Composite Deck Cleaner Reviews

279 Reviews
Ad You May Also Consider ? Adverts from our client network

DISCATISFIED CORTE*CLEAN® CUSTOMERS (anything less than a 5 Star Review)!

PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING A NEGATIVE REVIEW!!!

Please immediately contact Corte LLC if you are not satisfied with our proven product, which has existed for over a decade, with so many positive reviews & re-peat customers. We are a small, 1 product, family run, American made business. We will do our best to help you, as we are EXPERTS in composites and keeping them clean.

We wish to help! (415) 924-9500 X 1
Please leave a message if we fail to answer the phone.
We will call you back ASAP!

We want to make sure you not only get your composites THOROUGHLY CLEAN, we want to make sure you understand how to generally SPEND LESS TIME & MONEY, in the future, keeping the composites clean.

Corte*Clean® is the most recommended solution for deep cleaning Composite Deck, Dock & Fence of all common stains, NOT JUST MOLD. Say goodbye to mold and mildew stains, black spots, grease, oil, rust and more.

Visit Website

Phone:
(415) 924-9502

Email:
info@compositedeckcleaner.com

Location:
911 Francisco Boulevard East Unit B

Are you a business owner? Click here to learn about Reviews.io business solutions.

How would you rate Composite Deck Cleaner?

Your Rating
R. F
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Wow! I have had my deck 5 years now and cleaned it by the manufactures instructions twice a year. It only got worse and worse. Then I found Corte-Clean. It works great. Thanks for my new deck.
Posted 1 week ago
It is our understanding that some composite deck manufacturers get a “kick back” or royalty for recommending cleaning products, as some have tried to extort money out of Corte, while some retailers force composite manufacturers to recommend what they sell and could care less weather they work or not, as the onetime high margin sale is more important. Corte refuses to pay for composite deck manufacturer recommendations or endorsements. This explains why some composite deck manufacturers have recommend Corte Clean and no longer do. Unfortunately, many of the products that pay for cleaning recommendations can and generally do exacerbate cleaning issues, especially with common black mold, green lichen or moss and the stains that result! Failure to properly thoroughly clean the underlying problem with most composite decking, generally results in it getting “worse and worse”, especially with common fungus stains. Composites made from recycled plastic, commonly from discarded milk jugs, cheese wrappers and other types of food packaging or other plastics, that were already going to grow funguses, when they receive moisture, because they weren’t generally properly thoroughly cleaned of food particles, result in mold. The dirty plastic is then mixed with wood fiber, or dead organic material, which wasn’t generally properly cleaned, to remove the tannins, or food from which funguses feed, provide a perfect environment for resulting fungus growth and resulting stains when it receives moisture. Common deck washes that contain sodium hypochlorite, the active biocide in chlorine bleach or oxalic acid, commonly known as deck brighteners or other “forget” or “no rinse cleaners” don’t generally clean the underlying dirty plastic & wood fiber tannin issues with most original composite decks, docks & fences. They only act as a temporary solution the first several times used, because these products generally exacerbate the problem, as you unfortunately experienced. There is a reason why REPUTABLE mold remediation professionals specifically don’t recommend chlorine bleach, based on science, for the purpose of cleaning mold. Additionally, there is a reason structural metal decking hardware manufacturers of the screws, nails and joist hangers, most commonly made from galvanized or stainless steel, structurally holding most decks together have disclosed the “general corrosion risks” of “cleaning chemicals”, as sodium hypochlorite and other cleaning chemicals are highly corrosive to structural metal decking hardware! IF you have previously used these corrosive to structural metal cleaning chemicals, it is HIGHLY recommended that you hire a professional deck inspector to make sure your deck is safe for your family and friends. Thanks for the five star review or testimonial. Please consider proactively using Corte Clean, “at least twice yearly, Spring & Fall, or when stains occur”, as the product is designed and intended, should you generally wish to spend less time and money keeping your composites clean.
Posted 6 days ago
Visit Website
Bruce B
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

It's relatively simple, and it works!
Posted 3 weeks ago
Bonnie B
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Just want to let you know that I've just ordered 3 more bags of Corte-Clean. Tried the first bag and it worked like a charm. Might be the easiest clean-up job I've ever done with awesome results.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thanks for following up with the email which stated "First time in 18 years it's ever been cleaned. A putty knife to scrape off the thick layer of gunk helps." Now that you are another happy Corte Clean customer, we need to get you spending less time & money purchasing & using our product. Proactively using Corte Clean, at the reduced strength, as its label states, is the key. Please call us if you wish to thoroughly discuss.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Steve D
Overall Rating
Verified Reviewer

I waited to try this product until this spring and based on all of the reviews it should have done a GOOD job on the mildew stains but it did not. It cleaned the surface dirt off the deck but nothing more. I had better luck with a product from Lowes called Olympic deck cleaner which i will go back to as the only reason i tried this was it was strickly for composite decks
Posted 3 weeks ago
You likely don’t have “mildew stains” growing into your composite deck, as they are incredibly rare! You likely have common BLACK MOLD stains that have rooted deeply into your composite deck, which were likely exacerbated by the previous of sodium hypochlorite based products, as you have previously stated you used, and spoken to in great detail on www.corteclean.com. If Corte Clean didn’t remove the black mold stains, YOU LIKELY DIDN’T READ AND FOLLOW the Corte Clean label directions. Did you “Allow composites to thoroughly dry before applying Corte Clean”? Obviously, you didn’t thoroughly Corte Clean your composite deck by following the Corte Clean label direction which states “If stains are still visible, repeat application process”! Additionally, you didn’t have the common decency to contact us if the desired results weren’t reached, allowing us to help, but rather chose to post a negative review??? If you did thoroughly Corte Clean your deck, you likely have weathering issues, caused by the mold stains blocking the sun from evenly bleaching fading or naturally weathering your composites as covered by http://www.corteclean.com/composite-facts/mold-mildew-stains/ Please call us so we can HELP! Not only do we want to make sure you got your composite deck thoroughly Corte Cleaned, we want to make sure you understand how to generally spend less time and money keeping your composites clean. Corte Clean has been proven to do this for over a decade. (415)924-9500 X 1 P.S. Know that the sodium hypochlorite in the other product you used is highly corrosive to structural metal decking hardware (screws, nails & joist hangers made from galvanized or stainless steel) and is not scientifically proven for cleaning mold! Here is a link to the Oregon State Scientific study “Technical Report on bleach and other biocide treatments on mold growth”. READ IT! http://www.corteclean.com/support/document-center/
Posted 3 weeks ago
Guest
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

This is the best product out there to clean composite decks. It is hard work, but totally worth the effort. I paid a lot of money to have the deck built and I want to take care of it and ensure I have years to enjoy this beautiful deck. I have used it exactly as directed and no short cuts. It will keep your deck looking amazing! I just don't understand why it's not available in my local Lowe's anymore, so now I order it online. I've tried other stuff and it doesn't work as well or even at all.
Posted 4 weeks ago
Corte Clean shouldn’t be “hard work” if you are proactively using the product as it is designed and intended. All you should be doing is spraying it on, at “up to 2.5 scoops” to “1 gallon of water” strength, before your deck receives natural moisture, generally once in the Spring and once in the Fall, or when stains occur, such as after a BBQ, etc. This is why the Corte Clean label directions state “When Corte Clean no longer turns dirty or discolored, it can be diluted & allowed to dry on weathered composite surfaces. Corte Clean is designed to continue to clean any time it receives moisture.” Letting natural moisture “thoroughly rinse” eliminates the one step of the “hard work”. Please review the Corte Clean website and call if you wish to thoroughly discuss, as this generally saves much time & money too. (415) 924-9500 X 1.
Unfortunately, Lowe’s couldn’t properly inventory Corte Clean. Stores were always out of stock or product was left on the shelf beyond its “Best If Used By:” Date. This resulted in product failure for those customers that couldn’t read and follow this CRITICAL label direction, as Corte LLC does not provide a “Guarantee & Limited Warranty” for product beyond this date, as stated on the back & bottom of every Corte Clean 2000A bag. We now only sell to independent retailers and direct to customers like you online.
Thanks for your business & 5 Star Review! Barbara, please call next time you need Corte Clean, reference this review & we will give you a discount.
Posted 4 weeks ago
Guest
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

CLEANED MY DECK BUT THE COST OF THE PRODUCT WAS HIGH
Posted 4 weeks ago
Mr. Pugh,

Corte Clean is actually the LEAST EXPENSIVE proven Composite Deck Cleaning product on the market! This is especially true when you factor in the fact that it cleans ALL COMMON STAINS resulting from MOLD & MILDEW, GREASE & OIL, RUST & TANNINS, Etc. It doesn’t cause corrosion stains or corrode structural metal decking hardware like sodium hypochlorite (very expensive to clean corrosion stains or to replace and we all know what happens when it fails). What is your TIME worth? Now consider purchasing & laboriously using one product for each type of stain! You will likely be spending three times as much money on products and spending an entire weekend cleaning the average 300 square foot composite deck with these other cleaning chemicals. If you wish to SAVE TIME & MONEY, please consider proactively using Corte Clean “at least twice yearly, Spring & Fall, or when stains appear”, at the “up to 2.5 scoops” to “1 gallon of water” strength (the trick is how little can be used to keep composites clean). This costs UP TO ½ THE MONEY and generally takes 2/3rds LESS TIME or LABOR! This info was emailed to you along with your Tracking #. Read it, we just re-sent it to you! Nothing make us happier than saving our customers MONEY & TIME. The biggest problem Corte Clean has is customers that refuse to read & follow directions. Please DO NOT BUY Corte Clean if you are unwilling to read & follow directions or at least call us if you have any questions, as we don’t want any customers posting reviews like this because they refuse to read the provided info to SAVE TIME & MONEY. If you wish to thoroughly discuss, please call us (415) 924-9500 X 1.
Posted 4 weeks ago
Anonymous
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Great job. Bought the house a year and a half ago, not likely cleaned for several years. Still needs one more application, but I am going to wait until fall. Very impressed, and would recommend to anybody.
Posted 4 weeks ago
Anonymous
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

I bought the cleaner to remove white mildew. It wasn't effective. This is my mistake--I have a different problem.
Posted 4 weeks ago
You likely don’t have “white mildew”, as it is incredibly rare on composites. Corte*Clean easily cleans mildew stians! You likely have a “WEATHERING” issue as discussed on www.corteclean.com and likely disclosed by the manufacturer of your composite decking, generally in the fine print. WEATHERING is the 2nd BIGGESTt complaint in the composite decking industry, right behind cleaning issues. Corte Clean will not resolve "weathering" issues, as it isn't designed to do so. The 3rd biggest issue is composite deck owners that don't read manufacturer literature????? Please immediately contact us if you wish to discuss (415) 924-9500 X 1
Posted 4 weeks ago
Guest
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Excellent service and the product delivers as promise.
Posted 1 month ago
Guest
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

My wife found your product on-line, She said it cleans those ugly black spots we have on our deck,
I was skeptical and some of your reviews were not favorable and the price was high,

I must say I was amazed how well it worked if the directions were followed exactly, especially the sunlight requirement, there is one area of my deck that was in shade, black spots in that area were not removed.
I waited until later in the day when the area was sunlit and dry the second cleaning removed the spots.
The best recommendation I can give is my second purchase.

Thank You
Paul K
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for the 5-star review! Composites in shaded areas should be proactively Corte Cleaned more often than not or “least twice yearly, spring & fall, or when stains appear” as the Corte Clean label directions state. Those that follow this label directions should never have a mold problem. Composites in shaded areas don’t allow water to evaporate as fast, providing more water to the fungus, allowing it to root deeper, making it generally cost more time & money to thoroughly Corte Clean! It is extremely important to follow the Corte Clean label direction that states “•When Corte Clean no longer becomes dirty or discolored, it can be diluted & allowed to dry on weathered composite surfaces. Corte Clean is designed to continue to clean any time it receives moisture until thoroughly rinsed.” It is best to proactively apply Corte Clean before the composites receive natural moisture, so the moisture can “Thoroughly rinse.” Generally, difficult to remove stains come out after several days, if not immediately. If not, “repeat application process”. Please consider saving yourself time & money by proactively Corte Clean your Trex deck. Call us if you wish to thoroughly discuss. (415) 924-9500 X 1
Posted 1 month ago
Anonymous
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

It clean so good! There's nothing like it
Posted 1 month ago
Guest
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

A sick skunk died on our Trex decking and left stain from its internal fluids. The deck is fairly new so I used 1 1/2 scoops with no results. I then used 4 1/2 scoops. The stain faded slightly.
I didn't want to increase the number of scoops, so I gave up. I will send separate photo.

After talking to Greg, he explained that we needed to use several more applications of Corte Care. It worked great! Our deck looks terrific. Wonderful customer service. We're very pleased.
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for taking our call! As we mentioned, before you purchased Corte Clean, over the phone, cleaning dead skunk stains from decomposition from a Trex deck, is unchartered territory. We also stated that if Corte Clean wouldn’t remove the dead skunk stain, it was likely nothing would. Unfortunately, you failed to mention that you used chlorine bleach before using Corte Clean, which likely settled the stains, exacerbating the problems. We also told her that it would likely take multiple applications to remove the stains at Corte Clean maximum strength and that when Corte Clean no longer turned dirty or discolored it should be diluted and allowed to dry on the weathered Trex deck, which you stated you failed to do. Please consider upgrading your review once you have thoroughly Corte Cleaned your Trex deck and calling us if you have any further questions. (415) 924-9500 X 1
Posted 1 month ago
William R
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

purchased it for years works great
Posted 1 month ago
Thanks for the 5 Star Corte Clean Review!
Posted 1 month ago
Steve W
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

It is the best stuff to take out those pesky food/grease spots in your composite decking. I use it twice a year!
Posted 1 month ago
Thanks for the FIVE STAR REVIEW & pointing out that Corte Clean is not just for cleaning common mold stains, as most composite owners actually barbecue and eat on their composite decks or apply sunscreen. Unfortunately, most will choose to spend more time & money purchasing and using grease & oil products in addition to those for mold & mildew, rust & tannins and other common stains. Products containing these chemicals generally aren’t compatible, especially with products for cleaning mold. Poisonous off-gassing can occur, especially if a third product is used to stop the irreversible corrosion occurring to the structural metal decking hardware, caused by most mold & mildew products. Most rust & tannin products only brighten exposed wood fibers & generally don’t stop tannin bleeding, which feeds molds. They profit, you lose, while speeding the early expensive replacement of structural metal decking hardware.
Posted 1 month ago
Guest
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Follow instructions and you will be very pleased in the result. A great product that almost seems magical.
Posted 1 month ago
If only every customer could read and follow the Corte Clean label directions, we'd never have a negative review. We even made a demo video for the illiterate to watch. Unfortunately, there will always be those that choose to ignore common sense and NOT follow product label directions. What we will never understand is those that then take the time to post a negative review, which likely would have taken more time than reading the Corte Clean label directions in the first place? If you are a potential Corte Clean customer, please don’t purchase or use Corte Clean if you aren’t willing to read and follow its label directions. You likely won’t be satisfied with our proven product. Thanks for the 5 Star Review!
Posted 1 month ago
Bruce B
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

works better than other cleaners if you follow the instructions and does NOT harm the composite material short term or in the long run
Posted 1 month ago
Thanks for the 5 Star Review! In addition to the "composite material", most don't consider the STRUCTURAL METAL DECKING HARDWARE, such as Screws, Nails & Joist Hangers, when choosing/using/recommending/selling deck cleaning products. CORROSION caused by SODIUM HYPOCHLORITE, the active biocide in Chlorine Bleach, and Unscrupulous Deck Cleaners, is currently the #1 issue facing composite deck owners, retailers, distributors and especially composite deck manufacturers that have chosen to ignore structural metal decking hardware disclosures in installation & cleaning guides. There is a reason the two largest structural metal decking hardware manufacturers have disclosed the “general corrosion risks” of “cleaning chemicals”! Forget about the fact that chlorine bleach is scientifically proven to exacerbate mold issues and why no reputable mold remediation professional would ever recommend or use a product containing sodium hypochlorite, especially when it will likely come into contact with structural metal decking hardware! Forget about the fact that sodium hypochlorite generally bleaches/fades composites beyond what occurs naturally by exposure to the sun (the #2 biggest complaint in the composite decking industry). Forget about the fact that you will likely need to purchase and laboriously expensively use other products to clean grease & oil, rust & tannins, etc. Structural metal decking hardware failure traced back to the recommendation, sale and use of sodium hypochlorite based products for clean decking supported by metal is of grave concern, as these products generally fail when corroded under load of generally people! We all know what happens when these aren’t expensively replaced, when corrosion is noticed, then fail. Not good! This is why the use of sodium hypochlorite is commonly known as “The Chlorine Bleach Scam” for cleaning decking. They profit, you loose.
Posted 1 month ago
Anonymous
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

We bought our home at the shore 2 years ago. We have a composite deck--Trex I think--and we have severe green algae in the shaded areas. Each of the past 2 summers we bought different brands of cleaners, and both have been disappointments....lots of manual scrubbing and only marginal improvements when we were finished. What a difference this year with Corte Clean! With only one treatment at full strength and scrubbing with a brush, the algae washed right off, like magic! We could not be more impressed. We even have enough material remaining so we can use it again next spring because we expect to use this product for a long time.
Posted 1 month ago
Thanks for the 5 Star Review! Please consider using Corte Clean “at least twice (2X) yearly, Spring & Fall, or when stains occur” as our product is designed and intended to be used. Are you aware that the Trex company has recommended “at least twice (2X) yearly, Spring & Fall, or when stains occur”? Corte Clean was designed to be used in this fashion. Generally speaking, when Corte Clean is proactively used, it costs less time and money. Please call us if you wish to thoroughly discuss, as nothing makes us happier than saving our customers time & money keeping composites clean. (415) 924-9500 X 1
Posted 1 month ago
Anonymous
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

I always have a lot of dirt and green mildew on my deck each spring. I have been using this product for 8 years and it always does a very good job at removing these stains.
Posted 1 month ago
Thanks for the 5 Star Review! If you “always have a lot of dirt and green mildew on my deck each spring”, and are only Corte Cleaning once per year, in the “spring”, please consider proactively using Corte Clean “at least twice yearly, spring & fall, or when stains appear.” Generally speaking, you will spend up to ½ the money on Corte Clean and approximately 2/3rds less of your valuable time. Allowing the “green” fungus to root into your composite deck generally costs more time and money to properly thoroughly Corte Clean. Now that you are a loyal customer, saving you time & money is the goal. Please call us if you wish to thoroughly discuss. (415) 250-9933 1
Posted 1 month ago
John J
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

My Trex deck is now 14 years old. I use Corte Clean every spring to pressure wash it and it looks like New. This is a great product . . . Best material for this application.
Posted 1 month ago
Thanks for the 5 Star Review! While we don't recommend Corte Clean be used with a pressure washer, nor does Trex for your generation (see Trex literature), your deck looks great! Generally, when Corte Clean is proactively used "Spring & Fall, or when stains occu" you shouldn't need a pressure washer. Please call us if you wish to thoroughly discuss, as we wish to help you generally spend less time and money on Corte Clean to keep your BEAUTIFUL Trex thoroughly clean.
Posted 1 month ago
Jim S
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

I have been using this product for many years.I feel it should be called Magic Clean.You can actually see the dirt being sucked up from the trex as it sits.I have told numerous friends about this product and they absolutely love it.
Posted 1 month ago
Thanks for the 5 Star Review & telling “numerous friends about this product”! We are a small, one product, family run, highly specialized, American made business. We highly value yours!
Posted 1 month ago
Composite Deck Cleaner is rated 4.70 based on 279 reviews