Congo Discovery Safaris Reviews

4.95 Rating 43 Reviews
100 %
of reviewers recommend Congo Discovery Safaris
I've traveled extensively, from Wadi Rum to Manaus, Madagascar by boat and Bali by bus. One could say I'm an experienced traveler. But Congo, though a dream, has always been untouchable due to the political situation and health advisories. But! It is a dream, never the less, to see this beautiful country and interact with its beautiful people. Barack has made that not just possible but easy. I would recommend him and his brother Ken to anyone. Congo needs to be explored, and Barack can make that happen.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
When I first started searching for a dependable tour company in Congo for our upcoming trip in November 2018, I found many of these companies are based overseas and the quotes were ridiculously high. Then I found Barack from Congo Discovery Safaris who offered us a very reasonable pricing. I worked with Barack for over 2 months and I found him very reasonable. He is practical but flexible. And above all, he holds high integrity and honesty. I never looked back. During an emergency situation, the help I have received in Congo from Barack and Ken, I will never forget in life. Needless to say, for any of my future trips to Congo, it would be Barack and Ken no one else.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Barack at Congo Discovery Is The Best Guide. use him
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
What an amazing journey! The gorilla trekking was phenomenal! A surreal experience. Barack was extremely knowledgeable, generous and funny. Baracks energy and highly infectious smile was a pleasure to be around. Everything went very smoothly. I highly recommend Barack and his team. You will have the best time of your life! I look forward to climb Nyiragongo Volcano with you next time Barack! Thank you very much Barack, my brother! See you soon!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I was in Uganda when i met Elizabeth who just came back from the Congo and told me all about the fantastic trip and Barack and how well everything was organized. I then contacted Barack and he organized everything in very, very short time (visa, Transport to congo, accomodation etc). Baracks brother helped me in Kampala Uganda with everything prior to departure. I am so glad I went to the Congo to see the Gorillas and did the Nyiragongo, both experiences where absolutely fantastic. The accomodation in the Congo provided was very good and in a safe area. One could walk even after dark to the next bar or the grocery shop. barack does not himself participate in the expeditions or drivings, but can always be reached, and as in my case, will take care of any Problem. I can highly recomend Barack and his Company and if I ever go back to the Congo for a new adventure I will contact Barack first. Keep up the spirits and the great Job you are doing.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Barak is a great guy and very trustworthy tour guide! It was all amazing!!!! Thank u for everything! And hope we will meet again soon
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Highly recommended. My wife and I went on an 8-day tour with Congo Discovery Safaris through Uganda, Rwanda and Democratic Republic of Congo and had a wonderful time. It was our first trip to Africa and Ken, Barack and Jared made it very easy on us. Prior to the tour I emailed with Barack and asked a million questions, but he was always very responsive, kind and helpful. We met Ken (Barack's brother) and Jared (the best driver I've ever seen) in Uganda and toured with them throughout the country and in Rwanda as well. They were both incredibly nice people and a lot of fun to be around. We saw tons of animals including lions, hippos, elephants, warthogs, hyenas, crocodiles, etc. We then went to Congo to meet Barack and go gorilla trekking and hike up Mt. Nyiragongo - both were incredible experiences that we will never forget. I would highly recommend Congo Discovery Safaris as everyone we met was very nice and helpful and great tour guides. At no point during the trip did we feel like we weren't taken care of and we always felt completely safe and comfortable. An incredible time and I would love to do another trip with this group. Honestly, they were just great people in general.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
We had the best best trip with Ken, Jared and Barack. They were so warm and welcoming, it felt like we were on a big family vacation the whole time. Everything went perfectly, the food was delicious and the trips and views were outstanding. We started in Kampala and then visited Queen Elizabeth national park, then Kisoro, then gorillas and Mt Nyiragongo, in Virunga national park, and then last but not least, Kigali. It was incredible. Ken and Jared have such a wealth of knowledge and such great banter that it made even long drives a breeze. Barack met us at the Congo border and helped get our visas and navigate Congo very easily. The Nyiragongo hike was hard but definitely worth it for the views and the awesome lava (literally looked like a boiling pot of soup made of fire), and even the food at the top!! And our last day in Kigali was so powerful and then ended with such a lovely late lunch at the pork joint. We can't thank you enough for making the start to our honeymoon so so memorable!! Can't wait for our next trip back!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
We really enjoyed the tour to Congo with Barak. Good organization, exelent staff!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Congo discovery safaris is one of the best tour agencies for DRC adventures. (volcano / gorillas) The manager-Barak, will take extra special care of you and your group to make sure you are happy, safe, and smiling during your entire adventure. No need for worries... they will take care of your visa, lead you through the spectacular volcano, and guide you to the amazing gorillas. Transportation was a breeze. Bakar will pick you up from the gorgeous guesthouse in Giseny, then accompany you across the border to the Congo. He will take care of all your transportaion and accommodations while providing excellent service. As an added bonus, Bakar will take anyone who may be interested on a scenic city tour through Goma. He is a wonderful tour guide!!! In addition to handling all of your needs, Barak is very reliable and knowledgable, with answers to every question you will have. You will not regret your choice to discover the Congo with him. Thank you Barak for an amazing experience and for such a wonderful adventure. I HIGHLY recommend you and your services!!! Thank you!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Before booking a tailor made tour with Congo discovery safaris we had contact by email with Barack and Ken. They were very helpful and we came to a very nice itinerary. Once we arrived we were picked up on the airport and from that moment unwards Barack, Ken and George, our tour guide, took great care of us. Everything was arranged and got to see all the highlight of this beautiful region without facing any problems. I would definitely recommend Congo Discovery safaris to all of you as they are very well-organised, helpful, fun and flexibel!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Congo Discovery delivered a customized tour of high quality at a price significantly cheaper than competitors. ‘Luxury’ level accommodation in Virunga and Bukavu was to an execellent standard. Communication with Barack and Ken was quick and easy, always providing answers when asked. Ground transport was to good standard with drivers George and Barack knowledgeable and friendly. The route of the tour did change last minute due to slow processing of Congo visa however, Barack and Ken managed this well with all activities and accommodation delivered as planned! We booked 6 day Gorilla and Nyiragongo volcano trek. Both activities were an amazing experience and thoroughly recommend a visit to the Congo! Barack ensured we were safe and happy every step of the tour. He was always happy to show us other local sites and restaurants. All staff were very friendly. Excellent value. Amazing experience! I would definitely use Congo Discovery Safaris again!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
We were well assisted from the very beginning at the border till very end of the trip. Barack was very helpful, he managed to find us the rain coat as it was the middle of heavy rain season. Communication was very good via whatsapp and in general, the trip was perfect (we were soaking wet after the trekking, but the experience nce will stay in us forever!!). It is very sadthat mountain gorillas are so endangered, they are reapecrful and peaceful creatures. The time we spent watching them was just one of the best moments of all our africa travels
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
My boyfriend and I went on an 13 day Rwanda, Congo and Uganda tour in February, I’ve just been really slack so only writing the review now! We had the most amazing time, we altered our itinerary to include mount Sabinyo in Uganda and would definitely recommend this to anyone, it was a tough day’s hiking and half of it was in the lashing rain but it is well worth it. We saw 12 gorillas in the Virunga national park and I have to say that was honestly the best day of my life!! The only downfall I would say was on the last full day of the tour we drove to Jinja for a cruise on the Nile, as lovely as the Nile is it didn’t warrant driving 2 1/2 hours to get there for a 45 minute cruise and then 4 hours back again. Obviously the traffic is out of the guides control and the guides were so lovely the whole time but it might be an idea to change the standard 11 day tour to involve a night in Jinja instead. The vehicle they used was brilliant and our guide even managed to find us a leopard and some tree climbing lions in the queen Elizabeth national park. We did so much in the 13 days we were with them and can’t thank them enough! Honestly it was such good value too, would recommend these guys to anyone and everyone!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Barak and his team are just amazing. Logistics of a journey like this were complex but very well managed. Really professional staff to deal with every aspect. In our case, car broke down coming from Virunga to Goma (those things happen) but they solved it in a heartbeat so we really tested what they are made of, and those guys are for real. The journey was completely wonderful. We visited gorillas in Virunga. The park rangers have everything controlled and make a great job taking care of those magnificent creatures. The following day we took a boat trip to Bukavu (from Goma). The following day we went to visit the gorillas in the Kahuzi-Biega National Park and after that, we came back to Kigali (Rwanda) in a very nice trip. Totally recommendable.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
What an amazing experience, i met barak in rhe rwanda congo border, from that moment barak was very helpful. he took care of everything i add needed and even more until i got back to rawnda. he had alot of knowledge and was very nice to chear with. the tracks are beautiful and there is a lot to see. from active volcno(wow) to goriilaz in the wild. Anyone who thought of visiting Congo should talk to this company . :)
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
The Safari Tour was a unique lifetime experience, but only fit persons should do it. Communication with Barack was excellent. The budget hotel exceeded our expectation, the meal there was excellent. Our Guide was Excellent. Thanks Guys
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Congo Discovery does deliver what they promise. Their personal attention towards customers is very good. They respond quick on your questions and during the safari everything was arranged according to the schedule. Also good in price! Ask for Ken at CDS, she did a great job.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
In July we planned our Safari with Congo Discovery. We wanted to change some of our reservation dates only a few days before the trip started and Barack was very spontanious. The tour was exactly like we wanted it to be, we experienced a lot and had great accomodations and good food everyday. The guide was also very nice. I would definetly do this trip again!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
For me travelling to the DRC and seeing the gorillas and Mt. Nyiragongo has always been a dream. Last month this dream finally came true... Both experiences are absolutely incredible and very humbling. I would recommend this trip to everyone! I was extremely happy with Barack and the team. As you can imagine there were many questions and changes before hand (some even last minute) which he handled perfectly. The organisation was perfect and on top he is also a really great guy! My driver was Fidel who I can absolutely recommend. He was with me for the entire trip and a lot of fun!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Congo Discovery Safaris is rated 4.95 based on 43 reviews