RAC Insurance Reviews

2.35 Rating 1,038 Reviews
33 %
of reviewers recommend RAC Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
1.35 out of 5
Cancellations & Refunds
Cancellation Process
Difficult

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Would never deal with RAC again ever charged £25 twice for Administration in space of 10 days for New car and then to change back to existing private plate that they had already insured and I done the Admin online and they charged me for the Privilege I thought Dick Turpin wore a mask he doesn't he works for Rac
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Obtained a quote to change my car was advised £10.53 would be returned. Next day went to complete and had to pay £26.45. Customer Service refused to assist saying rates change would not even drop their £25 fee. Shocking for such a respected company.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Easy fast bit pricey but think its worth it
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Dreadful company to deal with. Very unhelpful.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
2 hour wait on phone to try and make a claim - eventually gave up
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Don't Get car insurance with this lot change my occupation from LvG driver to Bus Driver and had to pay additional payment of £41 pounds explain for this reason it more likely for me to be involved in a collision also change from a 2,2 lite to 1.6 zero tax and still had to pay 25 pounds for this service
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Customer service is very bad - was with them for a year but will never get an insurance with them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Disgraceful service to a long standing customer of 12 years. Despite no change in circumstances doubled cost of insurance to nearly £700 without any adequate notice. Would recommend not using this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
They have always been there for me.and always gave good services even breakdown.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Amazing policy and customer service amazing
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Their Customer Services are absolutely rubbish. Was harassed for additional payment for cancellation of a motor policy and direct debit. When the funds had been cleared in full, the direct debit fee plus late payment a short time later they levied another fee for something else. At each point they told me the balance on my account was nil and then through harassment advised if I did not stump up they would place the amount requested to their Collection Dept. Although they were small amounts requested this was hardly good and equitable customer services. Wouldn't touch them with a barge pole!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Absolutely terrible service, have waited 9 hours, no ones come, job was deferred! Paying for the full package and no ones available to do a jump start! Ridiculous service!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Never have car insurance with the RAC Days of trying to get through Cant cancel online Scandalous to pay a £55 cancellation fee when you no longer have the car you were insuring. Will not recommend RAC again Will be sending in an official complaint and also going through ombudsman Quote me Happy Hubby was insured with, cancelled policy on his car as got new one, could do it online and got a cheque through post for slight overpayment
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Suicide causers, they will drive you mad. Constantly stealing your money
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Never go near RAC, Scum, thieves, liars. People are in jail for less. They will make you suicidal
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Theres a reason RAC insurance is scoring 2/3. They could be more up front about things. First year they roped me in with a lower quote and this year bumped up by 20% for no reason. When i enquired they said first year was introductory new customer. What about loyalty, thats whay don't have any. Then when you want to report an incident you have got to do in 2 places . With RAC and then under writer! One day insurer will appreciate loyal customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
DONT GET RAC INSURANCE Took out a black box policy, where it advertised no curfews. Turns out driving after 7pm majorly affects your score. Then trying to cancel the policy is the hardest thing posssible.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
POOR customer service. Staff are rude and literally talk over you. Cancelled a policy BEFORE money was taken out of my account and a week before the policy was started. They took the full amount out of my account, will be charging me a £25 cancellation fee. Was told I'd get my refund in 48 hours, 7 days later still waiting. Don't let the name fool you. Do your homework and go with a different car insurance provider.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
After breaking down an hour from home it took 21 hours for a local garage to get us home...abysmal customer service..complaints team even worse..so much for their TV adverts.better iff breaking down and sorting it out yourself and least it will be the truth.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
My brother in law was sure he had purchased the most comprehensive trvel abroad car insurance they offered. Yet when we hit a deer 2am on a french motorway we were towed to a garage, left to sleep with our toddler in the car all night (despite promises of a hotel) and then woke to find not only that the garage was closed all weekend but to a message that RAC wouldn't help further because it was an 'accident' not a 'breakdown'. This is not clear on your website, so if you purchase from them go through the contract with a fine tooth comb and be prepared for them to find any excuse not to help you.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
RAC Insurance is rated 2.35 based on 1,038 reviews