Bluehost Reviews

1.4 Rating 20 Reviews
10 %
of reviewers recommend Bluehost
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Bluehost made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Terrible company, they continue to charge after cancelling, scammers
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Horrible, horrible experience. I have been paying for a website and it has been down. They blame word press and cannot tell me how long my business website has been down. Avoid this company at all cost. Beatrice Hair
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
FRAUD COMPANY! BLUEHOST CRASHED OUR WHOLE SYSTEM. DON'T USE THEM This email hosting service took down our website, crashed our computer system, corrupted our whole email account, and our in house IT department could not even fix the damage. We are now having to pay outside help to rebuild everything. Soon as they redirected the DNS server number. It crashed everything. They were very nice and refunded our money. But I would not use this company ever again. Sorry for the bad review bluehost. But you just cost us a ton of money and headaches. So you deserve the bad review. This hurt us very bad. UPDATE 6-28-2024. Their reply online to us is a lie. They only refunded 60% of the money, and kept about 40% of the money. We cancelled within 3 days after the DNS SERVER code was changed. They refused to do a refund no matter how many times we pleaded with them, hence the angry review you are reading. We lost 10 years worth of documents and were never able to get them back. Very shady company, obvious liars. Run away from this company!!! You will run the risk of having your website, and email crash. Then when you cancel. You will not get all your money back. I hate these people. I will be leaving bad reviews on every website I can find to help warn other business.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Awful. I am a web developer. I hosted most of my clients on Bluehost because of their initial low prices, but soon after I began migrating them all away due to poor technical support, poor products and shady business practices. They offer cheap prices to lure you in. After the first year the costs sky rocket, including $125 for an SSL certificate alone. Support is terrible and they deny refunds if the service has already renewed. They charge your card weeks before your services renew so unless you migrate away a month before your services renew you're stuck for a very expensive year
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Absolutely INFURIATED with BLUE HOST! There are SO MANY better hosting companies out there with actual customer service and fair practices! They charged my credit card without my permission after sending an expired order number. I haven't used their service for OVER 2 YEARS and had auto-renew turned OFF! Apparently, they claim auto-renew for domains is "separate" from hosting (a total scam tactic!). Customer service was USELESS! Zero empathy, zero care, just their stupid "company policy" excuse. WEEKS after I caught the charge, I showed them proof of the expired order number and my account clearly displaying expiration, but they hid behind their fine print to deny a refund. DON'T BE THEIR NEXT VICTIM! Take your business ANYWHERE ELSE! There are plenty of hosting sites that treat customers with RESPECT and HONESTY. These people only care about squeezing every penny out of you, not providing a good service. Here's what they kept repeating in their useless chat: "I understand your frustration, but our policy does not allow for refunds once the term starts. This policy applies to all customers to ensure fairness. I'm unable to make an exception in this case." Yeah, "fairness" for them means SCAMMING customers! Spread the word - AVOID BLUE HOST at all costs!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I recently purchased a hosting plan and domain through Bluehost's chat service. Unfortunately, the experience turned out to be incredibly frustrating due to an initial mistake and unresponsive customer support. The Wrong Start: During the chat, the agent made a typographical error while entering my email address, finalizing the purchase with an incorrect email. Recognizing the mistake, I immediately contacted chat support again, following the agent's instructions to request a correction. Five Days of Chat Hell: What followed was five days of utter disappointment. I spent a staggering 10 hours communicating with Bluehost's chat service, only to encounter repeated issues. The experience left me feeling frustrated and unheard. Uneducated and Unresponsive: The biggest problem with the chat support was the apparent lack of training and communication skills. Often, it felt like the chat agents weren't even reading my messages before responding. They provided generic replies that didn't address my specific issue of the incorrect email. $5 Down the Drain: Hoping for a more productive interaction, I decided to call customer service, incurring a $5 international call fee. Unfortunately, the phone experience wasn't much better. All the representatives offered were vague assurances that the issue would be "fixed soon." Overall: Bluehost's chat support proved to be a massive time sink and a source of frustration. The lack of knowledge and communication skills displayed by the agents was unacceptable. The phone support, while less time-consuming, offered no concrete solutions. Considering Alternatives: This experience has definitely cast a shadow on my perception of Bluehost's services. I'm now seriously considering migrating my hosting to a provider that prioritizes customer support and accuracy.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
maybe the worst customer service ever. 20 min to talk to someone. auto-renewed us for 3 years and the service stopped working after the 2nd month. Horrible!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Worst company ever. Takes forever to get through to customer service and when you do, they are useless. They wanted me to send a copy of my ID to unblock my account even though they have zero security systems in place to protect the client. Do not recommend!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
SLOWEST SERVER EVER. SERVER DOWN ALL THE TIME. BLUEHOST BRINGS NO VALUE TO OUR COMPANY WHAT SO EVER. THE WORST DECISION EVER MADE.
Bluehost 1 star review on 22nd April 2024
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Only interested in expensive, long-term contracts. Any concerns raised only attract hard sales for even more ineffective services. They’re lucky to have a rating of 1.8
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I am using bluehost for a year and this is by far the worse service provider, they have bots on name of support who will give you a scripted answer with interval of 3 minute in each message and will try to end the chat and call with same statement that your issue is resolved and will be impacted from 24 to 48 hours and so it will take more than a month without any solution then they will also charge your card and delete your accounts and block you
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Bluehost has grown so large by employing very low sign-up pricing with a huge increase in prices when it comes time to renew. At this point they have you and you are stuck with them, because it is quite difficult to change over to a new hosting company. It truly is a trap! Because of this Bluehost does not consider any specific customer as important or relevant. So, expect to be treated as just a number Bluehost has extremely poor customer service Bluehost has excessive telephone support wait times When you do get through the operator they have very limited access and cannot resolve serious problems so they create a ticket for escalated support The same is true for Bluehost Live Chat, who will ask you, exactly what you just asked them over and over again as if you are a 5 year old child, until you become infuriated. Eventually you will be given a support ticket for escalated support Escalated support can only be contacted via email and are not open on weekends. Response times are usually 2 to 3 days and are usually just a canned response. So, if it is urgent or mission critical Bluehost will not lift a finger to help you or take any notice of any damage they are doing to you. Bluehost does not care less about you or your business, only your credit card number If there is anything unusual such as an invalid Auth Code or EPP code, login issue, emails not being received, incorrect charges etc. it will literally take you months to have this resolved, if at all, because escalated support will just say the same thing over and over again no matter how many times you explain it to them If you complain about this they just close the ticket and you have to start all over again Recommendation: Do not use Bluehost. You will be overcharged, receive very poor service, and be treated very poorly
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I had been with Bluehost for over 3 years and just renewed service in Nov 2023. I then decided to upgrade so I could add a second website. I paid for an additional domain and upgrade. First, after I built out my new site and launched, they updated the temporary domain to the actual, my new site then disappeared from my account completely. Bluehost support could not resolve this issue, including multiple failed attempts at reinstalling WordPress, and multiple “escalations”. I decided to cancel the update and revert back to my original plan, requesting a refund for the additional charge. I very clearly stated that my main website should remain and please do not make any changes to it. Support acknowledged this. The next day I find that my primary website has also now disappeared from my Bluehost account. I immediately call and am told that my ENTIRE HOSTING PLAN WAS CANCELED. I was told that because this just happened, they would be able to restore my website. However, I would need to pay for a new hosting plan in order to get it back. (Causing an issue which deletes my website and then telling me I need to pay to get it back is called extortion. 100% unethical and illegal). I felt I had no choice, so on top of the renewal I just paid for, I paid for a new plan. I was told my site would be restored in 24-48 hours. Of course, this issue was “escalated” as well. Then a few days later I get an email telling me they need to verify my business and that I am the owner, In order to restore my website. The verification is RIGHT THERE ON MY BLUEHOST ACCOUNT. I own the domain, my credentials and account login never changed. Still, I send them both federal and state documents. My site is never restored. I experienced repeated assurances, guarantees, and escalations from Bluehost's support team without resolution. My website contained years of information, portfolios, and content that I worked tirelessly to build. I am a small business, my business is my source of income, it is my company, it is my job. Bluehost’s careless actions have resulted in a loss of thousands of dollars and information. I had backed up my website but did so through WordPress. It never once dawned on me that the biggest security risk and threat to my business would be Bluehost. There has been no attempt to correct this or provide reliable, honest, service. This entire issue should have and could have been resolved immediately. Bluehost is owned by Newfold Digital, which owns several hosting companies. Through research I found that most of those great recommendations for site hosting that names Bluehost are all bought and sponsored. I feel this information is critical because all current and future customers should be aware of the risks that Bluehost poses to a business. There are so many hosting companies out there, make a better decision than I did and stay away or get away from Bluehost.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Smooth to handle and robust I love designing videos, and I have a diploma in automobile mechanics and a business development story
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Down for 5days, the most frustrating experience dealing with their incompetent support!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Tricked my company with a ‘bait and Switch’ deal. We contacted blue host after being recommended by Wordpress as a preferred supplier. Got a quote to migrate our blog and then to host it. Once we paid... heard nothing from their migration team, then we were told migration could not be done after all, and we would have to do it ourselves. We had paid for their pro service and checked with the sales team all the stats before signing up from his link in the chat system. We feel totally scammed. Demanded a refund, but it looks like we will need to get our credit card company involved as they are just ignoring our emails. we are based in the UK. Don’t trust their sales staff or promises.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I was talking about my case with Mervyn Richard and he disconnected the chat. I am so angry and thus from now on I will intentionally not recommend people around me and my circle on the internet. Lying, time wasting, careless and very slow in response. Taking 2 + 4 days to get a backup file. First 2 days, they didn't create the ticket. I am glad there is a site like reviews.io because they disabled reviewing on their social pages since they are inefficient.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I have been a customer at Bluehost for almost a year and I would recommend them to anybody hardly need there support because everything seems some easy to configure every a high school student can do it. They are by far the best hosting company I know. God Bless the Company!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
I changed from hostgator to bluehost as it offered an attractive price. it is one of the worst decisions i ever made. it is slow. my latest problem with copying internal domains (simple enough) ended up with conflicting support advice which has not been resolved in now almost 30 hours
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Terrible company, our website got HACKED AND THEY TRIED TO CHARGE US £350 to sort out our problem.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Bluehost is rated 1.4 based on 20 reviews