smarTours Reviews

4.41 Rating 1,360 Reviews
86 %
of reviewers recommend smarTours
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
3.92 out of 5
Read smarTours Reviews

About smarTours:

smarTours is a leading provider of direct-to-consumer, affordable travel experiences to exotic global destinations. The Company offers travelers curated, pre-packaged itineraries to over 40 destinations across the globe. By offering tours directly to consumers, the Company provides premium-quality experiences at value prices, and as a result, has cultivated a highly passionate and loyal community of repeat travelers. More than 200,000 travelers have taken a smarTours trip since the founding of the Company in 1996. smarTours is… the smarter way to see the world.

Phone:

800-337-7773

Email:

info@smartours.com

Location:

545 Eighth Ave. Suite 2250
New York, NY 10018

Write Your review

Tell us how smarTours made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (Optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Country was beautiful, group size was just right, tour guide and driver were knowledgable, friendly and interact with the group well and we had an excellent group!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Excellent tour, excellent tour director and guides, excellent hotels and air travel!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Definitely an amazing adventure!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
In general it was a success. The local guide-tour director, Gagan Kalra, was perfect; knowledgeable and very attentive. the itinerary was good but I would prefer to see a little less of religious sites , particularly Swaminarayan Akshardham , and instead to visit Art Museum and Railroad museum. Also it would be nice to include Udaipur or Johdpur. Also as an extension, I would include Jaisamer -medieval trading center-12 c.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
My daughter and I loved every moment of our Moroccan adventure. It exceeded all our expectations. The tour guy was great and the excursions were terrific. The group was so compatible and the accommodations were better than expected. Thank you Smartours! Joan Abrams
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
We had a great trip in India & Nepal and we'd like to thank our tour guide Gagan for all his insight and guidance. Future trips - remove some of the Hindu temples, particularly the new one in Delhi that's more like Disneyworld. Remove the carpet and scarf shopping spot in Delhi. Add - some museums or other interesting sites in Dehli. Add - a real Indian cooking experience Add - something educational and interesting about Bollywood plus a Bollywood movie night (with English subtitles). It would also be helpful to raise the price of the trip $20 or $30 pp to cover tips and other group incidentals. Give this money to the tour guide so he / she can handle these transactions. We had to collect a kitty of money to cover these small expenses..
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Excellent tour guides, especially David and Gustavo. Unfortunately, we had a jerk within our tour group who should be banned from taking any further smarTours trips--a classic "Ugly American." Dennis offended many throughout the trip and even personally threatened David. Dennis made the trip uncomfortable for everyone. We have traveled worldwide in more than 30 groups during our lifetimes and Dennis is by far the worst we have ever experienced. David and Gustavo handled Dennis in the best manner possible. In general, they were very accommodating, professional, and knowledgeable.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
The Tour Guide, Gagan, is a Real Keeper. He is a wise & gentle Tiger!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Very organized. Great tour guide. Will travel again with Smart Tours
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Our guides were wonderful. I would make one recommendation to improve this trip. Take a one hour flight from Medellin to Cartagena instead of a LONG bus ride.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Egypt was great. Great itinerary, great hotels. And really really really great tour guide
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Fabulous trip with David, a very special guide and several excellent local guides.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
A well organized tour with an amazing guide.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Unbelievable value! Best group of people with whom I have EVER traveled!!! Wonderful guide!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Excellent leader, good size group (14), very good to excellent hotels, a real perspective of India and Nepal, could have fewer temples and a couple more museums on Indian culture, society and history.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Loved our tour of Colombia. Excellent tour director and local guides. Accommodations were all 4 or 5 star. Colombian people were very welcoming. Daily itineraries were well thought out and very informative. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone interested in learning the history of Colombia.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Trip was well paced and great knowledgeable tour guides. Only issue we had is our returning flight was cancelled on the last day causing us to miss our connecting flight so we had to buy an expensive last minute flight and were not reimbursed.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I was on the tour of Thailand and Ankor Wat from January 13-30,2020. Our guide, Nok, shared her wonderful country with us and made sure we saw and experienced everything. She took care of every detail. We sampled snacks she brought on the bus and besides sharing interesting facts with us, she had a wonderful sense of humor. All hotels and breakfast buffets were were very good to excellent. Some highlights were the Elephant reserve and cooking school. Our three days with Sochearn in Cambodia were also filled with interesting sights and information. The hotel and staff there are excellent as is the buffet breakfast and other meals at the Rice Kitchen. I also want to thank SmarTours for rerouting us for the trip home on the 30th. Our group had contacted the travel department because of the Coronovirus. We didn't want to have a seven hour layover in Shanghai, so we were rerouted through Qatar just before we checked in at the airport. Nok and Kesara stayed with us to help with the last minute change until all of us went to the gate. They both, along with SmarTours went above and beyond to make sure we got home safely! Thank you for a wonderful trip and experience.!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
An outstanding experience! Had the tour finished after the New Zealand leg, we still would have felt as though we had gotten our money's worth. Adrian in NZ and Mark in Australia were wonderful. Very knowledgeable and helpful in organizing optional tours, transportation and in some instances tours not even offered by SmarTours. We were with a great group and we really felt like a team! One suggestion might be to offer a round of golf (Queenstown in NZ and/or Cairns in Australia) as a possible option. Very reasonably priced and relatively easy access. We were fortunate enough to do this on our own but a lot of folks said they would have enjoyed the opportunity as well. So, great job SmarTours! This was our second tour with you and we'll be back!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The Customer Service was not very responsive to our questions, particularly as we had taken a Land Tour only. In Cambodia, we had multiple visits to different temples the first day & was very tiring. Some visits could have been done on the second day. The tour director in Thailand was very good.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
smarTours is rated 4.41 based on 1,360 reviews