whatalifetours.com Reviews

4.88 Rating 88 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend whatalifetours.com
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Courier
on-time delivery
100%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email
Read whatalifetours.com Reviews

Write Your review

Tell us how whatalifetours.com made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
I arranged 2 tours with What a Life - the Colosseum and the Vatican. They were extremely helpful during the booking process and helped me choose and gave me other information. The welcome at the offices near the Vatican was warm and friendly. The tour guides round the Vatican and Colosseum were friendly and knowledgeable and gave us lots of insight into both places. They answered lots of questions and brought to life both venues. The organisers and the guides all spoke wonderful English and were easy to understand and engage in conversation. I would use this company again without any reservation Ashley
Posted 6 months ago
Our tour with Mario was fantastic! The Vatican is overwhelming and his route and explanations were enormously helpful. He’s very knowledgeable and witty. I also really appreciated his practical guidance on traffic flow and what we could see once the tour was over.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Loved that it was a small group tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and loved telling us about the history of the Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palatine Hill. Very interesting and a highlight of our trip to Rome.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Thank you Dave, nice pics!
Posted 3 months ago
We loved the tour with Ana! She was passionate, knowledgeable and engaging. We had been though the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel and the Basilica many times on our own but having a wonderful guide like Ana really made it a difference. We would definitely recommend What a Life Tours!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
We did 2 half day tours with What A Life in Rome in April 2019. Both experiences were fantastic! The groups are small and allow for everyone to be included in hearing the guide and seeing the sites. One morning we went on a Colosseum Underground Tour with Carlotta and thoroughly enjoyed our time with her. The underground part was spectacular in allowing us to see and learn about life in ancient Rome. Once on Pallatine Hill, we were able to learn more about Roman life, history and architecture. Unfortunately for us, a strong front blew in as we were on top of the hill and the rain and wind made it difficult to stay in one spot for very long to see or hear about anything. By the time we made it down to the Forum area, we were drenched but the rain let up and Carlotta continued to tell us as much as she could about things. If we had had better weather, this would have been one of the most outstanding tours we've ever taken. Highly recommend the tour company and Carlotta. The second tour the next day was the Vatican Early Morning Access tour. It was also wonderful and our guide, Elaine, made it that way! She talked nonstop (in a good way!) about everything Vatican and Roman. We made a beeline to the Sistine Chapel after entering and were able to enjoy the ceiling and the solitude for 30 minutes before the crowds. We circled back to the Vatican Museum and Elaine pointed out interesting and important artifacts and information. We then headed to St. Peter's Basilica and had a narrated tour there. This was a fabulous way to visit the Vatican and Elaine made it that much more special. Thank you What A Life Tours for your service and you very wonderful guides!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Excellent, informative tour guide. She was passionate about Rome and her subject matter. Pleasant to be with and listen to; she managed the extremely large crowds at the Vatican with ease. Upon leaving the Vatican Museums we were astounded at the number of people waiting to get in. We commented that we didn't know if we would have attempted it on our own at seeing the crowds. Overwhelming! The tour made entry and overview of the vast collection manageable. Molto bene!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
We would book with What a Life again in a heartbeat. We did two tours, the Colosseum Underground Tour with Valeria, and the Early-Morning Vatican Tour with Mario. Both were excellent. Valeria and Mario were deeply knowledgable and expert at communicating that knowledge in interesting and engaging ways. Even with the decent background we have in Roman and art history, we were really glad we booked the tours because we learned so much. It's wonderful to get the sort of long-arc historical overview punctuated by fascinating details that only experts can provide. Mario also offered really interesting commentary on bigger picture concepts relating to how we engage with art and with history. And he very kindly stuck around after the tour to chat for a while, and gave us a list of places around the city where we could find the Caravaggios we'd been hoping to see. (Mario, if you read this—we saw most of them, thank you!) Both Mario and Valeria were a pleasure to be around, too, and were great at answering questions from the group. Wonderful experiences.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Our Tour Guide was Phenomenal! Very much enjoyed the tour. Highly recommended to anyone!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Elaine was very knowledge & passionate about sharing a wealth of information. we appreciated the thoroughness of the tour. We kept moving and we felt we recieved an excellent synopsis of the Vatican Museum, Sistene Chapel & St. Peter's Cathedral.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Alicia es una guía increíble que transmite con entusiasmo su grandísimo conocimiento. Hizo todo lo posible incluso para que consiguiéramos las mejores ubicaciones y disfrutáramos con una visita única. Totalmente recomendable,el presupuesto mejor gastado del viaje!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Muchissimas gracias!
Posted 1 month ago
Due to snow in Chicago we were unable to make the tour. I did try to cancel 24 hours prior to the tour. However I have not received a credit for the fee. I would appreciate a refund for the 4 of us as we were unable to attend this tour. Norman Koehn
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
April 18, 2019 - Coliseum Tour. Mario was our tour guide. Our experience was excellent. He was very knowledgeable and personable. He made the time fly by. April 19, 2019 - Vatican Tour. Anna was our tour guide. Our experience was also excellent. The "pre" breakfast was a nice touch. It being Good Friday and all - our tour was exceptional. She made our experience fantastic. Highly Recommend both of these tour guides. You are lucky to have such great people working for you.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
We did 2 tours on one day: early Vatican and Colosseum. Both tours were really excellent! Ana is extremely passionate about the art of the Vatican and had such interesting insights. She took us on such a great tour. After the tour she helped those of us who wanted to attend the Easter Mass get tickets and even gave us advice on where to stand- we were perfectly positioned to see the Pope which was a once in a lifetime experience. The afternoon Colosseum (underground) and forum tour was every bit as good. Val is an excellent guide, funny and so knowledgeable. She really made the Forum and Colosseum come to life. Her expertise and enthusiasm are infectious.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
This is the BEST way to visit the Vatican Museum and St Peters!! I highly recommend the Early Access Tour which allowed us the chance to enter the Sistine Chapel before the crowds. Our tour guide, Elaine, was fantastic! She shared her depth of knowledge enthusiastically and made our experience more meaningful. I will always book my tours in Rome with What a Life Tours!!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Monica our guide was very informative however this is a very long tour at 3.5 hrs. We were pretty exhausted at the end. So if you’re looking for a brief tour of the Forum and Colosseum I don’t recommend this tour because of the very long narrative by the tour guide and lots of walking and stair climbing.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
We took the private tour so we could get the most out of the experience. Our guide, Carlotta, couldn't have been better. Not only did we get into the Vatican almost first in line, but we ran to the Sistine Chapel and were with only a handful of other dignitaries. It was a peaceful and pleasant experience and way more than we'd hoped for (plus they gave us a beautiful book of pictures we couldn't take while in there). We had a very pleasant time throughout the rest of the tour, getting pictures by ourselves at several key locations, and best yet, we got a private blessing from the Chapel priest on our way back through the Chapel, all thanks to Carlotta. It was very special and made our visit that more amazing. Highly recommended trip.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Amazing tour and experience. Guide was awesome with family including teenagers. Interesting. Good pace. Really worth it to go to the top of the Colosseum. Thanks!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I booked the tour on line. The website was very easy to navigate. I felt I selected the best tour. After meeting our guide, who was so very knowledgeable about all aspects of the colosseum, I was certain there was no better choice. My family and I took the underground tour and had the greatest experience. The 3.5 hours went too fast. We really enjoyed the tour.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
My wife and I used What a Life tours for their Early Access Vatican tour and a last minute booking of Colosseum Above Top Tiers tour when we were in Rome last fall. Both tours were excellent and informative and the guides gave us so much more insight than we would have received doing it ourselves. We are looking to book one of their new Florence tours when we visit this spring.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Carlata was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and humorous Great tour guide
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Mario our tour guide was absolutely fantastic!! Couldn’t imagine a better guide for an amazing experience!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
whatalifetours.com is rated 4.88 based on 88 reviews