Money Expert Reviews

1.51 Rating 43 Reviews
12 %
of reviewers recommend Money Expert
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Telephone
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Money Expert made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
AVOID. Salesman came across as quite nice on his first visit. Very misleading as to who he worked for & what they did. Had to sign up there & then, which I didn't do. He then came back later & when I questioned him about being misleading his whole attitude changed. He made me feel very uncomfortable on my own doorstep.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Scammers turned up at my door claiming to be from BT. Highly evasive and very pushy. Don't deal with these shysters.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Door knocking. Claiming my neogohave complained about energy prices. Wanted to 'check I'm ok'. Absolute scheisters.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Cold caller harassing people in my area. Avoid like the plague
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
I was well impressed with my conversation and knowledge of your employee...Harry.. who gave me all I needed under one roof so to speak ie :broadband, switching electric and gas. Excellent Service. Regards K.G.Jones
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I had a serious problem with an insurance company on Money Expert's comparison site. They didn't want to know and washed their hands of it. They seem happy to endorse dubious companies. Avoid.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Got two visits as I was out first time and my son is not 18 so she came the second time. She was very very lovely and polite. Asked if my internet is slow, how much I pay ans provider. When it came to the signing up part I just told her I never give my details with a company I can't verify. She showed me her badge explaining I could ring to confirm (that proves nothing) that she works for MoneyExpert. To which I said I'm signed up to MoneySavingExpert; Martin Lewis. Had to correct her when she said oh yeah he has really bad reviews if you check online. I said actually he does not but he does have a problem with a company who use his name and sound very similar. Long story short I told her I won't give details especially as I have to make a decision on the spot and not allowed to think about it. She was fine, however persistent but not nasty. Surprisingly upon hearing that she said she'd be back the next day...even though she said it was a one day one time offer only. Not once did she say she is from MoneySavingExpert but I can see why they chose such a similar name. The young lady is too good for this job feel bad for her as she can use her skills with a company people can trust.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Very friendly cold caller at the door this morning and we talked for a long time about switching broadbands etc... This is my first time and I was genuinely intrigued, sad to see on here that it turns out to just all be a ploy. Guess there's a first experience for everything! Won't be trusting anyone at the door from now on.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I applied for a job at waitressing, I didn't realise it was for door to door sales at moneyexpert until I was driven to a stranger's door and made to observe for a 12 hour unpaid training day. At the time I was a naive 19 year old and they preyed on that and was lied to all day. At one point a lady answered the door in tears saying her daughter had just been killed and my supervisor kept trying to sell her the deal. Appalled. Only silver lining was thank you to the kind people of Leeds for being so polite and not hurling abuse at us. We were even invited in for ice lollies. Terrible, misleading company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I'm in Glasgow. Just had a cold - caller at my door saying she was from Money-Expert. Said she wasn't selling anything but wanted to know if I was getting best broadband deal and started asking questions. I stopped her in her tracks and told her I was telling her nothing and closed the door on her. I informed police.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The person who rang me from Money Expert I think was called Will. His manner was very good, but he was pushing me to agree to excepting his findings for the best energy company to change over to right now. I said I would like to have the details first before I committed myself. He kept on pushing me to agree now. I thought his manner became disgusting.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Cold callers at door. Probably get a referral fee for talking you into switching provider. Their name moneyexpert.com is very similar to moneysavingexpert.com which is a reputable company unaffiliated with them.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Disgusting to be cold calling during a pandemic
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
They work with MLM (multi level marketing) company called Bounce outsourcing. I highly doubt these MLM companies own money expert, even their name and what they said to do is a copy cat name and model from money saving expert and money super market.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I've just been visited by a door to door salesman for 'Money Expert' in South London. Given that we are self-isolating during the virus outbreak, I have no idea why 'Money Expert' would think it's a good idea to send someone to every house in the area. I am pregnant and am pretty cross to have been put at risk in this way.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Just had a pushy sales person trying to miss sell me a better energy deal. He picked the wrong person as I used to work within the industry and as soon as i started to question him he started to get angry. Tried to let himself in to my house and at that point told him that I would be reporting him for trying to mis sell. He promised me a fixed price for the year on energy and couldnt understand that my energy usage could be variable.. hopefully wont hear from him again but looking at other reviews this seems like their sales tactics.. tried to call them to put in a complaint and they gave no two f&%!s about it..
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
VERY pushy young man cold calling with high speed patter. All but put his foot in the door,let the freezing cold in and the cat out. Thoroughly annoying and persistent and had to shut the door and tell him to leave . He claimed the other people in the road that had been so friendly and he'd saved them so much money. Beware and read the reviews well.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I had a cold call from a Money Expert door knocker today, looking to save me money on my Gas and Electric. He did not display his ID properly until I asked for it. It was facing his chest, rather than facing me. I can't say whether the ID was genuine or not though. The guy was pushy - wouldn't take no for an answer. A little rude - rolled his eyes more than once, and said "I can't believe you don't want to save money!" That's like telling me I must be stupid. He bad mouthed certain suppliers, including the one I'm currently with. And called one of my neighbours weird. Flexible with the truth - "I don't represent any suppliers, I'm only here to save YOU money". He avoided my question about being targeted to sign up for a specific supplier. The research I have done since has shown me they ARE targeted in this way. He dropped a couple of names and when I told him I had no idea who these people were, he told me they are my neighbours. I told him that I don't know the names of my neighbours, we all keep pretty much to ourselves. He then gave me 3 house numbers and told me the first 2 had signed up and the 3rd one was the "weird" one I mentioned before. I later introduced myself to one of the first 2 who told me that she had not signed up and neither had the other person. I told him I would not sign anything without doing research first, he offered to show me all the 5 star Trust Pilot reviews on his tablet. He also told me that I wouldn't be signing up to his recommended company, Boost, today, I would just be going through some kind of check to make sure I could switch. Like I've not heard that one before.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Absolutely disgusted with money expert, I changed from boost to Utilita because they claimed it would be much cheaper, no sur-charge and cancel at any time! Well my bill has doubled, yes there’s no sur-charge but the price per kw is almost double! Vile company. I’m calling today to complain and tell them to remove my details from their system! Then I’m switching back to boost. AVOID
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I spoke to an agent se called Alex Matindi and he was so lovely
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Money Expert is rated 1.51 based on 43 reviews