Composite Deck Cleaner Reviews

4.71 Rating 307 Reviews
93% of reviewers recommend Composite Deck Cleaner

About Composite Deck Cleaner: DISCATISFIED CORTE*CLEAN® CUSTOMERS (anything less than a 5 Star Review)!

PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING A NEGATIVE REVIEW!!!

Please immediately contact Corte LLC if you are not satisfied with our proven product, which has existed for over a decade, with so many positive reviews & re-peat customers. We are a small, 1 product, family run, American made business. We will do our best to help you, as we are EXPERTS in composites and keeping them clean.

We wish to help! (415) 924-9500 X 1
Please leave a message if we fail to answer the phone.
We will call you back ASAP!

We want to make sure you not only get your composites THOROUGHLY CLEAN, we want to make sure you understand how to generally SPEND LESS TIME & MONEY, in the future, keeping the composites clean.

Corte*Clean® is the most recommended solution for deep cleaning Composite Deck, Dock & Fence of all common stains, NOT JUST MOLD. Say goodbye to mold and mildew stains, black spots, grease, oil, rust and more.

Visit Website

Phone:
(415) 924-9502

Email:
info@compositedeckcleaner.com

Location:
911 Francisco Boulevard East Unit B

Are you a business owner Click here to learn about Reviews.io business solutions.

How would you rate Composite Deck Cleaner?

Your Rating
Anonymous
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

The product worked as advertised on my TimberTech deck and stairs. I just followed the directions on the packaging as well as the website and it worked! My deck and stairs look like new. I wish knew of this product before wasting time with other products that did not even come close to cleaning my deck with three times the effort.
Posted 1 week ago
If only every customer that used Corte Clean "just followed the directions"...
Posted 1 week ago
Visit Website
R. D
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

I have a 5 year old Trex deck here in Florida. I used to buy Corte Clean at Lowe’s but now buy it direct, from its website. I have noticed that the fresher Corte Clean is, the better and faster it removes stains. The Best If Used By Date is incredibly important, and I get the freshest product when I order it from its website, unlike when I purchased it at the retailer. This saves me time. I have noticed that with proactive use, my deck stays clean for longer periods of time, so I proactively use this product four times per year. I don’t mind paying for products that work, and this one does, as I have tried other products. I just ordered more, as we received incredible amounts of rain with hurricane Irma and it is again time to clean my deck.
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your 5 Star Review and pointing out how critically important the Corte Clean “Best If Used By:” date is, when purchasing at retailers, using the product proactively, as it was designed and intended, when the composites have received rain, which results in fungus stains if spores exist. Proactively applying Corte Clean, preferably before it rains, to remove loose spores, before they root and cause stains is always best. Corte Clean is no longer available through Lowe’s, but is available through many other retailers or directly from its website.
Posted 1 month ago
Ron S
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Just wanted to let you know that your product worked to my susprising satisfaction especially if you follow specific directions and read the part of sunlight weathering. The part about the sprayer clogging was so true as now I warm the water some to dissolve all the granules before spraying. I had to scrub multiple times in some bad spots that bricks have sat for over two years on the composite but it finally removed the stains. This seems to be the only chemical that works as advertised even though I have tried many others that only gave partial results. Best to your team on formulating a great product. - Ron S.
Posted 1 month ago
Thanks for the review/testimonial of Corte Clean! Weathering is definitely the 2nd biggest complaint in the Composite decking industry, right after cleaning issues. Generally, the optional filtration device, offered by some pump sprayer manufacturers, which is designed for powdered cleaning products, like Corte Clean is definitely the way to prevent clogging. Warm and/or distilled water works great too for dissolving Corte Clean, specifically when used above 4 Scoops. Unfortunately, as we state on the website, it generally takes more time and costs more money to clean neglected or not properly or proactively Corte Cleaned composites, as other products generally can exacerbate cleaning issues, as you likely experienced with the bricks saturating into your deck for two years. Had Corte Clean been proactively used, prior to the bricks being placed on the composites, it likely would have been much easier to Corte Clean, costing less time and money.
Posted 1 month ago
English
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

We love your product
Posted 1 month ago
Anonymous
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

put the whole deck and the last shippment the color wasnt similar to the other composite which i will call and email pictures to get this issue handled , i dont understand how another shipment wont be 100 per cent similar color now i do have parts of the deck that doesnt match
Posted 1 month ago
Any potential customer PLEASE READ! Obviously, we want every Corte Clean customer to be 100% satisfied with our decade plus proven product, which has hundreds of 5 Star Reviews. We’re not really sure what this customer is trying to state, from the way this review is written, but we do believe it is related to weathering. Weathering is the 2nd biggest complaint in the entire composite decking industry, right after cleaning issues, for those that do not read product literature, both composite manufacturer and Corte Clean. Weathering or Fading of composites is generally disclosed in most composite manufacturer literature and is disclosed on the Corte Clean label directions and website. The Corte Clean Label Directions specifically states “WARNING! Increased strength may speed up weathering of some composites, especially those that are new. Always test first on inconspicuous area or sample of composite to ensure desired results. Do not use if not satisfied with results.” Under the Corte Clean “Guarantee & Limited Warranty” on the Corte Clean label directions it states “Weathering or fading of composites is specifically not a warranty claim.” Corte Clean can speed up the inevitable weathering or fading of composites, especially on new composites where the sun has been exposed, but generally won’t weather the composites beyond what occurs naturally, over time, by exposure to sunlight and other elements. Composite owners then generally have a choice when stains are noticed, Corte Clean the composites and generally speed up the inevitable weathering process of most composites or live with the stains, which generally exacerbates cleaning issues, by allowing funguses to root deeper and other stains to saturate. Fortunately, any color variations generally weather away naturally by exposure to the sun once thoroughly Corte Cleaned. This generally takes weeks to months depending on the composition of the composite and exposure to the sun light. If you are considering ordering Corte Clean to clean a composite deck, PLEASE read the website before ordering, as weathering is covered extensively on www.corteclean.com.
Posted 1 month ago
Anonymous
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Didn't have to use my pressure washer for the good part of a day. A pressure washer just pushes stains deeper. Will purchase this product again. What would really make me happy is to reward loyal customers with a buy 9 get 1 free offer.
Posted 1 month ago
Thanks for the 5 Star Review! The use of pressure washers should only be used in in accordance with composite deck manufacturer recommendations, as some composite manufacturers generally don’t recommend them. Composites can generally be easily scared or damaged with pressure washers while exacerbating cleaning issues by driving stains deeper into the pours of most composites. Pressure washers should never be used with Corte Clean! All that is needed is generally a hose, deck brush and water to properly prep composites prior to using Corte Clean or to thoroughly rinse. The only time pressure washers should ever need to be used is to prep neglected composites to remove loose dirt, debris, leaves, pine needles, etc., generally a week or two before using Corte Clean. It is extremely important for the composites to “thoroughly dry”, as stated on the Corte Clean label directions, especially if common black mold stains or other fungus stains exist, prior to using Corte Clean.
Posted 1 month ago
Anonymous
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

This Deck Cleaner is one of the very few cleaning products that delivers on all of its promises.
For us, because we let the deck go for 2 years, there was some scrubbing to do, but unlike other cleaners, the deck was really clean and bright when we finished the work.

We will be using it regularly.
Posted 1 month ago
Stanley
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

I have had a Trex deck for 17 years. It was installed in 2000. It didn't get dirty for the first few years here in ON, Canada. Then it got mold and other stains. I tried many products, at the recommendation of the Trex Company. They contained sodium hypochlorite and oxalic acid. They temporarily only bleached out the mold. When the deck received moisture it came right back, costing me more time and money to again clean. Season after season it got worse, until it took over the deck. I then discovered Corte Clean at a retailer. I haven’t found anything that works as well, for as long, and proactively using it is the key. I just phone ordered 3 more bags. Proactively applying Corte Clean costs less money and time to keep my Trex deck clean.
Posted 1 month ago
Guest
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

I am 3/4 of a century old but got out on my veranda to give it a scrub with Composite Deck Cleaner, using the extensive directions provided. Honestly, I did not indulge in a heavy scrub, on my knees of course. Rinsed with the hose, let it dry and voila, magic, all the grease spots and others that would not be removed in the past are gone! I am more than pleased. My neighbours are begging for a bit to try. You may have more customers. Definitely 5 star plus satisfaction.
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for the review. One shouldn't have to ever "heavy scrub, on my knees" ever when using Corte Clean, provided it is being used as per its label directions. Now, the trick is to keep your Veranda composite decking clean, which should generally cost you much less time, labor, and most importantly MONEY, when properly proactively used as our product was designed and intended. Generally, using Corte Clean, at the reduced strength, "at least twice yearly, spring & fall, or when stains appear" is proven to do this, especially in Washington, which gets so much routine moisture. Please let us know if you wish to thoroughly discuss. (415) 924-9500 X 1 P.S. You and your neighbors should order Corte Clean together, if you wish to generally save even more money.
Posted 2 months ago
TC
Overall Rating
Verified Reviewer

In 2009 we built our deck using timber tech twin face composite. we were aware that all composites had mold issues. We had ideal conditions with full sun ,no trees, didn’t cook on it , and had proper pitch for water runoff. Cleaned it every spring and fall with ordinary household products and for about 4 years had no real issues, then the black dots started. Tried to power wash it along with several deck cleaners but none would do the job. Around year 7 it was getting really bad especially when it rained. Came across corte clean and gave them a call. Tech support was great and had all my questions answered.Ordered one bag just to test it out.

I had a few problems but was able to correct them. The first was your supposed to keep the corte clean from drying for a min. of 20 minutes,but I had a hard time because i sprayed it on in the middle of the day in full sun. Corrected that by applying it the next time in the late afternoon. The next was the sprayer i bought sprayed in a fine mist and it took too long to wet the deck. Corrected that by drilling the nozzle hole larger. Other than that the product worked great. we were afraid it would bleach the deck but it didn’t.There was a little color change where the black was but we’re sure it will even out from the sun. To us it doesn’t even matter because the deck looks way better without the black mold. Our timber tech deck is now 8 years old and looks great again.

We are totally satisfied with the product. It did what it was supposed to and we would recommend it to a friend.
Posted 2 months ago
Maiorana
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

We purchased a house in North Carolina, which was built in 2002. It had a moldy, nasty Trex deck, especially in the shade. It likely had never been cleaned. Corte Clean did a great job cleaning it. I still have 1/2 a bag left.
Posted 2 months ago
Jeff
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

This is the only product that I have found to be effective in cleaning my TREX deck.
Posted 2 months ago
Anonymous
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

We have first generation Trex installed 12 years or more ago. We have used many products...some with bleach. Those cleaned well but mold/mildew returned. We were willing to give Corte*Clean a try. We talked directly with Corte*Clean before using the product for additional information or tips. We feel like we followed directions to a T. We cleaned our large deck well before using Corte*Clean and we cleaned our deck at least twice with the product. The results were not perfect...but we didn't expect that. Our deck looks very good...better than we expected. We will definitely re-order with the goal of cleaning at least twice or more each year. We are VERY happy!
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for the review/testimonial and 5 stars. The “many products” you have previously “used”, especially those that contain sodium hypochlorite, commonly known as “bleach” generally exacerbate common black mold issues with Trex decking, as mildew is incredibly rare. Other products may appear to clean “well”, especially the first several times used, as we state on the Corte Clean website. Unfortunately, sodium hypochlorite based products cause irreversible corrosion to structural metal decking hardware which can be a safety issue which should be expensively inspected by a professional and visible corrosion stains around screws and nails which can be difficult to remove when allowed to saturate deep into Trex. Some even think these are mold stains. If you can still see the mold stains, specifically when the Trex is wet, with water, as water magnifies common mold stains on Trex decking, it generally rapidly returns when it receives moisture, as you likely experienced. Additionally, failure to thoroughly clean the dirty recycled plastic and wood fiber of tannins, from which your Trex deck is made, is the food from which funguses such as mold feed when it receives moisture. Generally, sodium hypochlorite based and other products don’t properly clean these items or the underlying issue with first generation composite decking. Failure to properly proactively Corte Clean Trex decking “at least twice yearly, Spring & Fall, or when stains appear”, as stated on the Corte Clean label directions, from the time Trex is installed, especially if other products have been previously used, generally results in it costing more time and money to initially thoroughly Corte Clean Trex decking. This is why the Corte Clean product label directions state “If stains are still visable, repeat application process. Composites that have tough stains, been neglected or previously cleaned with other products and/or sealed may require several applications & additional Corte Clean.” We would be HIGHLY surprised if only Corte Cleaning your Trex “deck at least twice” would get it thoroughly Corte Cleaned, especially since other products had been previously used, specifically those that contain sodium hypochlorite! You definitely need to do additional “repeat” Corte Clean applications at “maximum strength” to a “thoroughly dry” Trex deck in “direct sunlight” between “65 to 85 F.” if the “results were not perfect” or the Corte Clean is still turning “dirty or discolored”. By your own statements, it appears you didn’t “followed directions to a T”, and stains likely remain. If mold stains immediately return, when your Trex deck receives moisture, you will know that you didn’t thoroughly Corte Clean your Trex deck. Hopefully you didn’t skip the final Corte Clean label direction which states “When Corte Clean no longer becomes dirty or discolored, it can be diluted & allowed to dry on weathered composite surfaces. Corte Clean is designed to continue to clean any time it receives moisture. A white residue may remain until thoroughly rinsed (use a brush if necessary).” The best way to “Thoroughly rinse composite prior to using” is to apply before it rains, especially your Trex deck. Moving forward, should you generally wish to spend less time and money keeping your Trex deck clean, we HIGHLY recommend proactively applying Corte Clean “at least twice yearly, Spring & Fall, or when stains appear”. Trex decks like yours, we would suggest proactively applying Corte Clean more often. Example: Fall, Winter, Spring & Summer for the first season or two. Generally, you will start noticing your Trex deck staying clean for longer and longer periods of time. You currently likely have “weathering issues”, as discussed on the Corte Clean website, where the mold and other stains or items have been allowed to block the sun from evenly bleaching, fading or what the Trex Company has referred to as “Naturally Weathering”. Because Corte Clean isn’t designed to generally bleach, fade or weather Trex decking beyond what occurs naturally, like sodium hypochlorite based products, only the sun will “naturally weather” out any color variations caused by neglect to routinely Corte Clean your Trex deck. You should “expect” Corte Clean to make your Trex deck “perfect” and generally spend much less time and money keeping it clean in the future. If you have any questions, please call us to discuss. (415) 924-9500 X 1
Posted 2 months ago
Jeff I
Overall Rating
Verified Reviewer

Corte Clean removed the black spots from my Trex decking. It took a couple of treatments, but follow the instructions and they WILL DISAPPEAR. The other cleaner I tried (sodium hypochlorite) didn't touch the stain. Corte Clean TWICE per year prevents the stains, which is much easier that removing the stain once they are established.
Posted 2 months ago
Larry K
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

We have the original TREX composite decking. Corte Clean is the only product that removes the mold and atmospheric stains. This product I've used for about seven years and I use it twice a year....once in the spring and once in the fall. This keeps the deck looking good and worthy of use.
Posted 3 months ago
The key to this review is “keeps the deck looking good”! Generally, when Corte Clean is proactively used, “spring and once in the fall”, as it was designed and intended, to keep “original TREX composite decking clean”, as the Trex Company has recommended, it costs up to ½ the money and takes generally 2/3rds less time. Thanks for the 5 Stars!
Posted 3 months ago
Richard S
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Been using corte clean on trex deck for 5 years...LOVE IT!
Easy to use
A believer in the company, always helpful with questions and ordering.
THANKS
Posted 3 months ago
Crim T
Overall Rating
Verified Reviewer

For years I tolerated my dirty Trex original deck. Nothing (detergents, oxiclean, Clorox, etc.) would get it clean. If someone dropped a potato chip on the trex, I'd freak out inside because I knew the grease stain would be there for years! I discovered Corte Clean at a local hardware store. It took away all stains, even a huge rust stain in a visible area that I had completely given up on. Yes, it weathered the deck's surface a bit, but the payback of a clean deck made it well worth it. Last year, I went back to the local hardware store and they had replaced Corte Clean with a similar product. It didn't work as well even though the application and granules was just like CC. Recently, I found CC on the internet and bought a pouch. Yesterday, I cleaned a majority of my deck with CC, but ran out. So, I finished with the left over of the similar product. You can actually see the line in my deck between CC side and the other product's side. CC was incredibly better. CC is good stuff, double your order so you don't run out.
Posted 3 months ago
Anonymous
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

This is my second year using Corte Clean on my 450 sq ft. Trex Deck. I purchased my house 3 years ago which was built in 2004 with Trex deck that was part of the recalled flooring. Previous owner did not have it fixed under warranty. Every year the black mold spores come out in early spring and continue to grow as weather warms up. Corte Clean works fabulous you just need to give it time to work. I do 10' X 10' sections at a time and spray and scrub with a brush. Spray with hose to wash off. Previous owner did not maintain the deck and now after 2 years of Corte Clean deck looks amazing. Hard to believe it continues to work after it dries, but it does. Recommend this product - it's amazing and eco friendly.
Posted 3 months ago
Guest
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Today I cleaned a 10 year old TREX deck for the first time using CorteClean. My deck generally dries easily because most of it is in the sunshine but this summer we had unusually heavy rains and lots of cloudy days. So, for the first time, significant black mold appeared on much of the deck surface. I was afraid that it was ruined. After careful research, I decided to try CorteClean.
I followed the directions and let the CorteClean do the work. I sprayed it on using a sprayer and warm water. Then I let it sit on the surface for about 10 minutes. I could see the white soap foam begin to change colors to brown as the dirt began to break down. If it looked like a deck board was drying in the sunshine, I sprayed it again. Then, I brushed lightly using a standard push broom. Throughout the cleaning I made sure to keep the surface wet.
I wish I had taken before and after pictures because the results are so amazing. I'm a 60+ year old woman and - for me - this project was super easy and effective!
I'd like to make one point. The instruction to start wetting the deck when the boards were in full sunshine was very important. I say that because one part of my deck never got into the sunshine and those boards didn't respond to the CorteClean like the other Trex boards. There's nothing I could do about that so I plan to do a second application there next weekend. The black mold is already gone but those boards still have some additional dirt remaining.
The only hard part for me was getting all of the dirty water with soap residue off of the deck surface with the water hose. My 10-year old deck had some boards that were no longer completely level. On some individual boards there were slight dips where the connecting device pulled the TREX board down to anchor it to the support. So the rest of the board shed the dirty water while the dips allowed some of the dirty water to dry on the board. I will resolve this next weekend duirng the light cleaning by toweling dry those four to five boards with a dip. Even without that, my deck already looks incredible!
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for the well thought out 5 STAR Review, especially when cleaning a “10 year old TREX deck for the first”! Not only is Corte Clean cleaning the “significant black mold” that has been rooting into your “Trex”, it is cleaning the underlying issue with the way the Trex was made. You may be aware that Trex was made with recycled plastic and wood fiber. Unfortunately, the Trex Company didn’t generally properly thoroughly clean the recycled plastic, which it is our understanding commonly came from discarded food plastics, such as milk jugs, cheese wrappers, etc. of food particles and other plastics such as shrink wrap of other dirt and debris known to grow mold. Nor did they clean the wood fibers of tannins, also known to grow and feed mold. Not only is Corte Clean cleaning all common stains from your Trex deck, it is cleaning this underlying problem. This is likely the “brown as the dirt began to break down” from the wood fibers, plastic, mold stains and other stains being removed in addition to the Corte Clean cleaning your “standard push broom”. One note is that you should “Allow composites to thoroughly dry before applying Corte Clean” as its label directions state. This is true when re-applying Corte Clean too!!! This generally saves time and money. We too wish you had taken “taken before and after pictures”, however please consider emailing “after pictures” to us and to the Trex Company, and let them know that your “results are so amazing” and “this project was super easy and effective”, especially for a “60+ year old woman” with Corte Clean. You are correct in stating “sunshine” is “very important”, especially when Corte Clean has not been proactively used, “at least twice yearly, spring & fall, or when stains appear, as the product label states and was designed and intended. The areas that aren’t in direct sunshine, generally moisture sits and waters funguses such as mold, for longer times, allowing it to root deeper. Generally, it takes additional “repeat” Corte Clean applications, until the “Corte Clean no longer turns dirty or discolored”. Unfortunately, most then skip the final label direction that states “it can be diluted and allowed to dry on weathered composite surfaces. Corte Clean is designed to continue to clean any time it receives moisture. A white residue may remain until thoroughly rinsed”. The best way to “thoroughly rinse composites prior to using” is to apply before the composites receive natural moisture from rain or snow. Deeply rooted, and/or other stubborn fungus stains, grease & oil, rust & tannin, etc. generally are removed when this is done, especially on neglected and/or not previously Corte Cleaned composite decks such as Trex. If the stains still appear, or the composites don’t get direct sunlight, it is important to “repeat” the Corte Clean application process until the composite are thoroughly clean and stains aren’t noticed, before the deck receives moisture. Proactively applying Corte Clean is the key. Please call if you wish to thoroughly discuss, as we wish to make sure all stains, especially those not in direct sunlight come out, and that in the future you generally have to spend much less time and money keeping your Trex deck thoroughly Corte Cleaned. (415) 924-9500 X 1
Posted 3 months ago
Anonymous
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

It did nothing for the grease stain we had from grandchildren dropping brisket grease on
The deck
Posted 3 months ago
Susan,

Thank you for posting a review of Corte Clean. Unfortunately, you don’t appear to be satisfied with the use of Corte Clean to remove grease stains from your composite deck. We wish to help you remove these stains and make sure that you understand how to keep your composite deck clean. Obviously, something wasn’t done properly when using our proven product? Please immediately call us, so we can help you. With so many positive reviews, specifically as it relates to grease stains, we want to make sure get your composite deck thoroughly Corte Cleaned and you understand how to keep it clean, generally at a much lower cost, with less time and effort. (415) 924-9500 X 1
Posted 3 months ago
We haven't heard from you? It is always best to Corte Clean composite decks of grease stains when the temperature is warmer, the grease has been allowed to solidify, the plastic composite has been allowed to expand and its pours open up, in direct sunlight, especially if Corte Clean hasn’t been proactively used as it was designed and intended "at least twice yearly, Spring & Fall, or when stains occur". The Corte Clean has to work from the top of the composite pour down, rather than from the bottom up. Corte Clean generally requires multiple applications to a thoroughly dry composite surface to remove grease stains when Corte Clean hasn’t been properly proactively used. Hopefully you didn’t skip the final Corte Clean label direction which states “When Corte Clean no longer becomes dirty or discolored, it can be diluted & allowed to dry on weathered composite surfaces. Corte Clean is designed to continue to clean any time it receives moisture. A white residue may remain until thoroughly rinsed (use a brush if necessary).” The best way to “Thoroughly rinse before using.” Is to allow natural moisture from rain to rinse. Generally, when this final step is done, and a composite deck has received moisture, stubborn grease stains or other difficult to remove stains disappear. Hopefully you followed this final label direction and the grease stains are now gone? This is generally the case. If they still exist, please consider trying this final label direction or proactively using Corte Clean and the stains will likely disappear. We can't help those that don't contact us, so please do if you have any further questions. (415) 924-9500 X 1
Posted 2 months ago
Composite Deck Cleaner is rated 4.71 based on 307 reviews