CeX Reviews

2.08 Rating 385 Reviews
25 %
of reviewers recommend CeX
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 81%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 65%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
6 - 12 Hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how CeX made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I bought an iPhone 6s for £170 and it does not charge properly it crashes and does not work properly
It’s scratched and trying to contact them through phone and email with no response is terrible! It’s a lot of money I paid out for a phone like this especially when no one gets back to ne! I’m taking it further as twice this has happened now and the staff are rude and do not seem to know anything they look at you with a dumb expression
Absolutely disgusting
Posted 6 months ago
Do not buy from this company sold me a faulty wii board then couldn’t reach them to complain as my emails failed due to their inbox being full - presumably full of complaints
Posted 7 months ago
I'd rather have the option for 3.5 stars. The problem with CEX is the inconsistency of quality of service and attitude. Naturally, once you know which ones to use and which ones to avoid, all is great. Sadly you have to be the victim first in order to learn this info and that shouldn't be the case. CEX need to seriously bring the bad stores up to standard of some of the others! Furthermore, don't bother reviewing purchases for them as the often remove them for no obvious reason whatsoever, so don't waste your time to do them a favour. I emailed them one asking exactly what I said that was against their rules and they never ever replied.
Posted 7 months ago
This is the worst company to do any sort of business with, after buying an item costing £1000 and staffs don't even know anything about the item they're selling and telling me they looked it up on youtube so the item seems to be working fine, I was gobsmacked is that the so called testing they did to come to the conclusion that the item is fine? Well further action to be taken cos they do not want to replace the item after 20 plus days.
Posted 7 months ago
i had ordered a very cheap graphics card, a nvidia geforce 9500 1gb but instead they sent some POS nvidia geforce 7400 64MB absolute joke the cards are very different and anyone with half a mind could see the difference. the card is not even worth the price of the postage
Posted 7 months ago
We visited your lakeside branch on Saturday 25/01/2020 we exchanged some dvds for a voucher and with top up purchased a honour 10 mobile phone, after using the phone my partner noticed that the sound keep going while watching YouTube and Spotify, we new it was still in warrenty so brought back the phone on Saturday 15/03/2020 they had to do the usual checks on the phone we returned after 40 minutes to be told the phone was tampered with and the bottom right hand side of the phone had been 'pulled off' we explained that the phone hasn't been touched and because we still had warrenty we come back for you to fix it! Or a refund/exchange the staff members decided we're very rude and didn't want to help in the slightest! After reading alot of reviews on your website I have seen similar responses that it is the customers fault when the product hasnt been touched! I would like a responses and aren't checking the products correctly before being sold on and then blaming the customers for the damage! I would like a response back on the matter other wise it will be taken further action.
Shauna
Posted 7 months ago
Very helpful staff no problems .5*****
Posted 7 months ago
Awful , Xbox one overheating, repair jumps from £60 to £93 , paid and collected, 3 days later stinks of burning and red hot , took back staff could smell it as could customers , returned to tech no fault found , still sealed in their own bag with security seal and he says sell us it and proceeds to tell us they need to test it for 20 minutes before paying us , God help who ever buy this from them
Posted 7 months ago
abysmal customer service over a 24 hr delivery thats still not here 6 days later, in future will use ebay or amazon,
Posted 7 months ago
Cex made me happy because all of the member of staff are very friendly and helpful.
Posted 7 months ago
Got sold a iPhone that didn't work, took it back the same day with all the receipts, it was clearly a faulty phone staff were rude and unhelpful. Don't use this company again for their attitude is revolting
Posted 7 months ago
Tried to sell two iphone 4s to cex. One was accepted one was too damaged. That was fine. It was the length of time they had the phones which was the problem. I had sold or recycled other phones to other companies whose turn around was quick. Cex took weeks!
Posted 7 months ago
Hassle hence 3 stars. To sell my PS4 and change for Xbox One was a bit of hassle. 0- register yourself with Cex 1st you go to Cex leave your console for test 2- you come back to get voucher 3- go home and order Xbox (if they dont have it in shop) 4- receive item not as ordered (Xbox one boxed ordered and Xbox one Got my XBOX one discounted received) 5- complain over phone 6- go back shop return item 7- go back home order again 8- receive correct item .... if i charge for a time i spend on all these activities i would get myself brand new console for that. So it depends how much you value your time.
Posted 7 months ago
CEX in Feltham lovely guy called Leo. Was so helpful I had My phone stolen on the weekend so I went into buy a new one he help me set it up and recommended what sims to buy then inserted sim and set it all up. Absolute star! Was a lovely genuine guy made my bad situation a lot better.
Posted 8 months ago
Avoid if possible, the staff there r all tattoo twats, not one of them knows what to do, not one there is intelligent or sensible, U ask one a question they go round asking the other staff for help! all there after is ur money and once u’ve purchased something they don’t want to know u after that! I’ve had a horrible experience with them! Go to the shop GAMES the people there r so nice and respectful I love there shop! ‘AVOID CEX’ 🙄 And if u do buy anything u don’t get cash refund but get a voucher instead, but with other shop they give u certain amount of days for ur cash back . Avoid ppl
Posted 8 months ago
Total scam artists, avoid like the plague, will sell you faulty items and the only refund you a voucher which is worth half what you paid! AVOID!!!
Posted 8 months ago
They’re alright depending on what staff and store you get I go to the one in East Ham and trust a young lad to always serve me has helped me sort out issues other staff cannot a really good worker
Posted 8 months ago
Please don't sell(give) these guys your old DVDs they'll offer you 1p for them and try to sell them for £1,2,3 or £4 I should have just went to a charity shop or donated the to a children's home.... fell bad now. Also I went to the Holloway branch to sell a tablet I had got for Christmas which I didn't need (but let's keep that between us) and the bloke took one look at me and asked me for I.D he didn't even look at it then started looking for reasons to say no ( I think he thought it was stolen and I would get violent as his hands were shaking while opening the box) he saw that it had a European plug and went to his supervisor who looked up at me and then he came back saying he could take it off my hands because off the European plug!!! A few days later I go to chapel market and I have no probs whatsoever (except feeling robbed of my DVD collection) so I'd honestly say only sell to these guys if you have a phone laptop tablet which is less than 3 years old otherwise your just simply giving it away to a major company who will try to make 75% + profit on them. I'll try spok next time at least it can go directly to someone who needs it. Oh and they don't like to hear any feedback!!!
Posted 8 months ago
Buyer beware!!!!!!!!Worst retail experience my wife and I have ever experienced. I bought a second hand I phone 7 from from the Dunfermline store around 6 months ago. It was rated by them as a B grade product due to the scratches on the screen and to the back of the phone which I was happy with as It would be in a case and have a screen protector so they wouldn’t be visible. After some time the screen began to show fault, flickering at the bottom intermittently. I thought this wasn’t a problem as I had a years warranty??????!!!!!!! Nope!!!! I took the phone back to the store in the Kingsgate shopping centre where the staff were so absolutely useless and completely unhelpful. The manager was off that day so I was asked to contact him the next day. After speaking with him he told my wife and I that they couldn’t do anything because there is a crack on the screen. They insisted that I had damaged the phone in some way and this issue was due to a crack on the screen that I had caused. This is not correct. That’s exactly how I brought it from you! Does this meen you shouldn’t have sold it in the first place? Absolutely mental. I am in discussions with the financial ombudsmen currently. You will here from me very soon!
Posted 8 months ago
AVOID!!!

This store sold me a dvd box set with defective discs and when i went to get a refund i had to wait an hour for the "tester" who looked to be high to "test" the discs and tell me that they work fine when they don't.

Will be reporting them to trading standards for selling defective items.
Posted 8 months ago
CeX is rated 2.08 based on 385 reviews