Squareup Reviews

1.2 Rating 36 Reviews
6 %
of reviewers recommend Squareup

Write Your review

Tell us how Squareup made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Squareup 4 star review on 18th April 2024
Erin Allen
Squareup 1 star review on 15th June 2023
Scebtsationoils
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
SCAM FRAUDSTERS stay away if you are applying for a new account: This company is run by fraudsters , got invite to open account with them , used stripe in the past so said lets compare it. first setup process was impossible , reader didnt work, had multiple businesses to bring over , tried to create account as corporation and solo proprietorship and it was impossible to add multiple entities under same profile, also reader doesnt work spent 3 hours with , tried to disable developer mode on the phone but it didnt work. anyways did test transaction and got email that account wasnt approved with no option to reply , tried to use support but cant reach anyone which is very unprofessional for size of company like theirs and money is now locked in the account with no way to contact them support says try to reply to accounts team but email says no reply !!!!!: Alyina this is very unprofessional message from their support who claims they gave me email but they didnt and email cant be replied , seems they just use chat bots FRAUD again: Alyina 07:59 PM At this point, the conversation is becoming unproductive. I have given you the correct information about your account status several times. The Support team won’t be able to assist further via messaging in regard to this issue.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
This company is the worst. Used them for two months for my small internet business I've had for 22 tears.. Then all of sudden they deactivated me for no apparent reason.
Squareup 1 star review on 15th June 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Not trustworthy. I started my business, went through the application process, it took 4 days for them to validate my bank account, once that was done, I added my products on SquareUp, started social media campaigns to drive new sells and right after the first sell I get an email saying my account has ben deactivated immediately. That any payments I would receive in 90 days. I emailed them back asking what was going on and the response was, "This decision is final". Here I am, hanging, with social media ads running and I can't sell. After reading other reviews, I've seen I'm not the only one, this issue. Not worthy to trust this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
I needed to be paid for services rendered and Squareup claimed they were free if you chose two day transfer. I was to be paid $2200. but they only transfered $2127.10. Tried to inquire about it but they wanted to blaim the person paying me. So Square took $72.90 for the transfer!
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Worse company ever. They have been holding my money for 1 month. Never use them.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
You’ve got such a low rating for a reason obviously you doing most of the things wrong then - Including inconveniencing me big time and running late, start a business!! “Thanks” - you are JUST USELESS Order no. GB-360232463
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Don’t trust them, they take your money and offer little help and blame weebly for their mistakes!!! Unable to sort anything out and not very professional
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I opened up my own business and started to use square to accept payments. I run a service based business as a licensed massage therapist. After every transaction they required an invoice and more information. By doing this they suspended the money I made for the massages I did...during the holiday season a lady purchased a gift card for her mother. After the transaction they suspended the money for the gift card. As well as all other payments I received for massage. They said they'd hold it for 90 days before transferring it and they deactivated my account. I gave them information for the business( invoices, website, bank business checking, services, products offered, business license and all). I made sure everything was up to code. In the end they said it was a final decision. I called customer service, I was nice, calm. I explained everything that happened...but they could not give me any reasons or anyone to talk to. Apparently they don't transfer calls for deactivated accounts.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
They let you sign up and then claim your not legitimate business even when you provide your business registration with the state and ask for invoices that you created USING THEIR APP. Deactivated my account and HOLDING MY PAYMENTS FOR 90 DAYS! Support is worthless just tells you another group handles verification. Do not recommend at all.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Garbage communication! Will hold your funds without communication to you Will Not let you email or call directly to the support team that has the stop on your account! Run far run far beware!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
They froze my account due to so-called suspicious activity, which meant that I could not transfer money nor use my debit card, nor accept payments! For them to freeze businesses acct and not offer a way to immediately rectify the situation to the owner is beyond me. They in fact completely disable a company to be able to do business, but they call it protecting the business. How is it protecting the business If you are completely taking away their ability to conduct business? They offer no phone support over the weekend and no access to their so-called security team which handles this type of situation. Support for your business is nonexistent over the weekend.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Make sure you get your refund before you deactivate. I signed up for this service. I was so excited about starting my online store. After about an hour of fiddling around with the service, I realized it was not good for me.That's another story. Anyway in my confussion I for got to deactivate/cancle the account. Then I noticed they debited my bank account the folowing month. I immediatly deactivated the account. But when i attempted a refund, I could not get it because I am no longer allowed into my account even though I'm paid up for the month. I tried to call them, but if you can't log in they won't talk to you. This company has some shady business practices. I'm in the process of disputing it with my bank, but have to wait for the funds to clear. At that time I will let you know what happened.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Horrendous experience with this company. Blocked my account after i tried to withdraw all the funds inside. EVEN DEMANDED to ASK FOR TAX PAYMENT ????? in order to unlock the account???? GOING TO REPORT THEM TO Finalresolute. com WHO IN THE WORLD CHARGE TAX FOR BUYING COINS???? THIS IS THE MOST FISHY AND SCAM CO I EVER SEEN
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Square took money from our new business account. A recent new startup business. They claimed it was from a different business that was closed long ago, that was in someone else's name. It had nothing to do with us. We provided them with all the documentation they requested yet they kept trying to debit the account, costing us a lot of money in fees. We were eventually forced to close the account just to stop them from attempting to debit it. Fortunately the bank manager had been through this with customers who use Square before and sided with us. The Square "Customer Success" team was absolutely horrific. It literally took weeks to speak to a real person. They lied to us multiple times, on recorded calls. Even telling us, more than once, that the "Recovery Team" doesn't have phones (yes, they actually said that) So, were have never been allowed to talk to anyone who knows why they are taking money. We have, to date, spent over 40 hours trying to resolve this issue with Square. Finally, after nearly two months a real person called. He, even said that the "Recovery Team" doesn't have phones. Ridiculous! The end result of the conversation was they still refuse to pay us back what they cost us and still insist we somehow owe them money, but they'd give us a credit and forgive us our debt. The thing is, we DON'T owe them. Never have. Quite the opposite. Square needs to square up with us.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
One star is too much. Absolute horrific platform to use. They hold funds to make their own profits with no real reasons. The platform is an absolute con. Never use this platform. They disrupt your cash flow without cause for their own benefit making revenue off your held funds. They held the first transaction and I provided further data. The second transaction they held again and wanted further info which was provided at great depth. They then said they are cancelling the account and holding funds for 90 days before they’ll release them - £3,000 is a lot to be without for 90 days when you need your cash flow to run. Avoid and use anybody else. If you’re a small business and don’t have access to other funds they’ll put you out of business for their own profit to hold their funds. Do not be fooled by their false 1-2 days way of reeling you in. Avoid, avoid, AVOID!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
great service.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Squareup is rated 1.2 based on 36 reviews