smarTours Reviews

4.38 Rating 960 Reviews
84% of reviewers recommend smarTours

About smarTours: smarTours is a leading provider of direct-to-consumer, affordable travel experiences to exotic global destinations. The Company offers travelers curated, pre-packaged itineraries to over 40 destinations across the globe. By offering tours directly to consumers, the Company provides premium-quality experiences at value prices, and as a result, has cultivated a highly passionate and loyal community of repeat travelers. More than 200,000 travelers have taken a smarTours trip since the founding of the Company in 1996. smarTours is… the smarter way to see the world.

Phone:
800-337-7773

Email:
info@smartours.com

Location:
545 Eighth Ave. Suite 2250
New York, NY 10018

Are you a business owner?
Click Here

Write Your review

Tell us how smarTours made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email
queries resolved in
Under an hour
1
Asha
"Trip to Greece was very well organized but I would like to comment on certain issues:- 1) Trip to Santorini should have been at least for 10-12 hrs at the island . We got hardly 3-4 hrs at the Oía village which is world famous. 2) There should be provisions of Coffee machines in the Hotels . It was not there in most of the Hotels —- Hotel Royal Olympic in Athens is one example. Everything else was fine ."
Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
5
Michael
"Excellent guide. Small group of 18. Many included meals. Not enough time in Finland."
Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Terrific tour, well organized, knowledgeable guides, great hotels, the best"
Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Pollman tours rep, Francis did not act as a worthy representative, was confused, not organized,had not done his homework .Did not get the group to meet each other before going on the safari. One of the Driver / Guide Evans did it on the last day!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"excellent tour director .Romina is a gem who is helpful knowledgeable and friendly"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"It was well planned and the Guides were both fantastic. We had an issue with a name having two letters mixed up and the office in the US was very helpful with getting it fixed."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"We enjoyed the Cuba Up Close tour to Havana, Ceinfegua and Trinidad, Sept 1-Sept 8,2019. Julie, the tour guide, Americal and Mr Jose were awesome and attentive. The Smartour daily schedule was quite full and we wished there could have been more down time for the markets/shopping, one early evening drop off or one late morning pickup. The restaurants menus were very good, lots of stairs two - four levels up. Overall a good tour that could have been better with minor adjustments to to the daily schedule. Thanks for the two bottles of water daily."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"We had a great time on our trip to Bangkok, Singapore, Bali, and Hong Kong. BUT we were disappointed with the hotel in Singapore. The hotel in Singapore was not as nice as the other hotels. The rooms were outdated and the beds were very small. The rooms needed to be renovated, it was not the standard that we normally expect OR have with smartours. The lobby of the hotel had been renovated, but the rooms were not. We would recommend finding another hotel. We use smartours over and over again because we know that the standard will be high. But in the case of the Singapore hotel room, we were very disappointed with the outdated room. Thank you! James and Barbara Boney"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"The hotel in Fiji had alot of ants in it. That is not acceptable. The tour guide was hard to communicate with. The rest of the tour was good. I loved Cairo and our tour guide was excellent the same with Sydney."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Tour on the whole was good. Tour guide was good, very sweet. Problems - I filled out a food preference form and sent it in before the trip. There was a welcome dinner where my husband and I could only eat salad because Yuko had not received the form, and the hotel could not make anything else. At another dinner, we did not receive sushi even though we listed the type of fish we could eat. On other tours, hotels were able to come up with last minute meals if we could not eat the provided food. There should be some optional night activities. I would have liked to experience a tea ceremony. Weather was very hot when we were there, and we were only given a bottle of water if we had a full day tour. Water doesn't cost that much and it would have been nice to have water every day. Everyone on the tour shared this opinion. I enjoyed the optional Nikko tour - one of the best optional tours I've ever taken. The stop to make postcards was fun. It also gave us a chance to buy reasonably priced souvenirs and gifts."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"The time I expended with smart tour was great except the 2 days scheduled to Suzdal, I feel that there was no need to go outside Moscow 5 hours in the middle of not where, when in Moscow is so mach to do, I really feel that with those days we can took more of the trip and be less tier."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"i JUST wrote a review of you and sent it in. You then wrote me asking me to give me all sorts of documentation of who I was. I dod not keep numbers and old mail. If you want me to travel with you again, accept what I wrote to you. You surely have my name, because you obviously keep sending me brochures. Why would I write a review otherwise."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"there was no choice of seat selections in United Airline. I and my wife separated seats in the middle of 3 seats row. I am considering this problem in the next tour."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"It was a nice tour but i think it focused too much on touring churches and ruins as opposed to seeing more of the landscape - if the tour had done a fifty fifty split on this it would have been a better tour"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"The tour was excellent in South Africa, went left in Zimbabwe. Clients should be told upfront that part of the tour is independent."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Had a good time but felt we didn’t have enough time in Singapore & Hong Kong. All the flights & travelling took a lot of our time. Would have liked to stay longer at the above mentioned countries even if it cost a bit more. Wish we had better tours instead of a lot of temples. On our free days we toured around & saw more on our own like the Big Buddha, & beautiful views from the cable car in Hong Kong. The Infinity pool & roof top bar in Singapore. The sky walk & moon bar in Bangkok, where the city views are incredible... Our Hotel in Singapore & Hong Kong could have been better. Breakfast at hotels were very good. It was nice to get bottled water on tour buses in Bangkok & Bali. We had to buy bottled water on tour buses in Singapore & Hong Kong which I felt should have been supplied. It’s not about the money, it just felt they were very cheap & not as hospitable as the other 2 countries. All tour guides were good but Susie was amazing in Bangkok & Sugi was incredible & went above & beyond in Bali. Sugi really impressed us & I knew he loved what he was doing & he wanted us to have the best experience in Bali. He is very friendly, knowledgeable & made the tours very enjoyable. He never once mentioned about tips unlike some of the other tour guides. We know what the guide lines are about tipping & do not like to be constantly reminded of it. Over all it was a good trip..."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I had some problems with my trip to Eastern Europe. I do not think we were given enought information. We flew to Warsaw, but no information had told us that we did not have to go through any sort of passport control, so we pretty much found each other, and then I found our guide waiting at another exit door ( which we would have taken if we had known we could avoid red tape). I also had a problem with Prague. If there was ever a city that one would love to walk out of their hotel and explore, it would be Prague. But we are way out in the boonies in an area that was devoid of good restaurant or anything of interest to a sight seer. We also had a final dinner, the 10 of us alone in the breakfast room of the hotel, with our guide and driver sitting as far from us as possible. It was dreary for a last night dinner and the food was horrible. I took only 2 bites before I sent it back. Our last night's dinner should be at a festive place not in a deserted cafeteria. Otherwise I enjoyed the trip."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"We visited several eastern European cities and also traveled through the countryside. I learned a lot about the history and culture of this part of the world. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, attentive and responsible. The bus driver, was also an excellent driver."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Over all it was very enjoyable trip. Services are the best. Our tour leader Mark ( Ma) is excellent, he worked very hard to provide us safe, fun,educational, relaxing trip. He did a great job indeed. Our tour group is the best, courteous and caring. Hotels are very good. I also enjoyed entertainment program. Food can be better though."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Kei and I went to China with her two sisters and had a wonderful time. Smartours were quite complete and provided wonderful guides, hotels and more. The only complaint I had was the requirement that the carry-on had to be no more than 8"x10"x18" as 'required by China'. That was NOT the case and caused me some grief. That said I would certainly use Smartours again. As for me, Kei, the tour was as good or maybe better then I anticipated. Our primary tour guide, Oscar, was very considerate of all our needs, very patient, making sure we understood the protocols and behaviors of the country, as well as well versed in the histories of areas visited. The local guides were equally informative, and I found the Shanghai/Souzhou guide, Claire, very charming. I was happy to be able to keep up with the pace although I don't recall in the pre-trip information any mention of the distances we might be walking on often uneven surfaces. Maybe I missed it. All in all I grade the trip an A, for information, weather, travel arrangements, accommodations, meals."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"We really enjoyed the tour but would have liked more free time to explore when we docked. The ship needed to provide a smoke free outdoor space on the deck. The food was good but it would have been nice to have a menu that correspond to where we were sailing."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"My first complaint is that my wife and I were not seated together on the plane even though we registered and paid well in advance. The group we traveled with all registered roughly at the same time and were all scattered, including other husbands and wives. I would think when a group registers for a trip they should be in close proximity at least. Our tour director was pretty good but on other tours we've taken out of the country, we had a director with us at all times. on the last day, we were supposed to have a box breakfast since we were leaving so early. that did not happen. that was not acceptable since that was supposed to be a part of the package."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"The trip was extensive; probably a little too much to grasp all the beauty of Scandinavian countries in such a short time. It was a tasting, not an in- depth exploration of an area. But, for what it was, it was done well."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
smarTours is rated 4.38 based on 960 reviews