Australia & New Zealand Adventure Reviews

4.04 Rating 27 Reviews
Read smarTours Reviews

About smarTours:

smarTours is a leading provider of direct-to-consumer, affordable travel experiences to exotic global destinations. The Company offers travelers curated, pre-packaged itineraries to over 40 destinations across the globe. By offering tours directly to consumers, the Company provides premium-quality experiences at value prices, and as a result, has cultivated a highly passionate and loyal community of repeat travelers. More than 200,000 travelers have taken a smarTours trip since the founding of the Company in 1996. smarTours is… the smarter way to see the world.

Visit Product Page

Phone:

800-337-7773

Email:

info@smartours.com

Location:

545 Eighth Ave. Suite 2250
New York, NY 10018

Do not make the mistake of booking with this company. I wish I hadn't. They cancelled my tour due to low participation, and I've been trying for over a month to have my deposit reimbursed. Several calls, different stories, nothing but the run around it seems. They should be reaching out to me, but instead I keep calling and hoping. There are many other companies out there to choose. I've traveled with others with no problem. Keep looking is my recommendation.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Do not make the mistake of booking with this company. I wish I hadn't. They cancelled my tour due to low participation, and I've been trying for over a month to have my deposit reimbursed. Several calls, different stories, nothing but the run around it seems. They should be reaching out to me, but instead I keep calling and hoping. There are many other companies out there to choose. I've traveled with others with no problem. Keep looking is my recommendation.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Do not make the mistake of booking with this company. I wish I hadn't. They cancelled my tour due to low participation, and I've been trying for over a month to have my deposit reimbursed. Several calls, different stories, nothing but the run around it seems. They should be reaching out to me, but instead I keep calling and hoping. There are many other companies out there to choose. I've traveled with others with no problem. Keep looking is my recommendation.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I wish I could leave a positive review about this tour and tour company, however, Smart Tours cancelled my scheduled trip due to low enrollment, and I have been trying for a month to have my deposit reimbursed. There seems to be no organization in this company. I call and get random operators and request reimbursement. I have received different information each time. Since Smart Tours cancelled the trip, I should not be suffering the aggravation of begging for my money back. Smart Tours should be reaching out to me to satisfy. I have called 3 or 4 times. Today I'm told I must email to request the reimbursement. Why wasn't I told that the first call a month ago. I've traveled with many tour companies through the years. Smart Tours with included airfare seemed too good to be true. I wish I had trusted that instinct and saved myself this trouble. I recommend anyone considering traveling with Smart Tours to consider other companies.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I wish I could leave a positive review about this tour and tour company, however, Smart Tours cancelled my scheduled trip due to low enrollment, and I have been trying for a month to have my deposit reimbursed. There seems to be no organization in this company. I call and get random operators and request reimbursement. I have received different information each time. Since Smart Tours cancelled the trip, I should not be suffering the aggravation of begging for my money back. Smart Tours should be reaching out to me to satisfy. I have called 3 or 4 times. Today I'm told I must email to request the reimbursement. Why wasn't I told that the first call a month ago. I've traveled with many tour companies through the years. Smart Tours with included airfare seemed too good to be true. I wish I had trusted that instinct and saved myself this trouble. I recommend anyone considering traveling with Smart Tours to consider other companies.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Attention to detail outstanding. Accommodations outstanding as well. Optional tours very good although we added a trip to the opera since a great opera showing while we were in Sydney. Something management might consider in the future and skip farm stay in NZ. Overall it was a great tour!!! Highly recommend to all.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Certainly a whirlwind trip and happy memories. NZ landscape is stunning and people we met were so welcoming. The farm stay in Fairlie was a high point. Stays in Australia also gave us new experiences. Betty's role was adequate but not outstanding. A number of us felt that she was condescending a few times. I have toured with other companies so I do have a comparison to guides. Due to weather, we were unable to go on the Kuranda Skyrail. We paid $172 for the the days activities so I understand that we would receive only a partial refund to compensate for the skyrail. However, I did expect that it would be more than $45. As you may be aware, we had some travel challenges with Qantas. I am not sure I would elect individually to ever travel with them again. Of course, SmarTours is not responsible for that. Finally, I would suggest that the tour start in Australia then go to New Zealand. It would be better to do the busy cities and activities at the beginning then, as one's energy level wanes, go to NZ which was more relaxing.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
The trip to New Zealand and Australia were amazing! I would suggest adding a day to each location to be able to explore more. Going that distance from the USA and all the different places to see in country there is just not enough time. So instead of 19 days it would be 25 or so!
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
There were many airport delays with Qantas. At one point they gave all our seats away. We lost 1/2 day in Auckland. They landed in Townsville instead of Cairns. We had to sit there 8 hours and lost another 1/2 day. Our tour director was unpleasant. She spoke rudely to many people on the tour. She was unhelpful and confusing. She couldn't be reached in an emergency as she didn't share contact information. We enjoyed both countries and the people on our tour.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The tour of New Zealand and Australia were enlightening. Betty, our tour director, was excellent with directions and keeping us all informed about each days events and times. Betty even arranged scuba diving for me in Cairns and Ziplining in Queenstown, New Zealand. The homestay in New Zealand was a bonus to this trip. I could have stayed longer. Our hotels were excellent and in central locations for easy walking. This was my 11th Smartours trip and I have already booked two more.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I was surprised the transportation to the optional tours was not included in the cost of that tour. I also would’ve liked to of had a guide from Australia or New Zealand instead of an American.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I enjoyed the tour very much. Liz, our guide, was professional and gave excellent advice. New Zealand and Australia were new to me and it seemed that the itinerary touched on a pleasing variety of sights, experiences, and locations within the time we had. We also were fortunate to have great travelling companions and good weather. I'm very satisfied with our experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
This tour was my first with SmarTours. I liked the tour and was very happy with Liz Moran as our guide. I didn’t see any reason to go to Auckland, just a city. Our “farm experience” was a bed and breakfast, not a working farm as expected. I loved the four wheel drive in Queenstown on the Wakatipu river. It was a great add on tour. I’m sure you’ve heard how unsatisfactory the hotel in Cairns was. Construction dust everywhere and mold in the air vents. Bad choice of accommodations on your part.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
This was our 5th Smartours and my rating is "good". The trip was exceptional. New Zealand was a wonderful revelation and Australia was fantastic. The tour group was close and friendly. The Tour Escort (note-not "guide") certainly got the group efficiently from place to place but was not a resident and therefore provided extremely little insight into the land, the people, the customs, culture, history or society. All this has been provided on previous tours and took my rating down a notch. The escort seemed to be a bit detached from the group and therefore made some of us feel as though we were a bit of a distraction rather than a focus. I urge Smartours to only use residents of the country as tour guides. We travel to learn about other places and cultures and, in my opinion, this was not provided in this instance
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Amazing trip. Everything was organized and thought out. Only downfalls were staying in Dunedin and our tour guide should have been a native Australian. The bus driver in New Zealand was knowledagble about everywhere we went including history and current events. We missed out is Australia not having someone who was extremely familiar with where we visited and knowing the local culture.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago