Footman James Reviews

1.6 Rating 7 Reviews
14 %
of reviewers recommend Footman James
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Footman James made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I have just had a dreadful experience with this company, took my money then the following day told me I would need to submit an engineers report, when I said I would rather cancel as this was an unreasonable request I was told I would have to pay £25 cancellation fee (after THEY moved the goalpost) I would add that this was for a pretty standard MX5. On one of my quotes I accidentally listed a modification as an induction kit when it was only a non std filter (not being totally familiar with my new car). More or less calling me a liar.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Been insured with footman James for years on a classic policy received my renewal this year and had a third party hit me from behind a few months back claimed fully off the third party and it was a none fault accident they added this and my premium went up by another £180 not only is that a rip off but they underwriting seem to class me as a risk because someone hit me and it’s no fault of my own now that is madness. Will certainly be spreading the word on all this the forums and social media.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Utter rip off. A failed attempt to rip me off after 8 years by trying to charge me over 51% (£182.71) more for classic car insurance than that provided by another well known and renowned classic car insurance provider. I have been with Footman James for over 8 years for classic car insurance. Unfortunately, they decided to use that longevity in order to try and rip me off with the upmost contempt. I can only assume that those 8 years loyalty suggested to Footman James that I am either stupid or gullible or too lazy to shop around. Probably all three. I received a classic car renewal quote of these people showing a marked increase in my premium that I believed could not be justified. A premium quoted at £436.91. Upon questioning their price they stated that if I came back to them with a cheaper quote off another supplier they would look at their pricing. I came back to them with a quote at £100.91 cheaper for increased insurance provisions. I also informed them, as I had the other provider, that I had had a modern car wrote off by a lorry in December 2019 as a no fault and settled claim. A no fault settled claim as my car had been parked in a car park, empty with no one in it when a lorry decided to drive over it. That declaration was like a green light for them to really treat me like a fool. Upon this notice they decided to stick on a further £98.80, increasing the quote from £436.91 to £535.71. They even threw at me the added insult of claiming this further £98.80 increase included a 10% discount. On my challenge this was all justified by way of claiming the increase was computer driven and there was nothing they could do to reduce it. To that end I have dropped Footman James with the same contempt they have shown towards me. I have now insured with another renowned classic car insurer with better provisions at just £353. This includes full breakdown, home start, recovery, tax and arrangement fee, etc. To spell this out in no uncertain terms, Footman James wanted £182.71 more for providing less cover than that which I now have with another well known provider. In percentage terms that is approximately 51.25% more for less cover. This was nothing less than an outrageous attempt to rip off even though I had been with them for over 8 years. I hope as many people as possible read this review in its entirety.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Poor service all round. When they eventually answered the telephone the customer service person had never heard of an Alvis. They actually asked me to spell it! It doesn't inspire confidence that they are supposedly a 'specialist'
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Have been with them for years, no claims, my circumstances have not changed. This year they have decided they are unable to insure me. I now have serious doubts as to what they have insured me for in previous years. Have serious doubts, as to whether they would have paid in the event of a claim. To make things worse, the staff don’t listen
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Zoe was v efficient, polite and easy to deal with. Insured my 1981 Porsche 928 S.Good job.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Bunch of absolute muppets. Clueless is an understatement
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Footman James is rated 1.57 based on 7 reviews