Squareup Reviews

1.1 Rating 31 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend Squareup

Write Your review

Tell us how Squareup made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Horrible company . Stay away from them if you want to succeed
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
I've have had $1,650 literally STUCK on the square up platform since April 2023. We are now in January 2024. How can I retrieve my funds.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I have had square for over 10 years every year they get worse . I bought their expensive point of sale .Their equipment fails constantly printer won't work drawer won't open . Then when I call customer service they are disrespectful and screw me around not even trying to help . I sat in hold for 2 1/2 hours waiting for a manager . That was completely disrespectful. I lost money because of their incompetence They continue to raise prices on top of the bs . Avoid this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Square is impossible to work with. They have never been able to fix any issue I've ever brought to them. They take no responsibility for the inadequacies of their software.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I setup my business, sending in my EIN etc, and then after beginning to sell at a convention using their tap and pay option, they held on to my funds for 3 months, providing no reason but stating that they will hold on to them, and I will no longer be allowed to use squareup. I emailed them over 30 times, no one responds, I have called them over 20 times, their response is always you must email, we have no information. After selling most of my inventory in that 5 day convention, they broke my business by refusing my access to my finances. Finances that were critical to purchase my winter collection. They will release my funds in 3 days, but I missed a whole season because of them.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Taken 1400 pounds from my account, not even had the account open 12 hours. and now said they wont return it for 6 months. Is this even legal? I created a payments page through them for booking my wedding accommodation, they have stolen my money and said the manager is in a meeting.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
This company helps people steal money from you. A person can use their card to pay and then they report disputes and lied and said they have no knowledge. Do you know what square does? Nothing the most useable card payment services I have ever use. I’m going to stop using their services it’s a horrible company.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
If I could rate it zero stars, I would! My business is barely 1 month old. I signed up to use Square per a family recommendation. I am primarily an online business, but also plan on doing local vendor events, so I needed a type of POS I could use on the go. I set up my website right away through Square so I could start accepting orders. I processed a total of 3 transactions within the first week, all fairly small amounts as my items range from $10-$25. My first 2 transactions go great, money is transferred into my account the following morning. The 3rd however, i am still trying to retrieve from Square after having my account deactivated for unknown reasons on November 19th. Their system has unlinked my banking information from transfers and the system does not allow for it to be reconnected. The e-mail I received from Square on Nov. 19th was extremely vague and directs you to contact custom support if you feel this deactivation was done in error. As I have done nothing to go against any of their terms and conditions, I attempted to contact them via the phone number provided in the e-mail. When I call, since my number is associated with my account, I am met with an automated recording stating my account has been deactivated and any money in my account will be released within the time frame noted in the e-mail. Nothing in the e-mail I received states anything about transfer time. I have replied to the e-mail several times, I have also e-mailed a separate e-mail address I found on their website. The only other option they give is to do a chat within their website. The first person I spoke to through chat was extremely rude and told me my account was under review and that could last 3-5 days. When I told her it had been close to 2 weeks, she basically told me oh well, keep waiting. The 2nd time I spoke with chat, she assured me she would escalate my complaint to someone who could help me and I would hear back via e-mail very soon. That was the beginning of last week. I have done that several times as well and keep getting told they have no information and I need to e-mail customer support. When asked about a time frame of when they typically respond, I'm told just to wait. As of right now it has been 1 week since I last spoken with chat and sent an e-mail. Still, nothing. Their customer service is appalling and I would NEVER recommend anyone using their services. But don't worry, I do still continue to receive all types of Square marking e-mails on a daily basis!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
One of the worst company on earth stay away, very difficult to work with them. Unprofessional, most of the employee doesn’t speak English terrible. Terrible. Terrible Customerservice.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
They hold your funds/checks longer then their 6 day policy. Unprofessional/sarcastic support, High processing fees.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Cancelled my account without any warning, said I violated terms and conditions. I read terms and conditions and cannot see anything I have done wrong. Contacted Square support, they do not know why account was cancelled. They gave me no notice which means I am now losing sales on my established website until I can get another account up with a different company. This makes Square unsuitable for business owners, they will not think twice about causing massive disruption by pulling your account
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Square has been a horrible experience since day one. I had a free website on Weebly for many years, I guess Square bought Weebly and I got forced onto Square where they PERMANANTLY DISABLED my old website. I was RIPSHIT, so they offered me an annual fee of $72 with a promise that it would not increase, that it would be a fixed rate. With that, I hired a web designer to rebuild my site on the Square platform. Not cheep. One year later, they 'removed' that plan and tried to force me into a new plan for $192.88 a year that would automatically be charged to my account unless I removed it. Now I have to re-hire my designer to go build my site elsewhere. Square SUCKS.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
“They froze my account due to so-called suspicious activity, which meant that I could not transfer money nor use my debit card, nor accept payments! For them to freeze businesses acct and not offer a way to immediately rectify the situation to the owner is beyond me. They in fact completely disable a company to be able to do business, but they call it protecting the business. How is it protecting the business If you are completely taking away their ability to conduct business? They offer no phone support over the weekend and no access to their so-called security team which handles this type of situation. Support for your business is nonexistent over the weekend.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
With hold you money for 90days before releaasing it. Horrible company
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
They are the absolute worse company to trust when it comes to credit card information. I wont go in depths, but they have allowed a fraudulent company to create an account with my company and charge random peoples credit cards. THEN denied the transactions ever happened, even though we had the receipts from the people that were scammed. PS NO CUSTOMER SERVICE!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
SCAM FRAUDSTERS stay away if you are applying for a new account: This company is run by fraudsters , got invite to open account with them , used stripe in the past so said lets compare it. first setup process was impossible , reader didnt work, had multiple businesses to bring over , tried to create account as corporation and solo proprietorship and it was impossible to add multiple entities under same profile, also reader doesnt work spent 3 hours with , tried to disable developer mode on the phone but it didnt work. anyways did test transaction and got email that account wasnt approved with no option to reply , tried to use support but cant reach anyone which is very unprofessional for size of company like theirs and money is now locked in the account with no way to contact them support says try to reply to accounts team but email says no reply !!!!!: Alyina this is very unprofessional message from their support who claims they gave me email but they didnt and email cant be replied , seems they just use chat bots FRAUD again: Alyina 07:59 PM At this point, the conversation is becoming unproductive. I have given you the correct information about your account status several times. The Support team won’t be able to assist further via messaging in regard to this issue.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
This company is the worst. Used them for two months for my small internet business I've had for 22 tears.. Then all of sudden they deactivated me for no apparent reason.
Squareup 1 star review on 15th June 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Not trustworthy. I started my business, went through the application process, it took 4 days for them to validate my bank account, once that was done, I added my products on SquareUp, started social media campaigns to drive new sells and right after the first sell I get an email saying my account has ben deactivated immediately. That any payments I would receive in 90 days. I emailed them back asking what was going on and the response was, "This decision is final". Here I am, hanging, with social media ads running and I can't sell. After reading other reviews, I've seen I'm not the only one, this issue. Not worthy to trust this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
I needed to be paid for services rendered and Squareup claimed they were free if you chose two day transfer. I was to be paid $2200. but they only transfered $2127.10. Tried to inquire about it but they wanted to blaim the person paying me. So Square took $72.90 for the transfer!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Worse company ever. They have been holding my money for 1 month. Never use them.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Squareup is rated 1.1 based on 31 reviews