Policy Expert Reviews

4.71 Rating 15,198 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend Policy Expert
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
On-time Delivery
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.73 out of 5
Read Policy Expert Reviews

About Policy Expert:

Our customers are at the heart of everything we do, and our team of experts have a real passion for making sure people get the right cover for them.

Policy Expert is driven by a desire to help our customers find not only the best value insurance, but the right insurance for their individual needs.

Our dedicated Experts are always on hand to help - either online or over the phone. Whether you want assistance in finding the right policy or even handling a claim, we make sure it’s all handled by experts.

Visit Website


0330 0600 600




352-390, Silbury Boulevard, Milton Keynes

Write Your review

Tell us how Policy Expert made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
I bought my insurance through Policy Expert because of the largely 4 or 5 star online reviews. However, upon closer inspection, it is quite clear that most if not all of the 'glowing' reviews simply arise from someone obtaining or renewing their premium and not from the use of the claims process, which, lets be honest, is why we have insurance in the first place. Having never had to deal with making a claim via Home Insurance previously, I was going into the process completely blind. However, I know that I will never be using Policy Expert in future. It started on Saturday when a burst pipe under the bath resulted in an almost biblical flood through the downstairs of our property. We called the emergency cover hotline, and was passed through to a third party provider. I got through to a lady called Trisha who initially was adamant that I did not have emergency cover. When I assured her I did, I mean I was looking at the schedule on my phone at the time, Trisha proceeded to hang up on me. So I called back and got through to, you guessed it, Trisha again who, for a second time hung up on me. In all, Trisha hung up on me a total of 5 times! Now I may have been a little agitated at the time (it was raining in my house!) I was at no times rude to the handler. When I asked why she kept hanging up on me, she muttered something about 'getting off to a bad start'.... Anyway, on my 6th call back, I got through to a chap called Ben. Ben managed to locate my policy and arranged for a plumber to call in that day. The plumber did, in all fairness, show up around 3 hours later and managed to isolate the leak. The result of that however, was the loss of hot water to the upstairs bathroom and to the sink in the downstairs toilet. The plumber advised he would call back regarding an actual repair however that call never came. So I called on the Monday to chase and was advised the plumber had failed to move the claim to the next 'stage'. No problem I thought, at least things were sort of getting dealt with. I was told a quote would be sought and I would be called back. That takes me to today when I received a voicemail from CET (the handlers) that a quote of £150 has been received to fix the part, however as we had alternative bathing facilities, it was not covered under the terms of the policy. Now I don't know about you, but the kitchen sink doesn't seem like appropriate 'alternative bathing facilities' to me! So I scoured the policy documents and attached definitions document and couldn't find any such exclusion based on alternative bathing facilities. When I called back to query, I advised that I in fact did not have a second bathroom as they seemingly thought and was placed on hold whilst they 'considered matters' I am then told that as we have cold water to the property, the situation is no longer deemed an emergency so is not covered under the terms. Now this is clearly a difference explanation to the voicemail left, which does infer that they are not clear on the precise exclusions to the policy and that their staff generally are of poor quality. Now I had two decisions, do I bother arguing or just get on and pay it. In the end, I chose to pay. It's not fun being in a house with a 4 months pregnant Mrs and no hot water. So in short, they may well be brilliant on the phone when it comes to answering questions on renewals etc..... but when it comes to making a claim, they are worse than poor. Life is too short to argue with companies like this, but If this review stops one person lining the pockets of these folk, then my work here is done. I'm off to have a bath in my kitchen sink now. Policy Expert seem to think that okay anyway!
Posted 2 years ago
Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear that you're not happy with your recent experience with us. I am extremely keen to get your calls with Trisha looked into, as we certainly would not expect an agent from our Home Emergency team to terminate any call with a customer unless it was due to severe circumstances that warranted the termination of the call. Unfortunately, I have been unable to locate your policy with the details provided in this review, however, on a general basis, our home emergency policies are designed to cover emergencies to your primary heating system. An emergency would be defined as no hot water/heating. As confirmed, I have been unable to locate your policy with the details provided in this review. Therefore, please contact our customer service team either via telephone on 0330 0600 632, via email: ask@policyexpert.co.uk or via live chat which is available on our website to give us your details to enable us to look into things for you. Thanks, Hannah.
Posted 2 years ago
Monies were taken out of my bank account some 4 days prior to renewal without my permission. I'd already found a cheaper alternative with improved benefits and lower excesses so emailed PolicyExpert in advance of renewal requesting that my bank account be re-credited. Seven days later and three days past renewal date and I'm still to have the decency of a response despite further chasers by email and telephone with copious time spent in a queue. I'm loathe to take out insurance with another carrier lest I never get a response or monies returned. Put simply, this is theft. Terrible company that appear to transact business on an automated basis with no service ethic.
Posted 4 years ago
Very unhappy indeed with Policy Expert. Never claimed in my life, been with Policy Expert 2 years. Wettest and windiest winter in decades, I had some water ingress, possibly from the chimney. I rang up and they told me Sorry, we can't do a thing, we won't do a thing ! I said, Excuse me ??? No Sir, sounds like your house needs maintenance, not our problem....... They even said, Oh, you haven't had high winds in your area over 35mph for 12 months .That was utter tosh given the winter and storms all across the country. Then they said, If you can get a builder in ( at my own expense ) and he will state you've had winds over 58 mph, we may review our decision . No they won't because they will once again quote their lie, that we've not had winds over 35 mph, and I live up in the hills. We've had several gales this year 60/70mph. Don't waste your money with this company. They absolutely don't want to know. Kevin Savage Avvrington, Lancs.
Posted 5 years ago
Very unhelpful Spent nearly 2 hours on hold Not happy one bit.
(Home Insurance) - Posted 5 years ago
I spoke with the claims department regarding the rear wall to my house. I had replacement double glazing installed and during this the builders found that the concrete lintel had cracked and the outside wall had dropped which was unsafe. I authorised the double glazing company to replace the wall and lintel to make it safe which they are in the process of doing. They have disposed of the concrete lintel which had to be cut up to move. 4 metres in length. I phoned claims to explain this naively thinking that they would be of help but it became quickly apparent that this would be down to wear and tear as on of the exclusions. Not very impressed by this attitude and very disappointed, but not surprised. Was told if there had been a fire, theft, flood etc then this would be covered but not what I phoned up about. Will not be renewing my policy with this company.
Posted 5 years ago
My house was struck by lightning and it blew all my tv's/dvd/ps3/Internet equipment that was connected through the plug and aerial. It also burnt my carpet. All were replaced or fixed quickly and with ease. Great service at a very stressful time.
(Home Insurance) - Posted 6 years ago
First time I've insured with Policy Expert but first impression is that they're certainly value for money with good coverage per £.
Posted 4 weeks ago
top price for renewal, quick and no-nonsense.
Posted 1 year ago
I made a claim for my roof on 09 February and the surveyor has been out and completed a report (this was 2 weeks ago) since this point I have submitted a quote as instructed by policy expert. I have rang at least 6 times to establish whether I can proceed and I am continually fobbed off with the same broken record that due to the storm surge they are unable to give me an answer! They are yet to ring me and I have wasted so much time attempting to get it sorted out. As an insurance company they should factor in meeting the demand in the event of a surge. We have had storms not a tsunami or an earthquake.. Extremely poor service and after reading reviews this seems to be a trend.. (not just recent reviews but also ones from last year). Why take on customers if you are unable to meet the demand yet alone answer simple questions. I’ve just been advised that I have a case worker (never heard from this person either)! Will never renew my policy with this company again - total nightmare.
Posted 1 year ago
Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry that you have not received an update on your claim. I can assure you that our claims team have been doing their best to manage a high number of claims queries as quickly and efficiently as possible, however, I do appreciate your concerns and would like to arrange an urgent call back for you. Unfortunately, I have been unable to locate your account with the details you have left on this review, please could you email me directly? I am available via telephone or you can email me and highlight it for the attention of Nisha. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 1 year ago
Ok, lets go! I am so glad my claim is so small! Lost one tile off the roof and I have some pointing damage Rang them, they took my mobile number down wrong so the assessor could not make contact, they did not try to contact me, I had to chase, I was called into work and despite contacting them and confirming in a live chat that I was not going to be in, they did not tell the assessor, he managed to view the damage and reported back to them the next day, apart from saying that they have the report, nothing for over 2 weeks, I have chased twice. I am left with a plastic bag covering part of my roof, the assessor started that it will be up to me to get it sorted and that they will issue an amount to get it fixed, fun, why do I think it is not going to be enough, I was also told with the pressures it may be May until I get get the work down, its not being left high and dry and low wet and alone. Won't be ever touching these people again or Trinity Claims who I seem to be put though to, that is if you are willing to use up all your minutes and once being cut of with the simple auto message "we are too busy"
Posted 1 year ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I'm sorry to hear that you're unhappy with the way your claim is being managed. Given the recent storm that has affected the majority of the UK, our claims team have been doing their utmost to deal with a high number of claims queries as quickly as possible. These claims queries have varied in severity, but we do still value every policyholders claim. We'd like to take this opportunity to thank you for your patience and understanding during this understandably busy time. I have raised your concerns with our claims team and I understand that somebody is due to contact you shortly to discuss this further. If you have any additional comments, or if there is anything else that I can assist you with in the meantime, please do not hesitate to email me at ask@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Jasmine
Posted 1 year ago
Would give no stars if an option
Posted 1 year ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you're unhappy with our service. I'm afraid I am unable to address your concerns without any further details. However, I would love the opportunity to look into things for you. Can you please email me the reasons you are unhappy and your account details? Our email address is ask@policyexpert.co.uk. Be sure to highlight your email for my attention so I can pick it up right away! Thanks in advance, Jasmine
Posted 1 year ago
Very dissappointed with this service had full cover and accidental damage cover for home plus contents. However even before i made a claim i was told my premiums would go up, did i want to go ahead. Yes the storm with 70 miles an hour wind had blown a wall down. Sent Surveyor called maximum 10minutes. Heard from the company no it was anything but the storm. However my premiums will be affected because they had sent a surveyor out. It didnt seems to matter that i also had accidental damage. I feel the policy is not worth the paper its written on. I will NOT be using this firm again.
Posted 1 year ago
Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear that you are not happy with the outcome of your claim and the potential premium increase. Our claims process is fixed to ensure customer claims and enquiries are always managed fairly and in line with the policy Terms and Conditions. Insurance premiums are likely to increase after a claim has been made and the amount the premium increases by will generally depend on the value of the claim. However, we will always do our best to offer you the lowest premium at renewal while still making sure that you have enough cover to meet your needs. If you do wish to discuss this further or if there is anything else I can help you with, please contact me directly. I am available via phone or you can email me at ask@policyexpert.co.uk and mark for my attention. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 1 year ago
If I could I would give - minus 100 People giving them good reviews obviously haven't tried to claim. I was burgled and they are refusing to give me anything. All my Christmas presents taken and all my jewellery.
Posted 1 year ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that this has happened and that you're unhappy with the outcome of your claim. We will always review claims in-line with the cover provided by your policy. As I have been unable to locate your account with the information left in your review, I cannot clarify why we have not been able to assist you with your claim on this occasion. However, I would like to investigate this further for you. Can you please forward me your account details to ask@policyexpert.co.uk? I look forward to hearing from you. Thanks, Jasmine
Posted 1 year ago
after being in a major flood and being promised everything by these cowboys thinking they were decent after no progress absolutely shocked after three months informed they are paying me out with £16000 on a £40000 claim and they are walking away !!! spoke to a lot of insurance experts found out they are renowned for this ! please listen to me and if you are with them i would cancel any policy even if it costs you its not until you need them you find how bad they are and these are the worst !!! cant express strongly enough !!! c
Posted 1 year ago
Good price for the year
Posted 2 years ago
My Home policy was due to expire on the 15th, Policy Expert took payment from my account on the 11th, I cancelled the renewal on the 13th I,, it's now the 23rd and I've had to ring them again (waited 20 minutes on hold) to get my payment refunded
Posted 2 years ago
Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We automatically renew your policy (and take payment) 3-5 days before the renewal date to ensure that the payment is successful. This is also to ensure that we do not leave our customers without cover unknowingly in case there are any issues with processing the payment. We also contact you 30 days prior to the renewal date to confirm this will happen and advise you of our automatic renewal process. I am sorry to hear that when you called us you had to hold for a considerable amount of time before getting through. This is certainly longer than we'd expect you to have to wait on hold, however, sometimes, we are unavoidably busier than usual. We will however, always do our best to keep hold times top a minimum and ensure our customers can get through to us over the phone. I have looked into things for you and can see that this has now all been resolved our end for you. However, if you would like to discuss this further, or if there is anything else I can assist you with, please do not hesitate to get in touch on 0330 0600 632. Thanks, Hannah.
Posted 2 years ago
I think other reviews you see are bought for money. When you try to call for a claim they will spend more time to find a reason not to cover you than trying to help you
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review. I'm sorry to hear that you feel this way. I am keen to look into things for you, however, I am unable to locate a policy for you with the details provided. Please either give us a call on 0330 0600 632 or email ask@policyexpert.co.uk to enable us to investigate things for you. Thanks, Hannah
Posted 3 years ago
I would like a sent paper invoice of what I have purchased,
Posted 3 years ago
Good morning, Thanks for leaving us a review. I have sent you an email regarding this. Thanks, Hannah
Posted 3 years ago
I had car reverse in my front wall So I had to make a claim against the driver I've never made a claim since I own my property in 16year or more Policy expert made it quick and easy and hassle free. I have renewed my policy agine with you Many thanks
Posted 3 years ago
Really quick and easy and great communication and customer care.
Posted 3 years ago
Policy Expert is rated 4.71 based on 15,198 reviews