Matalan Reviews

4.03 Rating 1,557 Reviews
76 %
of reviewers recommend Matalan
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over 7 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 29%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 80%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult

Write Your review

Tell us how Matalan made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Matalan 4 star review on 5th February 2020
Karen
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 4 star review on 5th February 2020
Karen
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 4 star review on 5th February 2020
Karen
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 1 star review on 19th September 2018
JoThomson68
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 1 star review on 26th July 2017
Hayley A
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 1 star review on 21st July 2017
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 1 star review on 21st July 2017
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
From order to delivery, a week and half
Posted 3 years ago
I was informed that I would receive a message on the day of delivery but this never happened, I was carded 2 day in a row and then had to pick the parcel up from my local depot which isn't close to where i live, the item was a love seat and I have a 3 door car which wasn't an easy task and I struggled getting this item in my car and had to remove all packaging to get this in, luckily the team at the depot helped me initially but this didn't help when I got the chair home and I had to get the item out of the car into my property. had I known I wouldn't receive any confirmation of when this would be delivered I wouldn't have bothered with the order.
Posted 3 years ago
The curtains I ordered looked absolutely nothing like they did on the picture online and the picture that's on the front of the pack. Colours were different too and the curtains felt cheap.
Also I was not impressed with your refund system. Unable to send back myself or take into store. I had to pay £9 for someone to come and collect it from my house between 9-5 which is when the majority of people work! Ridiculous system and I will not be ordering from matalan direct again.
Posted 3 years ago
Item delivery was not emailed or texted and left at neighbors who took ages to hand over goods
Posted 3 years ago
This rather negative review is due to the difficulty of returning this product to Matalan Direct. I felt there was a lack of clarity in the procedure and poor communication with me e.g initially no e mails etc and it took 4 phone calls and a weeks delay before the product was eventually picked up.
Posted 3 years ago
It was a shambles from start to end and I have been completely messed around.

Firstly you wanted to charge me a ridiculous amount for delivery and then you couldn't get that right. I opted for delivery on Monday 5 March. You then said on 15 February that it would be delivered the following day. I made arrangements for my Mum to go to my house but you cancelled in the morning.

I then didn't hear anything so I called you last Friday and was assured by Isaac that it would be delivered on Monday. He was also going to speak to the warehouse and call me back if there was a problem.

Again I didnt hear anything until an email at 3am on Monday morning saying it would be delivered on Tuesday. My boyfriend had arranged to stay at home on the Monday by that point. I then glad to arrange for someone else to accept delivery on Tuesday.
Posted 3 years ago
Not happy with the quality of the products at al. Description said it is solid wood. Not at all.its made of ply wood every single leg came with a white sticker on it which would NOT come off without leaving mark. I paid good quality furniture price and got ikea quality. Only reason I didnt send it all back was to keep the wife happy. Not a happy customer at all
Posted 3 years ago
Unfortunately i ordered samples for venetian blinds and now i cannot get hold of a new blind
Posted 3 years ago
Ordered from Matalan direct, parcel arrived, no invoice or delivery note, so no way of knowing how to return!!! Product poorly made and unusable due to that
Posted 3 years ago
Very poor quality when put together. Very light and flimsy. The leg on one of the chairs is also uneven. Also there is a gap in one of table legs. Very disappointed. This table and chairs where fixed together step by step from instructions and the finished results are dissapointing to say the least.
Posted 3 years ago
poor quality, no oak, just veneer, 3 different colours of wood, hundreds of screws ect to put it together. Would never buy anything from Matalan direct again.
Posted 3 years ago
Hello Kathryn ,Thank you for your message, It is unfortunate to hear that you are not entirely happy with your product. We aim to provide the most accurate information in regards to our product for our customers. We do have our 14 days return policy in place if customers aren't entirely happy with there purchase. If this is something you would like to do, please don't hesitate to get in touch and we will be able to get this resolved for you.
Posted 3 years ago
i ordered a pair of jeans online!i received no email confirmation so i rung them after 5 days baring in mind delivery is suppose to take 3-5 days, to get through to a person who didnt have a clue, and could barely speak english, for a big chain store you would of thought the online help would be professional this is the last time i place an order online.
Posted 3 years ago
Good afternoon, thank you for your feedback. As your feedback relates to either a purchase made in a Matalan store or via Matalan.co.uk I've passed your feedback and contact details onto their dedicated customer service team. Matalan Direct are the furnishing division of Matalan, we provide the larger home furnishing products we're unable to display in store and have a separate customer service department. Rest assured this issue has now been passed on to the relevant department who will act upon your feedback accordingly. Kind regards Karl
Posted 3 years ago
Ordering from Matalan Direct was more than a little stressful!

To make a very long story shortish, I had an issue receiving my order as somewhere along the way after my order was placed someone at either Matalan’s warehouse or Parcel Force who delivered the order, entered the wrong address which meant Parcel Force tried to deliver to the wrong house. The whole way through with trying to sort out via their customer service phone number I had to do all the chasing and only ever received one of five promised call backs over about two weeks.

After the first delivery attempt and two missed call backs, I sent a twitter message to Matalan Direct and a gentlemen by the name of Jack replied back and credit to Jack, he is the only person I dealt with at Matalan that seemed to genuinely try and sort the order out. He looked into it and called me to let me know that the order would be redelivered the following week.

The next week I checked the tracking number and saw that Parcel Force in fact tried to deliver it to the wrong address AGAIN. I tried calling into Matalan and when I finally got through he said he would look into it and call me back within a couple hours. Again he never called me back so I had to call again and he told me that he was busy and didn’t have the time to call me but that he had spoken to Parcel Force and they had missed the address update and he asked for me to speak to them directly to sort out as this ‘wasn’t Matalan’s fault’ and he had done everything he could.

I speaking to him, I asked for my £15 delivery to be refunded given the issues that I had with delivery and not being given the call backs I was promised. The agent said again that outside of not calling me back as promised, they had done nothing wrong and it was Parcel Force’s fault so shouldn’t have to refund me anything. I asked him what the procedure for a request for a refund of delivery was and he said that he would raise it with his manager and let me know. He then called me back about a half hour later and said that he managed to get Parcel Force to schedule redelivery for the next day to my correct address and apologised for the issues and said he was going to try and get my delivery refunded and let me know via a phone call or email. Needless to say I never heard from him again.

I also spoke to Parcel Force that night and they said that they had not spoken to anyone at Matalan that day and they then updated the delivery address and rescheduled the delivery. The next day the online tracking said that the package had been delivered. When I arrived home, there was no package! I called Parcel Force who said that they had delivered the package to the old address as it ‘was an agency driver who would not have seen the updated address’. I then had to go to the address it was delivered to – turns out no one signed for it, the delivery driver forged a signature and left the package outside the wrong address. Luckily it had not been stolen!!

Jack from Matalan contacted me the following week to see if I had received my order. I relayed what had happened and that I had also requested the delivery to be refunded, he apologised and said he would follow up on the refund of delivery. Just over a week later he got in contact with me to let me know that they would refund my delivery charges which I did receive shortly after that.

To be fair to Matalan, I really like the shelf I ordered and the quality of the product. But good luck if you have any issues with delivery – my advice would be to contact them through Twitter in the hope Jack picks up your query as he seems to be the only one who follows through with what he says. Whilst polite, their phone agent does not follow through with anything it commits to, though I suspect it might be because he is the only one answering phones and is so busy he is unable to.
Posted 3 years ago
Waited in all day after I received an email informing me my order was to be delivered ,only to be told some hours later, that it was not.It took two weeks for my order to be delivered,with no email telling me there was a delay.For that reason I will not be ordering from matalan direct again.
Posted 3 years ago
I checked the delivery options before ordering as work shifts. I paid extra to have a named day two hour time slot, which stated that a courier would be in contact to arrange the delivery date. A few days later I then received a text stating that delivery would take place the next day, with no time slot. I called customer services & was told that they had just started using a new company & didn't know their delivery options (surely you would learn this before signing a contract?) so was told that I would get a call back. The call never came so I called again to be told that I would have to let the delivery come & when no one was in to sign for it they would leave a card & I would have to call them to rearrange. I told the operator that I was not happy with this as I had paid extra for a time slot delivery. The operator told me that he agreed I should not have to pay for the delivery & he would get a refund of the delivery charge authorised by his supervisor the next day. I never received a refund or a call back. The delivery ended up with a neighbour across the road & I had to then get a heavy package back to my house. It was chipped on lots of shelves which had to be installed upside down to hide the flaws. I have recently redecorated a whole bedroom & this is the highest delivery cost paid with the worst service by far.
Posted 3 years ago
I ordered the item and the money came out of my bank. Then a few days later I got a call to say it was out of stock and I could have a refund. A week later I still hadn't had the money returned I had to call customer services who informed me 'conveniently' they were just about to process my refund!
Posted 3 years ago
The delivery company failed to deliver parcel to my neighbour as requested. Then I picked up parcel at a depot but they only gave me one parcel. I then had to locate other parcel and pick up. Then the fittings and instructions for my blinds were missing. So I am waiting for them to arrive. The help desk people at Matalan direct were very helpful and cannot be faulted. Hopefully they will arrive tomorrow and I will be able to fit my blinds.
Posted 3 years ago
I found returning an the item I bought difficult. I live 1 min from a Matalan, but could not take it into my local shop, and when I asked for a return address I was told I would have to use Matalans return service which would cost £9 pounds which would be deducted from the refund. This is very poor service. If I am paying for the return then I should be able to pick the courier . Waiting in for a courier like DPD to collect is inconvenient. Why not offer a service where people can use a drop off service like Collect+ or Hermes. I am think of other internet only companies who are far better organised for returns. I will not be using Matalan Direct again
Posted 3 years ago
Ordered 2 x headnoards ......only one was deluvered after having to change delivery date. Product was absolute rubbish. Could have made it better myself & that is no exaggeration! After a lot if stress & chasing up I finally got a full refund. Will never use matalan direct again. BUYER BEWARE!
Posted 3 years ago
1. We weren't called about delivery despite paying extra to be given a 3 hour window. Just a call when the delivery was outside.
2. The delivery turned up and there was a chip in the bed
3. There was a chest of drawers missing from the order, to which we rang to be quoted that we would receive our bed side table in January.... we already had 2 delivered
4. We have rang 3 times due to the mix up and not hearing back, mainly because of the bad reviews I have since read
5. I have tweeted and received a pretty rude reply

All in all, for £700 I would not recommend shopping here due to the service. Happy to take your money but when things are wrong very slow.
Posted 3 years ago
Hello Kathryn, Thank you for your message. I am glad that we have managed to resolve this issue for you. As discussed, I can confirm that your replacement footboard will be delivered to you on Wednesday and the Chester Drawers will be delivered on Thursday. My apologies regarding any inconvenience which this may have caused. I hope this does no deter you from shopping with us in future. Kind Regards
Tyrone
Posted 3 years ago
Matalan is rated 4.03 based on 1,557 reviews