Cumbrian Cottages, Cumbria Reviews

1.37 Rating 19 Reviews
11 %
of reviewers recommend Cumbrian Cottages, Cumbria
Visit Website

Location:

8 Main Rd, Windermere LA23 1DY, UK

Write Your review

Tell us how Cumbrian Cottages, Cumbria made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
One week before our holiday we got an email to say our booking was cancelled. Despite their terms and conditions saying they would do their best to contact customers by phone they made no attempt at all.
When I did finally managed to get through to someone on the phone they were quite unhelpful. When I asked about alternative accommodation I was told that whatever they had was on their website. No attempt to look on our behalf despite the inconvenience and disruption we were being put through by the company.
I also sent an email complaint and 2 weeks later I have had no reply. Safe to say we won't be using them again.
Posted 1 month ago
We were notified of late check-in and early departure to allow for deep cleaning of the property, which seemed fair enough. However, on our arrival in the evening we found that the bathroom sanitary bin had not been emptied - it was actually smelly, which is how we discovered it - and only two partially used toilet rolls were in the house for a family of six. I have alerted Cumbrian Cottages about this, but received no reply whatsoever. This is a serious matter and should have received immediate attention.
Posted 1 month ago
Absolutely appalling customer services. Don’t answer phones/reply to emails. I was unable to go in holiday and tried to cancel two weeks prior to going, unable to speak to anyone and still no response. Appalling behaviour. I have used Cumbrian for over 15 years but think it’s time for a change.
Posted 2 months ago
Awful service tried to get in touch on numerous occasions but no chance and now just had email telling me our holiday has been cancelled with three weeks notice. Looking at other reviews I am worried about getting my money back now. Awful
Company
Posted 2 months ago
Swallow Cottage. Newbiggin Cumbria

Just got back from a week at Swallow Cottage, this is a great place to stay, for comfort and relaxation.Gill the owner had thought about things (ref the covid 19 ) to make our stay more enjoyable and take away any concerns we may of had.The welcome pack was very thaughtful. To meet Gill was a nice touch to our break away.
We look forward to returning to Swallow Cottage in the future.
Posted 2 months ago
Repeatedly calling and inboxing today. Every phone number I could find. Paid circa £800 for a cottage that the owner tells me was never available to rent. Just want an immediate refund but help/service, thus far, is nil and worried about my funds. Previous customer of Cumbria cottages, will not use again. Very stressful. L Bayliss
Posted 3 months ago
Having written a damning review yesterdayI feel I should give praise where praise is due, I telephoned the Windermere office 015394 88772 pressed No1 (owner renter)and was answered immediately, spoke to the most charming and helpful lady - Penny - who had me sorted within minutes, I'll have my money within 5 days What an asset Penny is and I'm sorry if she gets inundated with telephone calls from now on
Posted 3 months ago
It says "help future customers by talking about customer service" - well quite simply there is none, just took at previous reviews. I have been trying to make contact for over four months by letter, emails, and at least 10 hours on the telephone hearing about how busy their agents are. Covid is not a suitable excuse for this lack of continued lack of contact . I did get one mail cancelling my booking and saying I would get my money back - that was two months ago, since then nothing. They are a disgrace
Posted 3 months ago
Just had a property owner ring us and say "sorry to tell you this, but I have been telling Cumbrian Cottages for almost a year that we sold the property - I keep telling them not to accept bookings , they are useless and don't listen - that is why we got rid of the property - sorry to wreck your family holiday". So our only trip away we can't now do. The company can't blame the covid virus either as they were utterly appalling last year too and I said i would never book with them again but my wife booked this trip.
Posted 3 months ago
I am disgusted by this company during these unprecedented times, they should be ashamed of themselves and I agree we need to go legal on them! My husband and I are fortunate that we have only paid a deposit of £250 and the balance is due in a few days which we will halt by the bank! Their terms and conditions state you can change within 70 days, we have emailed and called and no reply, shocking customer service and they don't respond - do not pay your full balance! We will be taking this further, we booked last year and had no issues but will never use them again - they should go out of business as they are not representing their cottage owners fairly.
Posted 6 months ago
We had a cottage in Cumbria booked from 1st june for a week,paid a deposit,but because of the corona virus obviously rung to cancel,Cumbria cottages will NOT refund my deposit,what a disgraceful company,we are following Cumbria police advice to not travel to Cumbria during the emergency !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 7 months ago
We tried to make a complaint, as with previous reviewers we were unable to contact them. We stayed in a cottage in the middle of winter, cottage ok but when we arrived at 7pm there was no heating, no hot water and the fire in the living room was not working. Hardly a warm welcome. Blinds broken, lights not working, the finishing touches had definitely been missed.
Posted 7 months ago
Obstructive, poor communication, and very unhelpful. They don't seem even slightly interested in dealing with what is an ongoing problem. Poor show Cumbrian Cottages. Absolutely no community spirit shown.
Posted 8 months ago
Stayed at Alexandra cottage in Windermere.
Holes in the curtains stains on the bed smelt horrendous was like walking in to an old people’s home.
Only stayed one night out of the 5 we had booked wouldn’t move us and no offer of a refund couldn’t care less.
Posted 1 year ago
Staggeringly bad company, which is a shame as the cottage was good.
They don't answer emails (their enquiries@cumbrianCottages email address replies with something along the lines of "we don't read emails, type it all in again to our website". They don't reply to stuff on their website either. They don't answer the phone and their web chat thing is useless (they tell you to email - which gets ignored etc etc etc). So, if you have a problem - where would you go.........
I am gutted for the poor cottage owners that this company have let them down so badly as we had vermin in the cottage (not really the owners fault) and they don't now know as Cumbrian Cottages won't communicate.
Finally, tried to submit a review - after Cumbrian Cottages asked me to (an automated thing) and I wrote negative things about the company so they refused to publish it! So their own reviews are not even a true reflection of what people think.......
Posted 1 year ago
Staggeringly bad company, which is a shame as the cottage was good.
They don't answer emails (their enquiries@cumbrianCottages email address replies with something along the lines of "we don't read emails, type it all in again to our website". They don't reply to stuff on their website either. They don't answer the phone and their web chat thing is useless (they tell you to email - which gets ignored etc etc etc). So, if you have a problem - where would you go.........
I am gutted for the poor cottage owners that this company have let them down so badly as we had vermin in the cottage (not really the owners fault) and they don't now know as Cumbrian Cottages won't communicate.
Finally, tried to submit a review - after Cumbrian Cottages asked me to (an automated thing) and I wrote negative things about the company so they refused to publish it! So their own reviews are not even a true reflection of what people think.......
Posted 1 year ago
Staggeringly bad company, which is a shame as the cottage was good.
They don't answer emails (their enquiries@cumbrianCottages email address replies with something along the lines of "we don't read emails, type it all in again to our website". They don't reply to stuff on their website either. They don't answer the phone and their web chat thing is useless (they tell you to email - which gets ignored etc etc etc). So, if you have a problem - where would you go.........
I am gutted for the poor cottage owners that this company have let them down so badly as we had vermin in the cottage (not really the owners fault) and they don't now know as Cumbrian Cottages won't communicate.
Finally, tried to submit a review - after Cumbrian Cottages asked me to (an automated thing) and I wrote negative things about the company so they refused to publish it! So their own reviews are not even a true reflection of what people think.......
Posted 1 year ago
We had a week in one of there cottages the kids went to there room to find a sex aid blood marks on the sheets not clean when I told them when I returned the keys thay told me I should have told them the first day not happy as I had to explain to the kids want thay had found and not to go near it thay don’t care that the place was dirty thay just want your money and don’t care we will never use them again
Posted 1 year ago
Bunch of jokers. Rented a cottage from them it was filthy and the washing machine and pipes leaked.Emergency call out phone number switched off at 9pm until next morning every day. Do emergencies not occur after 9pm ?
Posted 2 years ago
Cumbrian Cottages, Cumbria is rated 1.37 based on 19 reviews