Lancaster Insurance Reviews

1.9 Rating 210 Reviews
22 %
of reviewers recommend Lancaster Insurance
1.9
Based on 210 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week

Write Your review

Tell us how Lancaster Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I took out an insurance policy with Lancaster Insurance company for £108. When I cancelled after 26 days, due to selling my car, I got zero refund. Ripped off! I will never use them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Terrible company to deal with. Ended up being charged the full year amount for 86 days cover after cancelling the policy due to sale of the vehicle. They only 'refunded' 6 months of the premium for 86 days cover and then the cancellation charge convieniently was exactly the amount of that 'refund'. Will never use for any of my vehicles again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Been with them for 10 years Always had first class service, but they have been bought by another company and service is shocking I have called, emailed and messaged as I need to change cover, but no reply in 4 days
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
They managed to find me a most excellent price for my classic Landrover insurance, nearly half that of other companies!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Took out the insurance paid for the year, cheap but I have an old car so suited me. Only to be told could not use ncb then told no refund and they were doing me a favour by not charging a cancellation fee. It was them that wanted to charge more money and again me out of pocket, beware and check your no claims bonus is valid with them??
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
You have really annoyed and fxxxxx me off poor service had a battle just to prove who i am and and ypu argued the toss that got sorted. Still waiting for the valuation email so i can send photos of the car but nothing take 48 hours for it huh you are a joke and i'm fed up with you lot. If anyone ask's are you good to insure with i wont be recommending you to anyone thats how unsatisfied i am with your company
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Cost me £133 when I sold my car and cancelled the policy. Tried to take it out a couple of months later by DD ..close brothers premium finance ..they seem fine but Lancaster are a nightmare..I will never use again
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Someone suggested I insure my car as a classic and Lancaster was the first firm that came up. I did the on-line quote form and the result was nearly double what I am paying via a normal insurance. Within seconds someone was on the phone to me, hassling for the business and saying that they might be able to get the quote down to match my company. I asked why, if that was so, the quote didn't give that figure. No real response. A minute after I'd put the phone down, another rep from the firm called, saying much the same thing and again with no reason why the quote was so high. I imagine if I'd had the first year at the negotiated rate, the second would be much higher. All sounded very dodgy. Wouldn't dream of using them.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Expensive rip off merchants.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I had to pay an extra £60 on top of my annual quote as they said my no claims discount of 22 years couldn't be awarded as my per my no claims discount award or I would have to work my way back over all these years to prove it. As their insurance was less than £140 I happily paid up as they said during this conversation they didn't work that way and when my insurance would be up for renewal my NCB would add on each subsequent year. Here I am a year later claim free with 9+ years discount and a renewal quote of over £850
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I only hope that you never have to claim. Their claims handling procedures are hopelessly inefficient and totally unprofessional. I have to wait hours on the phone listening to dreadful music and recorded messages "your call is important to us..."! I have been given different email addresses for repair estimates and never receive reply. Don't touch them with a bargepole!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
2 months into paying for a new car policy I rang them to change my policy details, after purchasing a new car. They charged me a £30 alteration fee and £43.68 extra to cover the new vehicle, which was exactly the same make and model as the old car but with a smaller engine. When I asked them how much I would get back if I cancelled the original policy, they told me that it would be 10 pence. In addition, because this sum was less than £10, they wouldn't make any refund. With 10 months left on my original policy, my refund would therefore be absolutely nothing. I will, however, have the last laugh on these thieving ba----ds when it time to renew. AVOID THIS DISREPUTABLE COMPANY
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Great service and fast friendly team
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I had to cancel my insurance due to outrageous charge for changing my vehicle, it was cheaper to get a new policy even though I had over six months left and to add insult Anne Marie the call person said “sorry we don’t give refunds” atrocious service .......AVOID WITH ALL YOUR MIGHT!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Beware of this company, their charges are verging on criminal. I took a policy with them after going via an online comparison site. Not taking too much notice of the all the paperwork, they send loads (perhaps in order that some get overlooked) I should have gone through it all thoroughly, but after having countless car insurance policies over the years thought it would be a standard policy and agreement, plus none of these fees were explained or made plain when taking the policy out at quotation stage. Only after the policy is taken. SO CHECK ALL THE PAPERWORK Fees they charge £70 arrangement fee! 44.38 APR for paying monthly via direct debit. And a £30 fee for changing vehicle details midterm. I cancelled the policy when I sold the car, more fees!! Then as I did not pay within a few days I received a letter threatening legal action and passing onto a collection agency! My advice do not use them and go direct to insurers cut out these comparison sites. I recently took out a new car insurance direct with a company and it was cheaper and had more cover then any listed on the comparison sites.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
For a simple change of address a charge of £30. No way. Totally out of order. People be aware.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Shocking company. Totally messed up a new Classic car policy that I took with them. Very poor responce. Go elsewhere for your insurance!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Went to cancel my car insurance with Lancaster Insurance Services after being insured for 3 months. THE COST TO CANCEL MY POLICY is £187.11 (£50 cancelation charge, and the 100.77 is what Lancaster say the insurance company charge. plus they still take next months direct debit of £36). After a lengthy call I managed to get £50 cancelation charge written off. So still ended up paying £100.77 plus £36 to cancel my policy. I had paid my policy on time, every month by direct debit. DON'T GET CAUGHT ON MASSIVE UNFAIR CHARGES from Lancaster Insurance Services!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Very poor insurance company who will rip you off Do not use .........
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
put a private plate on my car they charged me £30 to change the number
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Lancaster Insurance is rated 1.9 based on 210 reviews