Holiday Autos Reviews

1.1 Rating 387 Reviews
2 %
of reviewers recommend Holiday Autos
1.1
Based on 387 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
On-time Delivery
Greater than 15%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.1 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Read Holiday Autos Reviews

Phone:

0871 472 5229

Location:

Victoria Gate
Chobham Road
Woking

Write Your review

Tell us how Holiday Autos made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Holiday Autos 1 star review on 21st April 2022
Cee
Holiday Autos 1 star review on 21st April 2022
Cee
Holiday Autos 1 star review on 27th December 2021
Viacheslav
Holiday Autos 1 star review on 23rd October 2021
Anonymous
Holiday Autos 1 star review on 4th June 2021
M B
Holiday Autos 1 star review on 15th May 2021
Anonymous
Holiday Autos 1 star review on 15th May 2021
Anonymous
1
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
In February of 2019 I reserved and paid for a rental car from Holiday Autos. Read that again, I paid for the car, the transaction had already gone through on my credit card. My flight from Calgary to Toronto was delayed by 2 hours. I was on the phone to Holiday Autos multiple times, and at one point made a quick call to the manager in Toronto while the plane was waiting to taxi down the runway... Holiday Autos requires the renter to show up at the specified time to pick up the vehicle. Even though passengers on flights cannot control when the plane takes off or lands, there is no ethical responsibility in place by Holiday Autos to hold a renters vehicle at the pick up destination, and there is a policy in place to not refund a rental payment... Do you see where I'm going with this? I reserved the vehicle. I paid for the vehicle. I was late by 2 hours through no fault of my own. I communicated continuously with the manager at Holiday Autos of the status of my flight. Holiday Autos rented my vehicle to another customer and refused to refund me the rental fee I paid for a vehicle I did not get to use. They double dipped on one vehicle at the consumers cost due to their unethical policies. Companies like this should never be allowed to operate. This is theft via company policy. Enterprise, Discount, Hertz, Budget, Foxx... They never treat their customers like this. Make a consumer statement, do not rent from Holiday Autos
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Advertised as in airport car hire place but actually some walk from airport to desk and name of renter was not Holiday Autos. Hard work! Make sure you have a VISA credit card for deposit or they will not give you the car you have paid for but will still take your money. No refund. Do Not Use.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Very poor customer service, wasn't the first time but will be the last. Went to the airport pick up the car in the afternoon 3pm , but the counter was closed, the operating hours had changed due to the covid situation.(meet and greet on the weekend) The rental company agreed to process a refund and apologised for the miscommunication, no one called to advise these changement , even though they had my pick up time. I had to provide details with the third part Holiday Auto. I was very confident about getting the refund for something that I didn't use, since the counter was closed. I had to do a brand new booking with one the open agency. But then after a ping pong game and all informations provided, the extraordinary honest holiday Autos charged me full price for something that I didn't use at all. I've rented thousand rental cars and that the first that I see anything like that, UNLAWFUL , MALPRACTICE and simply not TRUSTWORTHY
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
website won't allow changes to be made to bookings. web chat doesn't work phone lines are badly queued out - expect to wait for up to 40 minutes or more. they tried to swindle me out of £20 i was due for a refund so i cancelled but now they tell me it'll take 20 working days for the money to get back to my bank along with any processing time it take my bank to refund me. 20 working days? really? even though it'll take a month for my refund so glad i cancelled after reading all the horror stories on here about this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Absolutely awful pick up service and the tried to tell us we couldn’t have our car because they couldn’t contact the DVLA. Then wanted £1200 deposit although we’d already opted to pay £50 to easy jet to protect our deposit. DO NOT USE!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Beware cheap quotes with get out clauses in the small print We used Holiday Autos to book a car to be picked up at Barcelona Airport. As we were working our way through Gatwick Airport to fly to Spain, we received a call from Holiday Autos to say the car we booked was no longer available, but they had found two alternatives. One was from the same car rental company (Firefly), but was more expensive, while the other was from a company located off-site (Centauro). Fearing that Firefly couldn't be trusted to follow through, we opted for the off-site booking. When we arrived in Barcelona, we eventually got to the Centauro office by shuttle bus and tried to hire the car. However, Centauro told us we had to drop the car back after 7am in the morning (a ridiculous requirement at a major airport), which would mean missing our return flight. Holiday Autos hadn't warned us about this. We called Holiday Autos to cancel the booking and were told we were too late and we had to pay the full amount. Stupidly, we asked Holiday Autos to find us another car at Barcelona Airport. They did, but failed to tell us that we needed a credit card with both a christian name and a surname to pay the deposit with InterRent. When we tried to hire the car with a credit card with an initial and surname, InterRent wouldn't accept it. We quickly called Holiday Autos to cancel the booking and this time we only had to pay a cancellation fee, rather than the whole amount. By now, we were approximately £140 out of pocket and still no car and at the mercy of the car hire companies at Barcelona Airport. This time we decided to skip Holiday Autos and talk directly to the car hire companies. Not surprisingly, all the quotes were much, much higher than those offered by Holiday Autos. When we complained, Holiday Autos pointed to small print in its T&Cs that you can't read when you make bookings over the phone. Don't use this company - it doesn't tell you what you need to know.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I had to cancel my trip to Sardegna back at the beginning of June because of Covid 19 and I have followed the procedure on the "manage my booking" website of Holiday Autos to cancel my car hire. I have now checked my credit card statement to see if they had reimbursed my money and they haven't. It turns out my booking hadn't been cancelled even if I had request them to do. What a rip off! I will never use this company again and you should do the same. They can't be trusted. They want you to use their website to cancel your booking so that you can't prove you did cancel. Completely dishonest and unethical.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Stay away from them. Made a booking which was 100% cancellable up to 48 hours before booking. When I cancelled the website only gives you one option which I ticked and now I have a voucher for £695 (they have had my money for over 6 months) and I can't use because of Covid19. They are refusing to give me the refund promised on my original booking. Professional customer service staff but absolutely no customer service. Just interested in keeping the money. Daylight robbery!! Avoid using them at all costs.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Misleading TS&C's. Says the deposit to be taken on your CC is €500. Confirmation email states it's €2200!!! Cancelled straight away. Told it will take over a month to refund. Absolute con. Avoid like the plague or COVID.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Stay away from them. Same as many on here they cancelled my car hire in March due to covid19 and promised refund by 31st May at latest, now July and still nothing AVOID them.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I booked a car to be collected this evening, when I arrived the branch was closed. I now have to look at alternative method of transport to catch a flight in the morning. I was notified that the branch had been closed for 3 month due to covid19, so how was it even possible for the booking to be made in the first place. STAY AWAY!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I have been trying to get in contact through calls and online with Holiday Autos for weeks and weeks regarding my refund form my care hire which I was not able to use due to my trip being cancelled due to COV-19. When I finally got through, I was told that because I had not made contact, I would not receive a refund. The customer services representative then hung up the call. I am making a formal complaint about the process but want to flag to anyone that if you book through Holiday Autos, you cannot be sure that you will receive a refund, regardless of whether this is in their terms and conditions - be careful!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Cancelled in March due to Coronovirus. Promised refund for 31st May...... Still waiting!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Due to the pandemic I have just had to cancel my June trip to Spain. Spoke to Helen who was the most helpful person I have had the pleasure to deal with in a long time! Great customer service will definitely be booking again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
|I had to cancel my booking 23hrs before picking my car up at Salzburg on 13th March 2020 when Austria announced closure of ski resorts. I was initially charged an admin fee for cancellation which was kindly refunded a day or two later. Understandably they have been overwhelmed by refund requests similar to many other companies in these exceptional circumstances. I was asked to be patient after querying the delay. I have just noticed the refund of booking was credited to my account on 26th May 2020. I have used Holiday Autos on a previous trip to Salzburg. I will definitely use them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Cancelled my car rental made through holiday autos on 15th March and still waiting for my money. Continually used delaying tactics. Told initially it could 10 working days, then 20 days then by may 31st. We shall see. Notice that you can still book a car with them and the shortage of staff does not stop them taking money off you for a new booking only when the need to give the money back.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
In addition, they stopped refunding the cancelled refundable rents.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
NEVER RENT THROUGH HOLIDAY AUTOS. The communications were hugely misleading and as a result I was unable to rent a car and was still charged the full amount for it. Holiday Autos incurred no cost whatsoever as were not charged by the actual hire company so they essentially robbed my money. I would highly recommend to never use them.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
They are lying about their zero cost cancellation policy. They have been hanging on to money for 8 weeks claiming they haven't got time to process the volumes of cancellation and now claiming another month. Maybe they haven't got enough cash and are technically trading insolvent? Do NOT trust them with your money - you are likely never to see it again,
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Worst company ever. Booked via holiday autos at belfast with easirent. Easirent rejected my international drivers license which I used to rent a car in Cardiff the day before. Easirent said get your refund from holiday autos and holiday autos refused refund. What a scam!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Holiday Autos is rated 1.10 based on 387 reviews