smarTours Reviews

4.38 Rating 960 Reviews
84% of reviewers recommend smarTours

About smarTours: smarTours is a leading provider of direct-to-consumer, affordable travel experiences to exotic global destinations. The Company offers travelers curated, pre-packaged itineraries to over 40 destinations across the globe. By offering tours directly to consumers, the Company provides premium-quality experiences at value prices, and as a result, has cultivated a highly passionate and loyal community of repeat travelers. More than 200,000 travelers have taken a smarTours trip since the founding of the Company in 1996. smarTours is… the smarter way to see the world.

Phone:
800-337-7773

Email:
info@smartours.com

Location:
545 Eighth Ave. Suite 2250
New York, NY 10018

Are you a business owner?
Click Here

Write Your review

Tell us how smarTours made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email
queries resolved in
Under an hour
1
Asha
"Trip to Greece was very well organized but I would like to comment on certain issues:- 1) Trip to Santorini should have been at least for 10-12 hrs at the island . We got hardly 3-4 hrs at the Oía village which is world famous. 2) There should be provisions of Coffee machines in the Hotels . It was not there in most of the Hotels —- Hotel Royal Olympic in Athens is one example. Everything else was fine ."
Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
5
Michael
"Excellent guide. Small group of 18. Many included meals. Not enough time in Finland."
Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Terrific tour, well organized, knowledgeable guides, great hotels, the best"
Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Air France cancelled.I think Smart Tours should have a prescence at the airport to facilitate our obtaining alternate flights.mMany of us weren't in any computers and had to fend for ourselves for hours to find another flight.The experience was lousy and anxiety inducing"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Tour was fine; hotels were mostly average (except for the Downtown Camper in Stockholm); tour guide was fine. Way too much free time, especially in locations where there were little or nothing to do."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Taking 3 planes to arrive in Berlin was exhausting. A flight from Boston not JFK would have been much better. I will pay closer attention to this in the future. Upon arrival at hotel we had about an hour to pull ourselves together for a walking tour of Berlin. It was too much on a travel day. Our guide Oliver was very nice and considerate of our needs and comfort. Always counting and checking on us Staying in only 3 hotels was very good. The cruise on the river was hot and crowded. The staff cranky. A death march back to the bus. Maybe over a mile walk in hot sun. Awful. !! Overall it’s a trip I learned a lot A pleasant group overall."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Smar mislead me in that you indicated a flight from Los Angles led me to assume a return to that city. However, the return flight first landed in San Francisco then on to LA. Had I know that, I would have scheduled my return flight to NYC from San Fran and saved myself a lot of time and arrived home at a reasonable hour rather than 5 am. I do not trust Smar. That info should have been made available to customers on booking."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"To much time on the bus, and Nick the guide was boring. Cardiff was not good. Loved the border Collie‘s And sheep. Loved Stonehenge. Bus driver was fantastic but the bus sucked."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Information prior to trip was not thorough and phone calls to Smartours were not returned. The person on the phone said, "I am only temporary and don't know that answer."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Customer service was lacking. Contact with customer after booking is virtually non-existent. The tour itself was good, guide was knowledgeable and attentive. Based on my experience, I would recommend this company as a basic, "you get what you pay for" type of company."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"If you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact me."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Tour was nice but we missed the first day due to flight cancellation. Claimed loss on insurance but after 2 months received nothing. Still waiting for info from Smartours for 2 months."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"We were given bad advice to not go to the airport when Swiss Air cancelled our flight. We were told the only flight available would depart the next day at 10pm which would have caused us to lose an entire day of our tour. We went to the airport anyway and got a flight out that same evening. We communicated our new arrival info to ST & still no airport pickup hotel transfer was made available. Had to pay out if pocket fir an expensive taxi and instead of being reimbursed we were told to make a claim with the insurance, as if we weren't adequately inconvenienced already. Apart from all of that. The tour was fine."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"We enjoyed the UK tour but felt that it was more expensive than it needed to be because almost everything the group did together was free or low on the cost scale. Our other tours had more bang for our buck!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Tour guide Johnathan often walked far ahead by himself and was frustrated by some group members slowness. Very unhelpful in helping us find things to do in free time. Often gave misinformation and talked about all the famous people he knew. Didn't know many group member names, even after weeks together. A trip is only as good as its guide, and he was not great."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"While our tour and tour director were great, several hotels were not air conditioned and the weather was the hottest recorded in Europe. American seniors should not be booked into hotels without AC."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"My tour guides were both excellent, caring, and engaged; both projected genuine enthusiasm about the sites, as well as interest in the vacationers on their tour. Both took extra steps to ensure (as much as possible) that everyone had a fulfilling tour. During the cruise portion of the tour, our tour guide went out of his way to make it possible for my family and I to see a site which we'd thought was included on the tour, but which wasn't (though he first ensured that we could do so without any danger of getting separated from the group). During the land tour, we had a highly knowledgeable and professional guide who took a personal interest in each member of the tour, and was able to answer far-ranging and sometimes obscure questions. (I was hesitant to answer this survey, because I generally do not respond when I'm specifically asked to give a positive review -- rather than an honest review -- but because I was so grateful for the effort our guides made, I decided to do so.)"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"The trip to Portugal was marred by a chaotic scene at Lisbon Airport where we arrived with no possibility of making our connecting flight, and with no personnel from SmarTours to assist or reassure us. While the trip was reasonably good, it was further dampened by the huge number of tourists we encountered wherever we went. This, of course, is not the fault of SmarTours. We did see some interesting scenery, and learned some history, but we never got the "foreign" flavor we had anticipated. The "farewell dinner" which took place at an obvious Lisbon "tourist trap" featured mediocre food and uninspired entertainment--again surrounded by a throng of tourists. The fact that we were left on our own for most meals meant that we did not get to enjoy the fabled Portuguese cuisine."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Too many flights./cities Wasted time 6 flights. Too long in Hong Kong. Tour guide in Singapore not helpful. Tour guide Hong Kong hard to understand Your guides Bangkok and Bali were good."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"This was our 7th trip with SmarTours. During five of those trips, we have had excellent guides. This trip to Scandinavia was not one of them. Jarle spoke softly and quickly, did not mention that the luggage would be removed from the bus and that it would was supposed to be brought to our room, kept changing times to meet, and didn't give us information about how to exchange money, nor teach of simple words such as "please, thank you, hello and goodbye" . He also dissuaded us from taking the optional tours, one of which I had planned to take. We will not be traveling with SmarTours again."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"My only complaint, was a difficulty with the language barrier. I was unable to grasp the accent by our tour guide. I thought It would get better as the tour went on, but it didn't so i missed most of what she said."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"The tour guide tried her best but needs more training on relating to passengers. The bus driver never got off the bus to help passengers. Too many churches. After reviewing Portugal, I realized there were things I would have like to have seen considering the amount of time we were on the bus. Also, the meal where the show took place was poor. On the positive side, the hotels were very good."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Tour director extended some of tours and we had very long days She is short walked fast and used her fold-up umbrella for us to follow Unfortunately she would take a turn and disappear in the crowd and the small umbrella was not visible There was too long between bathroom stops to and from Suzdal it was over five hrs to get there and she did not know buildings where our assigned rooms We had a map that was unclear and finally found an employee driving a golf cart around who showed us which of the seven buildings we were booked We had to take our checked luggage up the stairs in our bldg and one of the other tour travelers insisted on helping us up the stairs with the luggage Suzdal was very unique but not unique enough to take over ten hours round trip to ride. In Moscow tour director left meeting place with an inaccurate count and two women were left behind She didn't have anyone's cell numbers to call and we didn't have the listen of the other passenger's name The group finally realized which two women were not on the bus. She sent the local guide back to meeting place to find them. Neither the guide or traveler's knew what each other looked like"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
smarTours is rated 4.38 based on 960 reviews