Swinfen Hall Hotel Reviews

4.73 Rating 105 Reviews
94 %
of reviewers recommend Swinfen Hall Hotel
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone

Write Your review

Tell us how Swinfen Hall Hotel made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
We were so impressed with Swinfen Hall. We booked several years ago for a birthday and the staff kindly phoned to allow cancelling that morning since the snow was really bad and access was difficult. We decided to come back when we were next in the area. The hall is amazing itself, the facilities are superb and dinner was lovely. We loved walking in the grounds but the icing on the cake was the wonderful warm and helpful staff. Thank you!
Posted 10 months ago
Dear Ms McCarthy,
Wow, what a lovely review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about Swinfen Hall. I will be sure to let everyone here know how much you enjoyed your stay. Please do come back and see us again soon.
With kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 10 months ago
We had a wonderful stay at the hall. Our bedroom was exceptional with a coffee machine as well as kettle and touches like robes and a clothes brush show great attention to guests comfort. The food was delicious and the staff really lovely - helpful and friendly. Very happy :)
Posted 10 months ago
Dear Mr and Mrs Prince,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the extra little touches that we provide for guests. I will pass on your kind comments to the chef and the rest of the team. We very much hope to see you again soon!
With my kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 10 months ago
The staff and service at Swinfen were as always first class. The welcome from everyone was warm and sincere.
We particularly appreciated the extra care given to our friend who is rather frail and visually impaired.
The tea was delicious and plentiful with as much tea/ coffee as we could drink.
The only thing for me ( and of course this is a personal opinion) I would prefer a few more sandwiches and a little less cake.
Posted 10 months ago
Dear Mike and Sharon,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, we really do appreciate as much feedback from our guests as possible. I will pass your feedback on to the rest of the team and as always, we very much look forward to seeing you again soon.
With my kindest regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 10 months ago
Good Rooms and impressive service. No elevator meant I had to carry a pushchair and all luggage up the stairs without any member of staff offering to help. Probably would not recommend as a family friendly place
Posted 10 months ago
Dear Mr Sieron, Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we are unable to install a lift here at Swinfen, due to it being a listed building. I do apologise that you had to carry everything up the stairs alone. This is very unusual because we always offer guests assistance with their luggage when they arrive and check in. I am sorry if this was not the case on this occasion.
With kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 10 months ago
Lovely location with an attractive building inside and out as well as attractive gardens. We attended a family wedding here and give full marks to the staff for their attentive, polite and helpful behaviour. We particularly enjoyed the fact that there were many smallish, comfortable seating areas where we could conveniently catch up with folk in a cosy atmosphere at the end of the day.
Posted 10 months ago
Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here at Swinfen Hall Hotel. I will pass on your very kind comments to the rest of the team and we hope to see you again very soon.
With kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 10 months ago
Very disappointment with the breakfast served on Saturday morning. For, the amount of my money paid, I expected better not rationed food portions and waiting an hour for food!

Room was OK.
Posted 10 months ago
Dear Ms Asiamah,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your breakfast and the service you received at breakfast. I will make the team aware of this. We do appreciate all reviews whether guests have enjoyed their stay, or experienced issues. We feel as a team, that this helps us to recognise areas that we can improve on, so once again, thank you.
With kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 10 months ago
Great location, lovely setting, grand house BUT afternoon tea was quite disappointing. Poor choice of sandwiches i.e. egg 'finger' sandwich, smoked salmon wrap, sausage roll and a very dry cheese scone (would have preferred another sandwich rather than a scone). The scone with jam and cream was very nice but the choice of cake was uninspiring - in fact one of mine was not cooked and I could not eat it. This was a birthday present from a relative - if I had paid for this myself I would have felt that the afternoon tea was very poor value
Posted 10 months ago
Good Morning,
Thank you for your recent review and for taking the time to do this for us. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your afternoon tea. I will make the sure the team are aware of your comments and I would ask that you contact me direct, if you were to book a return visit please.
With my kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 10 months ago
The approach to the Hall was impressive, the welcome at the door was nice as we had not been before and were a bit lost. All the staff were very friendly and polite They made us feel at ease. The food was excellent and plenty of it and good assortment, the only thing for me was that I would have liked a little more savoury sandwiches, but that’s a personal that just me .we all had a lovely time. Thank you.
Posted 10 months ago
Dear Mrs Whitehouse,
Many thanks for your recent review. We really do appreciate people taking the time to give us feedback from their visits. It is nice to read your kind comments about the team here at Swinfen Hall, and I will certainly pass this on to the rest of the team.
We very much hope to see you again sometime soon.
With kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 10 months ago
On a previous visit to Swinfen Hall for afternoon tea we thought it was superb, however this visit was a little disappointing, the sandwich selection was fine, but the desserts were not up to standard, they were rather basic, but there was a sort of mini chous bun which was completely empty inside, so it was a pastry shell with no taste. the tea was in glass teapots but was not very hot, although we did get a potful of hot water as well. but we left disappointed.
Posted 10 months ago
Dear Mr Latty.
Thank you for your recent review and the feedback you have given us about your visit. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your afternoon tea. I will make sure the rest of the team are aware of your comments. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in us, so should you wish to rebook, please do contact me directly and I can arrange this for you.
With my kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 10 months ago
Arrived promptly, lovely certificate for afternoon tea for a friend's 30th wedding anniversary.
Posted 11 months ago
Dear Sarah,
Thank you for your review. I think the gift vouchers are a fabulous idea, they are the perfect gift for people when you are unsure what to buy! If you are struggling to think what to buy for people for Christmas the vouchers are a fabulous idea and can be issued for absolutely anything, cream tea, afternoon tea or even an overnight stay. We are just a phone call away if you need to order any!
With kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 10 months ago
I have lost count how many times I have been here... the most memorable being my wedding in 2010! I have stayed overnight, had afternoon tea and enjoyed many meals in the Restaurant. This place is exceptional on all fronts.
Posted 11 months ago
Dear Sarah,
Thank you for your review and very kind words. It is fabulous to read that you keep returning to us, and that you still enjoy each and every visit. I guess we will see you again sometime very soon!
With kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 10 months ago
We arrived at 6Pm via the main entrance gates and then to the locked security entrance, parked and went to the main entrance to the Hall with iconic pillars . The door magically opened like at 10 Downing Street . The Butler was welcoming and I inquired is Boris Johnson PM had arrived .He replied Jacob Reece Mogg was coming next month .we were in The palacios Ornate Entrance Hall and extorted up the winding Stair Case via the ArchedGallery to our room over looking the deer park and sweeping vista and rolling country side .We were invited to pre dinner drinks and to the panelled-dining room to a sumptuous Eight Course Dinner and fine Bordeaux 2010 red wine to go with meats .The Bedroom Room had a hugh King bed
Posted 11 months ago
Dear Mr and Mrs Tattan,
I am absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your recent visit to Swinfen Hall and that you were made to feel very special on your arrival and during your visit. We try our absolute hardest to ensure that each guest has a memorable experience when they visit. I will pass on your positive comments to the rest of the team. We very much hope you will come back and see us soon.
With my kindest regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 10 months ago
Beautiful hotel and the service on arrival and throughout our stay was excellent. We stayed at the hotel for our friends wedding and received a very warm welcome. The grounds are beautiful and it’s very relaxing for a walk around.
My only slight criticism would be that the hallways upstairs are looking a bit tired and in need of a refresh. The bedrooms are lovely and very spacious. I would definitely recommend a visit to Swinfen Hall.
Posted 11 months ago
Dear Katie,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Please do recommend us to all of your friends and hopefully, should they visit, they will enjoy their stay as much as you have.
With kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 10 months ago
Tom Val it was my wife’s 80th birthday party at Swinfen hall the food was excellent the performance of the staff was fantastic they all made our day a very memorable one extra special thank you to jo Stephens and Michael for going that extra mile to ensure the day would be one to remember. Thank you Tom and Val sims
Posted 11 months ago
Dear Mr and Mrs Sims,
Thank you so much for your recent review. It was a pleasure to host such a special event here and I am glad that this made the day, a very memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you both to the Hall again sometime soon. I will pass on all of your kind comments to the rest of the staff.
With kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 10 months ago
Stunning venue, friendly staff always a pleasure to see Stuart and his team.
Posted 11 months ago
Good morning,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.
With kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 10 months ago
Wonderful staff, fabulous food, great setting. Utterly, utterly perfect in every way!
Posted 11 months ago
Dear Carole,
What a lovely review! Thank you so much for your kind words. Please do come and see us again soon.
With kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 10 months ago
No thanks. I don't want to.
Posted 11 months ago
Very nice accommodations. Spacious room and outstanding staff. The only disappointment - a big one - was the tasting menu. Microscopic proportions that were just ordinary at an exhorbitant price.
Posted 11 months ago
Dear Mr and Mrs Morris,
It was a pleasure to meet you both on your recent visit. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments about the tasting menu and I am sorry that you felt the portions were small and over priced. I will be sure to pass this feedback on.
With my kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 10 months ago
What can you say the food was exceptional, macaroons exquisite we salute you!! We were so impressed we booked to go back following week.....
Posted 1 year ago
Good Morning,
Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted to read such lovely feedback from you afternoon tea and I will be sure to let the kitchen know how much their macaroons were enjoyed!
With kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 10 months ago
The Sunday was excellent from the warm welcome to the outstanding meal , service , room and cleanliness of the place but unfortunatly the Monday morning only scraped by as being acceptable breakfast was sadly disappointing in the way it was served and definatly not up to the standard expected also I don't know if there was a sausage shortage or if its your usual policy but people were refused a extra sausage even when they weren't having all of the other items on offer. There seemed to be a shortage of staff around the hotel being on hand to offer assitance in the morning and on checking out .
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Mr and Mrs Marshall,
Many thanks for your recent review. We really do appreciate all guest feedback from their stay, and negative comments certainly help us to look at improving areas moving forward. I am pleased that apart from breakfast, you enjoyed your meal and the warm welcome you received. I will pass on the feedback to the rest of the team. We very much hope to see you back at Swinfen Hall soon.
With kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 10 months ago
Swinfen Hall Hotel is rated 4.73 based on 105 reviews