Top Villas Reviews

3.7 Rating 237 Reviews
68 %
of reviewers recommend Top Villas
3.7
Based on 237 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Top Villas Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01227 250053

Email:

info@thetopvillas.com

Location:

Innovation House Innovation Way Discovery Park

Write Your review

Tell us how Top Villas made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Top Villas 1 star review on 9th May 2022
Julie
Top Villas 1 star review on 9th May 2022
Julie
Top Villas 1 star review on 9th May 2022
Julie
Top Villas 1 star review on 9th May 2022
Julie
Top Villas 1 star review on 9th May 2022
Julie
Top Villas 1 star review on 9th May 2022
Julie
Top Villas 1 star review on 9th May 2022
Julie
6
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
We loved our stay here. The home was beautifully furnished and very clean. The resort amenities (pool, gym, restaurant etc. ) were good. Only issue was the pool was too cold. We paid for pool heating but the pool was still very cold. Nonetheless, the stay was great.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The house we rented in Orlando was mostly good, except that the pool heating (which you have to pay for separately (and we paid)) didn't work. We called 4 straight days to ask to have the management company come out to fix it but they never did. We were promised call backs each time, but never received any updates or call backs. In addition, the tank for the gas grill was empty so we had to run out and buy our own refill. Also, there were supposed to be welcome packs with things like starter kits for the dishwasher and the laundry as well as soap and shampoo for each of the bathrooms. None of that was there. Also, the house we rented had an entertainment game room but two of the games were broken so we couldn't use them even though we paid for them. Top Villas is hiding behind the property manager and initially we were told that Top Villas couldn't do anything except call the property manager about the pool heating. They have also said that they are limited in what compensation they can offer to whatever the property manager is offering them. That simply can't be true. They offered to refund the cost of the pool heating (we are obviously owed that) and have also offered a small token refund on top of that. The house we rented was not inexpensive and when you add up the pool not being usable for 5 days, the lack of promised amenities and the other problems with the house, their offer is really pretty small (although they have argued it is a larger percentage of the "rental cost" which doesn't include items like cleaning fees, other charges and taxes (really, isn't all of that money out of my pocket?). It is really disappointing that they aren't willing to take responsibility for these issues. What could have been a great experience is turning out to be a lesson about not renting through Top Villas again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Boa de mais
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
My family absolutely loved this home, the pictures did not do justice to how truly great it is. This home was very clean and much more spacious than we thought. The community was so beautiful and all entrances were gated. The resort had a lot to offer. There were activities planned where the water park is located, including free movies every night in a small theatre, a gym, and the water park, itself was wonderful and was never over-crowded. The home was close to the theme parks and stores which made it so much easier for our family. A very family-friendly community, very safe, and very well maintained. If you were to run into any issues, Top Villas was there to answer or fix anything, it felt good knowing if we had any issues someone would be there for us.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
My family and I loved this house, it was close to everything, spacious and clean. Neighbourhood felt safe, would definitely stay there again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Erica, Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are glad to hear you would stay there again! We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Katie Plummer Guest Experience Specialist
Posted 2 years ago
This place was amazing. Very clean and neat. The pictures were very true and exceeded expectations. The rooms were accommodating for our family of 6. Married couple, Mother In Law and 3 children. Perfect fit and spacious. The location and surrounding property was very well kept. Secure and safe. We will definitely book again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hello, Thanks so much for your kind review, it's great to hear you enjoyed the villa and had a wonderful time. Top Villas can't wait to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Katie Plummer Guest Experience Specialist
Posted 2 years ago
The house was nothing short of amazing! It was more than enough room. It was clean everything was stocked. My family and I absolutely enjoyed our stay here. We had one issue with one of the showers but they got it fixed in no time. I would recommend anyone who goes to Orlando to book through top villas. My family and I will be back next year!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Erica, We really appreciate your amazing review, thank you very much for recommending us. It's so nice to hear you had a fantastic time. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Katie Plummer Guest Experience Specialist
Posted 2 years ago
An excellent property sourced for us by Top Villas. Quality furnishings. A superb pool and dock area. Hard, in fact, impossible to fault.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hello Niall and Sarah, Thank you very much for your kind review, we are so happy to hear you loved the villa and had a wonderful time. We hope to welcome you back with us soon! Kind regards, Katie Plummer Guest Experience Specialist
Posted 2 years ago
We stayed at a property in Reunion and had a very bad experience. Firstly, they were 6 hours late in having the property ready from our organised check in time, the Air Con wasn’t working properly, the house was dirty on arrival, the pool was dirty, it was lacking in basic utensils and a lot of the things in the house didn’t work. They weren’t responsive in fixing the problems and even took them 3 days to get the AC and internet working – they even knew they weren’t working before we checked in. Not a company I would recommend you stay with as they have the real potential to ruin your vacation – as they did with ours.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Grace, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I note you were staying in the same property as Richard Schwartz who posted a 1-star review a couple of days before your review. I have posted a detailed response to Richard's review below which has addressed your points. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you to one of our beautiful homes and ensure you have a great experience. Kind regards, Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 2 years ago
Great company, answers questions quickly and very helpful. Will definitely book with them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Katie, Thank you very much for your lovely review, we really appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Katie Plummer Guest Experience Specialist
Posted 2 years ago
We had a very poor experience with Top Villas (TV) in renting an Elite Property in Reunion. To be even handed and fair in my review, all the problems didn't rest with Top Villas - it was more with the management agent of the property (Magical Vacation Homes) - but I will criticise them for who they Partner with and in turn exposed us too. To explain something I didn't realise at the time of booking, when you make a booking with TV they are acting as an agent for another rental firm - so they take their commission and pass on the rest of your money to agent who manages the property, which in our case was Magical Vacation Homes in Davenport. I only found this out a week before we were due to arrive at the property (TV Reference Reunion Resort 454) when the Info Pack arrived letting us know who to contact if there were any problems. Which in our case was unfortunately Magical Vacation Homes (MVH) - when checking their website I sourced the same property (under reference RVH228) and the property for the same dates was a £1,000 cheaper on the MVH site - so I guess the difference is TV commission. But TV have the better website and marketing of their site. TV got our trip of to bad start by organising an early check in at 1pm, but forgot to impart this information MVH. So when we turned up the house hadn't been cleaned from the previous tenant stay and as you can imagine it was in a complete mess and not how you want your first impression of your vacation home to be. Thereafter things went from bad to worse, culminating in a terrible stay in the property and there was nothing TV could do to assist us with our problems - we were at the mercy of MVH. We have left a suitably poor review of MVH, but this poor review of TV is to highlight that whilst they are responsive to emails and phone calls (unlike MVH) they are ineffective in helping you with any problems. To the extent, I got the impression that MVH were even less helpful with TV's involvement - maybe because they took the booking? Who Knows. So in summary - our holiday was ruined because of who TV have partnered up with and not being upfront about who the managing agent is. If I knew I was renting from MVH at outset, after reading their reviews (and paying people to keep quiet) I would not have rented the property. *****update after posting this******** We received the following reply from MVH: 'As you booked directly through Top Villas, we are the Property Manager, where Top Villas would handle your concerns and act as the liaison between yourselves and ourselves'. But unfortunately neither addressed our concerns and it appear they both employ the blame game.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Richard, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. When you make a booking through Top Villas, we want nothing more than our guests to have the most wonderful time while staying in one of our properties and we work very hard as a company to provide exceptional service and a quality product to deliver this. I am sorry that on this occasion we were unable to live up to our high expectations. Regarding the price you paid for the property, Top Villas pride ourselves on being able to offer the best possible rates on our homes and always maintain price parity with our local property managers hence the statement you have made is not correct. It may be that you were looking at the incorrect season (low season rates are always less than peak season) or were referencing a last-minute discount which many homeowners offer to fill gaps in their calendars when the stay is within the next 2 weeks. As you booked your stay in May for a stay in July, a last-minute discount would not have been applicable though I do note you received a 15% summer deal discount at the time of booking. I would also like to sincerely apologise for the mix-up with the early check-in. There is typically a half nightly rate charge for being able to access the property at 1pm (the standard check-in time is 4pm and the charge is typically to cover the cost of employing additional cleaners to ensure the property is ready in time) and on this occasion my colleague Katie extended this benefit to you complimentary. Unfortunately, this was not confirmed with the local property manager hence they were unaware that they would need to schedule additional cleaners to turn the property around in time, on top of this the previous guests refused to vacate the property until after 11am (the standard check-out time is 10am) which unfortunately created a perfect storm on the build-up to your arrival. When you and your family arrived at the home at 1pm, the cleaning team (without the additional cleaners they needed) had only had 2 hours to clean a 9-bedroom, 9-bathroom, 5,500 sq ft home hence the poor condition that you found the home in upon your arrival. As soon as we were notified of this mix-up we did explain how this occurred and apologised profusely. You have also mentioned in your review about the poor experience you had with our local property manager. I have taken a look back through all the correspondence and can see that as soon as you raised any issues to us throughout your stay, these were immediately escalated to them and they were able to address all of your concerns in a reasonable time frame. Whilst it is unfortunate that these issues occurred in the first place, we do need to give the local property manager the opportunity to put things right. I do sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to welcome you back to one of our beautiful homes and show you what a great experience we can offer. Kind regards, Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 2 years ago
My family and i stayed in this fantastic villa for 14 nights in May, and absolutely enjoyed every moment spent here, i would highly recommend this villa for anyone seeking the wow factor. we were met with some very nice touches from the owners as well.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hello, Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed every moment. We hope to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards, Katie Guest Experience Specialist
Posted 2 years ago
My family loved this beautiful house especially the kitchen island which was huge and sat a lot of people. This house was the perfect size for 18 people. The kids loved the game room and the bunk bed rooms which are also decorated so cute. The clubhouse was very nice and had great food with decent prices as well. Very nice community pool and kids water park area which was just a block from the house.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hello, Thank you so much for your kind review, and glad to hear that you loved the villa and the area. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Kind regards, Katie Guest Experience Specialist
Posted 2 years ago
Orlando Solara Resort Top Villas surpassed all our expectations with quality service from the moment we made our reservation. The standard of accommodation was superb and was actually better than we anticipated. As a family we'd been to Florida on many occasions previously, but this was the first time we'd used Top Villas. However, it wont be the last.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Robert, Thank you very much for leaving your kind review, it's so great to read such wonderful feedback and I'm so pleased that you are considering using us again for your future trips! Kind regards, Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 2 years ago
Awesome!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Alice, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we hope we have the opportunity to host you again very soon! Kind regards, Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 2 years ago
We made a booking with the help of Christie Gattiker. She was excellent - swift and reassuring responses to our myriad of questions and a personal, professional service. We are confident the villa will meet our expectations - but we have to wait until Easter 2021 to find out !! Thank you Christie.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi, Thank you very much for your lovely review, I have shared your feedback with Christie and she is so thrilled to hear such kind words! On behalf of the whole team here at Top Villas, thank you for booking with us and we hope you have a great stay in 2021! Kind regards, Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 2 years ago
Me and family had a wonderful time. The house was gorgeous and over exceeded my expectations.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi TeErika, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your kind review, we hope to welcome you back again to one of our beautiful properties very soon! Kind regards, Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 2 years ago
The house was very comfortable and well maintained. We had an enjoyable time. The management office was helpful whenever we had a question. A real pleasure to deal with. A real nice block and the house was better than expected. Will book with Top villas again!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi, Thank you for your lovely review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the villa. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our homes again very soon! Kind regards, Katie Plummer Guest Experience Specialist
Posted 2 years ago
A great base to explore Orlando. Quiet neighbourhood on a golf course in a gated community. Facilities in the house were good - the kids were always happy to spend time just in the house and pool. Plenty of space for our group of ten.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi, Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear you had a great time! We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our homes again very soon! Kind regards, Katie Plummer Guest Experience Specialist
Posted 2 years ago
All went well. Used all your bedrooms for all my guest. Next time hope to have extra time to use your onsite amenities.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi, Thank you for your review! We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our homes again very soon! Kind regards, Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 2 years ago
Top Villas is rated 3.74 based on 237 reviews