Carphone Warehouse Reviews

1.59 Rating 1,533 Reviews
14 %
of reviewers recommend Carphone Warehouse
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
Greater than 36%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 85%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.32 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Read Carphone Warehouse Reviews

About Carphone Warehouse:

The Carphone Warehouse was founded in 1989 to bring mobile services to consumers. The market has always been complex and our aim from the very beginning has been to offer our customers simple, impartial advice while also offering outstanding value. As a result we have grown from a handful of stores operating exclusively in the UK selling mobile handsets and contracts, to a European-wide platform of over 1,500 stores in 10 countries, providing a wide range of mobile and residential telecoms services.

Visit Website

Phone:

0870 111 6565

Location:

The Carphone Warehouse, PO Box 375

Write Your review

Tell us how Carphone Warehouse made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Carphone Warehouse 1 star review on 2nd July 2020
Brian Gillbanks
More Photos & Videos
Carphone Warehouse 1 star review on 5th July 2017
Unsatisfactory treatment!!!
More Photos & Videos
Carphone Warehouse 1 star review on 2nd December 2016
Yeakub Kiani
More Photos & Videos
Carphone Warehouse 1 star review on 2nd December 2016
Yeakub Kiani
More Photos & Videos
Carphone Warehouse 1 star review on 18th November 2016
Sarah
More Photos & Videos
Carphone Warehouse 1 star review on 11th May 2016
Steve Maitland
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
If I could give 0 stars I would. Bought a phone with a fault. I.t department buggered up so my warranty replacement was delayed. 1month later still no word from them on replacing by this time I've lost business. It's now 2 months later. They picked up the damaged phone but it has been 2 weeks and no replacement thought I was told 3 to 5 days. I have lost thousands in business and clients and unable to contact my family who is high risk. NEVER BUY FROM THEM I'll be putting in claims for loss of earning or my business will close. Cheers guys. You're useless
Posted 5 days ago
Carphone warehouse sold me a phone contract with an iPhone XR in March 2019 on O2. As reported by O2 and Apple there was software issues with the phone and O2 so for 6 Months+ I was not able to use the data properly as it kept cutting out. Carphone warehouse kept passing me around and finally took the phone in for repair after more than 6 months. Shops and Customer service field to provide suitable compensation for the lost use of my phone and delaying the fix. I was still paying £50+ a month for the phone which I could not use fully and felt I should be due a small refund to compensate the additional I had to pay when I could not use the phone. Now they do not reply to my emails. They are useless and will never use again. Rubbish customer service as they send template answers and each email is from someone different so you have to keep explaining the problem.
Posted 1 week ago
Shocking service. Overcharged by £80 on an online order. Was told I'd have to wait 14-28 days for refund by way of 2 cheques? Whole month later nothing received. When I complained and said I wanted my refund immediately now, I was advised the cheques would be cancelled and I could now go into store for a refund to my credit card. Went to my nearest store in Torquay(10 miles away). An hour and quarter later because the assistant didn't know how to process the refund, I was promised, via a phone call to a manager in Exeter store, that I would receive a refund to my card within 3-5 working days. That time has now lapsed. 37 days and still counting for my money. Absolutely disgraceful. They were able to take my money immediately when paying for the phone. I keep being told my issue has been escalated. Presumably so busy with other complaints, escalation simply means slightly higher up a huge pile!
Posted 2 weeks ago
After returning an iPhone 11 still unboxed, I was told by customer service that they will refund the amount to me in 5 days, after 5 days noting…. Phoned again and was told they don’t do refunds directly into bank account and I will have to wait 28 days for a cheque.

After 28 days I received the cheque and deposited it into my account just to receive a message that the cheque has been cancelled by Carphone warehouse. Phoned customer service once again and was told “yes I can see its been cancelled you have the amount in store credit now”. I told the customer service agent I want my refund, and now for the second time I was told it will be paid in to my bank account in 5 days.

I have been waiting for my refund since 3 June 2020 when Carphone warehouse received the phone, it’s now 13 July 2020 still no refund. Customer service is an absolute joke and I would advise to stay far away from doing any business with this company. THIEVES.
Posted 3 weeks ago
We ordered a white iPhone for my daughter's 16th birthday and it came black. My husband called them and they advised him to return it. They ordered an exchange but sent a driver in the morning to collect the black phone. Two hours later another driver came with the white phone and refused to hand it over because there's no black phone to collect even though we gave him the receipt the other driver gave us. It was my daughter's birthday that day and she spent it waiting on the stairs. This was back on the 3rd of June. The 4th we called to track the delivery and were told that the phone went to Lincolnshire to be delivered from there (even though we're in London)! We spoke to CPW via live chat because they refused to deal with us on the phone. We ended up requesting a cancellation of the contract since they couldn't be bothered to specify another day for delivery. Later on, we had to cancel the insurance too and it wasn't easy. But when we thought it couldn't get any worse, ID started billing us and sending threatening notices. We got in touch with them and they said CPW didn't scan the item yet and didn't apply for cancellation. We called CPW over and over and each time they said they're sending an e-mail to their warehouse with an immediate effect and they promise to send us a confirmation with that but they never do. ID is threatening to send the bills to a third party company for debt collection if CPW didn't scan the item and closed the case even though they're virtually the same company and we have shown the evidence that the phone is in CPW's warehouse. They are, as my husband calls them; one big scam company. We usually never say never, but with CPW and ID, we don't care if they're the cheapest providers on earth, we'll never go for them ever again.
Posted 4 weeks ago
Beware when doing a phone upgrade via their website. It is possible to end up buying a new phone contract instead of doing an upgrade. During lockdown I had to use the website. Without understanding their invoice I didnt realise I had not upgraded my old phone. Normally i would go into the store for my upgrade. Their response was very matter of fact. You had 14 days to cancel. End of. No sense of feeling. No sense that there might be something wrong in their website map. Vodafone who are helping me out of this mess say this is quite a common problem. I am not the first person. No warning that I have left the 'updated part of their website. very very disappointed.
They seem more worried about their response times. Poor customer service.
I will not be renewing with them in 2 years time.
Posted 1 month ago
Worst company ever. Got a different phone, different memory capacity, different colour and a different network to what I agreed to by Mr Arman! All my details are in Pakistan and god knows what they will do with it. I just can't believe this is legal????
Posted 1 month ago
They sent me the wrong handset, refused to replace it with the correct one so I told them to cancel the upgrade. I went to a different provider and have now slapped me with an early termination fee with O2 of nearly £500. Bunch of thieves.
Posted 1 month ago
website said i was due an upgrade ... i looked at phones, put my details in and website said they had no phones available ! useless
Posted 2 months ago
I have!for Years Always used the shop at the Phoenix centre Paisley.... The staff are Amazing... So Helpful, know Exactly what they are talking about, Explain Everything to me.... I would Totally & Utterly RECOMMEND Them. Their are great Team. When the shop closes I will Miss there Helpful Advice & probably go elsewhere for my future upgrades & purchases on my family’s & myself’s IPhone, iPads, Watch’s and internet contracts..... Will be Very Very Sad to see the shop Close... 😔🙈🥺
Posted 2 months ago
3 contracts, tried 3 times to get better deal, 2 are up 1 has only 2 months left, i will cancel the lot thanks for a rubbish service
Posted 2 months ago
I got a new phone in January Nokia cost 129 pounds .Omg it is rubbish keeps cutting me off calls .Not funny can't go out .Had important calls half way it cuts me off .Can't take it back shop not open .Not allowed out sheading.All I have so can't do anything about it
Just rubbish .Very unimpressed .Think I will contact your head office !!!!
Posted 2 months ago
Thank God for the help I got from janerigger175 g m a I l c o m was able to access deleted texts and location recordings of my spouse's smartphone without his permission.
You can trust his services to avoid scams stories.
Posted 2 months ago
I took delivery of a new iPhone 11 on Friday 17th April on a 24 EE contract, the number was not live after set up, on Tuesday 21st April and after many webchats they admitted that the salesperson has not set account up properly which is why EE were saying number wasn’t live on their system , it is now Saturday 2nd May, the phone number is still not live despite being given 3 dates it would be after escalation and manual connection instruction , I’ve now been told they cannot give a date by which it will be connected but I can’t return the phone as it is past their 14 day return policy , which I will not be accepting as the phone has never worked so they have failed basic trades description act ,in addition to the 6th webchats I have had on this matter I have emailed customer complaints twice with no response , I have never know such poor service and clearly this company lacks the basic technical expertise to do the job , do not use Carphone Warehouse as you will regret it if there is a problem
Posted 3 months ago
Terrible.
Order and paid for a Sim free phone with no contract. On day of delivery carphone warehouse tell dpd not to deliver product, no reason given, now I’m 299 out of pocket and all the call centres are closed and emails go unanswered. Company is a con, bunch of robbers!! Avoid this sorry excuse of a company.
Posted 3 months ago
On 23 of MARCH I paid for phone with delivery to the store on 24th. Unforunately the stores are closed form 24. Now no money and no phone. You dont care about customers. This is ridicoulus!!!! On your website you offering next day delivery but you can not arrange any delivery to my home for which i paid!!!!!The seller and manager ensured that the store would be closed but the ordered goods would be issued with the door closed.  You are cheaters liar.
Posted 3 months ago
I am infuriated with this company! I have been with them for 10 years and am deeply disappointed and feel that I have been mugged by them ! I started a new contract and was offered a 100 pound voucher for Currys pc world. I went to currys in order to same money on Christmas presents to buy video games . Went I went to pay for the games , the lady said that the voucher was registered but that it had been blocked but assures me that if I paid and send the receipt detail to the customer service I would get my money back. So I paid for it , gave the presents to my goddaughter and contacted them. The first answer was , we cannot give you the money back but we will send you a new voucher . I i formed them that I did not need a new coucher but needed my money back as I had no intention of buying the games before the voucher. I emailed them and waited 1 month with no answer before contacting them again. They said that a voucher had been sent and that I would not have my money back . I repeated that I did not care about a new voucher and that the voucher never arrived anyway . I contacted them 5 times with the same answer and besides that a voucher that they kept having to send that I never received. I even had to go to the shop to check my identity . Now , I have contacted resolver .....4 months later . The customer service contacted me and guess what ..... Dear Sir , we have now sent you and Evoucher..n .. I DO NOT CARE ABOUT A NEW VOUCHER I WANT THE MONEY BACK THAT YOU HAVE STOLEN FROM ME ! I am utterly disgusted by this company and trust me ! I will keep claiming my money back because you owe me 92 pounds! This is just a disgrace . Once my contract is finished I want nothing to do with you , I have mentionned it to most of my friends who have had issues as well and none of us will do anything with them again! I just feel scammed . Do not trust this company !
Posted 3 months ago
Horrible company still have my money. summary of the events.
bought a Motorola g5 online,
waited a week did not arrive so rang up they said they did not have one in stock so will send out a different phone in its place. I clearly stated I did not want a different phone just the one I ordered. I get told that is all fine and that they will refund me.
Phone I did not want turns up (a twenty pound cheaper phone).
Call the company again, its on me to return it even though its their fault. (they will not refund until I have sent it off.
Go to a Carphone Warehouse store, they say they will take it but I still will not get a refund until they receive it at there warehouse...
Weeks pass nothing.
Go to the online chat who confirm my money has been sent by check and its the full amount for what I paid. They say its the full amount coming by CHEQUE what a joke.
Today the cheque finally turns up and its still not the full amount. will not be surprised if it bounces.
DO NOT BUY. AMAZON IS MILES BETTER AND EASIER.
Posted 4 months ago
My week old iPhone switched itself off and would not come on again. The local store agreed it was faulty but said it needed to go to CW in Curry’s. A friend had to take it in as I have 2 broken legs so I gave her all the details. They said they needed a code. I rang the number they had given my friend and after 10 mins it was answered saying I could consult the website and then went dead. I rang again and pressed button 2 - very helpful and passed me on to Customer Services - the line was terrible and I struggled to understand Rudy who didn’t appear to be able to help. He said there were problems with the IT system and to ring again later. I rang the “special”. number he had given me and it went dead having told me to go online again. I am absolutely livid. Having previously been impressed by CW Whenever I have dealt with them before I am appalled by their lack of customer service and also their lack of understanding of my personal situation and also the one the country is in at the moment. Never have I needed a mobile phone more! The phone is faulty - replace the damn thing and improve the customer service from your call centre.
Posted 4 months ago
I tried to return an item, but it was extremely hard to do. The staff did not want to work properly and were rude. Luckily, after several hours (!) of confusion, I returned the item. But I will never visit the store on Oxford street 4. Horrible service.
Posted 4 months ago
Carphone Warehouse is rated 1.59 based on 1,533 reviews