Standout Books Reviews

5.00 Rating 104 Reviews
100 %
of reviewers recommend Standout Books
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Read Standout Books Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

(855) 642-1063

Email:

hello@standoutbooks.com

Write Your review

Tell us how Standout Books made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Rita was assigned to me and she was awesome to work with . As a first time author I wasn’t sure who to go with Standiout books did not disappoint. I highly recommend!
Thanks
Lisa Brennan
Posted 3 months ago
Our sincere thanks to standoutbooks team for their outstanding publishing services! Kudos to their editors, designers & the entire team, for their innovative & outstanding support for publishing my first children's book. - Anna Prakash-Ashton, Author "have you seen a self-driving car?
Posted 3 months ago
My second time using standout books, and I am a very satisfied customer. Very receptive and communicative...even when you make a mistake they have to fix quickly!
Posted 3 months ago
I was very pleased with the service I received from Standout Books. The cost was reasonable and the service was swiftly and professionally done. I will most assuredly use Standout Books again when my next novel is ready to be edited and formatted! Thanks so much! Caryl Say, author of the Merlin in Moab series.
Posted 4 months ago
Alex Hemus was proficient and professional and a pleasure to work with. I would definitely recommend his services and will likely use StandoutBooks for future projects.
Posted 4 months ago
Standout Books has been a pleasure to work with from the moment I sent my initial inquiry about formatting a book I wrote to the finished article. Perfect in every way. They are fast and professional and most importantly to a novice writer like me, patient. I was guided step by step to the completion of my book and I was made to feel like I was never a bother or no question or request was too hard. Even after completion I was still supported! I would never use another company to help me format my book. We are now working on Ebooks and I am looking forward once again to working with the best company ever - Standout Books did a stand out job. Five Star recommendations from me
Posted 6 months ago
I've used Standout Books extensively (mss critique, comprehensive editing, and book design) and cannot recommend them highly enough. Short of landing a publishing contract with the likes of Alfred A. Knopf, I doubt you could find a more talented publishing team anywhere. Alex and his team are consummate pros and I consider myself lucky to have them in my corner.
Posted 6 months ago
I had a decision to make. Which of the 3 self-publishing companies that I was considering would I choose? I chose Standout Books. It was the best choice I could have made! Alex and his team were responsive, timely beyond my expectations, and always available. Frankly, I felt like the one and only client even though I knew I wasn't. I would highly recommend them to anyone planning to self-publish. In fact, I have. Thanks, Alex and everyone who made my book ready for publication!
Posted 7 months ago
Alex was oustanding! I had been let down by my original publisher and felt completely overwhelmed on how to publish independently and resume control of my website. He guided me through the process with incredible integrity, patience and expertise. We successfully transferred by book and he made the process painless! I highly recommend standout books.
Posted 7 months ago
I hereby record my thanks to Alex Hemus of Standout Books for formatting my play, The Baptist War, in good time, with high quality and at an affordable price. I am a Jamaican teacher and writer, this is my seventh publication, and I have never had better service than I've had from Alex. I will return before the year is over.
Posted 8 months ago
From my very first phone call with Alex all the way to the on-time delivery of my book, the team at Standout Books was great to work with. They helped me with a comprehensive edit, copyediting, and publishing. The editing processes were very helpful, and the copyeditors provided me with many ideas that I hadn't thought about. Plus, they cleaned up a lot of my grammatical and punctuation mistakes. This led to a more professional and well-rounded book.

Throughout the entire project, I had a million questions, and I always received a quick response. In fact, I often wondered if the team ever slept.

When I write my next book, I'll be back to work with the crew at Standout Books again.
Posted 9 months ago
They worked on the formatting of my novel and did a fantastic job. They were responsive to my notes and suggestions throughout the process, and showed a real attention to detail. Working with them was a great experience, and I'm thoroughly delighted with the results.
Posted 9 months ago
Working with Standout Books has been an amazing process. The work they did on my manuscript is absolutely amazing! The comments were spot on, provoked thoughts I could not see in my writing and helped account for my shortfalls in grammar.

I am blessed to have worked with Rebecca on this project.
Posted 9 months ago
I would highly recommend anyone wanting a critique of the novel they are writing. My experience was great. First, the critique itself was really helpful. Second, it didn't finish with just this: I was able to correspond with Fred with various queries. In addition I found both Fred and Alex friendly and welcoming.
Posted 10 months ago
I found my experience with Standout Books to be excellent. Response time was quick and everyone I had the pleasure of interacting with was the perfect combination of professional, willing, knowledgeable and friendly. Cheers to the team at Standout Books!
Posted 10 months ago
Standout is indeed the proper qualification for your services. The comprehensive edit exceeded my expectations and provided me with the professional perspective I needed to re-assess my own work and improve it. The editor Erin Servais did a fantastic job and her turnaround time was great.
Posted 10 months ago
Quick and easy to work with: an excellent piece of work.
Posted 10 months ago
I chose Standout Books based on the high rating they received from the Alliance of Independent Authors, the covers and websites they've designed, and their reasonable price schedule. I could not be happier with my choice! It was a pleasure to work with Alex, who seemed to truly care about my project. Whenever he sent an email, it was accompanied by detailed and clearly written explanations. I had many questions along the way, which Alex answered patiently and expediently. He helped me step by step through the process of typesetting, cover design, and web design--all beautifully executed! Standout Books does high quality work in a timely manner, and they work tirelessly to get it all done just right. Although I'm in the US and was a bit concerned about the time difference, it was not a problem at all. The book is now up on Amazon, and I have been receiving positive feedback on the cover, especially from artists. I love the website design. It's beautiful! It's professional looking, and it aptly portrays who I am as an author and the tone of my writing. I also had quite a few questions about web setup and management and social media that Alex addressed concisely and completely, with links for further information. He was amazingly patient and helpful. I can't imagine going through this process without Standout's expertise and good-natured help. They exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend them and will be contacting them when my next book is ready for production.
Posted 10 months ago
After wanting to write a novel for 20 years I finally made it happen, but then had to ask myself, "How to I bring this to market?" I had read that Stephen King once used to put his rejection letters onto a nail he had driven into his wall. Over time, so many were added that the nail pulled free of the wall...then he got a bigger nail. One admires his tenacity, but did I really want to waste my time trying to convince traditional publishers that my writing was of some value? Or did I just want to take control myself, be my own boss, and have complete control over everything? I decided that I did. It did not take me long to come across Standout Books. It was nice that Standout seemed to cover every aspect of what I needed: editing, cover design, web design, and proofing. In checking around I found that their prices were reasonable and comparable to elsewhere. So I dove in and have been really satisfied in every instance. The quality of the editing was top notch. I got a developmental edit by Kate, which was really helpful at identifying problematic areas, both in my story and writing. I then had final proofreading edit done by Kelsey to eliminate any grammatical errors and typos, to check for inconsistencies. Again, Kelsey's work was invaluable to me. And between her and Kate, my manuscript was much more improved and professional because of their competent hands. While the editing was going on, I began my cover design. They asked me for story plot details, which I gave because they give you a few cover concepts based on this, but I had specific ideas for my cover design so I gave them some examples of what I wanted and then waited. It wasn't long before I got a sample covers back. Their covers based on my story elements were quite good, but they really nailed my concept design that I had supplied and executed it better than I could have hoped. The designer gave me exactly what I wanted which looked really good, but then they did a spin on my concept that was even better. This new iteration was so good that I decided to keep it and use it for the hardcover and ebook cover (my original concept that they did so well, I kept for my softcover.) The only thing I did not have them do was the lettering, which I had done by a professional calligrapher (though the Standout Books designer did an amazing job of implementing it well.) Now that all these elements were progressing nicely, I submitted my final draft for formatting and requested that work be started on my website. In short order, both things were complete, with my book formatted which looked way cool, and my website was setup. Rita did a killer job at designing the site. I only gave her a few ideas and what she came up with really fit my design sensibilities and also worked well with the theme of the book. Overall my experience with Standout has been very positive and they helped me reach a goal I've been striving towards for a long time. Thank you for making The Witches' Hollow a reality! You guys are awesome!!!
Posted 10 months ago
Very professional. Thanks so much Alex
Posted 11 months ago
Standout Books is rated 5.00 based on 104 reviews