did care .
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Beware when your 1 year contract expires, Energia will put up your Electricity Tariff considerably, they won't notify you directly about this . Instead they will increase your monthly payments, in my case from €82 to €226 per month. This information is "hidden" away in your online dashboard under the title Letters, only upon speaking directly to their customer service did I realise what had happened.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
beware hugh bills with energia customer for years,bills were normally€ 260 now €460,unlike other companies don't tell you when your contact is up and screw you over
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Have been customer of Energia for 2+ years. Never missed a payment. However, as noted in other customer complaints my bills have steadily increased from €84 to present staggering €233 monthly. Have repeatedly complained as only occupy house 2-3 days a week and use minimal lights appliances etc. Referred to ESB and advised it would cost €250+ to verify accuracy of meter. Very little satisfaction in dealing with Energia Customer service or explanation Similarly left with bill outstanding of €544. Have decided as left with no choice to move to other electricity provider. Very dissatisfied customer.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Switched to Energia a couple of years ago - paid monthly tariff of €78 .. then it went up to €101 and then up to €159 per month. I've never missed a payment. Then earlier this year, out of blue they tell me my electricity bill is €1,200. They apologised that they didn't do a proper meter reading in sometime and have a 'catch up bill'. Now I'm left with a debt of €1,200!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I have been a customer for over a year, everything has always been fine. I have always submitted my reading and for the first time, there was an actual reading submitted which was 5x more expensive than my actual usage. I have pictures of all of my readings to prove my usage. I tried to resolve this with their customer service for about a month, spent a lot of time and money between emails and phone calls and the response in the end was that this is correct and there's nothing they can do about it. They are claiming my meter was changed by EBS but I have confirmed with my landlord and it is still the same. Not only they have charged me 5x more than my usage (which I have prove of), their customer service has not been useful at all. I am closing my account and if you are considering changing providers, do not come to Energia, it's not worth it.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I had a level pay monthly direct debit that covered my bills and all of a sudden Im hit with an extra bill of nearly €500 .. It was agreed my direct debit fee would cover and if not it would be changed and I would be given notice . Spent an hour today on the phone to get nowhere..Ive had to switch provider and I have a better discount now with board gais
Energia 1 star review on 7th September 2021
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I was very surprised and disappointed to here Energia have no free call or local phone number to call for a qoute. I did make a call, and now my phone network told me it cost me 7. 50 cent for 5 to 7 minutes. I will not be recommending this company to my friends. I decided to ho with Bordgais instead
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I had reason to contact Energia recently in relation to my bill. I got to speak to a lady named Kate . Great experience for me to speak with someone who knew what they were talking about. She understood my problem - explained to me how it could be resolved & resolved it for me. Excellent customer service . Energia replied to my email within 16-/18 hours
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My ESB bill has never been higher €190 a month, family of 4, 4 bed house, prices have gone up in the last week, so glad I left them. Rip off an
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dishonest customer service - was told by phone that I had no outstanding balance and my 12 set monthly payments had covered my consumption. Pleasantly surprised I renewed my contract for another 12 months with similar unit prices only to be told 1 month into the contract that my gas & electricity monthly bill payment has gone up by €70 because I did in fact have an outstanding balance of €450. Even an additional €70 per month over 12 months doesn't make sense to me as this adds up to €840.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Customer Care passed me through to Energy supply section and was told there was no engineers in my area in the last 5 months to fit the Free Netamo Smart Thermostat i received for switching suppliers.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Had a great experience. Quick switch and very helpful staff
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I switched recently and the savings on the first bill are definitely noticeable. Customer service were also very helpful with an issue I had with my meter reading.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Parents got a great deal!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
My electric bill averaged 120 eure every 2 months. I now get a bill for 389 euro, why?
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Customer care very poor. Every representative I dealt with (including complaints) just played for time and kept putting me off.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dishonest pricing, two representatives of the same company offering different unit rates and discounts, one is apparently able to offer more discounts than the other, not genuinely serious about customer retention, best avoided
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Energia is rated 2.0 based on 24 reviews