Wickes Reviews

1.5 Rating 1,448 Reviews
12 %
of reviewers recommend Wickes
Read Wickes Reviews

About Wickes:

Wickes continues to be one of the major brands in the DIY and Home Improvement sector. We have a range of over 10,000 products (98% own brand), and are able to offer our customers everyday low prices by sourcing the best quality products at the lowest possible cost. Most of our products are available for next-day delivery, including big & bulky stuff. At Wickes you can discover a whole host of inspirational ideas for your Home and Garden, with some of our key products being doors, flooring, tiles, kitchens and gardens. Launched in 2006, the Wickes transactional website features product details covering the complete Wickes range. Our website is constantly being enhanced to help improve customer satisfaction, so why not be a part of that journey by helping customers find us.

Visit Website

Phone:

0344 892 2721 (Ext. 6322)

Location:

National Customer Service Centre | Rhosili Road | Brackmills

Write Your review

Tell us how Wickes made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Wickes 1 star review on 5th April 2022
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 5th April 2022
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 5th April 2022
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 5th April 2022
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 30th March 2022
Linda Herrington
Wickes 1 star review on 30th March 2022
Linda Herrington
Wickes 5 star review on 6th February 2022
Anonymous
102
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Customer service appalling been trying to resolve, a problem for 18 months, no feed back from store. It’s all great while they are planning but when you have paid it’s like you don’t exist. Do not buy from wicks
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
A customer assistant at my local branch was not very interested in helping me , she was more interested in chatting to her colleague, she quoted me a ridiculous price £6,000 for 6 units , fitting on top she could not be bothered to serve, felt fobbed off. Very rude.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Avoid at all costs If I could have put 0 I would have. Everything was ok until the moment I signed up. That is when the after sales care stopped. The design was wrong. They failed to carry out a technical survey so items ordered didn’t fit the room. There were exorbitant additional charges from the installer. The job took 3 weeks not 5 days as promised. Lots of jobs left undone. This has been the worst experience and the most awful customer service. I could list so many more problems but won’t waste my time! Avoid at all costs.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
The most gutless cowardly company who above all fail to allow you to make a complaint or speak with a real person. Timeline.9-10am online trying to order the rest of my kitchen=1hr that payment system broken so forced to ring 10-10,30 that payment taken by a actual person failed twice to go through yet all my money was ,'pending' then a trip to the bank and the Wickes woman said it was our card problem! 1hr later no prob; with the card at all, the bank said. Some units out of stock no telling when they will have them. All in all NEVER order a Wickes kitchen on line!! I nearly had a heart attack, I and my hubby were beyond stressed 16,00 hrs sitting deflated some of an Orlando Kitchen but not the rest!! The most arrogant company on the planet!! I'm not begging you to spend my money with you!! I'll get my money back from you in other ways have no fear!! And my money is still!!!!!! Pending with you!!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
The Wickes' sales team are slick and very good (hence the 1 star) BUT 3 months on (and after they took an upfront payment of the full £6k) it was left to me to contact them to see what was going on as I've heard nothing since. They then told me they have no idea when a bathroom fitter will be available as my order had been lost. I was given the usual 'due to covid....' line but it just seems to me like Wickes have no idea how to deliver on the promises/sales they make. I'm now left trying to claw back my 6k If you want a cheap .and cheerful bathroom and are prepared to wait a year+ for delivery/fitting then I'm sure they are great. However, if you just want a bathroom delivered and fitted in a reasonable timeframe and dont want the stress of paying it all up front, I'd go elsewhere. In fact, I'd totally avoid using them
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
a home delivery doesn't turn up , which was paid for , when spoke to at 5 pm the same day told oh no its not coming ,do you wish to reschedule :0 no call me petty but as i booked and paid for today id like it today ,oh no we cant do that ,ok refund me my £30 delivery fee then ,oh no we cant do that either ,ok cancel the order then , did they no ,i then had to ring back and do that myself also , im not sure their purpose in life really and ideas let me know ,oh yes now the refund takes up to 5 days :)
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Brought a bathroom to be installed and it was a shambles. They cancelled installation 2 working days before installation and rearranged 2 and half months later leaving me with no floor. Then I could get all of my order (keep in mind I order these 7 months prior) as they over sold and didn't have it in stock anymore. Then the installer decided to do additional works without informing me and billing it to me at the end. I pointed out this illegal but Wickes seem to not care and dodge this question. The whole project has been a joke and their customer service team are just ignoring the points raised. On trust pilot they said they would email me and haven't. Avoid at all costs. Wickes are happy to be associated with illegal practices.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
We signed up for a new bathroom in October and decided to use Wickes installation service. The fitter said the fit should take 7 - 10 days. The bathroom was delivered before the fitter was due to start on the Monday 15th March. When the fitter arrived he discovered most of the bathroom had not been delivered. The toilet did not arrive as it was out of stock. It was agreed the fitter would fit a temporary toilet until our toilet arrived. As the bathroom wasn’t on site the fitter lost the first three days as he didn’t want to strip out the bathroom and leave us without facilities. When the fitter had completed the bathroom the toilet was still not available. Eventually the toilet was delivered over 2 deliveries as it hadn’t all been loaded! The fitter came back to fit to find that the toilet was not compatible with a side waste. As we had specifically ordered a comfort height toilet we were very disappointed. The store were not helpful saying it was a mistake on the website not a design error. No other comfort height toilets were available and we were left with a choice of either sourcing our own comfort height toilet (which then would not match the sink) or accepting a standard height toilet. We were not happy with either option but we reluctantly agreed to accept the standard height toilet as at least it matched the sink. The fitter finally returned to fit our toilet and remove the temporary one. The fit that was to take 7 - 10 days was completed on 1st June (79 days). We emailed Wickes Customer Services stating we were unhappy with the delays and we had ended up with a toilet that did not fulfil our requirements. After a lengthy wait we were offered a £100 compensation as a full and final settlement. We rejected this. I have since emailed Wickes Customer Services twice to request a Team Leader review the case. My emails have had no response.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Wickes are an excellent company to work for as an installer. Unfortunately they have no control over the customers they sell to. I recently fitted a kitchen for a man called Clive Green. He must be AVOIDED by all tradesmen. He will supply the wrong products such as; non fire rated ceiling spot lights, wrong sockets, wrong sized radiator and he’ll even measure and supply windows that don’t FIT! He’ll then use you as a scape goat for his school boy errors. Total waste of space!! The amount of fabricated narratives he comes up with is shocking!! He even tried to charge my 16 year old apprentice for using the toilet! AVOID AVOID AVOID!!
Wickes 1 star review on 7th September 2021
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Possible the most inept and pathetic customer services department that exists. And a picking department that obviously cant read as they have sent me wrong hood twice, but i only ordered 28 days ago so maybe im being a bit picky. I would not recommend to my worst enemy.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
We had our kitchen installed by a man called Nathanial Bond..the estimated installation was 10 days which turned into 5 weeks!..mostly due to the fact that he NEVER worked the hours he was supposed to. On completion of the kitchen he left parts that he hadnt done and hours after arrogantly leaving us the invoice he threatened my elderly mother with debt collectors if we didn't pay up immediately! Please avoid using this man,he is a nasty incompitent bully and a terrible so called kitchen fitter.
Wickes 1 star review on 4th September 2021 Wickes 1 star review on 4th September 2021 Wickes 1 star review on 4th September 2021
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Unfortunately the kitchen fitter contracted by Wickes in my opinion has turned out to be deceitful, dishonest and an unprofessional fitter. Damage made to the kitchen he did not declare and was happy to walk away leaving days/weeks of work still required. He ripped out tiles and threshold step without replacing any of it, with actual damage to the lounge laminate flooring. He cut away both sides of a door frame damaging it beyond repair without mentioning it. He failed in many other areas. The fitter has also not handed over the electrical safety certificate and has actually refused to. Absolutely appalling service, he is not an ambassador for Wickes. On top of this I still have a living room full of delivered unneeded stuff from Wickes and an integrated fridge door incorrectly fitted. Go here at your peril!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Very disappointed at the way they handle orders cancellations. They took long time to refund me and discounted 10% from total refund due. Needless to say I will never shop anything from them.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
The Lancaster branch always go above and beyond to give me great service!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Three weeks after the door I ordered didn’t arrive - I’m still without a door and a refund . Wickes customer service just fob me off claiming it’s been delivered but unable to provide proof and refusing a refund . Absolutely disgusting . I’m now putting the matter in the hands of Trading Standards
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Working for Wicks was a good life experience and helped me release the decision that working for this company was a wrong idea. I started work as a lorry driver in class 2. I have to admit that I did not have too many experiences before, but who has when you start? Anyway I would like to express my opinion on this delivery company especially in Crawley. Pusing to the edges by mates. I worked with a lot of mates, everyday different people so I can say who is really pushy and who is not. Most of them are. Pusing started already in the morning when I came to work and my mate said we are already late. I tried to explain drivers' regulation hours but I think it was a waste of time. This mate called his wifi already on the way to the first drop saying that I was late and he will come late. During the day he remad me that we are late and we need to be quick. I say sorry I am not going to kill mysel just because you want to be at home at 14 oclock. Sometimes it happens that as a driver you may take the wrong direction but that would be a delay of 3 minutes. This mate told me “ohh Man that is 5 minutes delay” When we did the last drop I asked the mate if he could put the straps back on tilleges. He says that is ok. At that moment I was thinking that I am responsible for cargo so if the stilleges for some reason will get out of cargo it may kill somebody and I would go to the prison not the mate. When we arrived at the yard I parked up the lorry in front of the company because the yard was full of lorries waiting to be unloaded. I parked a little bit far only a couple of meters out of double yellow lines and the mate asked me what I was doing. I say sorry, but I am not going to park at the double yellow line in front of the company. The mate at the end of day, told me that I am the worst driver ever. Well this mate doesn't even have a driver licence :) On that day we started at 6am and finished at 15:30 so I dont think it was late. Anyway this is just one of many bad examples I've been involved in. Nonsense safety rules This company set up rules for example not allowed to be in cargo space. Not allowed to open bins or curtains without a helmet. No reversing without mate. (Most of them don't want to get out of the cabin, when you ask them they put angry faces up). In order to keep those rules in place the company has on every lorry CCTV to watch their staff. They even watch a tachograph (I don't think they are allowed to do that by law). Anyway in order to be at home at 14 oclock most of them left the door open and climb to the cargo to get boxes down, because most of the boxes are unreachable from the ground. Carrig 2 tonne a day by person Everyday is about carrying boxes to the customers' property by hand. Each day I cared about 2 tunes of bosex that is minimum of tunes 10 tonnes a week. The company is so worried about health and safety but they let the staff carry this amount of weight every week. Nobody cares about joins, muscles, back pain etc. Most of the time you have to carry 1 tonne of boxes to the 3-5 level of flats. Who cares about people? But their company has set up their rules. Just nonsense and on the top you are constantly watched and worry that you will lose your job because when they find out you don't have a helmet on they will kick you out. I left this company because I had enough of this.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Bathroom fitted but was then leaking under the bath for 3 months due to incompetence of fitter and we were unaware of the leak until the flat below complained about damp. Had to call our own emergency plumber out to fix the leak. We have contacted Customer Services numerous times to get assessor out to check the bathroom over and repaint ceiling but are still waiting nearly 2 months later for a response and when we do get through after hanging on the phone for up to 45 minutes we are always promised that they will do something but it never happens. Very frustrating.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Crown white emulsion on offer at moment in Colchester do not buy very poor cover and leaves and white dust substance on hand after it dries!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Started off okay but then the customer service level drops once you’ve paid them. Waiting nearly 2 months for our bathroom to be finished They don’t let you know if something is out of stock - just hope you don’t notice or ask When you try and contact them, they just don’t respond. That’s both branch and customer services They don’t manage the contractors you have to do all the leg work yourself Left with an unfinished bathroom. Would avoid them if we could choose again
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Kitchen is fantastic, the fitters were absolutely brilliant. Just customer service that let us down. Originally we had 4 pieces of cornice on our invoice, then when the kitchen designer came out, he said we wouldn't need them as there wouldn't be enough room. We presumed they would be taken off the original cost of the kitchen. Upon completion, the fitters said they couldn't understand why we had been sent 4 pieces of cornice that weren't needed, so we said they were supposed to have been taken off the order. I rang customer service to explain and asked for a refund. She said we should have checked the delivery when it arrived! And as it was past the 10 days in which to get a refund, we would not be getting one. She was quite rude on the phone. As it was over £200 they owed me, I went into the store the following day, to be greeted by the store manager and another staff member. After a heated argument, she eventually offered a refund, as long as I return the pieces..which are far too long to fit in a family car!! This has spoilt what was a really pleasurable experience of our new kitchen. Customer services definitely need to up their game!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Wickes is rated 1.54 based on 1,448 reviews