Holiday Autos Reviews

1.1 Rating 388 Reviews
2 %
of reviewers recommend Holiday Autos
1.1
Based on 388 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
On-time Delivery
Greater than 15%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.1 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Read Holiday Autos Reviews

Phone:

0871 472 5229

Location:

Victoria Gate
Chobham Road
Woking

Write Your review

Tell us how Holiday Autos made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Holiday Autos 1 star review on 21st April 2022
Cee
Holiday Autos 1 star review on 21st April 2022
Cee
Holiday Autos 1 star review on 27th December 2021
Viacheslav
Holiday Autos 1 star review on 23rd October 2021
Anonymous
Holiday Autos 1 star review on 4th June 2021
M B
Holiday Autos 1 star review on 15th May 2021
Anonymous
Holiday Autos 1 star review on 15th May 2021
Anonymous
1
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Due to the pandemic I have just had to cancel my June trip to Spain. Spoke to Helen who was the most helpful person I have had the pleasure to deal with in a long time! Great customer service will definitely be booking again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I had flight cancelled by EasyJet on 11April and tried to cancel my car rent through HolidayAutos web site. It didn't work. Later rang them directly and spoken to Ana, she was very kind and professional, just asked the reason of cancellation. 2min later I have received confirmation on my email of cancellation.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The amount of negative reviews is crazy..maybe I got lucky? I booked through holiday autos because the rental rate would have been 3 times more if booked directly with Avis. I read the fine print thoroughly so I was prepared when I got to Avis in Dublin to pick up the car. I declined insurance coverage when booking online as my credit card covered the insurance. I had a printed confirmation of this from AMEX that i bought with me and was accepted by Avis. The process was very seamless, I had no problems with the car, and wasn't charged any hidden fees. I believe many of the negative reviews here are because people didn't do enough research before booking. Make sure you read all of their conditions and do your own due diligence. Regardless, I will be using Holiday Autos again for my next rental.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Great service, nice car reasonable price (not the cheapest but reasonable). Would use them time and time again if they did or any company did a loyalty discount, I rent many cars a year and always use different companies dependant on price, be good to just use 1.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
We booked an Abbycar through Holiday Autos at Kalamata Airport and selected their online excess insurance cover. At the airport Abbycar’s agent told us our insurance was worthless and we needed the get theirs which was really expensive. I phoned Holiday Autos for advice and I guess the lady, seeing how stressed said the Axa insurance was fine but she told me to go ahead with them and they would reimburse me and they would re claim from Abbycar later. (We were given a badly damaged Europcar in an aggressive exchange which ws neither checked in or out.) If it hadn’t been for Holiday Autos our holiday would have been spoiled because I wouldn’t have taken up a scam like that. I also understand that they can’t check out every one of the thousands of car hire offices they broker but the point is that they sorted my problem in the most sympathetic and professional way.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
car was good, clean and everything went smoothly, thank you!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
|I had to cancel my booking 23hrs before picking my car up at Salzburg on 13th March 2020 when Austria announced closure of ski resorts. I was initially charged an admin fee for cancellation which was kindly refunded a day or two later. Understandably they have been overwhelmed by refund requests similar to many other companies in these exceptional circumstances. I was asked to be patient after querying the delay. I have just noticed the refund of booking was credited to my account on 26th May 2020. I have used Holiday Autos on a previous trip to Salzburg. I will definitely use them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I just hired a car with Goldar Car Rentals, via Holiday Autos in Chania Crete. Everything was fine until we got back to drop the car off and we had received a parking ticket, which we could not read. We gave it to the desk on our return, with the 40 Euros to pay the fine. They then charged us a further 40 Euros admin fee to pay the fine and gave us a leaflet, which was predominantly in Greek, and had been lying on the desk. They had not given us this leaflet, or pointed it out when we collected the car and said that we should have contacted them when we got the fine and we could have paid it ourselves. They refused to admit that they should have given us this information on collection. When we collected the car, before we had driven off, they had closed the office and I believe this should have been part of their service, not only to show us the marks on the car but what to do in the event of parking issues. It left a very bad impression of the company.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I have always found the company very good but disappointing they will not investigate complaints. I booked a car with Dri>e in Crete who also trade as Euro Dollar presumably to try and make out they are a bigger firm. Don’t use them! Avoid at all cost! They trade as Drive and Euro Dollar and that’s what they are after - your money! The car was badly damaged all over on collection and at the man on the desks suggestion we took pictures of the damage as I already had insurance cover on credit card policy to cover hire car excesses. As I was taking the pictures he said don’t worry about the small marks. Now I know why. On returning the car he claimed a tiny paint chip on the rear bumper had been caused by me despite the rest of the bumper being badly damaged in the photographs we took at the start of the hire. Unfortunately this bit of the bumper wasn’t visible in the photographs. He said the standard charge was €200 euros and this would be deducted from my deposit or alternatively he would reduce the charge to €100 if I paid straight away. This is an absolute con. Basically trying to defraud visitors to the island is discussing. The firm is giving the island a bad name with honest holidaymakers. I reported it to the police in the terminal but sadly they weren’t interested. It’s a real shame things like this leave a bad taste from an otherwise amazing holiday.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
It was not made clear or obvious that I had inadvertently booked a car on the wrong side of the Swiss border in Geneva airport. It was a nightmare to navigate to and meant continual additional border crossing. Beware, do not book a car on the French side of border by mistake.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Bad experience with this company. I booked a car for a Greek island months earlier. When I arrived there was nobody to meet me. I called the rental company number that had been provided with the rental - it was answered by a company on a different Greek island who had no knowledge of the booking. Then I called Holiday Autos themselves - they weren't unhelpful, but they couldn't get through to the company either and then they couldn't even provide me with another rental car the same day. Instead they told me that I should hire from another operator and then make a complaint to receive back the cost of hire with them and any extra cost incurred. In the end I lost a few hours of my holiday, had to go through the trouble of submitting a complaint and sending all evidence etc. It then took 20 days to get repayment. This repayment was near enough but didn't include the cost incurred to me by using my credit card for the new rental provider. Also the exchange rates that Holiday Autos repaid me at were pretty poor. This is the first time I have used this broker and it will be the last.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hired a car with Drive & Go at Porto airport who were an absolute disgrace bordering on the illegal ! They entice customers with initial low charges with the intention of scamming them for dubious damage claims! Yes I can accept some responsibility for not checking out their reviews first but why does HolidayAutos list such disreputable companies and then wash their hands of resultant complaints,surely they must have some moral responsibility THEIR CLIENTS ? Virtually impossible to speak directly with anyone at HolidayAutos,you seem to have forgotten the golden rule that YOUR CUSTOMERS ARE YOUR COMPANY so start shaping up!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Okay, either Holiday Autos or OK Rent a Car omitted one important contract condition to be displayed on Holiday Autos web site. Then I came to the rental desk and learnt this new condition costing, in my case, 300+EUR. Holiday Autos' operator suggested to pay and then ask for reimbursment from them, upon terminating the rental. Why not trying to seetle this easy task before I returned the car (still 13 days left ahead), I don't know. I paid, then eventually was offerered to be compensated in my local currency. By that time I have already lost some 10+EUR because of my bank's conversion fees but I agreed. The reimbursment however was expectedly paid in another currency and I lost 10+EUR more (overall some 26 EUR). I pointed out this inconvenience to Holiday Autos, which had been caused entirely by their laches, reminded a few times, called them and was promised to have it handled but then... 3 weeks passed without any apparent sign of interest in my case.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
DONT TRUST THE WEBSITE! Booked a car specifically because it was advertised as in the terminal. Turns out it was not, and they know about the problem and keep falsely advertising the location. I'm in Dublin. They have refused to do anything about the problem. Added at least 45 mins to my journey.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Booked car for one day with aircon but discovered leaving airport car supplied didn't have it! No time to return on day as took ages to get car in first place so contacted Holiday Autos. Had to keep chasing them and they eventually promised voucher which never arrived and now they just ignore emails. Customer service is poor and inefficient and they miss their own deadlines for response.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Paid for service twice, just a scam it seems overall. I should have went with a well know company. We certainly didn't save any money at all.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
They are crooks - stay away. They hid in portals such as Kayak.com and have draconian policies.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Made a car reservation in Munich. Our flight was delayed, so I contacted them to let them know we would be 2 hours late. They said I would have to cancel my reservation and rebook. They charged me $68 cancellation fee, then twice as much for the new reservation. I would never book with them again and would not recommend them to anyone.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Absolutely awful company. Booked via them and when I arrived to the supplier, my reservation was frozen by Holiday Autos and I had to call them to activate the reservation (seriously??). The supplier ran out of the car I reserved because my reservation was as previously mentioned frozen. Via phone the Holiday Auto rep promised to refund the upgraded auto cost. Had to pay 2 times more at the supplier at 23 o'clock or I'd be stuck in opposite side of the island where my hotel was. After returning the car I lodged the refnd request as per instruction and thought that all was well. Never heard from them or received anything back (presumed it went through because they had my details) only to find out much much later that they closed the case without informing me of this. Contacted customer service chat (see picture) where there rep said that they never did anything (insert implied corona excuse). The next day I received an email from them, first time ever btw, where they said sorry been too long. So essentially they waited for time to run out from the beginning. In retrospect I should have chased them 24/7, I but did not even dream it was something I needed to do. Would not recommend.
Holiday Autos 1 star review on 12th May 2022 Holiday Autos 1 star review on 12th May 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I could not believe it is happening.. arrived in Miami airport , waited for shuttle , after 15 min of waiting called the number provided in reservation and the answer was - “ sorry , we don’t have a car for you” . To my question, “how come? I have a reservation ???” , the answer was “yes , you have reservation but we don’t have a car….” To my question “but I paid paid even for the reservation and it was confirmed …” , the answer was - “yes, you paid for reservation only - it is not full amount - so why to worry …” It was a start if of my family vacation…. If you don’t want such surprises - don’t even try this company …
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Holiday Autos is rated 1.10 based on 388 reviews