Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories Reviews

4.32 Rating 902 Reviews
82 %
of reviewers recommend Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
Greater than 85%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 93%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.35 out of 5
Read Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories Reviews

About Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories:

Established in the Blue Ridge foothills of North Carolina in 1963, Leonard Buildings and Truck Accessories is a privately owned retailer, manufacturer and distributor whose product lines include storage buildings, cargo and utility trailers, truck covers and accessories, carports, playhouses, pet and animal structures, gazebos, and outdoor furniture. We serve our residential, commercial and government customers through our 59 factory outlet stores in the five-state region of North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia and Tennessee.

Seventy percent of our business last year resulted from repeat customers and referrals mostly of which were from family member to family member. We hear a lot of this: "I am here because when I was growing up my grandfather had a Leonard building in his backyard . . ." We take pride in serving and taking care of folks as if they were our family.

Over the years, our company's focus on quality, craftsmanship and customer service has allowed each of our company-owned stores to be integrated partners in their local communities. We encourage employees to look for ways to make a difference around town and to help out worthy causes.

Visit Website

Phone:

3367895018

Location:

630 W. Independence BlvdSuite 3Mount Airy, NC 27030

Write Your review

Tell us how Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Worst customer service. Ordered a plow set up and had issues with the courier. The courier said out of their hands contact the place you got it. So I called and was told it's out of their hands to call the courier and deal with them. Spent over 2k and they wouldn't do anything at all and didn't even care. They said once it leaves us then we have nothing to do with it. Will never buy anything from them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
I have purchased multiple Leonard Buildings, carports and Accessories over the years. I purchased a 14x28 wood structured bulding about 4 years ago to convert into my pool house and started having issues with the flooring getting soft and spongy. Doing further investigation I found a spot so soft in the floor you could easily fall through it. When I contacted my local dealer he stated that the floor was still under warranty and he would have someone come out and take a look at it. This was back in May. One guy showed up a few months later and said it just looked like it was a bad piece of wood and he was going to submit pictures to Higher ups. At this time mold has began to develop in the inside. I never heard anything back from any for months. I finally got the DM to come by a week before Christmas and he said he was going to submit pictures to the building department and would in touch with a resolve before Christmas. Again heard from no one until I called the DM back to find out the status 8 months later . He then goes to inform me that due to "modifications" to the building that the warranty was void. So everyone make note if you ever plan to do anything with a Leonard building their warranty is as useless as the paper it is wrote on. I just converted it into a Pool house with a full kitchen and bathroom and put vinyl over the wood floor with heat and AC. After spending in access of 40k over the years with Leonard I will never buy anything else from them or recommend them to anyone. In fact I will discourage anyone from spending their money with them. What a disappointment with this company that does stand behind their warranty. I suppose the only way their warranty is valid is if you just sit the building on your property as they would on theirs as if they were trying to sell it. Cause if you use the building their warranty is VOID
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
280c trailer had runs in the paint all over. It did not have the easy lube axles advertised,but it does seem very solid and pulls well even when loaded. I'm pretty well satisfied other than the ez lube axles. That was a big selling point of the trailer.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Alex from Leonards on Wendover was extremely helpful. He went out of his way to help. Great customer service!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Excellent customer service, they went the extra mile to ensure all components of my topper were properly installed and functional.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I ordered a truck cap on July 2 2021 Was told 8 to 10 weeks. Still waiting. Keep getting the run around. Ordered the utility cap with hopes of using it for the end of the pool season, maybe next year, at what point should I get my $2000.00 deposit back? Do I get a discount for waiting Half a year?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Trailer pulls and hauls great,but mine did not come with the advertised easy lube axles,has alot of welding spatter,and runs in the paint. I had waited weeks for the trailer to come and was in need of it so I accepted it from my dealer. I expected better fit and finish for my money
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Shopping for a trailer, and I was thinking this is the place, but lots of unhappy customers is making me think again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
My first purchase was an 5x8x2 trailer w/ 15 in wheels. Great choice w/ excellent running lights and great welding. I am well pleased. My wife purchased a 20 + hen chicken coop. Again great choice with superior construction and quality. Dealing with local manager James Reid ( Morristown Tn.)was also highly satisfying. I recommend Leonard and their staff for quality and service above and beyond!❤️
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Outstanding shop! They’ll treat you like family! Flawless hitch install Thank you Brandon
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We bought the 10X16 Barn Shed w/2 Lofts and love it. It’s well built and exactly what we wanted. Delivery and setup was smooth and easy. Well satisfied!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Kudos to Don and the team at Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories in New Bern. They do what they say and deliver on time every time. Always service with a smile. It's a pleasure to do business with them. Highly recommend them for your truck accessories needs.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
The team of people at the New Bern, NC Leonard store are wonderful, simply wonderful! Don helped us order an 8 x 10 chicken coop and he was polite, friendly, kind, professional, helpful.... We had to come back 3 times because we kept measuring at our home to make certain we bought the right one. Don's patience with us was greatly appreciated. We also bought a trailer ball from them before, and had it installed there-so we are repeat customers. If we need it and Leonard's sells it, we will go there! Look forward to getting the new coop!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
So. I bought a trailer from the Raleigh location and was told that there was a shortage and that they had a Triple Crown instead but that it was comparable to the Leonard one I had wanted 180C 6x12 closed sided trailer. So I said great. I went and got the trailer added extras bought a bunch of items from the store, locks and numerous accessories. I double checked before leaving with the manager who told us that the rating for payload for the trailer I was buying was about 2300 lbs bc th GAWR was 3500 and the trailer was about 1k. So ok get it home and just noticed the trailer sticker for the Triple Crown has a 1730lb payload capacity which is significantly less that what was told to me. First off that was a dangerous thing to tell someone a significantly wrong payload capacity and secondly I paid for a trailer that was supposed to be comparable to the Leonard 180C and it is definitely not. This weight difference is def noticeable on what I can transport when I have my UTV in it and changes the total plan I had for the unit. I have already titled the trailer gotten insurance and paid for a permanent plate and made some modifications. So now I assume very difficult to undo. Super upset and unhappy at the moment.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Don Batchelor, Operations Manager for the New Bern, NC location, was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. He helped me choose the right steps for my wife’s pickup truck. He ensured that the part came in on time and installed them on my schedule. Overall, an excellent experience. Thank you.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
The team located at 517 tulip drive were outstanding from day one to order completion. Looks like the leader there has set an impressive tone.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
The Leonard team was super professional, quick and knowledgeable and fixed the problem with our trailer hitch in minutes. Excellent service!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I had ordered a 4x8 in loves trailer for personal/ work. I am a carpenter and needed a tool trailer. After a month I called to ask if it was almost done. They hD no info then. I wanted 2 more weeks then called. They said they had just gotten an email saying it was built Nd waiting on delivery. After 2 weeks of not hearing anything I called. They said they hunt heard Nyfhing or received the trailer. I waited Nother 2 weeks and called again. They still hadn't heard anything. But this time rather thN Mkd it right. Gentlemen said I could cancel the order. I asked to speak to a manager. One called back about 2 hours later. I explained everything to him and he looked the oder up and said it hadn't even been built yet. At this point its been almost three months. Then to find out it still wasn't built. I said it could take another 2 or 3 months and he said yes. At that point I did cancel the order. I felt like I was lied to and led on from the beginning. I won't oder from them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Purchased a Pilot 10x12 metal storage building on Memorial Day. 1st building was delivered 7/30/21 & had so many issues that the regional rep had the entire building replaced. Before the 2nd building was to be delivered Leonard’s requested I come & approve of the 2nd building. If they can’t trust their quality control - it certainly isn’t the job of the consumer to do so. 2nd building delivered after Holly went out & assured me there was nothing wrong with building #2 9/3 #2 is here for delivery. Before the driver did anything I looked at the building & called Holly. No disrespect intended, but Holly isn’t a good judge of a new building. I was instructed to take the 2nd building as Leonard’s would fix or replace everything. I sent pictures to the corporate office. Repair man arrives on 9/26 with basically NO knowledge of what is needed. 8 hours later, with NO matching screws, not the correct touch up paint, scratched NEW materials- I felt bad for the guy. Their was little or NO communication between the corporate office to their repair guy. Now I’m waiting for more materials & the repair man again. 1/2 the roof needs to be taken off !! ALL issues are due stupid mistakes / made by workers who don’t care about the finished product. Best person so far - Repair man Absolutely absurd the errors made & the overall lack of quality control. I would not recommend!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I recently visited Leonard's in New Bern to look at some. Accessories for my truck. I wasn't really sure what I really wanted or what would work for my truck. Don was extremely helpful and patient in helping me with my decision making and steering me in the right direction. I will certainly be back to make my purchases soon and am looking forward to speaking with Don again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Leonard Buildings & Truck Accessories is rated 4.32 based on 902 reviews