Corte Clean Composite Deck Cleaner Reviews

4.80 Rating 540 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend Corte Clean Composite Deck Cleaner
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Read Corte Clean Composite Deck Cleaner Reviews

About Corte Clean Composite Deck Cleaner:

DISCATISFIED CORTE-CLEAN® CUSTOMERS (anything less than a 5 Star Review)!

PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING A NEGATIVE REVIEW!!!

Please immediately contact Corte LLC if you are not satisfied with our proven product, which has existed for over a decade, with so many positive reviews & re-peat customers. We are a small, 1 product, family run, American made business. We will do our best to help you, as we are EXPERTS in composites & keeping them clean.

We wish to help! (415) 924-9500 X 1
Please leave a message if we fail to answer the phone.
We will call you back ASAP!

We want to make sure you not only get your composites THOROUGHLY CLEAN, we want to make sure you understand how to generally SPEND LESS TIME & MONEY, in the future, keeping composites clean. Corte-Clean® is proven to do this when used "at least twice yearly, spring & fall, or when stains appear" at the "routine cleaning" reduced "up to" 1/2 strength. If mold stains are returning, you are waiting too long to proactively Corte-Clean®, and likely wasting more time, labor and money than necessary! See how little Corte-Clean® can be proactively used to save. THis has the added benefit of being more ECO Responsible!

Corte-Clean® is the most recommended solution for deep cleaning Composite Deck, Dock & Fence of all common stains, NOT JUST those caused by MOLDS. Say goodbye to mold & mildew stains, black spots, grease, oil, rust and more with out the need to expensively purchase and laboriously use multiple non-compatible poisonous and/or corrosive to structural metal cleaning chemicals, especially those that contain oxalic acid or sodium hypochlorite, the active biocide in chlorine bleach which OSHA DOES NOT RECOMMEND FOR MOLD & science by Oregon State University has proven to be ineffective from the wood of which most composites are partially made. Don't be another sucker for "The Chlorine Bleach SCAM"!!!

Visit Website

Phone:

(415) 924-9502

Email:

info@compositedeckcleaner.com

Write Your review

Tell us how Corte Clean Composite Deck Cleaner made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Corte Clean Composite Deck Cleaner 1 star review on 26th May 2020
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Corte Clean Composite Deck Cleaner 1 star review on 26th May 2020
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Corte Clean Composite Deck Cleaner 5 star review on 24th July 2019
L Fuentes
More Photos & Videos
Corte Clean Composite Deck Cleaner 5 star review on 24th July 2019
L Fuentes
More Photos & Videos
Corte Clean Composite Deck Cleaner 5 star review on 24th July 2019
L Fuentes
More Photos & Videos
Corte Clean Composite Deck Cleaner 5 star review on 24th July 2019
L Fuentes
More Photos & Videos
Corte Clean Composite Deck Cleaner 5 star review on 15th July 2019
Alice Fink
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I have a trex deck in a new construction home with 2 dogs. The grass just got installed last year along with the deck. This year the deck was so muddy and dirty I thought it would never look like it did last year. I followed the instructions exactly as it was stated and the deck looks brand new. I cannot believe the difference. I did have to rinse it very well to get all of the white residue off. I wish I took a before picture. The results are amazing. I will continue to use the product year after year.
Posted 2 years ago
Thanks for the review on the newer PVC "CAPPED" Trex decking. Please call us. You win FREE Corte Clean.
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks for contacting us for your FREE CORTE CLEAN for this testimonial!
Posted 1 month ago
The longer the ugly "white" Corte Clean "residue" remains on composites, the deeper it cleans, the longer they generally remain clean. Rather than wasting water, time and/or labor rinsing it off "(use a brush if necessary)", it's best to use Corte Clean before it rains or snows & allow the natural moisture to thoroughly rinse.
Posted 2 weeks ago
I just finished cleaning our top deck. I might be too critical. It did a good job. I am just never completely satisfied. I thought I rinsed the deck very well. I had a few stops that I needed to rinse again.
Posted 2 weeks ago
As long as Corte Clean did a "good job"... It's always best to apply Corte Clean before natural moisture to generally thoroughly rinse. This generally eliminates the need to "rinse again". Please note: The longer the ugly white Corte Clean residue remains, the deeper it generally cleans, the longer composites generally remain clean, the less time, labor & money one generally spends on Corte Clean to keep composites clean when used "at least twice yearly, spring & fall, or when stains appear" at the reduced "routine cleaning" strength. Thanks for the testimonial.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Corte clean did a fantastic job cleaning my deck. Although I still had a few residual stains after cleaning, they were much lighter than they had been and overall the results were better than I had ever achieved in the past 15 years of owning the deck. My primary concern was black mildew stains that were almost completely eliminated. The mildew staining under my grill mat was so improved that I got rid of the mat. Grease stains were reduced but required other cleaners to get to my satisfaction. I wouldn't give Corte clean five stars for its cleaning ability and the great customer support I received. The reason I gave the product for stars was because there are a couple matters you need to keep in mind when using Corte clean. Corte clean insists that you follow the instructions carefully. This means af fair bit of prep work and also that you apply the product during the appropriate weather conditions. In my area, which is Maryland, having the necessary warm weather without rain, so it can be a challenge. so it's a waiting igame to be able to clean the deck. Also, application of the product is not as simple as spray and wash it off. It requires care where you put it down, protecting plants around the deck, and scrubbing the deck well while it's still wet. It will take time but the results will be worth it.
Posted 6 months ago
Thanks for the review! Once thoroughly Corte Cleaned, you likely have weathering issues caused by stains blocking the sun from evenly bleaching or fading your composite decking. Only the sun can weather these issues out, as Corte Clean isn't designed to bleach/fade beyond what occurs naturally by exposure to the sun, like other products. Color variations caused by items & stains blocking the sun is extremely common on a 15 year old composite deck where Corte Clean hasn't been used before. If the "black" mold "stains" (mildew looks silky white till it drys out and looks powdery white, therefore this likely isn't the problem staining your composites) & grease/oil stains weren't completely eliminated, you didn't completely Corte Clean your composite deck and must "repeat" the Corte Clean application process as stated on its label directions. Corte Clean is a cleaning chemical product and you MUST follow its label directions, or it will likely fail, especially when cleaning a 15 year old composite deck where other products have been previously used that can exacerbate cleaning problems, especially if they contain sodium hypochlorite. If your deck is a 15 year old mess, the "prep work" is incredibly important! You should be able to get it 85% to 95% clean with a brush & water alone, then let it "thoroughly dry", for several days to a week or more so the black mold stains can "thoroughly dry" (so they no longer look like a black oil drip). It is extremely important to have the "necessary warm weather" of 65F to 85F to allow composites to expand, the pours to open, grease & oil to solidify, so Corte Clean can clean those stains that are deep set or below the surface while cleaning the wood & recycled plastic from which most composites are made that can feed fungi. Corte Clean definitely "works best in direct sunlight" , especially to initially clean a "15 year" old composite deck that likely has exacerbated mold & grease/oil/etc. stains, which were likely exacerbated from the previous use of other products. One must "protect areas & items not intended to be cleaned." It is always a good idea to additionally protect any plants, shrubs and "Water plants before & after use." It sounds like you skipped the Corte Clean label direction where it states "Water magnifies stains. If stains are still visible, repeat application process. Composites that have tough stains, been neglected or previously cleaned other products and/or sealed may require several applications & additional Corte Clean" by using other products. Hopefully you did not skip the final Corte Clean label direction which states "When Corte Clean no longer becomes dirty or discolored, it can be diluted & allowed to dry on weathered composite surfaces. Corte Clean is designed to continue to clean any time it receives moisture. A white residue may remain until thoroughly rinsed (use a brush if necessary). Thoroughly rinse composite prior to using." The best way to thoroughly rinse is to allow the natural moisture from rain or snow to do the job. Had you done this, you'd have likely noticed any stubborn stains going away as your composites received moisture & the Corte Clean is allowed to continue to work. Moving forward, we'd suggest using Corte Clean at the reduced "routine cleaning" strength "at least twice yearly, spring & fall, or when stains appear, should you wish to generally spend less time labor & money keeping your composite deck thoroughly clean while preventing new stains. Initially, for the next year or two, we would suggest using Corte Clean more proactively to make sure your composites are thoroughly clean. Example" Winter, Spring, Summer & Fall. Get in-front of cleaning issues! Proactively using Corte Clean is the key. Had Corte Clean been proactively used, as it was designed & intended, for the past 15 years, you likely wouldn't have had these problems. Please call if you wish to thoroughly discuss.
Posted 6 months ago
I have been using Corte Clean for several years. It has always kept my deck looking like new. It is so impressive a couple of friends who also have composite decks needed to know how I kept my deck so clean. I love it!!
Posted 1 year ago
I have ChoiceDek, 11 y/0, lots of trees around, had only used power washer once or twice. Just didn’t know! So, I found a surface cleaner! Worked nicely, didn’t see to hurt anything, till it dried out, then I could still see black mold, CorteClean got that! Now I’m looking for a touch of color to add back!
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for the review! Unfortunately, the “surface cleaner” you likely used, prior to using Corte Clean, likely contained “sodium hypochlorite”, commonly known as chlorine bleach? Unfortunately, the manufacturer of ChoiceDek, A.E.R.T., commonly recommends some specific products containing this biocide and retailers such as Lowe’s sells them even though these products have a number of problems, two of which you have noted in your review. The first being that “sodium hypochlorite” isn’t scientifically proven for the purpose of mold remediation, or cleaning and keeping clean of mold. The second being that sodium hypochlorite generally bleaches composites beyond what manufacturers have disclosed under “weathering” in their literature, especially when used in direct sunlight, undiluted, as you have likely unfortunately experienced! While rapidly returning mold has lead to many upset composite deck owners that have followed sodium hypochlorite recommendations, color fade beyond what manufacturers have, disclosed caused by sodium hypochlorite cleaning recommendations is the 2nd biggest complaint in the composite decking industry. While there are products sold to re-color composites, they generally are a waste of time and money, as they don’t last, look ugly when they begin to weather off and generally require another laborious expensive product to remove. For this reason, in addition that they can exacerbate mold problems, by sealing in the fungus, we don’t recommend and have chosen not to sell products designed to restore the color of composites. The # 3 biggest complaint of those that use sodium hypochlorite to clean mold is the irreversible corrosion and stains that result. There is a deadly serious reason why the two largest manufacturers of structural metal decking hardware have disclosed the “corrosion risks” of “cleaning chemicals”! #4 is the cost & labor of using multiple cleaning chemicals, to clean specific stains. #5 is the dangers of using multiple cleaning chemicals to clean porous composites, which often get unknowingly mixed and off-gas toxic fumes, as they are at opposite ends of the pH scale! #6 the environmental impact of using multiple cleaning chemicals and color restorers. We have been telling composite manufacturers and retailers the many problems of recommending multiple cleaning chemicals to clean specific stains, especially those that contain sodium hypochlorite for cleaning mold, for well over a decade, yet they have chosen to continue to ignore even though it has caused so many upset customers? Perhaps they will listen to customers like you? Please consider upgrading your review to 5 stars, as the color fade is an issue of ChoiceDek/AERT. Not Corte Clean. For proof, please see the review below yours, written before yours, from “Paul V” which states “Corte Clean actually restored my deck to the darker color it was originally”, as he owns “Ultra Deck composite from Menards”.
Posted 1 year ago
Got most of the black spots off of deck. Cleaned well.
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for the review. If Corte Clean didn’t get ALL of the black spots out of you’re your composite deck, you aren’t done Corte Cleaning it. This is why the Corte Clean label directions state “Water magnifies stains. If stains are still visible, repeat application process. Composites that have tough stains, been neglected or previously cleaned with other products and/or sealed may require several applications and more Corte Clean.” Hopefully you followed the final Corte Clean label direction which states “When Corte Clean no longer becomes dirty or discolored, it can be diluted & allowed to dry on weathered composite surfaces. Corte Clean is designed to continue to clean any time it receives moisture. A white residue may remain until thoroughly rinsed (use a brush if necessary). Thoroughly rinse composite prior to using.” Generally, when this is done, prior to the composites receiving moisture from rain, and allowed to be thoroughly naturally rinsed, any remaining stains, such as black mold spots come out and reviews are upgraded to 5 stars. Not thoroughly Corte Cleaning the black mold stains, generally results in them coming back when they receive moisture and is a waste of time & money. The best analogy is pulling weeds, not getting the roots and watering. This generally exacerbates the problem. We highly suggest you complete the job until your composites are thoroughly Corte Cleaned, otherwise, you have likely wasted your time and money. Additionally, if the black spots have been blocking the sun from evenly bleaching, fading or what most manufacturers refer to as weathering, the sun will need to even out the color of the composites. Weathering and issues related to weathering are extensively covered on the Corte Clean website with a picture of mold weathering. Please carefully review www.corteclean.com and call us if you have any further questions.
Posted 1 year ago
It works on my Trex decking....i had green pollen, black mold and grease stains from the Bbq....i mix 4 scoops in a old litter box pail..let it resolve then really scrub and keep it wet...i use a sprayer to clean the hand rails and banisters..letting it soak in for about 15 mins..i usually ha e to do a second and sometimes third application..nut the deck looks great afterwards
Posted 2 years ago
Proactively use Corte Clean at least twice yearly, Spring and Fall, before stains deeply saturate or root, or when stains appear, and you should be using up to 1/2 the Corte Clean or 2.5 scoops per gallon of water, spending less money and approximately 2/3rds less time, with out the need to generally repeat "a second and sometimes third application". Hopefully you followed the final Corte Clean label direction which states "When Corte Clean no longer becomes dirty or discolored, it can be diluted & allowed to dry on weathered composite surfaces. Corte Clean is designed to continue to clean any time it recieves moisture. A white residue may remain until thoroughly rinsed (use a brush if necessary). Thoroughly rinse composite prior to using." The best way to thoroughly rinse is to apply before the composites receive natural moisture from rain. Proactively using Corte Clean is generally the key to keeping composites clean at a much lower cost.
Posted 2 years ago
long time to receive the order.
Posted 2 years ago
Thanks for the Corte Clean review! It generally takes 1 to 5 business days for Corte Clean to be delivered via FedEx Ground in the Continental United States. If you are on the East Coast it generally takes 5 business days (See FedEx Ground Map for delivery times on the Corte Clean website from which you purchased). If we could ship it faster, we would. This is generally just enough time to properly prep composites prior to Corte Cleaning. Planning ahead and pre-purchasing is highly suggested, “at least twice yearly, Spring & Fall”, as most composite manufacturers recommend and Corte Clean was designed and intended. Please let us know if you have any further questions.
Posted 2 years ago
I bought the cleaner to remove white mildew. It wasn't effective. This is my mistake--I have a different problem.
Posted 2 years ago
You likely don’t have “white mildew”, as it is incredibly rare on composites. Corte*Clean easily cleans mildew stians! You likely have a “WEATHERING” issue as discussed on www.corteclean.com and likely disclosed by the manufacturer of your composite decking, generally in the fine print. WEATHERING is the 2nd BIGGESTt complaint in the composite decking industry, right behind cleaning issues. Corte Clean will not resolve "weathering" issues, as it isn't designed to do so. The 3rd biggest issue is composite deck owners that don't read manufacturer literature????? Please immediately contact us if you wish to discuss (415) 924-9500 X 1
Posted 2 years ago
Returned decking to look close to original material
Posted 3 years ago
You can't ask for better review than that! So why only 4 Stars? Why not 5? Please consider proactively using Corte Clean "at least twice yearly, spring & fall, or when stains occurr" to generally save much time & money. Please call if you have any questions (415) 924-9500 X 1
Posted 3 years ago
The deck is now clean and wife is happy 😊
Posted 3 years ago
Happy Wife = Happy Life! Proactively Corte Cleaning, at least twice yearly, Spring & Fall, or when stains appear will generally have you spending less time and money keeping your wife happy and generally having you spend up to 2/3rds less of your valueable time & effort, and up to 1/2 the money. This should hopefully make you happy too. Thanks for the 5 Star Review!
Posted 3 years ago
Pretty neat to see the dirt come up and be easily washed away.
Posted 3 years ago
Worked very well...
Posted 3 years ago
The top of my deck railing is composite wood and hadn't been cleaned in 2 years. I scrubbed it down with plain water two days ago and let it dry. This morning I sprayed on a coating of Cleaner,let it set briefly, sprayed on another coat and took the scrub brush to it. Then I sprayed on another coat and brushed it again. After about 20 minutes (it was still wet) I rinsed it off with the hose. Not everything came off but it looks 100% better. This didn't work as well as I had hoped but the rail was in bad shape. I wouldn't want to do the entire deck floor like this. Overall, I'm satisfied.
Posted 3 years ago
Thank you for the review! Are you aware that most composite manufacturers recommend proactively cleaning composites at least twice yearly, Spring and Fall, or when stains appear? Please keep in mind that Corte Clean was/is designed and intended to be used “at least twice yearly, spring & fall, or when stains appear” as its label directions state, not every “2 years” when stains have been allowed to deeply saturate or root and generally cost more time, labor and money to properly thoroughly Corte Clean, especially in Ohio where mold spores, moisture, heat & cold lead rapidly to dirty deeply stained composite decks. Please consider this in the future if you wish to save. While Corte Clean works great for reactively cleaning composites, its label directions must be carefully followed or time and money are wasted Corte Cleaning and the desired results won’t be fully achieved, as you have unfortunately experienced. We are not sure why you “sprayed on a coating of Cleaner, let it set briefly, sprayed on another coat and took the scrub brush to it. Then I sprayed on another coat and brushed it again” when the Corte Clean label directions clearly state “Allow composite to thoroughly dry before applying Corte Clean” and “Rinse with water. Water magnifies stains. If stains are still visible, repeat application process. Composites that have tough stains, been neglected or previously cleaned with other products and/or sealed may require several applications & additional Corte Clean.” The KEY to success is allowing Corte Clean to “thoroughly dry before applying Corte Clean” or one does the “repeat application process”. Applying three (3) Corte Clean coats, one after the other, without allowing “composite to thoroughly dry before applying Corte Clean” or re-applying Corte Clean is generally a waste of time and money and will not generally get composites thoroughly Corte Cleaned as you have unfortunately experienced resulting in “Not everything came off but it looks 100% better. This didn't work as well as I had hoped but the rail was in bad shape. I wouldn't want to do the entire deck floor like this.” Did you follow the final Corte Clean label direction of “When Corte Clean no longer becomes dirty or discolored, it can be diluted & allowed to dry on weathered composite surfaces. Corte Clean is designed to continue to clean any time it receives moisture until thoroughly rinsed. A white residue may remain until thoroughly rinsed (use a brush if necessary). Thoroughly rinse composite prior to using.” The best way to “thoroughly rinse” is to apply Corte Clean before composites receive natural moisture from rain or snow. If you haven’t done this final step, please consider doing it, as it will likely remove any remaining stains, especially if you choose to proactively Corte Clean your composites in the future before letting your composites get into “bad shape”. Please call us if you wish to thoroughly discuss, as we wish to help you spend up to 2/3rds less time and up to approximately ½ the money keeping your composites thoroughly Corte Cleaned. (415) 924-9500 X 1
Posted 3 years ago
After speaking with the customer, his composite railing was approximately 15 years old. It had been previously cleaned 2 years ago. Corte Clean had never been used previously. The composite had heavy green fungus growth stains on it. Customer noted the composites "looked even better than when he wrote the initial review." Hopefully this customer upgrades review once Corte Clean directions have been completely followed and composites are thoroughly cleaned and allowed to evenly weather. We thank the customer for returning our call.
Posted 3 years ago
Corte Clean worked as advertised, now that i know the process and timing i will use it again.
I was using a pressure washer and this product seems to be a little easier and less time consuming.
Hope it will also extend the life of the deck.
Used on Timber Tech.
Posted 3 years ago
Thank you for the review! Pressure washers are excellent for prepping TimberTech prior to Corte Cleaning to remove loose dirt and debries. Generally, as you likely have noticed, one can get TimberTech 80% to 95% clean with a power washer alone, however, one can exacerbate cleaning issues with a power washer by driving the stains deeper into the pours and perminantly scaring or damaging the composite. If you choose to proactively "Use Corte Clean at least twice yearly, spring & fall, or when stains appear", you likely won't ever need to use a power washer again. Proactively using Corte Clean as TimberTech recommends will generally save you much time and money. When Corte Clean no longer becomes dirty or discolored, it can be diluted & allowed to dry on weathered composite surfaces. Corte Clean is designed to continue to clean any time it receives moisture until thoroughly rinsed. A white residue may remain until thoroughly rinsed (use a brush if necessary). Thoroughly rinse composite prior to using.” The best way to “thoroughly rinse” is to apply Corte Clean before your composites receive moisture from rain or snow. In the future, should you decide to generally spend up to ½ the money and approximately 2/3rds less time keeping your composites clean, we highly suggest you “•Use Corte Clean at least twice yearly, spring & fall, or when stains appear” in this fashion as the Corte Clean label directions state. Corte Clean will then soak into the pours of your composites and activate and re-activate any time it receives moisture until thoroughly rinsed, keeping your composites until thoroughly rinsed. Please call if you wish to discuss as we wish to help you save time and money. (415) 924-9500 X 1
Posted 3 years ago
After attempting unsuccessfully to clean my three year old grey composite decking with the products I use to clean my vinyl siding I turned to the internet and discovered Corte' Clean. Initially I purchased two bags and began the cleaning process. The results varied but when I called customer service to express my concerns they once again reviewed the cleaning process and ensured me that if I followed the process. The customer service person also asked about my location and went on to share that high humidity in my area was the cause of staining problems. They also suggested a cleaning schedule that would not only reduce the cost of the produce per application but would also reduce the effort needed. What I liked most about my interaction with customer service was that someone helped me who knew the product being sold.
I use a squeeze to remove water from the service of boards to enhance drying between applications of the cleaner.
Posted 3 years ago
The product seems to clean mold and dirt very well. I've been scrubbing after 5 minutes but I'm not sure that it's necessary. One problem: the video says to apply to dry planks and after 20 minutes to rinse with water. After rinsing, the next set of planks you'd like to clean are now wet.

The clean Timbertech planks seem to have tiny white specks, but look much better than they did before cleaning.
Posted 3 years ago
Thank you for your testimonial! The Corte Clean Instructional "video" & product label directions state "20 +/- minutes" you forgot the "+/-" or PLUS & MINUS! If the composite is wet, with water, it will dilute the Corte Clean down and won't have the strength to remove stains. The "tiny white specks" are likely remaining Corte Clean and why the Corte Clean label directions state "Corte Clean is designed to clean any time it receives moisture. A white residue may remain until thoroughly rinsed (use a brush if necessary)." If this is remaining Corte Clean or a weathering issue, it will likely go away as your composites receive moisture and are exposed to the sun. In the future, if you generally wish to spend LESS MONEY & TIME & LABOR to keep your composites clean, please consider proactively using Corte Clean, "at least twice yearly, spring & fall, or when stains appear" as the product was designed and intended and label directions state. When proactively using Corte Clean, preferably before composites receive moisture and stains occur or saturate, Corte Clean should be used at the “up to 2.5 scoops for routine cleaning” per “1 gallon of water” strength saving money. One can apply Corte Clean proactively in any condition, day or night as long as the composites are thoroughly dry. This is why the Corte Clean label directions state “When Corte Clean no longer turns dirty or discolored, it can be diluted & allowed to dry on weathered composite surfaces. Corte Clean is designed to clean any time it receives moisture. A white residue may remain until thoroughly rinsed. Thoroughly rinse composites prior to using.” The best way is to “thoroughly rinse” is to apply before it rains or snows and the natural moisture rinses it saving you time. Please call us if you wish to thoroughly discuss. (415) 924-9500 X 1
Posted 3 years ago
I think time will tell in the effectiveness of the cleaner. The black spots that I thought were mildew may have actually been moss or algae. After I used the cleaner, the black spots turned green. Even though the cleaner did not remove the spots, I'm hoping that it killed what was growing and they will eventually fade.
Posted 3 years ago
Works good, removes deck stains.
Posted 3 years ago
I have tried some other similar products. I liked the fact that this one included no bleach; however, I don't think it cleaned as well as the other products I have used over the years that did include bleach (deck has been down for 10 years).
Posted 4 years ago
Thank you for the review! You likely know that the Corte Clean website states “Corte LLC freely admits that sodium hypochlorite based products generally appear to quickly bleach out mold, on most composites, the first several times used”. If you have "tried some other similar products" in the past, " that did include bleach" with the active biocide “sodium hypochlorite”, for the purpose of cleaning mold, this generally exacerbates the mold problem, making your composites the perfect environment for mold to return and deeply root. The previous use of scientifically unproven chlorine bleach based biocides generally results in mold stains and other common stains being more resistant to quickly being cleaned with Corte Clean! Unfortunately, this results in it generally costing more money [Corte Clean] and time to initially thoroughly Corte Clean composites, when our product is first used, as you have experienced. There is a reason why no reputable mold remediation professional or organization, recommend chlorine bleach or other sodium hypochlorite based products for the purpose of cleaning mold. WHY? It is scientifically proven to exacerbates the problem while causing many other expensive problems! Example… Sodium hypochlorite is HIGHLY corrosive to the structural metal decking hardware, such as screws, nails & joist hangers, made from galvanized or stainless steel almost always used in the construction of composite decks, docks or fences. Are you aware that major decking hardware manufacturers have disclosed the general corrosion risks of cleaning chemicals their literature? Are you aware how expensive decking hardware is to replace and what happens when it fails, as generally the added weight from people causes these corroded items to fail because they don’t know any better. Welcome to what is known as “The Chlorine Bleach Scam” in the composite decking world!

The previous use of sodium hypochlorite based products generally results in the need to “repeat” the Corte Clean application process to a “thoroughly dry” composite surface, until thoroughly Corte Cleaned. It is extremely important that when you “rinse with water”, “water magnifies stains”, “if stains are still visible” that you “repeat” the “application process.” This is why the Corte Clean label directions state “Composites that have tough stains, been neglected or previously cleaned with other products” “may require several applications”. Failure to thoroughly remove mold stains generally results in the stains immediately returning when composites receive moisture and is generally a waste of time and money. Corte Clean isn’t designed to “generally bleach/fade/weather composites beyond what occurs naturally”, like chlorine based products. Once thoroughly Corte Cleaned, it generally takes around 20 weeks of direct sunlight to even out the weathered look of most composites. Corte Clean relies on the sun to even out the color variations caused by stains blocking the sun, once thoroughly Corte Cleaned. It won’t bleach out mold stains or weathering issues like chlorine based products because it isn’t designed to. Rather, Corte Clean is designed to thoroughly remove the stains so they don’t immediately return when the composites receive moisture. Unlike most sodium hypochlorite based products, Corte Clean will clean the exposed wood fibers, that composites generally are approximately 50% made, from exposed wood fibers, to eliminate tannins and tannin bleeding. This is the food funguses feed from, such as black mold, green lichen or moss. For these reasons, and others, some customers that have previously used sodium hypochlorite based products “don't think it cleaned as well as the other products”. If you choose to proactively use Corte Clean, as it was designed and intended, “at least twice yearly, spring & fall, or when stains appear”, you will likely find that it costs you less time and money to keep your composites clean, not only of common mold stains, but grease & oil, rust & tannin stains and just about any other type of stains. Over time, composites tend to stay clean for longer, as “Corte Clean is designed to deep clean and continue to clean any time it receives moisture” until thoroughly rinsed. Proactively using Corte Clean, preferably before composites receive moisture and stains occur or saturate at the reduced Corte Clean strength of “up to 2.5 scoops for routine cleaning”, is the key to generally spending less time and money because it can be “allowed to dry on weathered surfaces”, at the “diluted strength”. The ugly “white” Corte Clean “residue may remain until thoroughly rinsed”. The best way to “thoroughly” rinse, is to allow rain or snow naturally rinse it. If the composites are going to be used before they receive moisture it is recommended that one “thoroughly rinse” with a hose and water. Please call us if you wish to thoroughly discuss. (415) 924-9500 X 1
Posted 4 years ago
Did clean the composite deck, though not as thoroughly as I had hoped. It did not damage the deck. I recommend ordering more than you estimate you will need based on square footage, in case a second coat is needed.
Posted 4 years ago
Thank you for the testimonial! You likely need to repeat the Corte Clean application process to a thoroughly dry composite surface at maximum strength if Corte Clean did not clean your composites as "thoroughly as I had hoped"! Not thoroughly Corte Cleaning composites, as discussed on www.corteclean.com is generally a waste of your time and money! If mold stains are the primary cleaning issue, they will likely come back sooner rather than later if not thoroughly Corte Cleaned, costing you more time and money. We would highly suggest doing this immediately before your composites receive moisture and stains return, then "When Corte Clean no longer becomes dirty or discolored, it can be diluted & allowed to dry on weathered composite surfaces. Corte Clean is designed to continue to clean any time it receives moisture. A white residue may remain until thoroughly rinsed." To "Use Corte Clean at least twice yearly, spring & fall, or when stains appear", as its label directions will have you generally spending 2/3rds less time and approximately 1/2 the money to keep your composites clean. SAVE YOURSELF TIME & MONEY!!! No one wants to clean anything!!! Please let us know if you have nay further questions. (415) 924-9500 X 1
Posted 4 years ago
Corte Clean Composite Deck Cleaner is rated 4.80 based on 540 reviews