Global Work & Travel Reviews

4.84 Rating 6,093 Reviews
98 %
of reviewers recommend Global Work & Travel
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
On-time Delivery
99%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.69 out of 5
Read Global Work & Travel Reviews

About Global Work & Travel:

Global Work & Travel is one of the world's leading youth travel brands, specialising in working holidays, volunteer trips, teaching excursions, au pair exchanges and student internships.

With offices located in Australia, Canada and the UK, Global Work & Travel offers the one-stop-shop for all your meaningful travel experiences.

Visit our website to find out more!

Visit Website

Phone:

+61 7 5528 4813

Email:

social@globalworkandtravel.com

Location:

HQ: Level 16, 50 Cavill Avenue, Surfers Paradise

Write Your review

Tell us how Global Work & Travel made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
I am writing this review to express my sincere disappointment with the Global Work & Travel Co. In February last year my partner and I were thinking of going over to Canada for a once in a lifetime experience, working the following winter season in Canada. We thought to take a lot of the stress and worry out of finding jobs we would go through the Global Work & Travel Co. We spent over $1800 each to ensure everything would run smoothly and we would be completely organised in advance. Your team from your Surfers Paradise office made us feel very assured also with their selling skills, telling us we would have first job opportunity before boarding our flight to Canada. With this assurance we paid this large amount of money. We were also told if we didn't pay this money straight away we would miss out and there was nothing you would do for us until this money was paid.

We had been in Canada for 2 months and had no job and had not even heard from anyone from your team in about a month. We stayed in hotels spending large amounts of money for the first month because by this stage we had not heard anything, and we were not sure where we would be located. It had then been another month and your team had still not contacted us about job opportunities! You had also stated in an email that we needed enough funds to last us up to 6 weeks, which we did. As it had been 2 months and we had no job and very little contact with this company, we had to head back home to Australia as we had no more money to stay there! To say I'm utterly disgusted is an understatement! The fact that a company like this would do this to young people, especially when they come to your company for reassurance and a less stressful experience. We had paid over $1800 each to your company and for what? All we had received was a bit of visa guidance, an airport transfer, a $60 best buy gift card and 5 nights accommodation in a hostel. That most defiantly isn't worth the large amount of money we both worked so long and hard for!! All we had experienced with the Global Work & Travel Co. is a much more stressful experince and a lot of disappointment to the point we had to return home. We are both completely saddened, disappointed and disgusted.

I'm absolutely sickened by this company, and we would love to know what that money has gone towards.
Posted 3 years ago
I thought that this was something that I wanted to do so I sent my email for information and this lady Dana called me and insisted that I signed up right than and there because there was tons of people trying to sign up and only a few spots left so I was rushed on the phone and she convinced me to put the deposit down to save my spot but if I didn't go through my deposit was refundable so she rushed me to sign everything over the computer because I was at work but now I can't get my deposit back and I feel scammed.
Posted 3 years ago
After paying my deposit I found some awful review so requested a refund within 24 hour sof my purchase . Was flatly refused so had to create a dispute with my bank. Still waiting on my results however not hopeful. After paying deposit the details has not even been saved correctly. Was inquiring to teach in Vietnam in July 2018, however was recorded for Thailand in July 2017. To top that all off I paid a total deposit of $695, however receipt only recorded as $100. Not impressed at all and I am one never to complain about a good or service. Clearly this company only cared about the money, not giving a second thought that nearly $700 is a lot of money to most out there. Regardless of whether they are legally entitled to pay it or not, it is generally the moral thing to do as I had requested a refund so quickly. No morals whatsoever. 100% would not recommend.
Posted 3 years ago
Honestly I’m not quite sure what just happened it was so confusing I was on the phone for an hour and I did make a deposit still not feeling too sure with this company if it’s a scam or not. I did give them my credit card details as I felt pushed to they didn’t give me time to make a decision if I really wanted this or not as they were saying the spots get taken up fast so act now or miss out. once off the phone I realised I didn’t know the dates of my trip, where exactly I was going, what I was actually paying for, if I would get a refund and etc. - ABT (Anonymous Beginner Traveler)
Posted 9 months ago
Hello,

We are so sorry that you have this impression of our company. We never want to rush our travellers into things they don't want to do. Our trips do fill up quickly and we have had travellers miss out, this is why our Work & Travel Experts work really hard to get you over the line. What we can do is ensure you that you have absolutely nothing to worry about.

We are absolutely not a scam. You can take a look through our thousands of other reviews from happy travellers to prove it. Shortly you will be contacted by your Trip Coordinator. They will go through all of the information about getting you over on your trip. If you aren't able to go when you talked about then your deposit comes with a Lifetime Guarantee. Meaning you can push your trip back for as long as you like, or put your deposit towards any other of our trips.

We know that it can be a little bit daunting, and that it seems like a really big decision. But we can promise you made the right one, and we're going to be there every step of the way.
Posted 9 months ago
Agents will pressurise you in to buying a package or pay a deposit.
At no point on the golbal website does it state anything regarding none refundable deposit.
They will keep you money but it is not mentioned anywhere until you get to the payment page with T&C's just before paying.

Regardless. Many people have lost out with their deposits and full payments. It's a clever scheme global use to keep hold of the money to either make 100% profit or if the customer decides to transfer the package to a friend. Then they still get a %. It's a win win situation for global.

The company has been hit with a major fine few years ago. Do some research as to why they were fined.

If you request for the call recording. The company will make it very difficult to obtain what you are entitled to under the GDPR.

Big lesson learnt. AVOID such company. Do not fall for their pressurising agents. I assume they work on commission base salary. They don't care about you. They care about the money. It's understandable however I've made my point very clear
Posted 11 months ago
Hello Wahi,

We are sorry that you feel this way about our company. We truly get upset when we hear feedback like this, as it goes against our vision and purpose.

As stated on our website, on every call with our sales reps & in our Terms & Conditions which you agreed to upon booking your trip, your deposit has a lifetime guarantee. This means that the money you paid is never truly gone. We understand that there can be unexpected roadblocks before travellers wish to travel which is why we have our Lifetime Deposit Guarantee. Other travel companies don't offer such a thing and deposits are generally entirely non-refundable and non-transferable. Our Lifetime Deposit Guarantee means that you can simply place your trip on hold with us until you are ready to travel or you can transfer it to someone else instead.

Global Work & Travel were investigated six years ago, and upon completion of the investigation, we were not fined. Simply the fact that we were investigated in the first place prompted us to tweak our service and since then we’ve made huge steps to ensure that every customer is satisfied and has an amazing experience.

Since that time we have had over 10,000 4 & 5-star reviews across Reviews.io, Trustpilot, Google, Consumer Affairs and Product Review and have sent over 50,000 happy travellers overseas.

Your deposit is still on hold with us if you or anyone you transfer your deposit to wish to travel with us on any of our trips in the future.
Posted 10 months ago
False missleading information from the very start, high pressure sales tactics, do not believe a word these people say they over charge and will promise you anything just to get you to hand over money, if you are already unfortunate enough to be involved with global work and travel and unable to get a refund I would advise you to get anything they promised you on paper, I highly advise steering away from this company as they are unescassarely expensive and are blatant liars, if you are seeing lots of good reviews they trick people into writing reviews very early on when everything feels like it's going great and then it can't be taken down once you find out the reality and also written by staff, in my experience not one person in my coarse was happy with global work and travel for the exact same reasons as me, I hope this review helps you in the future and for you're own sake do not use gwat
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Laszlo,

We're sorry to hear you feel this way about your recent experience with us. We have however looked into your feedback, travel history & conducted a complete review of your trip booking. We have also reviewed your original sales call and can can confirm that you were not misled in any way and the information provided to you about working hours, pay, visas was a correct representation of the trip you purchased. We have again verified that your Work & Travel Expert advised you of an average salary, as does our website, of 30,000 to 35,000 Thai Baht (which can range from anywhere between $1,200 to $1,400 AUD depending on exchange rates and depending on your placement). We then offered to find you two additional teaching positions neither of which you considered.

In regards to others who are unable to get refunds, all of our cancellation and booking fees are made very clear at the time of booking. Each customer has to tick several boxes during the booking forms making it clear they have read and understood the conditions.

Furthermore, the assertion that our staff write any of our reviews and people are ‘tricked’ into writing reviews very early on in their experience is a blatant lie. Our reviews certainly aren't fake just because they're good, and we pride ourselves on the fact that we’ve had over 5,500+ reviews across Reviews.io, Trustpilot, Google Reviews, Consumers Affairs, BBB from all stages of their journeys. Please get in touch via feedback@globalworkandtravel.com and let us know if there's anything else we can do to rectify your concerns. Thank you.
Posted 2 years ago
We chose this company because they promised to give us 24 hour support, should an emergency arise. They also promised us a job. While we did have a job upon landing, the gig was not at all what had been advertised to us, the pay was severely under the Australia minimum wage, and when our “trial period” was up, we called the company to ask for a relocation and not only did the emergency hotline not work, but their response was an automated email that listed four websites that amounted to the Australian version of Craigslist. All of this went down within one month of our trip and from that point on we knew we were on our own in this game. We also felt like there was a lot of illegal activity going on at the place where we worked.

Later in the trip I heard that the company was giving away “travel vouchers” in exchange for essays and photos of our trip. Being a blogger, I immediately applied to several of these contests, in hopes of making back some of the huge chunk of dough I had already wasted with this company. Fortunately, I won about five of these contests and earned over $900 in travel vouchers. I was ecstatic! How nice it would be to fly home on these vouchers once my trip was finished. I was relieved to know I had one less thing to worry about.

Unfortunately, when it came time to book my flight home, the company said the travel vouchers were only good for other trips abroad through this company. This was after I sent them an email which quoted my personal representative of the company. She had clearly explained that the vouchers were good for any trip or activity booked through the company. There was no mention about it having to be an overseas work and travel trip. While I did my best to argue, they simply didn't budge and not only did I have to scramble to find money for a flight home, but I also lost over $900 worth of earnings for my personal essays and photos that were now public property of this dreadful company I wanted no part of.
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Haley,

We're sorry to hear you feel this way about your experience with us back in 2016. We truly get upset when we hear feedback like this, as it goes against our organisation’s vision and purpose.

We have however looked into your feedback & travel history, and can advise that our system shows that you were offered two opportunities when you first arrived & within your initial accommodation, as our service promises to do. The first being in Sydney which you declined, and the second you accepted at a resort in South Australia which included all accommodation & meals, and was not below minimum wage once off-set. All of our Working Holiday trips require a 4-month commitment to your Host Organisation which is made clear by us throughout the entire trip-planning process, and your Trip Coordinator advised if you were to abandon your host without proper notice, we would be unable to provide further opportunities without first looking after our other travellers who are yet to arrive, largely out of fairness. This is why some local sites were provided as advice if you wished to find something sooner than we would.

In our system, you received 1 x Travel Voucher from our ‘Global Gap Year Survey’ (valued at $200 AUD), which you were informed ‘could’ be credited towards flights or insurance. You then entered our ‘Share The Fun’ competition, where you scored a GoPro and a $500 Global Voucher. You were informed that you could not use this $500 voucher towards flights, only towards future Global Trips - this was also clearly stated on the entry form. We have never run any ‘essay competitions’ and we really encourage you to email us about this, as we fear you may be confusing us with another travel company. We would like to investigate all aspects of your complaint, as we thrive on feedback to make our trip experiences the best possible, and much better than our competition. Please feel free to contact us on feedback@globalworkandtravel.com so we can try rectify what you felt went wrong. Thank you.
Posted 3 years ago
If I could give zero stars I would.
NON-REFUNDABLE DEPOSIT. Do not fill out online form they link you in your email.
LOOK AT REVIEWS ON lonely planet, tripadvisor , abc.net JUST SEARCH 'global work and travel co reviews' !
Posted 3 years ago
Hello Olivia, We are very sorry to hear you feel this way. If you could please get in touch regarding your concerns at feedback@globalworkandtravel.com so we can investigate this further and see if there is something we can do to assist you.
Posted 3 years ago
Luke and Harry were perfect! Always had this in the back of my mind but sooooo glad I have something down now! Cannot wait to go to Canada in July next year! Thanks Global Work and Travel!
Posted 11 months ago
Hey Beth,

We're glad you had such a great experience with Global Work & Travel!

Luke and Harry are some of our best Work & Travel Experts and I'll be sure to pass on the feedback.

You're going to have an absolutely incredible time in Canada next year!
Posted 11 months ago
Ella was a legend, she answered everything for me before I even thought of the question! Give the woman a raise! Delighted to be on board.
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Shane,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such lovely feedback!

We are so glad your Work & Travel Expert Ella was so helpful and answered all your questions for you.

Thanks for travelling with The Global Work & Travel Co.
Posted 2 years ago
The service i received was awesome. Cassandra really indulged me on everything Global has to offer and explained her experience which really pumped me in to working alongside Global.
Posted 2 years ago
Thanks for the positive feedback, Oshay!

We pride ourselves on providing a premium service to all of our customers, so we're over the moon to hear that you had a great experience with Cassandra.

Best wishes from The Global Work & Travel Co.
Posted 2 years ago
If you enquire they will call twice a day, every day, until you answer and talk to them. From there they are incredibly pushy. I told them it wasnt the right time for me right now and they said they would let me think it over and call me back in just one day?? You are expected to pay on the spot without being sent any information on the actual tour you have decided on. Paid the money, cant get it back, especially now that I have read the reviews. Before you book a trip with them, GOOGLE is your friend. Just type in their name, visit their wikipedia, trip advisor, news stations, and other websites. There are facebook groups to boycott the company. They will not tell you anything verbally and then when you tell them you dont know something they reference the fine print - zero transparency. I know they will respond that they have 40,000 customers so that is proof they are reputable, blah blah blah. But how many of those 40,000 are actual returning customers and how many of them only went once because you scammed them out of money and never have a hope of booking them for other tours again. I am one of the latter. Not saying you shouldn't book with them folks, just do your research and dont be afraid of saying no. I wish I had.
Posted 2 years ago
Hi there,

We're sorry to hear you feel this way. We pride ourselves on providing a premium service to all of our customers and we would like to hear more about your experience with us so we can address your concerns and make improvements where necessary. If you're prepared to share your full name with us to discuss further, please give our team a call or feel free to contact us on feedback@globalworkandtravel.com so we can try rectify what you felt went wrong. Thank you.
Posted 2 years ago
This company is obviously dodge. They are money oriented. They told me if I do volunteer work that food and accommodation is covered but need to pay a sponsorship amount that is obviously food and accommodation costs. Because I became sceptical they then told me they would not qualify me? Qualify me? When I looked up the big 5 volunteer work I realise this company is just hijaking and putting their own costs on top. The other websites were honest about the terms and conditions. How dare they. They are a snake of a company. The company is also definitely paying people to enter reviews. A true Snake. They are purposely deceiving.
Posted 2 years ago
Hi there, we’re sorry to hear you think we’re 'dogdy', our 35,000+ customer list make us one of the most travelled gap year companies in the world, and it's a shame you aren't able to experience that too. In order to make sure you qualified for our programs you would have spoken to one of our Work & Travel Experts, this is the process we go through to ensure you’re eligible and over 35,000 others have taken the exact same steps to qualify for our programs.

Depending on your age or location you may not have qualified due to strict visa requirements needed for the nature of our trips. We can however guarantee that food and accommodation is all included in the cost, not a ‘sponsorship’ payment and we’re unsure as to whether you’re referring to the inclusion of Project Donations or not.

We could not be more upfront about our terms and conditions, as each customer has to tick several boxes during the booking forms making it clear they have read and understood the conditions. We could not be more clear or upfront before you choose to book with us. If you're prepared to share your full name with us to discuss further, please get in touch via feedback@globalworkandtravel.com.
Posted 2 years ago
I would rate this company a zero if I could due to the fact that the service is misleading and extremely over priced!!! The team come across extremely friendly which of course they would when you are paying over £900 for a few Skype chats where they give you websites to actually do everything yourself. The Global team make out that they will find you work within their ‘partner organisations’ which is basically a list of possible place they set up an interview something you can do yourself on the site Aus jobs for a fraction of the price.
They tell you they will help with filling out your visa they do not !! You will just be sent a website.
They tell you you’ll be set up in a nice hostel for a few night where you can have same sex rooms, that’s a lie our hostel was awful and we were all split up in mixed sex rooms!!
I was set up an interview for a door to door sales job where I was to sell electric on my own for 6 hours. I didn’t feel comfortable going into people house alone and saw this unsafe, Global refused to set me up another interview and told me to hand out my own CV!!!
I have never complained in my life, I work in a customer service industry but this is robbery and mostly from young people. I would never recommend this company!!!!
My experience of them was awful as soon as I landed in Australia. I ran out of money because they couldn’t sort me work as they’d said (I’m a qualified hairdresser) . I spent 3 weeks stuck in a hostel which in the end had to find myself as the one they had sorted was horrible!!
Please if your considering using this company do not fall for their great sales pitches it’s all misleading !!!
Everything they offer can be done easily on your own.
Global gave me a small pathetic refund but this did not come easily and caused me a lot of stress a ruined what was meant to be a trip of a lifetime.
Please do not make the same mistake !!!
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Selina,

We're sorry to hear you feel this way about your experience with us. We truly get upset when we hear feedback like this, as it goes against our organisation’s vision and purpose.

We have however looked into your feedback & travel history, and can advise that our system shows that you were not only offered your first job opportunity within your initial accommodation, which our service promises to do - but because there was an issue with your initial accommodation, even though it was completely out of our control being an internal booking error with the hostel themselves, you received a total of 7 nights from us as a gesture of goodwill.

In regards to your job opportunities, the first unfortunately you were not successful for, and the second you accepted and left within days. All of our Working Holiday trips require a 4-month commitment which is made clear by us throughout the entire trip-planning process, and your Trip Coordinator advised if you were to abandon your opportunity without proper notice, we would be unable to provide further opportunities without first looking after our other travellers who are yet to arrive, largely out of fairness. You were advised that if you were in an urgent need of starting work, you could hand out your resume to speed up the search.

We provide everyone with the same service and same inclusions as our website and reps advise from day 1. Sometimes a mistake can be made, we are after all a company run by humans, and human errors can never be avoided all the time, so we would like to investigate all aspects of your complaint, as we thrive on feedback to make our trip experiences the best possible, and much better than our competition. Please feel free to contact us on feedback@globalworkandtravel.com so we can try rectify what you felt went wrong. Thank you.
Posted 2 years ago
Hello I’m kerry I’m currently an Au pair in Sydney Australia.
Thanks to Global work and travel I was able to begin my dream off travelling, I have seen so amazing places and I’m very lucky to live about 20 minutes for the opera house and the harbour bridge.
If your thinking off being an Au pair in Australia I would say go for it, the Au pair network in Sydney and Australia is huge I have made some really close friends whilst being here.
Thanks you Sarah my cordinator from Globe work and travel, I’m currently going through the proses off going to New Zealand for a year as well.
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Kerry,

Thanks for choosing The Global Work & Travel Co. for your Au Pair trip to Australia!

We're so thrilled you had a great experience with Sarah and that she’s helped you continue on with your trip of a lifetime! Thanks so much for taking the time to write such lovely feedback too.

We're over the moon that you had a great experience with us!

Thanks for travelling with The Global Work & Travel Co.
Posted 3 years ago
When I first enquired about volunteering overseas I was still a bit hesitant and unsure about whether it was the right path for me. Lauren was amazing with helping to not only decide where to volunteer but also helped me realise that it was some that afford me with one of the best experiences of a lifetime. She was extremely helpful and knowledgeable, and had exceptional patience when I continued to ask a million questions.
Lauren helped make the experience that much better.
Posted 3 years ago
Through the two months of planning, from the initial concept of going right through to this stage, Nick has provided me with all of the information I have requested. He has been completely patient with myself over the entire period. The process has been really easy thanks to his support.
Posted 4 years ago
Peace of mind in knowing that i have a solid support system to help me through this adventure!
11/10 would book again!
Posted 4 years ago
After expressing an interest in Travelling to Canada via the website, Ollie was very quick to get back to me to get the ball rolling. I had a very informative and enthusiastic conversation and left the call feeling comfortable and excited by the prospect of travelling to Canada.

After phoning a couple of days later to take the plunge and start the application process, I had the pleasure of speaking to Ryan. He was also very enthusiastic and came across as genuinely excited for me. As an experience so far, talking to these guys has been an absolute treat. I gather that most of the guys in the company are seasoned travelers and the enthusiasm has definitely washed off on me. Complete gents. Thanks guys
Posted 4 years ago
Very good! Shannon is amazing, made me feel very comfortable and assured me of everything I needed to know and has made me very excited. I can't wait to meet the family and experience London. I wouldn't have been able to get this far without Shannon :)
Global Work & Travel 5 star review on 18th October 2016
Posted 4 years ago
Global Work & Travel is rated 4.84 based on 6,093 reviews