smarTours Reviews

4.39 Rating 1,217 Reviews
85 %
of reviewers recommend smarTours
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
3.92 out of 5
Read smarTours Reviews

About smarTours:

smarTours is a leading provider of direct-to-consumer, affordable travel experiences to exotic global destinations. The Company offers travelers curated, pre-packaged itineraries to over 40 destinations across the globe. By offering tours directly to consumers, the Company provides premium-quality experiences at value prices, and as a result, has cultivated a highly passionate and loyal community of repeat travelers. More than 200,000 travelers have taken a smarTours trip since the founding of the Company in 1996. smarTours is… the smarter way to see the world.

Phone:

800-337-7773

Email:

info@smartours.com

Location:

545 Eighth Ave. Suite 2250
New York, NY 10018

Write Your review

Tell us how smarTours made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
We thought that the tour was minimalistic. We enjoyed the provided free time but the tour guide provided very little information at destination, especially Barcelona and Madrid. He only provided a very cheap and poor map of the city. We used the metro and figured out how to get around on foot using our own tour book but expected much better guidance, direction and insight while in Barcelona from our "guide". He basically dropped us off in the city and not much more. We have traveled to Barcelona in the past and understand how pick pockets work the streets and hotel lobbies. I warned others in our group, especially about the later. Out guide didn't warn about the lobby and of course, one person lost their wallet, passport, credit cards and all money on the departure day. The tour guide should have been far more outspoken and watchful. We thought the guide overall was inexperienced, and while friendly was of very little help for people like us that like to roam and explore on our own. The trip spent too much time in the bus; less travel time with more time at destinations would greatly improve this tour. Location of the hotels, excluding Madrid should be more centrally located. Many local guides, especially the woman in Madrid, spoke very poor English. We believe that several tours that we took with SmarTours in the past (around the late 1900s and early 2000s) were of much better quality. By contrast, we would not recommend this tour to others: a very poor value/dollar experience. We will be reluctant to take another SmarTour in the future because of this tour experience. Perhaps other tours offered by this company provide a better quality experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Ah-med, our guide was excellent in knowledge, organization, safety, and fun.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
several issues I will write to smarTours direct. No suitcase delivery to our rooms in New Zealand. No reimbursement for the Queenstown by night with Skyline Dinner - $68 US or $95 NZ. Walking to this place in the rain when other groups had been bussed. Sydney day cruise was substituted for a lesser trip -.. $40 US or $45 A to 39 A. Overall the trip was great, the tour guides were very informative. Mark was especially helpful to us. I would like feedback on this survey.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Bonnie Backer was an amazing tour director! Caring, interested, passionate, extremely knowledgeable and considerate. The best we ever had! The tour was wonderful. Would recommend it highly!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Great value. We stayed at nice hotels and our tour guide was very knowledgeable about all the countries we visited.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
You didn’t take in account the age group of people who can take these kind of trips. Being on overnight flights most can’t sleep on a plane and as soon as we get some place like Sydney we went right into the tour!! We were all delirious and felt yucky! I have a lot of friends who asked me about this tour. I told them it was push push push with not enough time to relax and the layovers at the airports were ridiculous!! In Fiji the food was gross and we were lied to by the tour director. He changed our last meal together because IT WAS GOING TO BE BETTER. IT WAS GOING TO BE A SEAFOOD BUFFET! No it wasn’t!! No seafood whatsoever except a few little scraps of some fish!! I didn’t like that tour director at all. He set up everything according to HIS CONVENIENCE!! It was OUR TRIP! WE PAYED FOR THIS TRIP!! I will not be taking a smart tour again unless you present me with a deal I can’t refuse!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
This was our 11th trip with Smartours. Overall the quality of this trip was less good in the past. Despite the high cost there were few included meals and tours. Optional tours were offered but expensive. Further, especially in Sydney there were too many options as to time and date so making it difficult for the tour leader to coordinate. In Australia, since we flew between cities, there was little time informing us about the country, if you elected not to go on the optional tours. As usual the descriptions of the tours was somewhat unrealistic, raising expectations which could not be expected to be fulfilled - most animals function best at dusk or at night, so one cannot expect to see them during a morning tour. Although interesting the "Farm stay" in Fairlie, NZ was simply a bed & breakfast, the hosts once owned a farm, but now simply live in a house with no animals around. Your choice was probably based on cost, but the outward journey was very long - several hours were added by having to fly through Sydney to get to Auckland. This was in addition to a 15 hour flight LAX-Syd. and our connecting flight from the east coast. We were en route for 42 hours! Of the hotels, that in Melbourne was the weakest, including limited internet which functioned very poorly. Welcome and farewell dinners very OK at best. One had the impression both restaurants just wanted us to eat and get out. Food was scanty.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Professional and knowledgable tor guide. Have used smartours in past and will use in future
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Was not prepared for this type of trip. Our own fault, but some clarity from SmarTours would have been helpful. Glad we took advantage of the opportunity, and from what we heard, SmarTours was probably the best option we could have found for an excursion to the Antarctica.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I love it,i enjoy it.Everything was well.Thanks smarTours.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
A traveler gets a lot for their money
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The trip to Jordan was exceptional. There was a range of experiences from exploring Petra to riding through the Wadi Rum desert, visiting Roman Ruins and Biblical sites, as well as a swim in the Dead Sea. The guide was amazing and the hotels were good.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
This was our second trip with smarTours. First one was to India. Great itinerary and EXCELLENT tour guide. We did not like that some of the "optional excursions", which were so important, were not just included as part of the package. Also, the tipping of the local guides and drivers gets annoying and expensive.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Your tour group demonstrates excellent service at all times
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We recently completed at round-the-world tour and found the hotel, flights, and local guides to be good; however, two of the guides were not very good (one was alternatively rushing and delaying us and one was not informative); some of the excursions were a waste of time (e.g., shopping in Cairo and a river trip in Bangkok); and the stop in Fiji was not worth the time due to the lack of things to do, the location of the hotel, and limited helpfulness of the guide.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
It was well-organized, top-rated hotels and meals, and the best tour we have ever taken! Terrific tour guide in Patrick (Ireland)! I highly recommend it!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We took the Enchanting Peru tour with Tour Director, Mr. Enrique Virto, and it was such a fantastic experience!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Our guide Ron was extremely well informed. The hotels were excellent and the buffets were very good
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
great overview of Japan from big cities to hiitoric country towns
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Pre departure information lacked details regarding flights and CORRECT luggage information despite many attempts to obtain information from you. Including tour guide during Hurtigruten cruise portion of trip was unnecessary. This is not a complaint against our tour guide Albano as he was overall excellent.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
smarTours is rated 4.39 based on 1,217 reviews