Scottish Power Reviews

1.1 Rating 819 Reviews
2 %
of reviewers recommend Scottish Power
1.1
Based on 819 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1 out of 5
Read Scottish Power Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 027 0072

Email:

info@scottishpower.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how Scottish Power made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Scottish Power 1 star review on 4th August 2022
Emma Azhar
Scottish Power 1 star review on 4th August 2022
Emma Azhar
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Same as everyone else. Lived in a single studio flat for 8 months, agreed to pay £30 a month, next thing I know they are saying I owe them £2000. Disgusting service
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Absolutely useless keep sending me estimated bills even when i send them meter readings , been trying to sort out my balance for 2 months now .avoid this company at all odds
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Useless they are saying I'm useing more electrici then normal my bill is so high and I'm not useing that much now I have to sit in cold place because can't use to much electrici ur unreal how can I use more electrici then normal stop trying to take people monney
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
AWFUL EXPERIENCE! AWFUL COMPANY! I HAVE NEVER IN MY LIFE BEEN TREATED SO BAD, THEY ARE JUST NOT TAKING ME SERIOUS! Customer service is useless. No communication at all and because of them and they refusing to change my meters faster I now have to pay exit fees to my previous supplier, because I can`t switch back. Also they closed my account and opened a new one in my husband`s name without me asking and without my consent! Complaint department called me and made appointment for new meters on the 21st of March and today (14 of march) I have received a call from the company that installs the meters telling me they have only booked gas meter. I called Scottish again and they said that they can`t send the confirmation again, they have to rebook...IN ANOTHER 3 WEEKS!! Made a complaint again and waiting for a response. SICK AND TIRED OF THEM!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Got smart meters in the property 5 pounds cards pay for gas and electricity
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
7/3/22 On the phone to Scottish Power for 1h trying to discuss why I have been charged an additional £146 when I closed the account 4 months ago and at the time asked if there was any money outstanding. DO NOT CHANGE TO THIS ENERGY COMPANY STAY AWAY!!!!!!! A RELATION SHIP THAT WILL SUCK YOU DRY OF ENERGY AND TIME.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
SPP don’t want to pay my referral fees. They keep saying i will get it at the end of the month, asking me to fill up forms, to call différent departments, telling me someone will email/call me back but never happen. Keep lying to me for the last 8 months. I will leave Scottish Power as soon as I can, their customer service is terrible.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I don't like them one bit as they taking 115 pound week off me on my dwp I ask them email benefits but this not been done please I am on border line cancer i ask them for pay an go meter they told me they don't do it an they keep sending me texts every day pay my bill as they take g money of my benefit I let everyone stay way way from them they don't care for any one
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Had a day off to have a smart meter fitted and they didnt turn up ! Tried to call and as told its half an hours wait because they were busy.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Absolute joke of a company can't getting nothing right deal with complaints poorly I have made formal complaint 3 times and still waiting for call that was promised each time... I only have gas with them but apparently I'm in debt with them... Can't get my title or surname right... Oh yeah I have 2 account numbers. I have got to the point where I don't want to speak to them because they don't want to listen they only say what they want you to hear which is total load of B*****ks
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Scottish Power is the biggest fraudulent company I have ever come accross and the most useless. The sales person lied to me to get me to switch to them, then they hiked up my bill by 80% after 3 months, then refused to let me switch once I realised how unethical they are. I am constantly calling them to resolve the issues with no progress. They are disorganised and give different information depending who you speak to. Advise: stay well clear
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Absolutely appalling customer service! I closed my account a couple of months ago because I moved to another country and my account is in credit because they had been overcharging me for my consumption. I have always paid by direct debit, but they are somehow claiming they cannot refund me the money they owe me by bank transfer and the only way is by cheque. I have explained a thousand times already to the many different agents I have spoken with via chat, phone, and email that I no longer live in the country, but they give me no solution. How is it possible that they cannot pay me via the same bank account I have used throughout all these years?? What's even worse, they have stopped replying to my emails, have somehow cancelled my access to the live chat, and are ignoring my requests to call me. They are clearly trying to keep my money!! AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS!! I have had issues with them since the very beginning, and this is just the straw that broke the camel's back. Worst company and worst customer service ever!! If I could give them a zero I would!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Scottish Power without a shadow of a doubt is the worst company I have ever had to deal with. I have been trying to resolve issues with my gas and electricity since May 2021 (its now Feb 2022) and I am still without the correct details for my gas and electricity. Their customer service team just put you on hold for so long you have to hang up Their team over email never respond to all your questions in 1 go so I have been going back and forth for months ...and still now different people tell me different things. I have been paying electricity since the summer of 2021 and now they tell me they have no record of my details!!! I have also at the same time been trying to connect my gas since I moved in and finally when they link my metre to my account they send letters saying if I dont pay they will send bailiffs when I have just spent the last 8 months trying to pay! I asked for payment plans which they said i could set up but then made it so hard to set up, in fact impossible to set up i have had to put a years worth of gas bills on my credit card as i couldnt cancel the bailiffs They should not be allowed to be in business. I have wasted hours of my life and there have been tears of frustration. I am still no nearer to having anything sorted What ever you do DONT GO WITH SCOTTISH POWER.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Absolutely appalling! Countless hours on the telephone and no one can help. We've been ping-ponged from one department to another - the only thing we've asked is for them to send someone to replace our prepayment gas meter battery. Turns out they can't do that unless we have an account. To create an account they send us to a line that hung up on us 5 times. The account couldn't be created initially because our address is not in their data-base (the only one in this block of flats?!). After finally creating an account they said they would send someone within 4 hours. 6 hours passed and when we called again...turns out no account was created. Did I mention it's February, we're freezing, we can't cook food or have a shower? Not that they care...
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Have signed up with these what a mistake bills doubled 🤬🤬🤬
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Struggling to give one star. Won an ombudsman ruling told then months ago they weren’t permitted to use my mobile number, but it’s still happening. Escalated my complaint to CEO/DIRECTORS office in September 2021, as of today 04/02/22 still no reply from that office. They respond to adverse reviews with platitudes.i only want to hear directly from ombudsman te or CEO’s office
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Avoid this energy company. I lived at a flat with a faulty meter and have spent countless hours sending emails, on the phone, taking overnight meter reads etc just to try and get a correct bill. It took them several months just to set up my account and they had the rates the wrong way around. They are trying to bill all my usage on only the day rate on a split tariff. No one in customer service communicates, no one follows anything up. I complained to the Ombudsman and they told Scottish Power what they should do to resolve the situation about 9 months ago and I'm still waiting for them to take action. Now being hassled again with automated, estimated bills. They have caused me so much stress and wasted my time during a pandemic when things were bad enough. I moved out 3 months ago and I am still waiting for them to work out my final bill accurately after over a year of stress. Absolutely incapable of providing power to people and billing them correctly. Also they will happily get debt collectors to hound you for estimated, made-up bills. Worst customer service I have ever had and wish I had never had to deal with them. They couldn't even spell my name right on my account, a bad joke.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
This is my second review for the past a couple of days and I will leave further reviews on a regular basis until my issue is sorted out. I have been receiving bills with wrong amount and a customer service representative (Scottish power) confirmed that my readings are too high while I live alone in a 1-bedroom apartment and wasn't in London for 2 weeks (apartment was empty), the bill for 1 month and 10 days was 324 pounds which cannot be as I don't use gas besides heating the apartment or having shower which is no more than 10 mins per day but reading still goes up and up. I have asked to have an engineer to check my apartment as I should pay 40-50 pounds per month instead of 324 pounds and several people including the lease agency confirmed that. Something is wrong with the meter reading or computation and I should not pay that amount. Scottish power advised me to still 'pay the bill to avoid having a huge debt' instead of helping me out and sorting this out. No one cares in this organization about customers who pay, they are not interested to help as you will still pay or 'A debt collection agency is about to contact you; you will incur charges' - that's nice customer service, isn't it?
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
They are a nightmare to deal with. Don’t touch them. I have been trying for over a year resolve a problem with meters incorrectly assigned to the wrong properties. I’ve also had a gas meter faulty for 18 months and they will not fix it or assist in any way. I’ve been paying estimated bills for 18 months. I took it the independent Ombudsman but even then they don’t bother trying to fix it. I don’t understand how they are in business with so many bad reviews and not just on this site.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I have small debt with scottish power. I needed the debt recovery rate reducing as it was unaffordable. After three months of me basically begging and two budget sheets showing I have no spare money they still haven’t reduced it. And tell me if they do this will take 3/5 key top ups to take affect. This is a lie as there own advisors have told me. As soon as I can I will leave scottish power. If there was a 0 star rating I would have rated 0
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Scottish Power is rated 1.1 based on 819 reviews