The Car Buying Group Reviews

3.50 Rating 30 Reviews
63 %
of reviewers recommend The Car Buying Group
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how The Car Buying Group made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
A bit chaotic passing the information I gave them around.
But in the end everything went smoothly.

My instinct is that if you are honest about any problems your vehicle has and make sure they are all listed prior to collection they’ll honour their offer. Best to get everything you tell them emailed back to you as their systems for recording everything seem a little lax.

The collection, the payment and their responsiveness when you email or call them is all perfect - or at leas, was for me
Posted 1 month ago
After the company calling us on several occasions we had a guaranteed quotation on our car. All information was honestly given by us about our car. They even increased their offer! collection day, a very polite gentleman arrived took lots of photos of the car. Then the old sales chestnut of a phone call lowering the price. Disgraceful tactics! Can not recommend this company.
Posted 1 month ago
Excellent service. Spoke to Mark (who was really helpful) on Wednesday and they came to collect the car today. Fair price and the driver was a nice chap.
Posted 5 months ago
I wouldn’t use these again. They try to make me out to be a lier. I got a price off then after I told then that it had a few small dents and that the windows don’t work.
The delivery driver turn up and phone then told then what I said about the car. Has he was waiting for then to come back he fill all the paperwork out.
They phone back with a lower price and try to tell me that I hadn’t told then about the windows.
I felt push in to finish in to sell has the driver had come over 2 hours way to pick the car up.
Posted 5 months ago
James was very helpful, they did exactly what they said they would... We agreed a price after talking through the damage and they collected from my home and paid straight away. The driver was very polite and helpful... I had some issues with the DVLA and James helped me through it all. I would always use this company as they were very honest and helpful
Posted 7 months ago
Sold my car to the car buying group when I was buying another car from my local Audi dealer. I would recommend them to others as they gave me a price, collected the car 2 days after speaking to them and paid me before taking the car. Very quick and easy.
Posted 7 months ago
Awful! Sent pictures, got a quote of £2000 only to be knocked down to £1200 when they came to pick the car up because 'the market has changed'. After refusing, they offered slightly more but it was a complete waste of 2 hours while the 'driver' assessed the car. I should've trusted my gut and not bothered with a company like this!
Posted 8 months ago
I used this type of service as a convenient option for selling my car. My experience was the absolute opposite! It was awful. In my opinion any tactic is used to reduce the price they originally offer. Like other reviews about this company state, it all seems ok until the end. Then the dishonesty starts. I gave them details for my car which is 3 years old and was given a price. This was agreed and all seemed ok. A guy came to collect the car as arranged (he was transport only and actually very nice). After photos and phone calls by him I received a phone call from Craig my contact stating there was a problem so the price was reduced by £800! That problem was a joke! He claimed my mileage was wrong as I had stated the car had only done 2,200 when in fact it had done just over 22,000 (actually low for 3 years old). Who has a three year old car and only does 2,200 miles in that time! Clearly a typo I thought, but no, when I queried why he hadn't asked about this ridiculous low mileage he went on to say he had. Apparently my husband had confirmed it was accurate. This was totally and utterly untrue. Furthermore he inferred we had told a lie. At this point I told him I would never do business with this unprofessional and dishonest company or play his game. I had a lucky escape as I was not desperate or trapped needing to sell. Unfortunately others who use these services can be trapped. This company, in my opinion and experience, take full advantage and use unethical tactics to get their quote down. For me, as all my documents and car was in order they used this mileage ploy as a lever to drop the price. I cannot in any way recommend and would say avoid at all costs!
Posted 9 months ago
Seems there's a mix of genuine reviews and bogus company created ones, if you're in Northern Ireland don't bother they will take £2500 off to pick it up.
Posted 9 months ago
Lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies....... DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY..... I received an offer over the phone from Eddie who seemed 100% genuine. I accepted the offer on the grounds they seemed seemed so genuine, and I was told under no circumstances would they try and offer me less upon collection... This was a huge con after turning down a genuine face to face offer the day before from we buy any car, The car buying group come to collect the car the following day, after taking a million photos of inside and out repeatedly over and over again, they offered me £1000 less then the agreed amount... And basically called me a lier, I told Eddie there was a 1" crack on the bumber but they said I never told them this. Why would I not tell them, this company wasted my time and cost me £200 because of their lies, never use people and dont read into the fake positive reviews.
Posted 11 months ago
I had terrible experience with this company after telling them that the clutch had gone on my car ,they tried to say they knew nothing about it and basically called me a liar Why would I tell someone the car was working when they would find out when they picked it up that this wasn’t the case ?shocking customer service .I even had someone ring up 2 days later offering a higher price
Posted 1 year ago
Set themselves up as being so much more honest than other on line purchasers.
Do not be fooled they have no more integrity !
Posted 1 year ago
I was incredibly nervous about selling my car via The Car Buying Group as I had never sold a vehicle that way before.

I was quoted a price much higher than any other car buying company which attracted me to the company.

From my first phone call with Abi Emms at The Car Buying Group the process was explained and everything seemed very straightforward. She was a pleasure to have her as my contact and she was very patient and answered all my questions fully and in detail.

Even after I requested a delay to the collection of the car by a week, The Car Buying Group were very receptive and had no problems at all.

I was quite concerned about them making payments to the finance company and to myself for the balance but having gone through the process my concerns were unfounded as everything was communicated well and I received proof of both payments before my vehicle was driven away.

Thanks to Abi Emms and the team at The Car Buying Group for a fabulous service.

I would not hesitate to use them again and I would highly recommend them to anyone looking to sell their car.
Posted 1 year ago
Booked an appointment to sell my 83 year old Mothers car with this company via the motorway app for a pickup between 9am annd 1pm. Travelled early to Mums to avoid traffic to await the pickup. Waited all morning and no one arrived. Phoned to find out why and the diver eventually called about 20 minutes later to say that he didn't know I had a morning pickup (a lie according to the company) and said he could be there between 5pm and 6pm but I said I would need to leave by 4pm and called the company back again who advised that he would be there by 5pm. Ay 4.20pm I called again and was told he was 20 minutes away (rubbish). At 6pm, still no driver and another phone call to be told that the driver had gone home......!!!!!!!

Reluctantly booked another pickup for 2 days later which went ok but my Mum had to do it without me.

Would never use this company again!
Posted 1 year ago
I had heard such bad things about car buying companies that I expected something to go wrong at some point, but in fact the whole process was faultless. The offer through Motorway was lower than some others, but I had a nice phone chat about the car with Danny, he offered a price that was fair and promised that they wouldn't knock the price down on collection day. True enough, their representative came this morning, and even though she found a fault that I had forgotten about when discussing the car with Danny, there was no discussion about dropping the offer. The money came straight into my bank account and off she drove. Excellent.
Posted 1 year ago
These cheeky pigs offered me 200 for my car, i sold it on eBay a week later for 1000. Don't let these people con you.
Posted 1 year ago
I had had two negative dealings with competitor company's- both of which had poor communication which led to increased stress for me. I was therefore very nervous when the car buying group contacted me via the Motorway group site. They offered a fair price - above some of the competitors, matched others but did not reduce it on collection like others apparently do - a bit lower than if I sold privately but this is to be expected and, to be honest, worth it. They were very professional all the way through and I honestly felt 'looked after'. Nathan Liversedge went 'above and beyond' to ensure that my stressful times came to a swift end. I would highly recommend and would go to this company without hesitation again. In my experience they acted ethically and honestly - and they ask for honesty from the seller so don't be tempted to hide something and hope they won't notice. They paid the agreed price without fuss, the collecting driver was courteous and everyone was very informative at every stage. The money was paid into my account before the driver took the car. If I could give 6 stars I would - and I never thought I'd say that about this type of site! A big thank you to Nathan and the team.
Posted 2 years ago
I had to sell the car to get some capitol and The Car Buying Group made a reasonable offer. They don't charge any hidden fees and the money is in your account within minutes of it being processed - just amazing. And they didn't even knock me down when examining the car, as long as you give a truthful account !
Posted 2 years ago
Danny was professional and courteous, the offer was provided via the phone the agreement made and the agreed sum was in my bank before my car was driven away. The price quoted was the price paid - no extra's for immediate payment etc.
Would highly recommend.
Posted 2 years ago
very straightforward process from start to finish. Unlike some of the other companies who offer this kind of service, they will not try to knock money off their original online quotation if you have given them an accurate description of your vehicle.
Posted 2 years ago
The Car Buying Group is rated 3.50 based on 30 reviews