American Express Reviews

2.9 Rating 14 Reviews
43 %
of reviewers recommend American Express

Write Your review

Tell us how American Express made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I’ve been with American Express with 30 years never late always paid info on time at least $50,000 a month sometimes $100,000 a month $1 million a year, payment is due on the 20th I paid on the 20th. They didn’t post it till the 21st so they charged me $1000 in interest. I called to complain about that they did not waive it. I called again they did not wave it. I called the supervisor they still would not waive it, so it looks like I’ll be ripping up my American Express card, nice way to treat your loyal customers huh do not get American Express.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Long story short, trying to transfer my points to another airline is taking me two weeks. WEBSITE LACKING CURRENT VALID INFORMATION The website is not updated to the required standards lacking current information (unable to transfer points online, you have to call in person) BENE TRYING THIS FOR 1 WEEK NOW LOL REPRESENTATIVES over the PHONE (unprofessional) Spoken to representatives who hung up on me (date in question 14/01/24) call made @11:40 am UK time LOL 2nd REPRESENTATIVES Unable to direct me to a higher manager for a complaint ( date in question 14/01/24) call made 11:52 spoke to Ronald or Donald unable to help me LOL SECURITY PROTOCOL OVER THE PHONE When trying to ring the security protocol, not responsive and not working, when entering the details correctly, the system not working having to repeat all of the information when speaking to a representative LOL FROM ME TO ALL NEW CUSTOMERS (DON'T USE) - points not worth the money you spend (unless you have a family of four and your outgoings are more than £3000 a month don't know waste your money on your points) - USING YOUR POINTS FOR AEROPLANE TICKETS If you're going to buy new tickets with your points, you need to spend above £3000 a month to make it worthwhile -THE INSURANCE that comes with using your points, or a credit card on this AMX, it's pointless (insure Chubb security firm, a very basic very minimum insurance you will get everything has to be in your name)
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Amex are great, until they slash your credit limit to virtually nothing for no justifiable reason. Mine was because I had four hard searches on my credit account in the last six months. These were two remortgages (I have 7 buy to lets), one mobile phone contract (Upgrade on existing account) and one utility provider. The fact that my Amex account was paid on time and in full every month apparently counts for nothing. Their loss.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Best company that give immediately support
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Amex travel booking experience Actually, I do not even want to give one star. I had the worst experience booking a flight using amex website. I called up before , asking for help, was told to go on the website to book my ticket, long story short, I made a mistake and got the wrong ticket. Called amex immediately, seeking assistance to rectify the mistake .. At this time my tickets was still pending and not gone through, they tell my to use the online helpdesk chatt, but no one was there to chatt with . Service is appalling Now I am left with having to pay a fine only because they had no staff to deal with it at the time of incident which was Friday night, had to wait till Monday before I could race my issue, had to wait 3 more days, for nothing, while they dealt with it. I am left with having to pay, for there incapable handling of the situation, while there was still enough time... I keep myself short, it was really very bad experience, I suffered a lot of stress and anxiety. Never ever I will buy any ticket for anything from American express ever. I also will not renew my membership. I use a credit card from Revolut now which offers many benefits, so fahr I had no issues with them, time will tell. In the old days, Amex was really fantastic, bud sadly time hase changed, so good by to amex Date of experience: September 22, 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Worst company ever, paid my bill before due date as a result Amex could not take the same amount on direct debit on due date. Tried using the card but transactions failed,Was advised to produce evidence of payment by screenshot of bank payment which is not permitted by banks. They sent me acknowledgment of received payment with authorisation code. Furthermore lowered my spending limit to Zero in spite of never missing a payment. Will take this further to The Financial Ombudsman Services snd advise others in my situation to do the same.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I was approved with American American Express to have an unlimited credit card on the website but the American Express sent me a $1656 credit card in American currency!!! I don’t understand why it was in American currency as I am in England and not in America but this is NOT WHAT THE WEBSITE STATED WHEN THE SYSTEM ACCEPTED ME FOR A CREDIT CARD! I also received a letter from American Express explaining all the Privileges that came with being an Amex card member and they sounded great! Only problem is that these privileges and rewards DO NOT EXIST!! There is no such amenities awards and access to services on my card account it was all a letter lying about my card from someone who knew they sent me the incorrect card and incorrect credit limit to intimidate me as to his/her psychotic about my life in some type of way in his/her mind. I was not intimidated however I can confirm that American Express are a scam! They state unlimited credit cards on website but once approved you get what you are given by these mental abusers and then they will spite you as their exploited customer disrespected with no say in the matter by writing a full letter to you introducing all the benefits everything you know you should have got from the card you were told by the website that accepted you…as a way to spite you and let you know that they wronged you and don’t care and they are in control! I wouldn’t be surprised if Amex creditors stalk their customers or have their more favoured customers stalk the dictated customers to randomly abuse or harm the financially dictated for the way that these creditors are actually very poor souls outside of their human body’s that can’t afford anything they do on earth and use Amex as a way to create different victims for themselves to live off of mentally. these people use businesses and the workplace to find their mental victims to obtain good mental health for themselves but I say perhaps this method is not so smart anymore and Amex creditors should consider quitting or the whole business should shut down for its fraud..it’s lies and it’s fake legitimacy! That was such a bad experience Put me off of credit…the uk creditors all do this!!! But Amex surprised me the most because I know that business has more money than others due to Amex and their involvement helping a famous fraudster cash out hundreds of thousands of pounds illegally for years and they did this knowing and agreeing to give him the money so that netflix can make a documentary and promote Amex further. I was surprised, maybe Amex spent all their money on all their criminal favourites and don’t have any left!? Regardless I was accepted for a unlimited credit card and was given a dirty childlike credit limit and I experienced being mocked of all the benefits that the creditor chose to change and dictate I DONT RECOMMEND AMERICAN EXPRESS…unless you want to be some kind of homicide victim case through some psychopath obsessed with Amex for the way they are all linked and psychotic and controlling whilst channeling mentally disturbing their customers! I know from experience!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Got my new AMEX card with updated features on app.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I am very impressed with hack team . I can view every single activity on the hack team Viewer App or in the browser. There is no way that anyone can do something on the phone that you won't get to see. The customer service is also fantastic and they not only assisted me in great time but made the whole experience smooth and easy. I will recommend them to anyone. :) WWW . HACKERSPYVILLE . COM
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Oh dear what can the matter be 😥 Amex allowed My card to be used fraudulently Then failed to deal with the fallout effectively And instead acted like they don’t care She promised to place a block my card immediately But instead I was met with an air of complacency Along with error , obstructiveness and untruths so copiously With efficient customer service being rare Oh dear what can the matter be Sadly Amex have only behaved irresponsibly In failing to take issues of fraud seriously So I’m taking my business elsewhere
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Excellent customer services
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
The robotic prompts when you call with a credit card question do not always connect you as they promised to. This can be extremely irritating
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
No hassle company genuine interest in giving great service
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
good coverage.
Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 9 years ago
American Express is rated 2.9 based on 14 reviews