CeX Reviews

1.90 Rating 529 Reviews
21 %
of reviewers recommend CeX
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 81%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 65%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
6 - 12 Hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how CeX made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
CEX is fine for cheap DVD/Blu Ray but I would strongly advise against buying anything more expencive. I bought a phone a few week ago and just terrible, constantly crashing, constantly wont let me do simple things like tick boxes and is really, REALLY slow. If it wasnt for lockdown I would have never even of bought thid item ad I had a similar experience buying a tablet a few years earlier.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
you better buy from any random nigerian guy from ebay
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
me and my dad a couple years back thought of selling stuff that we didn't use to cex as cashies closed down and so we sold a couple games that lasted a year or so like rocket league, lego worlds and some others along with a camera a scratched iphone 5 and a cooler master keys lite l keyboard without the mouse and for all of that... 45 GODDAMN QUID and they asked about the camera password and we told em to f**k off and thinking back about it, we did the right decision as I couldn't even get the same keyboard with the money and that's why its 2 stars and i feel no ounce of regret from saying this
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I purchased a PS4 console for my son. Despite apparent checks on their products very disappointingly the console only worked for two months. You are taking a gamble buying from this service.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Ripping customers off with cash sale prices, buy a DVD from you 3.00, sell for 10.00, buy a DVD from you for 0.01 (yes really), sell for 2.50.. I understand they have operating costs and profit, but never used to be this bad, in the past they would buy a DVD at 4.00 and sell for 6.00 for example. Be wary and check the sale price, often they are the same or more than a new one!. Ripping customers off both ends.. Just saw they buy an iphone for 117 and sell for 235.00. Come on. Taking the pxxx or what?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Ordered a wired xbox 360 controller for pc gaming. Description was very vague and didn't mention which plug it had so I've now had to buy an adaptor. Controller arrived very dirty which was very gross, and not very reassuring in the current pandemic.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Please don't sell(give) these guys your old DVDs they'll offer you 1p for them and try to sell them for £1,2,3 or £4 I should have just went to a charity shop or donated the to a children's home.... fell bad now. Also I went to the Holloway branch to sell a tablet I had got for Christmas which I didn't need (but let's keep that between us) and the bloke took one look at me and asked me for I.D he didn't even look at it then started looking for reasons to say no ( I think he thought it was stolen and I would get violent as his hands were shaking while opening the box) he saw that it had a European plug and went to his supervisor who looked up at me and then he came back saying he could take it off my hands because off the European plug!!! A few days later I go to chapel market and I have no probs whatsoever (except feeling robbed of my DVD collection) so I'd honestly say only sell to these guys if you have a phone laptop tablet which is less than 3 years old otherwise your just simply giving it away to a major company who will try to make 75% + profit on them. I'll try spok next time at least it can go directly to someone who needs it. Oh and they don't like to hear any feedback!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I have previously found CEX in Cheltenham to be great. I have bought second hand games and DVDs for my son, and traded items in once he had grown out of them. However my last two visits to the store have been disappointing. He wanted to get rid if his sky lander figures, so I popped in to ask if they bought them. Yes I was told, some are worth more than others so bring them along and they’ll take a look. I went home, got them, made a special journey back into town. I then spoke to another team member who said they do not take them! When I explained my frustrations at being told something completely different earlier, there wasn’t even an apology. The guy who told me to come back with them was on the adjoining till and could hear my conversation, but not once did he apologise for giving me wrong information. Today I have been in to take my sons PS4 for a repair, which in their website says they do, only to be told on arrival that they do not do repairs. When I asked where they would recommend me take it ‘try Facebook’ was the reply! The member of staff today was polite and quietly spoken, but not particularly helpful. ‘Computer says no’ type of attitude. I strongly recommend CEX delivery more customer service training to their staff, they definitely need it!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Sent me a console out it was faulty they swapped it for another once again faulty
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Need to get website sorted out as it says stuff in stock at stores but when u travel to them it’s not there, was explained to me by member of staff in 3rd shop I had been to that if it don’t say buy now then it’s not available so why show stock in store if you can’t get it????
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Wasted Journey I saw an item that indicated it was not available on CEX online but stated that the item was available at the Ellesmere Port store (x2). I checked online prior to travelling to the Ellesmere Port store to be informed that this item had already been sold online! This therefore resulted in a wasted journey and a cost to myself! The online website should be updated more regular to reflect what is available online and in CEX stores.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Apple Watch face sold separately you can buy watch cheaper in stores than from cex
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I have long been a customer at the Sunderland branch (recently changed location but essentially the same business) buying predominately dvds' I've tended to return due to the good, affordable prices, the good selection and generally good quality of the products. However I feel the service and organisation can greatly improve. Despite the store now being smaller, there are usually 5 or 6 staff behind the till yet service is usually quite slow- i've literally seen staff talking and joking among themselves whilst customers are waiting to be served. I appreciate they can't do everything at once but they should at least acknowledge people are waiting instead of giving the impression they don't care. In addition on several occasions now I have went to buy a dvd i'd long been looking for only to find it can't be found! So why put the box on display? This just seems like sloppy organising. The staff are not rude per sa but I do think they need to improve customer service and organisation.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The margin they charge on second hand goods is 20% too high
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
brought iphone6 but couldnt get onwith it,soexchange for android looked ok was extra 10 quid then found had been fixed as back came away when pealed the sticker of will never buy from cex again as was told would only get voucher if i returned iteam
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Same as many others. Purchased 2 items both in stock (about 4 of each). Stock picking went on for a few days and both orders eventually cancelled. Could not find item in stock! This has happened to me before. It is not difficult for a system to stop an in shop sale once an item has been purchased on line. We are in the age of the PC. On line sale is a bit hit and miss. I have received some outstanding items and others that appear to be dragged from bin. The grading system is poor.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
First order - I bought a Sony XPERIA XZ2 through their online store and given it was Grade A I was expecting it in its box with all original accessories. The phone came wrapped in bubble wrap with some CeX branded accessories. I had to open a ticket to request all the original accessories it had to come with. I got some of them but not pleased as experience was not smooth and I still lacked the box, SIM card tool etc. Second order - Online order of a Panasonic Lumix camera lens. The lens came wrapped in bubble wrap again without its box or original accessories (lens hood or lens bag). After opening a ticket I was told they do not consider a lens hood as essential. All in all, do NOT order online from CeX. Only in store to make sure you know what you're getting. Only internal phones and emails so you cannot get in touch with a specific store and customer service doesn't seem to be bothered to connect you with these stores or do it for you.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Went in store to sell my honor view 20, left it with them while they tested it, came back find it now had a scratch across the screen and on top of that they had put a password on it, good job I stayed at the checkout and checked my phone first or I wouldn't of been able to use it. Think they only ended up buying for the full amount they first quoted me before I left it because I made a fuss and refused to move until they had removed the password and could prove the phone had no scratches on it when I left it as I had taken a pic which had the time and date on it. Would never take anything there again, talk about try to rip you off
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Bought a game, got home and opened the case and the disc was scratched and covered in finger prints. They hadn’t bothered to clean the disc before re-sale.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I was after a decent headset so I went to cex store Sunderland and found a pair of beats. I bought them on the understanding they were wireless as was told they were and this was the charger. Happy I got them took them home to find out they weren't wireless but I liked them so kept them. Now at the weekend I was in cex at hartlepool as my daughter wanted a game. I seen a pair of bose headset. So my partner asked are they wireless and the staff as it took 2 to tell him they will be. So again took them home to find out they are exactually the same as the beats. Does noone train these people. I could have took them back for a credit note which is wrong as my partner asked if they were wireless. Why should i have a credit note for something they cant get right. And as i found out i could of had the same pair off amazon new for £15 cheaper. Not just are they useless but also rip people off with prices.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
CeX is rated 1.90 based on 529 reviews