smarTours Reviews

4.39 Rating 1,218 Reviews
85 %
of reviewers recommend smarTours
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
3.92 out of 5
Read smarTours Reviews

About smarTours:

smarTours is a leading provider of direct-to-consumer, affordable travel experiences to exotic global destinations. The Company offers travelers curated, pre-packaged itineraries to over 40 destinations across the globe. By offering tours directly to consumers, the Company provides premium-quality experiences at value prices, and as a result, has cultivated a highly passionate and loyal community of repeat travelers. More than 200,000 travelers have taken a smarTours trip since the founding of the Company in 1996. smarTours is… the smarter way to see the world.

Phone:

800-337-7773

Email:

info@smartours.com

Location:

545 Eighth Ave. Suite 2250
New York, NY 10018

Write Your review

Tell us how smarTours made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
several issues I will write to smarTours direct. No suitcase delivery to our rooms in New Zealand. No reimbursement for the Queenstown by night with Skyline Dinner - $68 US or $95 NZ. Walking to this place in the rain when other groups had been bussed. Sydney day cruise was substituted for a lesser trip -.. $40 US or $45 A to 39 A. Overall the trip was great, the tour guides were very informative. Mark was especially helpful to us. I would like feedback on this survey.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
A traveler gets a lot for their money
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
This was our second trip with smarTours. First one was to India. Great itinerary and EXCELLENT tour guide. We did not like that some of the "optional excursions", which were so important, were not just included as part of the package. Also, the tipping of the local guides and drivers gets annoying and expensive.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We recently completed at round-the-world tour and found the hotel, flights, and local guides to be good; however, two of the guides were not very good (one was alternatively rushing and delaying us and one was not informative); some of the excursions were a waste of time (e.g., shopping in Cairo and a river trip in Bangkok); and the stop in Fiji was not worth the time due to the lack of things to do, the location of the hotel, and limited helpfulness of the guide.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Pre departure information lacked details regarding flights and CORRECT luggage information despite many attempts to obtain information from you. Including tour guide during Hurtigruten cruise portion of trip was unnecessary. This is not a complaint against our tour guide Albano as he was overall excellent.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Some pre-trip information was lacking. My family members used a different travel company for this trip and received their information in a much more timely fashion. We appreciated and valued Albano during the city and cruise components of the trip, but the need for someone full-time on cruise may be too much, especially with such a small group.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I enjoyed the tour. I thought the tour guide was first rate. I was a bit disappointed in the lack of meals, as well as the additional "optional" tours.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Office very unhelpful. Everyone got name tag except me.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
1) we did not have assigned sits for all flights until we checked in at Airports. 2) When we arrived to the hotel in Bali - Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa Hotel the rooms were not ready. We wait about 2 hours to get the room.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Patricia was our guide. She was incredible. While on the buses she would talk about local culture, history and sites. Help us when we went off by ourselves on free times. One of our local guides in Rome was an art historian. Her love of the art she was showing us was obvious. Made the experience so much more enjoyable. Only complaint is inability getting itinerary sooner that 2 weeks before leaving. Having it would have helped in planning free time.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
For the most part this was a successful tour. However, I would have liked slightly better hotels and less free time. Most other tours that we saw gave out hats, bags, or other items with their logo. I would have liked something, and it's good advertising for the company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
As always, the hotels and the guides were fantastic. The group was interesting, diverse and fun. Columbia itself presented some challenges- the rain, the difficulty getting from one site to some others. Some of us felt that we spent too much time in the coffee region and too little in Medellin. Also too little planned activity in the evenings.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The Croatia and Slovenia Itinerary was basically good and overall I enjoyed the trip (Could skip the caves and stay in Lubijana instead of the coastal resort) The tour guide was efficient, but unengaged. Bus driver was great. The primary issue I had with the tour were too many sights crammed in and the meals. There were no included dinners that were not in a hotel. The optional cruise with dinner was inferior and was the most expensive. The last night's dinner was listed on the itinerary as being at a famous Dubrovnik restaurant. Not only was it at the hotel, it was inferior to every other meal we had (white bread, canned green beans etc.) Left a bad taste. Would rather have no dinner than a misrepresented bad dinner. I would definitely pay a little more for a more authentic experience with some included meals not in hotel. Not sure if I will use Smartours again because of the last night's insulting dinner.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Guide was knowledgeable, but could have been more attentive to the special needs e.g.dietary , difficult terrain, etc. of members of the group, me included. Trip was well organized and comprehensive.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Overall, I really enjoyed the tour. My guide, "Bonita", was fantastic! Very knowledgeable and very passionate about her adopted country. Local guides were also good. Most hotels were very nice, esp one in Delhi. One in Jaipur, not as nice. Enjoyed dinner with local family. Some of the logistics were difficult. Smartours should work on transfers as some flight times made the travel more difficult. The other negative would be that there were 2 couples traveling together in our group who were loud, rude, and obnoxious. They made it difficult to hear our guide as they were always talking amongst themselves while she was trying to speak. They demanded to be catered to without regard to other guests needs and wishes. It would have been more enjoyable if this foursome had not been on the tour. I would recommend SmarTours to my friends.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Our guide Sherrie was the best. She was very knowledgeable about ancient and near history. Not only a very smart lady but caring, one of our party suffered a stroke and I don’t know how we would have made it without her. The only criticism I have is too many very , very early wakeup calls. 4 am wake ups or earlier is ridiculous. I’m on vacation.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Excellent overall guide director. Baggage transfers between planes needs a lot of work. Walking was a little long, need more transportation. Overall very good tour will consider for other outings.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
good value for the money however food was awful most hotels ok-we had taken the upgrades tour director excellent 4 day river cruise- not acceptable rooms full of mold and dirty food awful
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
My trip to the amazing Thailand was nice my tour guide was wonderful very knowledgeable the only complaint I had was the hotel resorts were not he best out of the 5 we stayed at I only really cared for 2 ... that need to change all hotel resorts should be 5 star nothing less
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The weather was not the best but the country of Iceland and its people were very special and gracious. We did so many things. I might only have wished for more history of the Vikings. Enjoyed our guide. Thanks again. Mary Starke
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
smarTours is rated 4.39 based on 1,218 reviews