Carphone Warehouse Reviews

1.58 Rating 1,585 Reviews
14 %
of reviewers recommend Carphone Warehouse
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
Greater than 36%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 85%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.32 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Read Carphone Warehouse Reviews

About Carphone Warehouse:

The Carphone Warehouse was founded in 1989 to bring mobile services to consumers. The market has always been complex and our aim from the very beginning has been to offer our customers simple, impartial advice while also offering outstanding value. As a result we have grown from a handful of stores operating exclusively in the UK selling mobile handsets and contracts, to a European-wide platform of over 1,500 stores in 10 countries, providing a wide range of mobile and residential telecoms services.

Visit Website

Phone:

0870 111 6565

Location:

The Carphone Warehouse, PO Box 375

Write Your review

Tell us how Carphone Warehouse made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I just repaired my Samsung A71 coz do not read the Sim card and after 24 hours the same problem. They give me a list with what they done , but I think they lied to me, just clean the slot and factory reset and that's it. Now I go back and I ask for new phone ( aha I have even insurance) wish me luck.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 hours ago
Ordered a black Friday phone deal online. Got message asking for more details, then was told that only sim deal is available as failed on security check. My Experian credit check show a score of 999.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
I recieve almost daily calls from their… I recieve almost daily calls from their sales team. When I requested to speak to a manager the manager told me the only way they will stop is if I buy a phone. This is harassment
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Been receiving calls from carphone warehouse almost 3 times a day from some shoddy call centre! Even after requesting them not to call they keey calling from different numbers!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I purchased an IPhone 11 on line which arrived OK in time for my daughters birthday. However, we could not activate the phone, we thought it was the sim card and visited vodaphone, they advise me the sim card is not the problem its the handset. I then went to Carphone Warehouse where I purchased it on line who actually told me the phone was Black Listed and could not do anything about it and advise me to contact customer service. They advised me to contact another department who advise me they would send DPD to collect it, which they did not do. I then had to start the process again and found it extremely difficult to understand the pigeon english speak person. He then passed me onto South Africa, the lady also struggled to speak in english she told me she couldnt hear me but infact what she meant was she couldnt understand me. She left me holding on for a while when she came back to me I asked if I could take the phone to one of your branches for a refund which they said would OK. This has not gone down well with the branch and I am here now trying my best to get my refund without any luck. This phone was over £500, my daughter should have had a present last Saturday for her birthday. WHAT CAN I DO? will the Ombudsman help? If you cannot take it back due to it being Black listed, how come you can invoice it?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I purchased an IPhone 11 on line which arrived OK in time for my daughters birthday. However, we could not activate the phone, we thought it was the sim card and visited vodaphone, they advise me the sim card is not the problem its the handset. I then went to Carphone Warehouse where I purchased it on line who actually told me the phone was Black Listed and could not do anything about it and advise me to contact customer service. They advised me to contact another department who advise me they would send DPD to collect it, which they did not do. I then had to start the process again and found it extremely difficult to understand the pigeon english speak person. He then passed me onto South Africa, the lady also struggled to speak in english she told me she couldnt hear me but infact what she meant was she couldnt understand me. She left me holding on for a while when she came back to me I asked if I could take the phone to one of your branches for a refund which they said would OK. This has not gone down well with the branch and I am here now trying my best to get my refund without any luck. This phone was over £500, my daughter should have had a present last Saturday for her birthday. WHAT CAN I DO? will the Ombudsman help? If you cannot take it back due to it being Black listed, how come you can invoice it?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
terrible customer experience at a Carphone Warehouse store, trying to buy a phone. Not the fault of the shop assistant at all but rather the tech support team and the archaic computer systems they use. The credit check came back clear but it wasn't letting the store assistant proceed with the sale due to a system error, the guy phoned tech support and we were both waiting for about 2 hours. So I look to buy a phone online. I just need to buy a phone as mine is broken, and you need a mobile number for delivery updates... they really didn't think that through, did they...
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Avoid buying a mobile phone from this company online at your peril I ordered a iPhone 11 online on the 11th of September the phone never arrived contacted customer services on 4/5 occasions and told they will hold an enquiry and I would receive a refund within 3 to 5-days still not received refund and I'm down £550 why should I have to wait while they hold a enquiry with the carrier, spoke to call center in India who struggle to understand you, told to go to local Curry's store still no refund, told me they would ring me one day at 13:00 no phone call, still no refund, rang customer services again spoke to supervisor she promised me I would receive a refund within, wait for it you guessed it 3 to 5 days, still waiting, who knows when I will get it. Next move might be a sit in at the local store think the press will enjoy that. Steer well clear of carphone warehouse or Curry's online or whatever there called.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Send 3 phones to them, been weeks and no money yet, also no phones back. Avoid this scam company
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I was referred to Carphones Warehouse, by iD mobile, to sort out a problem I had in getting my mobile phone to access an iD mobile SIM card. I cannot praise Kaan enough (Carphone Warehouse, Botley, Oxford) for the considerate and technically excellent treatment I received that resulted in a working mobile phone. Thank you (and Kaan) for such good service. Happy Days. Linda Ellett.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Rubbish company with contracts but was very impressed with the customer service at the curry's shop on fosse Park. They have an excellent team working there and kish was very helpful and friendly and help me get my phone sorted .thank you so much brilliant worker
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Rubbish company with contracts but was very impressed with the customer service at the curry's shop on fosse Park. They have an excellent team working there and kish was very helpful and friendly and help me get my phone sorted .thank you so much brilliant worker
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
VERY TERRIBLE SERVICE!!! My friend and I ordered Iphone 12 since Wed (21 Jul) - it said 1 day DELIVERY but till now nothing. I chose the collect at store method - But when I try to chase the customer service: (1) All phone number cannot reach and (2) chat service requires me tons of questions about my identity while i only need to know WHEN THE PHONE IS ARRIVE TO THE STORE so I can go and collect (Why it needs identity: Passport, ID, first-line billing, etc). Until now, No info on when I will receive the phone. This is unacceptable service.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Ordered any paid upfront instore. On collection the phone had been reduced £20. As I went instore I want entitled to refund, if I'd bought online to collect or over phone I would be entitled to the reduction. Unfair policy. Avoid and shop elsewhere.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Dodgy phone calls all the time from carphone warehouse. no reason to call me, Will be taking them to court for harassment if it carries on. I will also invoice them for my time wasted answering random calls from Asian people with western names !!!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Carphone warehouse have had my iPhone 11 now for 43 days, exceeding their promised max turnaround of 28 days for a repair. I think they have lost my phone as I keep getting promises of escalation and turn around and that someone will phone me back to resolve the issue within varying 24 and 48 hours. I’m not holding my breath after the 5th call. I think they have lost it. I am unable to complain, speak to a manager, get anyone to help other than saying sorry and making false promises and giving me trading standards number like they do it every day. It didn’t help and I think they know that. It doesn’t bode well. I just want my £800 property returned to me but can’t seem to get a resolution to the issue. If you are after a company where you just need to put up with the service that they deliver then by all means got to Carphone Warehouse for your mobile phone insurance however, if you are like most people and would struggle to be without your phone for more than 1 day ( never mind 43 days and counting) then I suggest you get insurance with another provider. They are shockingly bad.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I generally don't write reviews but I am so frustrated and disappointed at the service I have received from both Samsung and Carphone Warehouse I feel compelled to write this summary of my recent experience. Who knew.... you can buy a Samsung phone from Carphone Warehouse, that is still in its warranty period and they are under no obligation to get it working! Unbelievable I know, but true! My Samsung A40 has an intermittent problem that means it turns itself off for days at a time and nothing can be done to turn it back on, a 'soft reset' occasionally works but generally it is dead, only to spring back to life at some point several days later. It has now been back to Samsung and Carphone warehouse 3 times; it is there at the moment, being repaired for a 4th time. Each time it comes back, after a few hours or sometimes days the problem reappears, it is thoroughly unusable, I have spent to many hours trying to transfer data between this and an old phone and have lost numerous text messages and call log data over the last couple of months. I was under the misapprehension that after the 3rd effort at a repair they would simply give me a refund or just give a new phone that worked... but alas no. I was told by the Curry’s Branch Manager at 'Curry’s Carphone Warehouse' in High Wycombe that I would have to keep sending it back for repair until they repaired it correctly. So I ask him what would happen if they were never able to repair the phone?... in around 6 months my warranty would run out, what would happen then? I was told that I should have taken out insurance, because after the warranty runs out they would not repair it! Just so you fully understand, that means that although my phone wouldn't have been worked for around 9 months, the majority of which time it would have been with the repairers, once my warranty runs out there is nothing I can do... they are under no obligation to actually get my phone working, just go through the process of trying to repair it until my warranty runs out and then there is nothing more than I can do. I am staggered, amazing, shocked, frustrated that this is allowed to happen. What is a warranty actually for? As far as Samsung and Carphone Warehouse are concerned, it means - we don't need to actually get your phone working just go through the steps of trying to repair it until the Warranty runs out', then is nothing the customer can do. Shocking poor service, both Carphone Warehouse and Samsung hold your heads in shame.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
We had excellent service from Car Phone Warehouse, when we bought an iPhone 7 a number of years back, before they were absorbed by Curries. We returned to buy 2 iPhone 12’s on May the 14th because of the previous good service. SERIOUS MISTAKE. After being promised they could set it up in store, transferring data from the old phone, apparently their internet is so slow it’s impossible, the assistant (rather an inappropriate description) seemed incapable of sorting it out and seems to have locked one of the phones so we are going to have go to an apple store to sort it out. The other we managed to sort out at home. Well never again. We would have been better off buying them on line and sorting it out ourselves.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Absolutely appalling service beyond belief. This is the FIRST and LAST time i'll ever use Carphone Warehouse. I've ordered an IPhone 12 sim free (£800), the money was accepted and received, the order was processed and due to be delivered. 2 Days after the expected delivery date i had not heard anything so i contacted them via online chat, to be told my order has been cancelled and i need to contact them to find out why... So i then email them with all my information, to then receive an email explaining they need my billing address to be able to help with my query (although my address was clearly stated), i then hadn't heard back so i decided to call them. I spoke to a very blunt member of staff (Ulanda) who wouldn't say anything more than "sorry you've failed an internal security check" and apparently no supervisors are available to help. I tried to get clarity as to what's happened as this is the first time using their service all i've done is gone onto their website, paid in full for a product, received confirmation that the order has been processed await for a dispatch notice, then not heard anything.. once again all she could tell me was i've failed an internal security check... 0 Customer Service, not even the slightest bit of understanding as to where i was coming from. I can not believe a company as big as this is able to exist, how and why would you completely refuse right of service to a first time customer who's paid in full via card...Utterly Shocking.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Ridiculous amount of cold calling for the last three years (3 + times a week) and every time I ask them to remove me from the calling list and then block the number I used them once three years ago and like a fungus I just can't get rid of them. NEVER USE THEM FOR ANYTHING!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Carphone Warehouse is rated 1.58 based on 1,585 reviews