Paws and Claws Reviews

2.7 Rating 89 Reviews
44 %
of reviewers recommend Paws and Claws
2.7
Based on 89 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone

Write Your review

Tell us how Paws and Claws made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
lie constantly about not receiving claim ,after faxing post by myself and the vet
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
If I could rate this as zero I would - do not use this "insurance" company Not only do the pretend not to receive correspondence (despite putting a read receipt on the 4th email), they will come up with any excuse under the sun not to pay out. Refusal to pay for tests as lead to diagnosis of cancer which is not covered, however the tests, bloods and other investigation to get to this stage should have been covered.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Unfortunately I can't give zero stars!! Absolute disgrace of a company, not only did it take nearly six months to process a the claim, but they refused to pay saying was a pre existing condition! Tried to explain that the knee is a completely different joint to the hips and that the claim was to investigate what was wrong as the vet didn't know. Ws initially transferred to a different department, which the advisor puts you through to by terminating the call!!!! Needless to say I pay £25 a month for nothing as this company will always say "well it appears to be linked to her previous condition" Please save your money and don't use this company, these company's don't get rich by paying out, they will always find an excuse to weasel out of a claim!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
My Chihauhau was very pooly I took him to the vets who advised that he had an enlarged heart. I paid the bill and submitted my claim, which was acknowledged and duly paid in good time minus the access and the 15% because Casper was over 8 years old both as per the terms and conditions. So at this point of time I am very happy with the service provided.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
1st thing it took 3 months to receive 1 claim for my dog. Was hang up on when rang them to ask my policy and every time I have rang them. When my policy was up for renewal I never received the emails for the renewal and the policy payment was doubled. I have had to cancel my policy because I am unable to pay the bill. Absolute joke of a company I would never use this company again.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
worst company ever dealt with. refusing to pay for my dogs operation, insisting it was an existing condition, despite the fact my vet has sent several letters, emails to confirm it wasn't. they have claimed on 4 occasions the vets letters wrrent received. come on. 1 letter might get lost, not 4. having appealed the decision not to pay we were told it would take over two months for the appeal. we have now lodged a small claims court against them to get our payment. we are now receiving fake solicitors letters from them. we even got a call from them today saying we couldn't sue as 'paws and claws' does not exist. unbelievable. do not use this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
12 year old dog now having a few problems, they paid out on one of his illness but a couple of months after needed his tail amputated, they wouldn't pay out saying vet did not disclose proper information, got vets to write letter thought that would solve the problem but had an email back saying that the dog wouldn't keep his collar on and had he done so his tail wouldn't needed to be amputated, absolute Bol....., the dog did not attempt to touch the end of his tail once, the tube/bandage kept coming off, this company is a CON MERCHANT
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Lack of response to emails and enquiries; failure to supply copies of documents; always appear to have unprecedented levels of claims; poor explanations on payouts; arbitrary decisions that have no logic i.e. operation requiring anaesthetic would only pay half as some cosmetic work completed at same time.
Helpful Report
(Pet Insurance) - Posted 5 years ago
I put a claim form in for an operation at the beginning of September and I was told it would take up to 20 working days to sort claim out, when I. called them after 20 days I was told there was a back log and would take a few days longer. Its now the end of November and I'm still waiting!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
This company has the worst customer service I have ever experienced. Takes months for them to reply to emails. Then they don't reply with the information you need. Full of excuses. I will not be using these ever again. I would never recommend them to family or friends. Quick enough to take my money but takes months for a reply. They refused to pay out on my policy and give terrible excuses! I'd never trust this company with my dogs health again! Wish I had read the reviews first!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Two claims which took long over listed time of 10 days on one claim and 20 days on other due they say to large volume of claims. When contacted by phone both times gave the excuse that they were training staff and that is why claims delayed. Second claim took 8 weeks to process. Will be interesting to see what renewal will be Fortunately had sufficient funds but if I had been waiting for the payment could have been in problems
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Submitted a claim by post with all relevant documentation from vet. Have heard nothing since. Emailed them for confirmation and received no reply. Tried calling claim line and was on hold for over 20 minutes before I gave up. Will be going elsewhere in future. Utterly useless!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Absolutely useless, submitted a claim in July, now almost the end of September and they are still saying due to back log of claims it is going to be a few more weeks! - they say the same thing every time I ring - beginning to lose the will to live with this company - never again.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Not possible to contact them by mail! Not possible to contact them by phone! Not even react on contact form on their page!!! It's absolute scum - save your time and energy and get any other insurance... I'd give them 0 or negative score if there is such option!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Paws and Claws is a complete scam. They take your money and when you make a claim they do not pay out. Even with a letter from the Vet supporting the claim, they refused. I am going to an ombudsman. Whatever you do, do not go with this company. I reckon the positive reviews on here are all written by the company. If you go to http://www.pet-insurance-surveys.co.uk/ you will find some interesting reading.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Unfortunately, we chose this company as the price was competitive. But, as with most insurances, you only get to know how good they are when you need to make a claim. Our experience has not been a good one. Our dog has developed arthritis in her elbow. At the moment, it's not severe. We had to arrange an x-ray and some medication, resulting in a claim. The claim form was submitted at the end of April. It is now 19th July and we are still awaiting payment!! Even though over two weeks ago, we were told that the claim had been approved! They are awaiting a cheque to be authorised... despite us giving over bank details and requesting a bank transfer. I'm now told we will probably have to wait another few days for the cheque to be signed and then posted!! Please.... If you are looking for an insurer... check to see how long they take over claims. This lot say they take 10 days!!!... But in truth, it's taken nearly 80 days!!! The problem is now that we are stuck with having to renew cover with this company as we have a 'lifelong policy' and no other insurer will accept our pet and cover a pre existing condition. ALSO, the premium has just over doubled in cost from last year!!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
This company was most helpful when my dog had surgery and settled the claim quickly. I would recommend it.
Helpful Report
(Pet Insurance) - Posted 6 years ago
Nothing wrong with the service received from Paws insurance BUT they didnt send details to Compare the Market and I could not claim my toy so tried to contact them to confirm with them but didnt get any joy! Compare wouldnt let me claim because of this!!!
Helpful Report
(Pet Insurance) - Posted 6 years ago
Easy and very helpfully over the phone to contact.
Helpful Report
(Pet Insurance) - Posted 6 years ago
My claim has been handled very professionally and promptly.
Helpful Report
(Pet Insurance) - Posted 6 years ago
Paws and Claws is rated 2.7 based on 89 reviews