Natwest Reviews

1.67 Rating 238 Reviews
15 %
of reviewers recommend Natwest

Write Your review

Tell us how Natwest made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (Optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Liars. Thief’s. Incompetent. For a start. Moronic staff. They don’t understand computers or economics. Working with fiction. Money. Make too many mistakes and their app doesn’t work properly. Rude staff. Account closed. Cash only island
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I've banked with natwest for 16 years but am looking at moving banks now. Last year Natwest have closed alot of stores but the biggest problem is their lack of customer service. The last straw is Natwest refusing to send out my new card to my address and insisting it goes to the bank. 8 working days later 11 days altogether and I'm having to drop in every day to be told its not here. No access to my own account or money for 11 days is unacceptable. Cards should be printed and sent out next day if needed as people desperately need them.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Tried to open a simple current account with no overdraft facility. Was asked for all kinds of totally unrelated personnel data. After an hour the process was still not completed, so I decided not to continue.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I have been victim of fraud by Natwest Bank PLC and misappropriation of funds. They hide themselves behind their terms and conditions but in no one point of it there is that they can retain my savings and my pension without any reason, this is theft. Stay away from Natwest bank, Lot of cases of financial abuses and misappropriation of funds have been declared against this bank.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Horrendous, i cant even tell you how incompetant and useless and rude they are. Was getting the greenlight for a mortgage, had it in principle, all was well with the lovely staff member i was dealing with, was put through to another girl on the phone who discovered my female partner was infact my other half and not my daughter and all went down hill from there, suddenly i didnt meet criteria, nor did she, and later was advised to go to another bank. Not only that last year it took me 5 MONTHS to open an acct with them because they kept losing all my information. Avoid at all cost. 17 years loyal customer..this is the thanks i get.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Absolutely bureaucratic and an pleasant bank to deal with.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I spent some time in Northern Ireland and came away with two hundred NI pounds. Google claimed I could exchange them for BofE pounds at any bank. Stopped at a Lloyd’s Bank where I was told that without an account, they wouldn’t do the exchange and that probably no other bank would either. A few minutes later, on a whim, I stepped into a Natwest branch. “If there’s enough money in the top of the till, we’ll do it for you.” There was and they did. I was just a tourist off the street, and they were very kind. If I need a UK account in future, that’s where I’ll go.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Very poor service, enough staff on but will only open one till......wait so far is in excess of 15 mins
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
This Bank is the worst Bank i have ever dealt with. They recently wanted to do a Business profile review and they sent three letters to the wrong address, they then froze our account and caused chaos! They contine to this day 8 weeks on harrass and intimidated us on almost a daily basis. You send them the info they need and they just come back asking more and more questions. It has got to the stage where the harrassment is affecting my health. I have filed a complaint with the bank and with the financial onbudsmen and am awaiting a reply. If anyone reading this is thinking of opening a Business Account with Nat West then please DON'T there are the absolute parasites and pondlife of the banking world!
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I was living overseas, with my wife, and we were both Natwest customers. I had my pay going into the account. Natwest first demanded from me proof of ID and proof of address, then gave me the run around when I asked why, at first repeating the blather of 'important to have an up to date profile of you', and when I challenged why, they cited legal and regulatory reasons, which they then said they had 'no obligation to disclose'. Made it clear though it was my 'choice' whether I gave them anything, but if I didn't they might consider closing my account. To send anything though, well they failed to provide any address to send anything to when I specifically requested it, said it would come in an email which it didn't, instead I got a useless email asking me to contact them again, and then when I did we went into the death spiral of them again with the same stupid blather as previously. Eventually I hung up, and wrote a complaint, to which Natwest staff said I had refused to speak to them, which is a complete lie. They refused to provide me with anything when i repeatedly asked for it! So I got a certified copy of my passport and ID, sent it to them and they then closed my account for reasons they were 'not obliged to disclose'. For why wife, for whom I had been putting money into her account to pay for cancer treatment where we lived, they just closed her account with 'so sorry' that might convince a lawyer but no one else. I asked them to reconsider due to my wife's circumstances, but they completely ignored all correspondence. She had only been a customer for I think 25 years so obviously not an important one. As she could barely speak, could barely walk, she couldn't do anything they wanted to transfer the balance of funds, so they helpfully sent a Sterling cheque when now she had no bank account anywhere. Fast forward, she passed away, from Stage 4 cancer. I wrote to Natwest, and said she has died, could I have the balance of funds, so they helpfully acknowledged and said her account was closed. Rang them up, said what I had written about but they had no records of any letter, even the reference I cited was unknown. The 'bereavement team' refused to do anything to help, wouldn't write to me, wouldn't give an email address, I had to write to them first. So I did, got a certified copy of the death certificate (I was the notifier on the death certificate and clearly stated as the husband), my ID, and proof of address. Again, a letter weeks later confirming my wife's account had closed, ignoring everything else. At this point, rang again, and spent 30 minutes in a call, mostly on hold, to go through every point all over again! Still waiting for that cheque.... I have complained about all this latest drama, but they haven't acknowledged the complaint, so when I go to complain again I can't even give them a reference because it seems they have ignored it. You also can't complain to the banking ombudsman about the way they behave unless you get them to acknowledge the complaints process is exhausted, so if the ignore you completely they have it sewn up. If Natwest were any other business, they would be in serious trouble. I will certainly never go near them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
After neraly five decades of incompetence, this shower will no doubt relsih my departure. I have encountered the following: ever-reducing interest rates, unwarranted retention of my card, dysfunctional passcode information etc. I could write a book about its problems
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I no longer trust them. My available funds always seem to be unreasonably low even when I 'm not spending a whole lot of money. Online banking is a joke. Security is completely beyond frustrating and I am constantly having bad experiences with Natwest. It says a lot when I don't even trust the bank that I'm with. I will probably be switching soon.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I walked in to open a new account the man The took my phone number ONLY! and then I was told to wait for max for 40 min I sat there for 1 and half Went to speak with someone And they said I'm NOT on the queue system!!! Or maybe you were called but you didn't answer! So I said ok what I'm going to do now? The Lady I was speaking to said we would have to book in. Like for real, I was there for a whole an hour and a half And they didn't even try to do something about plus the man I spoke to first was rude The worst experience A HORRIBLE BANK
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Rubbish service
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
After 20 Years with Natwest, I am no longer a customer! 9.30am this morning NatWest's Payments & transfers went down. 29/11/19, At 12pm I transferred a large sum of money from my current account to my saving account. The money has been debited from my current account is now no where to be seen. Natwest can not tell me when I will get my money back Nor when the issues will be fixed. There are no warnings to such issues ANYWHERE! 6 hours later Natwest are also still allowing payments & transfers to be made with the full knowledge they can not honour that transaction at this time. This has affected thousands of Natwest customers. This is pure negligence
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Worst bank I've banked with. Transferred some money using mobile banking, faster payment from my Natwest account to another account. On not reaching the destination, called up the next day, asked me a bunch of questions, verification using text messages, etc after waiting on phone with Frauds team for half an hour. Then was asked to go to branch... Went to branch, took my id proof. Surely by this point it should be clear that there was no fraud. But had to wait for another 1 hr in branch and on phone with Fraud department. The branch cut the call half way, made another call thinking it was too long. Couldn't wait any longer. This is in the middle of work day because my bank account was frozen. Was asked to go again the next day back to branch. Ridiculous
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
It is terrible to have one's banking services taken away, and totally unacceptable that Natwest Bank has done this to me, an over 60 year old disabled person. I saw my dentist and wanted to pay me bill, but my Natwest card was declined. I then went to a Sainsburys cash machine where Natwest detained my bank card. I then had to walk to Natwest where no one helped and no one told me why they had taken away my bank card and closed my online banking service.I had to withdraw cash and this was pure discrimination and go ´back to the dentist to pay my bill and then go back to Natwest to withdraw cash to be able to buy some food. Natwest treated me like a prisoner of war and no one explained why they had taken my banking away. The online chat guy indicated that there were fraudulent activities on my account which is a lie. Natwest took away my right to banking and with it my right to live. It is impossible to live without banking facilities in the UK. I am shocked. Natwest have now most probably put a fraud alert next to my name. Natwest is an inhumane and unjust bank with no heart for the elderly and disabled.They caused me great harm and damage, I am now physically ill,still under shock, and have complained to the Financial Ombudsman.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
45 minute wait to be seen for a transaction that would take one minute at the counter. Understaffed, confused staff, irritated customers, poor customer service. The staff are extremely stressed as the customers constantly ask about waiting times. I will be moving banks tomorrow after 30 years with NatWest.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Mr Andrew of Prestwich branch so rude and pathatic unbelievable I have never seen so arrogant and unprofessional in my whole life. Never going in that branch again .
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Block my acc stolen my all money. Lose all direct debits. And nobody dont explain whats hapen, they telling I must wait letter and all reasons will be writen.. 10 days gone my acc blocked and not coming any letter. Robbers. Never open acc in Natwest.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Natwest is rated 1.67 based on 238 reviews