Matalan Reviews

4.04 Rating 1,548 Reviews
76 %
of reviewers recommend Matalan
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over 7 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 29%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 80%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult

Write Your review

Tell us how Matalan made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Matalan 4 star review on 5th February 2020
Karen
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 4 star review on 5th February 2020
Karen
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 4 star review on 5th February 2020
Karen
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 1 star review on 19th September 2018
JoThomson68
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 1 star review on 26th July 2017
Hayley Armit
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 1 star review on 21st July 2017
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 1 star review on 21st July 2017
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Great shopping experience. Lots of clothing that's reasonably priced and easy to wear. Shame they keep changing the shape on their mens tshirts though. Hubby used to always wear their tshirts when it was the AW branding but not its changes to easy branding the fit is entirely different and the fabric a bit too heavy.
Posted 1 year ago
I have shopped at my local Matalan store in Telford for a number of years and have always liked the quality and range of clothing, but today was so frustrating.. I am 5ft 7ins and a size small and was trying to buy a t-shirt but tried about 25 different ones and all were like I was wearing a dress as they were so long, I noticed that all t-shirts XL, L, M, S are all the same length which doesn't seem right and means if this is now the case I will never be able to buy a t-shirt from Matalan again, anyone else noticed this problem
Posted 1 year ago
I shop in Darnley store Glasgow been in 3 times this week got over £200 in clothing but ended up walking out as only 2 on tills and a queue that was nearly out the door after 35 minutes I gave up tonight again the only help I got was a colleague called Bernice ( very helpful) saying they were getting a refit awful close the store then so angry I ended going to tesco tonight and got my clothing there .
Posted 1 year ago
brought online next day delivery items did not arrive,,, have not received MATALAN WILL NOT REFUND, they show some photos of parcels dumped in some street in the uk,,, now writing to head office and reporting to consumer rights,,, VERY BAD STORE TO DEAL WITH LOST ME AS A CUSTOMER AND I SPEND A FORTUNE
Posted 1 year ago
Very Poor service and slow delivery. Ordered a week in advance for a hen do (didn't order next day as delivery was expected 3 days before we left). Only the parcel didn't arrive until after we left and i had a very disappointed bride and some bridesmaids left without their stuff. Didn't even get a response when I emailed them!
Posted 1 year ago
Online ordering long wait for goods to turn up. I ordered an item for a holiday only to realise it may not turn up in time. Within minutes I telephoned customer services to change to next day delivery to shop and pay the extra charge. I couldn't do it over the phone and had to place a new order. Fair enough, duly done. I then get a notification that my first order is no longer in stock and they have refunded the money 7 days wait for that. So what about my next day delivery to shop order, same item. I've been advised its on its way? strange that considering my previous order of less than 5 mins is now out of stock. I wait with baited breath to tell me it has arrived at the shop. Matalan you need to get up to speed and furthermore your Sutton staff are a miserable bunch and less than helpful
Posted 1 year ago
Will take your money then tell you almost a week later that product is sold out

COMPLETELY UNRELIABLE, horrible experience, do NOT recommend

I am planning a surprise bachelorette party this weekend and now 8 girls will be left without the specific outfits to celebrate our best friend before her big day.

long story short - i placed the order, next day delivery, was confirmed, money taken out of my account - it didn't get dispatched. Kept getting vague answers everytime I called but no one said the order was not ok. Only to get an email now, 8th May that the order IS CANCELLED BECAUSE THE ITEMS ARE SOLD OUT. WHAT???

Full email:

I placed an order last week, 2nd of May and paid for next day delivery. The order was meant to get to me (London address) on Tuesday.
Yesterday I checked the order progress and discovered that it hasn’t even been dispatched yet!

I called twice yesterday (7may) and no one could tell me anything about my order. They had no idea where it was, or when it would be dispatched, not even if the items existed! I keep being told the matter was escalated but NO one is picking up as the ONLY WAY to contact the delivery place is by EMAIL and not phone call – that’s ridiculous! To have to wait 24h-48h for an email reply from your own team on an urgent matter.

I was also told twice that I would be emailed and informed of the progress and I never did. I keep having to call and chase your team and am being told nothing. I find it incredible that no one has any idea where these items are and why they are not getting dispatched. The website advertised them as in stock and available for next day delivery. This is incredibly poor service.

from Matalan automated mail:
Thank you for shopping at Matalan. We are sorry to inform you that the items you ordered have sold out. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that this may cause.
Posted 1 year ago
Ordered 2 items on line and paid cost plus £3.95 p&p. Parcel arrived with completely the wrong article. Phoned customer service and asked them to send out correct order. They refused and said I would have to travel to Falkirk and exchange for the correct goods! I was furious - if I wanted to travel to Falkirk I would not have ordered online and paid £3.95! I cancelled the order and will never use Matalan online again. It was their mistake and they were unwilling to rectify it. What kind of customer service is this?
Posted 1 year ago
My wife and I had to go to Matalan at the Rushmere centre in Craigavon to buy a suit for the funeral of a close relative. I am disabled and am basically wider than I am long. We were dealt with by a lady called Saoirse, who could not have been kinder or more understanding of our situation and are requirements. This is the best customer service that we have received in a very long time. We will use this branch from now on.
Posted 1 year ago
Cortonwood branch. Love the shop. Hate cashiers having a conversation with each other whilst serving, SO RUDE.
Posted 1 year ago
Would not honour online discount, cancelled order, however they continued to send out and took money, been over 2 weeks still no refund, no compassion from customer service... dreadful service
Posted 1 year ago
Ordered on Thursday at 7.30 in the morning paid the £2 extra for next day delivery to the store (should have arrived Friday) went to the store to collect on Saturday to be told it hadn’t arrived. Called customer services who said they would investigate and email me, no further contact and still no package! Very disappointed in the service
Posted 1 year ago
Went into hartlepool store yesterday wow what a difference, the store looks fab easy to get around, lovely stuff on all departments and staff very proud of there new store,was in there from 10am and could not be served till 10.30 chatted to girl behind the till really enjoyed my shopping trip and got everthing needed in one shop.
Posted 1 year ago
The staff are always so helpful and do all they can to help you
Posted 1 year ago
I’m am disgusted with the way I was spoken to today in my local matalan store. I wanted to return some bedding that I had only taken the pillow case out of to discover that is was extremely poor quality and all threads hanging off it. Only to be told that I can’t return it as it had been opened even though it was all fine. Then she proceeded to tell me she had worked there 20 years and no one has ever managed to package bedding back up. This may sound ridiculous but to be spoken to like I am stupid and I can’t return this poor quality item to a well known store is beyond me
Posted 1 year ago
The Darlington store is great staff were so friendly. I'm having my first baby and the lady at the till gave me some very good advice on what bath to get. I order online and collect in store most of the time and it is very convenient and excellent value for money. The store is well set out too and lots of choice in clothing especially for all ages.
Posted 1 year ago
Ordered a load of men's clothes online on the Saturday and received them Tuesday morning, good communication from the company regarding items and shipping.
Posted 1 year ago
Super duper shitttt service manager the fatty stupid lady is so so rude and on the top staff is so rude
Posted 1 year ago
Service is always so friendly no complaints about the store whatsoever
Posted 1 year ago
I made a complaint about falsely being accused by your store manager. I had paid for goods he failed to see this. It was all confirmed he was wrong. I made a complaint by email they offer £10 compensation. Complete joke of a customer service department. I’ve now sent 5 emails and made 3 calls to speak with a senior manager. Absolutely no reply and customer services claim they can’t put you to a senior manager. They simply ignore you when you make a complaint I’ve only scored one because it won’t let me score less. Never had such a bad experience and the fact they ignore me is dreadful. I’m left with one cause of action to take legal action against them. I told them this and they still don’t make any effort to contact me. Total and utter disgrace. I for one won’t be buying from them again
Posted 1 year ago
Matalan is rated 4.04 based on 1,548 reviews